All FreeCAD Reviews

1-25 of 139 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Andrew

2 - 10 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

Reviewed February 2022

My thoughts on FreeCad

User Profile

Laura

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

In my experience it's the best 2D/3D CAD software. I use this software to design electrical circuits

PROS

Its very user-friendly and on top of all its free, and also does not use too much system memory. With an average PC you can easily run multiple tasks while working on this software, without worrying about usage of system memory. The program is simple and not too much complicated and has all the great tools, so many people can take advantage and use it with more ease.

CONS

The features of this software are too limited and selection of add-ons can also be improved. But as its for free so one can live with these little flaws. But if new features can be added, it will make this software perfect for work.

User Profile

Faith

Verified reviewer

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

FreeCAD

Nice some extra features that are unique but they should work on its complexity

PROS

I like the requirements for using this softwares , not too much they don't over work my PC. Building different models to come up with desired 3D/2D plans with its features is also a plus, cosidering its a free s/w this is great.

CONS

Honestly if you don't have prior experience with design s/w this one is not for beginners. Its a bit complex for beginners

Marcelo

Textiles, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

FreeCAD professional level tool

PROS

Excellent tool for designing structures in detail, elaborating analysis parameters for deformation and strength calculations. And it's still possible to do it on less powerful machines, so to speak.

CONS

Transferring the drawing to paper with a level of detail is already a little more difficult, it has a lot of loss, also if you need to make a large and detailed structure, only with FreeCAD it is very complicated, for that you would need some other tools, making a more complex job.

Reasons for switching to FreeCAD

Difficulties in accuracies and more complex and larger details

User Profile

Hiran

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

A free CAD tool sufficient for learner.

PROS

Free CAD is open source software. User can easily sketch, constraint a geometry, draft a models from 3D into 2D. The user interface is user friendly. Easy to install and run the software.

CONS

The open privacy for free versions make visible of a user project to all. Free version have limited features. Not suggesting for professional designers.

User Profile

Brent

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Awesome product and easy, had to research a few things but there is so much information out there

Was able to recreate my backyard and modify it and create a new kitchen awesome software would recommend to anyone

PROS

Love that I can create a visual for my bosses at work to see using this software, was very impressed how easy it was to pick up and go, lots of videos and help on the internet.

CONS

That not all the tools are that easy to find, but alot of videos and posts out there help me accomplish what I was after

User Profile

Julio A

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Great CAD software for training

The benefit is that you can work with a free license program, train your staff in the CAD environment and improve to a level that allows you to make plans and 3D models in the same way as with the CAD programs of license

PROS

What I like the most is that it has the ability to recognize the CAD environment and learn the commands. You can make a plan and complete a 3D model, for a better visualization. Additionally, new complements can be adapted, through the programming to generate added value to the works to be delivered

CONS

Because I have several years working with CAD programs, editing the elements of the drawings are not very polished and differentiation of the layers is a must because it can emphasize certain aspects more than others, especially for the plans and final 3D models

User Profile

ROSA YURAIMA

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Modelling in 3D and for free

PROS

This is a software that I can use it in any computer without restriction and without paying anything, because is free and do many things that do a private software, for me is very useful because I can modeling the pipelines and see them in 3D to know if exist a trouble or mistake with the design, or we just have to implement it.

CONS

It needs to implement a set of tutorials in the official website, because in the beginning was very difficult to me to understand the processes of modeling with this software, but once I manage them everything was very easy.

User Profile

Natalia

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

I got this software helpful for me and it's really great, The main good thing all about it is free.

PROS

FreeCAD shows 3D drawing in different angels and projections.The most liking thing is it's being free for user. I fine everything i want to do in this software. I like its all programs which are easy to use.And this is one of the best software which work on every system instead of creating problems like some other softwares in market.

CONS

There are no cons for me but it was a little hard to know about the all programs in it .they took time and it is also obvious for every one to learn a new software after some practice it gets easier then easier..

User Profile

Adedayo

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

FreeCAD, efficiency in 2D and 3D drawing

I do design 2D and 3D drawings with this software which makes it my favourite,cause I make use of it everyday.

