TimberScan Software Reviews

TimberScan Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.16

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Love that we are able to perform inquiries regarding historical invoices without having to search through paper files and are able to verify dates and payments easily."
  • icon"Helps with communication and document management. A great integrated way to keep everyone in the loop on a project."
  • icon"It is a good value for the money and the support is very helpful. They really care about the customer."
  • icon"A bit clunky and sensitive when using the auto hide bar."
  • icon"The occasional pop up errors that doesn't give me enough information to know why I am getting the error."
  • icon"We've been having trouble lately with import imported invoices from Timberline; get the message no invoices to import."

Have you used TimberScan and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All TimberScan Reviews

1-25 of 110 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Karen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

It has made my job a lot easier

Lessened my work load and made it easier and less expensive to maintain our invoices and pay apps.

Pros

So much easier to know where the invoices and pay apps are in the approval system. The software makes everyone accountable for their part in the system. Going paperless has made filing much easier and less time consuming

Cons

It freezes up on us sometimes. Attaching checks seem to mess up a lot making us have to manually attach checks. I wish the comments showed up when you printed the invoice so you had them without going to the next step.

Staci

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

TimberScan has increased our processing time tremendously making the process smooth and efficient.

Ease of use. Faster processing times. Flexibility.

Pros

The ease of use and versatility. Being able to process invoices from anywhere whether we are in the office or on jobsite allows for the ease of mind that our records are always current and up-to-date. We never have to question whether or not we have invoices waiting to be entered because they are right there for all of us to see where they are in the approval process. The Crystal Reports have also helped tremendously in keeping our job costs in check.

Cons

We have compatibility issues frequently. Right before updates are due or right after they are installed, we get several error messages that are frustrating. Often times, we also have invoices with 100+ pages which slows down and often freezes the system.

Doug

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

Paperless AP is a great concept

From a holistic perspective, our AP is more efficient because we can track where an invoice is and who is holding up the payment process. From an individual perspective, many of the users are not very happy due to the slow response time of the software. The approvers take significantly more time to approve invoices because each click takes many seconds.

Pros

Saves paper, allows us to track invoices and where they are in the office. Facilitates approvals for on-the-move approvers.

Cons

Desktop client in head office (where server resides) feels slow compared to all other office software we use. At our satellite offices (Toronto, Seattle), the response time is painfully slow. Adding Timberscan mobile has helped for the approval process but data entry and final review are still very slow. We actually don't need Mobile as our approvers sit at desks in offices 80% of the time, but unfortunately, we had to buy it because the desktop client is too slow.

Terry

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

For the most part does what we intended

Paperless! I love the ability to look at invoices from my desk.

Pros

Ability to run reports with all the invoices attached. Documentation of approval flow. Ability to inquire for status anywhere in the process (though if it has been exported and not posted and synced, it is in limbo)

Cons

We can't link images to the property management invoices as with other imports/recurring that are initiated from Timberline. We've been having trouble lately with import imported invoices from Timberline; get the message no invoices to import. We'd like the ability to send an email once a day to approvers that they have invoices in their queue, rather than at each batch. Is there a solution for adding an extended check stub to checks? We can't do it automatically with the auto attach checks.

Scott

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

Timberscan is a gamechanger when it comes to accounts payable processing.

Pros

Timberscan has enabled us to almost double our revenue without adding more overhead for A/P processing. One added benefit that is not immediately apparent is the time saved on the backend by being able to quickly look up invoices using a variety of filters. It also seamlessly integrates with Sage 300CRE.

Cons

Support can be hit or miss depending upon the issue. Updates are not pushed out - you have to ask about updates before they are sent to you. Capture technology can be flaky at times.

Dan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

Daily usage with imports and posting. Works well with other programs

eliminates the manual process of matching invoices and is quicker to locate invoices with packing slips. Can search by invoice or packing slip information. We don't have to maintain paper filing saving space and time.

Pros

Connectivity to existing programs, not having to invest complete change of systems. Adaptable to our current software.

Cons

Supporting documents screen does not retain vendor information like Invoice screen. I have to enter several packing slips for 1 invoice and this would be beneficial.

Jill

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

We use Timberscan with Capture and AIM and it has taken our company mostly paperless

Less paper, greater accountability, and better filing systems.

Pros

Storing of documents that are easy to find in the future and can be approved by all employees necessary before going to its "resting place".

Cons

The OCR could use some improvement, sometimes a template works great for most properties but that same template will stop working with others. I would also like to see AIM have the ability to move fields in document setup, arranging rather than deleting would be nice.

Pamela

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

Excellent addition to Timberline for Invoice Routing and Approval

Ease of finding old invoices for audit purposes. Ease of routing invoices.

Pros

One of the best features of this program is the tracking information for invoices. You always know where the invoices are in the approval flow. Who has it and who is holding up the approval system.

Cons

Routing set up is a little cumbersome and not easy to change to another person to approve once it is set up. You can do it but if you don't do it in the correct order it can mess things up.

Jade

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

Great but desiring better reporting features

Transparency

Pros

I like the transparency that the system provides. I am able to see exactly the location of a specific invoice and how long it has been there.

Cons

Needs better reporting. Certain reports I would love to have but are not available. I would like a report of when invoices are on hold. I would like email notifications of the list of invoices in a approver's queue including the date of the oldest acquired invoice so their superior can address.

Danette

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

TimberScan helps us keep track of invoices during the approval process.

Pros

The invoices attach to the file in Sage AP so we have a permanent record of the invoice and check. It's easy to enter invoices and look up vendors and cost codes with the 'list' button.

Cons

I can't run reports telling me who has the invoices. This has never worked on our system. Also, I wish there was some way the system could mark the copies of the checks that have been voided but are attached to the record in Sage AP.

Neal

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2017

Easy to Use

Visability into the pre-approved AP process, and easy access to approved invoices.

Pros

Simple solution for paperless AP. I also like that there is now a remote feature because our approvers travel so much.

Cons

Would like subs to have access to upload their own documents. We would like the software to be in the could and allow subs to upload their own documents to cut down on the work by accounting.

John

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

Timberscan has been great!

Pros

I love the ease in pulling up any historical invoice and the ability to route new invoices for coding.

Cons

It can be a little sluggish to open larger invoices. Would be nice to be able to see which approval workflows have been assigned jobs in a report or screen somewhere, so it is easier to find one that may need to be reassigned to a new workflow.

Sean

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

Great addition to Sage 300

Automated our AP approval flow

Pros

Very user friendly, even for the not so computer savvy members of our team. The application was easy to set up and is easy to maintain.

Cons

The only thing that we have found so far that could use improvement is the ability to put invoices on hold and have that carry over to Sage.

Shelby

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Always easy to work with.

We have multiple offices and some are remote. So anyone can access and approve invoices from any location.

Pros

The ability to track where invoices are in approval stage. The ability to attached checks. The ease of importing into Sage 300. The ability to control user functions and uses. The ability to approved other users invoices and push them thru the system.

Cons

Some screens close out completely (i.e. vendor search) when you just want to go search another vendor.

Tammy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

Timberscan has saved us time and money!

Pros

The approval process speeds up the entire AP process plus there is never any lost or misplaced invoices!

Cons

It would be nice to speed up moving through attaching existing invoices. Also it would be great to have the option to change a document from a packing slip to an invoice.

Gail

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE