User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use. Allows you to do estimates quickly and efficiently. Easy to print out reports."

  • "The product has a great ability to export to excel for bid/project analysis. As a vendor they are always available when technical assistance is needed and they have a quick turnaround for repairs."

  • "It's a really easy program to use and to teach people how to use ."

  • Cons

  • "We have yet to come upon a feature or service that we feel the need to complain about. "

  • "There's no program for diary/timecard tracking against estimated/budgeted costs. The material comparison is super confusing."

  • "The scope of work report and formatting is not the easiest to use."

Browse SharpeSoft Estimator Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -32 of 18 results

April 2021

Danny from Valdez Underground

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Makes Life Easier

We were doing all of our estimates by hand originally and this has saved us so much time in all of our bids and we are now able to get out a lot more and stop missing out on bids due!

Pros

What I particularly enjoy is the trench profile program within the estimating software

Cons

So far no real cons on this program however I am only 4-6 months in using the program

Reasons for Choosing SharpeSoft Estimator

The cloud system was a lot less costly and was easier to implement and use as we needed a system that could be used on the go from anywhere

January 2021

Tom from Rota-Mill

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Excellent program!!!!

Pros

Easy to use. Allows you to do estimates quickly and efficiently. Easy to print out reports.

Cons

Unable to fully modify the proposal as there are preset options that cannot be changed by user.

Reasons for Choosing SharpeSoft Estimator

Ease of use and pricing.

June 2015

Mike from Civil Engineering Construction, Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.5

June 2015

Long Term User

Pros

The ability to build crews and assemblies for recurring items of work.

Cons

Annual maintenance fees are too high. Item code field should be longer.

February 2021

Mark from SCI Infrastructure, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Powerful software at a reasonable price

We have employed estimators that have used other competitors products, such as HCSS in the past. Once they use Sharpesoft, they are amazed with how easy it is to use and how powerful the software is. We have acquired over $500 Million dollars worth of work using Sharpesoft Estimator.

Pros

The ease of use was critical to us making this purchase. Sharpe Software provides services to import your data into the software of use the software with some sample data already loaded. We chose using the sample data. It allowed us to see where things were pulling from and which fields were being used for what purpose. That was very helpful.

Cons

We purchased this software over 20 years ago and we still use it today. Back then, the tax structure in our State was different than the tax structure in California which Sharpe used as their tax model. Sharpe wrote an update to our program to address that issue for us and it really makes applying the appropriate taxes quick and easy.

Reasons for Choosing SharpeSoft Estimator

The Sharpesoft team made the difference. The price was reasonable, and the company quick to respond to our needs .

Reasons for Switching to SharpeSoft Estimator

We needed more consistency in our estimating. In excel, you could bump the space bar and unknowingly delete a formula that could affect your bid amount.

June 2015

Myles from Franklin Construction, Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

June 2015

A great tool for estimating and project management

Pros

The product has a great ability to export to excel for bid/project analysis. As a vendor they are always available when technical assistance is needed and they have a quick turnaround for repairs.

Cons

I wish the product would breakdown man hours more effectively and give you more options when exporting data. Another issue I have ran into is when I copy a job all of the data that I have changed within a bid item detail reverts to its default price. No complaints with vendor.

Response from Brent

Replied September 2015

After receiving this review, we contacted Myles to point out the existing report that breaks down man hours that he was unaware of at the time. He is now able to use the report in exactly the way that he wants. We also let him know that, in the upcoming 2016 version of Estimator, the Bid Items export to Excel will also include both the Man Hours and Crew Hours fields, giving him even more functionality. We also pointed out an existing option to prompt him when he copies and pastes items to keep the previous price, rather than update it. He has now used that successfully and is very happy with it.

March 2021

Colleen from RTS Shearing, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Way to go SharpeSoft Estimator Keep up the GREAT work!

I have always been able to talk to someone live and they respond quickly to assist in any issues you may have. It is a user friendly software and provides everything you would need whether it be the basic or a more complex estimate.

Pros

The personal attention given to their customers without having to go through a bogged down automated process to get to a live person. They are constantly looking to their customers to see if there is anyway they can improve the software to fit the customers needs.

Cons

I truly have not found anything I do not like yet!

January 2021

Dave from FDM Contracting Co Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2021

Estimator review

It saves me time to be able to deal with other tasks in my business.

Pros

I find Estimator easy to use. The support is top notch, I never have to wait for help.

Cons

The ability to import certain jobs. The ability to use on a Mac.

Reasons for Choosing SharpeSoft Estimator

The ease of use was a huge one for me. Some of the other software I looked at used codes whereas estimator uses photo tabs. Also for me the trench profiler is just great.

March 2021

Chad from DC Excavation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Sharpe Soft

Pros

Ease of use and outstanding support. I believe this software is tailor made for the dirt / heavy civil industry.

Cons

No complaints. There are no cons.

August 2014

Jon from VT Electric, Inc.

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2014

SharpeSoft Estimator review

Pros

The estimating program is designed so changes (e.g.-"what if?" scenarios) to the estimate can be made very quickly on the fly. The program is based on assemblies, so preparing estimates is much faster/easier. Preparing project management schedules is much faster due to the program having the capability to export the estimate to your project management software. SharpeSoft has been very receptive to customer software requests/inputs, as well as providing excellent customer support (24 hours a day)

Cons

Material codes are a little too short, as I would like to describe the materials with longer material code part numbers.

August 2014

Wally from Pivetta Brothers Construction, Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

August 2014

Excellent Product

Pros

SharpeSoft is easy to learn and very adaptable for different disciplines. It's easy to update labor and equipment rates and is functionally efficient. SharpeSoft has excellent customer support and continually provides updates based on customer feedback. They are very responsive to customer input.

Cons

I would like to see the database be a little more user-friendly.

June 2015

James from JAW Excavation

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

June 2015

Great Product, Great service.

Pros

Once the program is set up its very easy to build a very small one day job as it is to build a 1 Million Dollar + project. The ease of building your specific crews and material lists and always having them at the ease of one click is extremely productive. I have trained several people on this system and they are usually up and running with in two to three days. As we know this is essential in the construction business.

Cons

As a small business owner I would not be honest if I didn't at least say the cost of the product is a substantial investment, and the yearly fee's need to be a budget item in over head.

August 2015

Michael from 5RMK Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

August 2015

SharpeSoft fits our business.

Pros

SharpeSoft facilitates accurate estimating and planning. Analysing changes and alternatives is quick and accurate. Easy to archive estimates for quick crew and cost retrieval. Good summary functions.

Cons

We would like to see more export to Excel spreadsheets. Especially Item and Sub-Item summaries, and materials, subcontracts, and Other resources similar to the Labor and Equipment export. We would also like to have easy merge of estimate items developed on separate stand-alone computers.

May 2019

Joel from Advanced Quality Plumbing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Saves lots of time on estimating

Pros

This helps us to save so much time on creating estimates. The fact we can have multiple people working on the same estimate at the same time helps us tremendously. Many times the owner and I are on a time crunch so we will need to get a bid out before the end of the day and he and I will be able to get it done twice as fast. Being able to save our bid items to use on future bids keeps us from having to recreate the same information repeatedly.

Cons

We have no complaints about the software at all as it performs as advertised.

August 2014

Nicole from Western Engineering Contractors

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

1.5

Functionality

3.5

August 2014

Sharpe Review

Pros

It's a really easy program to use and to teach people how to use .

Cons

There's no program for diary/timecard tracking against estimated/budgeted costs. The material comparison is super confusing.

Response from Brent

Replied September 2014

We strive for 100% satisfaction and encourage our users to always contact us with any questions, comments, or requests, but, unfortunately, we are unaware of this user attempting to do so. We also have been unsuccessful in our phone and email attempts to contact her to discuss this review. While we appreciate her comments about the system’s unmatched ease of use, her other comments seem to simply be misunderstandings which training could easily correct. Firstly, the Material and Subcontractor Comparisons each have a built-in step-by-step wizard, making them very easy to set up and use. Secondly, we have not removed any of the keyboard shortcuts and, in fact, we regularly add even more of them. Thirdly, and most importantly, our Field Reporter software, which tracks daily time and resource costs and also compares the estimated/budgeted costs to the actual costs, just as this user is requesting, has actually been available for over 22 years. For further information about any of these features, please contact our sales and/or support departments.

August 2014

Dan from Engineering Solutions, LLC

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2014

I have been using SharpeSoft Estimator for at least 15 years.

Pros

The developers of the software understand our business and have consistently responded swiftly with meaningful updates.

Cons

We have no dislikes of the product, and the vendor is great.

August 2014

Lisa from Platinum Pipeline, Inc.

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

August 2014

SharpeSoft Estimator User Since 2006

Pros

The software is excellent, and the personalized customer service has been phenomenal. From training to maintenance, regular updates, and after hours support calls, we are always confident someone is there to assist us with our needs.

Cons

We have yet to come upon a feature or service that we feel the need to complain about.

June 2015

Randy from MJ Shelton Geneneral Engineering, Inc.

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

June 2015

Great Estimating Software

Pros

The comprehensive material database. We are a pipeline contractor that has to deal with all types of different material. With a little forethought you can create an in depth and detailed material data base to pull from when estimating.

Cons

The scope of work report and formatting is not the easiest to use.

August 2014

Keith from Western Engineering Contractors

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2014

I have been using SharpeSoft Estimator for over 16 years

Pros

They listen to their customers and add the features that we request.

Cons

Some things do not work like other Windows programs. For instance, there is no cut and paste.