PROS

I loved everything about this software,the ease of use is just too easy for me.

CONS

Absolutely nothing,this is perfect software for 3D designs.

Francesco

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Too

PROS

I think some Pros could be: supports the creation of 3D parametric components, which is essential for designing complex objects and assemblies; is available on multiple platforms; is designed to be modular and extensible

CONS

Some Cons: has a learning curve, especially for users new to parametric 3D modeling. The interface may not be as intuitive for beginners; some users have reported stability issues, such as occasional crashes; some specific workbenches in FreeCAD may not be as actively developed or as feature-rich as others

Anonymous

1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2022

FreeCAD

It is an excellent tool and with a great community supporting it. Whether it's providing tutorials or substantial improvements to the software

PROS

For new users in 3d parts for mechanical design it is a good tool. It is an open source project and has a large community that helps fix bugs, implement cool new features, or work on the documentation.

CONS

At the moment I find it limited compared to other software of the same type. But this should improve in no time.

Reasons for switching to FreeCAD

Although it was not a switch, but a test to check the power that this software can have

Daniel

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Ever improving, and capable of many things

PROS

Free, parametric design. Valuable mesh to solid features. Scripting and programmatic interfaces are useful

CONS

Feature references regularly break (fixed in 0.19)

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Such a nice feeling after the use of it...!

Work on this software seems to be great..!

PROS

A different version of software compared to other softwares such as AutoCAD and its very nice 3D drawing in different angles of projections. I am blessed to see my great work in this software.

CONS

some modules isn't it updated and It seems they are going to update in next versions of software updates.

dave

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Best Free 3D Tool Available

I use this software to review 3D data created by mechanical designers on commercial platforms.

PROS

Very good 3D tool and perfect for anyone who needs to review 3D models and does not own a commercially available solution. Backed by a dedicated group of skilled knowledgeable developers.

CONS

The tool has capabilities far beyond what I am currently using it for. It is somewhat difficult to learn how to perform new tasks as more focus is placed on functionality improvements at the expense of how-to documentation.

Joe

Aviation & Aerospace, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2020

Open Source Mess for Many Functions

Extremely time consuming and frustrating for the amount of work produced.

PROS

It was free, one of very few 3dD modeling packages with no cost.

CONS

Developing a model in this is somewhat straightforward once you have the logic understood (which is an odd form in itself). However, don't try to modify an existing model, it will begin shifting pieces in random fashion. I had extrusions change sketch planes and a change in a base sketch for an extrusion will cause all attached sketches to lose their associated planes. Within a sketch, form can also move randomly in illogical fashions. If I make a line from another line end and then change the length, it moves the first line, there is no prioritization built in so I need additional lines and constraints to fix design locations. A real pain.

Caleb

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Great Free alternative to Solidworks

PROS

Free CAD is a great free alternative to Solidworks and is great for people who don't want to pay $5000+

CONS

I would have enjoyed if Free CAD could open Solidworks files, but I understand that it isn't possible.

Luca

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

High potential with lots of space to improve

I have used FreeCAD as an hobbyist who has no availability for payed cad softwares, to produce models that I later 3D print. The biggest pro of this software is the number of features implemented and totally free, which makes it the best unrestrained free option for who requires a CAD or a FEM software but cannot pay for it, but unlike another 3D software, Blender, that despite being open source got highly user friendly, FreeCAD feels still quite hard to use, due to a not so agile workflow and some bugs that are still to be fixed. Right now, I feel it is one of the most valid alternatives, especially after Fusion 360 introduced limitations on the numbe of components that can be worked with for free. However, if some of the issues will not be solved and another more user friendly alternative will be present on the market, I feel like it will be abandoned quickly. However, depsite the difficulties in 3D modeling, the FEM part is more straightforward to use and allows to obtain interesting results.

PROS

FreeCAD, as the name suggests, is free and considering alternatives on the market available for free right now, this is the only CAD with so many functionalities, which I consider another great advantage. The possibility of having a parametric CAD together with FEM analysis are great.

CONS

It is really complex to use, very little user friendly and the documentation is most of the time not that helpful. I have experienced some bugs with elementary features as well, making modeling even simple parts very tiring

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY