All Indy Reviews

1-25 of 101 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Indy is the best replacement I've ever found so far.

PROS

I am living in a country where the dollar conversion is really huge. I used HelloBonsai before but I cannot keep up with its pricing. When I found Indy, I can say that this is the most affordable CRM I found. Also, it has the robust features that I love the most and looked for a CRM - creating proposals and contracts, adding contact, creating projects, time tracking, task tracking and file management. They also have a chat feature which I never used but can be an edge to any other CRM out there. For a freelancer/one-person agency, Indy saved my time from client management and organized everything for me.

CONS

I can see that Indy is fairly new in the market. There are things that needs to be improved on such as currency localization. Right now, they only accept USD as currency for invoices. I hope they can globalize in the future. Also, I want to point out about automation. I hope we can add few more automations in the system.

Vendor Response

Hi there! We're happy to hear that you were able to find a tool that meant your business needs at an affordable price. That's our main mission here at Indy you need a tool that works as hard as you do without breaking the bank. Thanks for the feedback. Global currencies are on our radar and we're hoping for a release very soon. We're also looking at ways to improve our product and automation is an area we'd like to explore. If there are specific automations you'd like to see here, please let us know!!

Replied March 2022

Aquarius

Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2022

A good starting place for new freelancers

Overall the experience has been good, and I look forward to more improved features.

PROS

Easy to use, responsive customer service. The cost is very reasonable, and the team is regularly making improvements to the platform.

CONS

The time tracking features are not intuitive or robust. I use an external tool to track time. I would like to be able to export timesheets, the ability to see reports for projects and clients, an automatic calculation of hours on a daily weekly and monthly basis, as well as calculating a total amount for the invoice instead of being individual line items. I would like to be able to modify the built in contract templates beyond just the essential info.

Reason for choosing Indy

More features than I needed, higher price point.

Reasons for switching to Indy

Bonsai's payment terms were very confusing, and I appreciate that Indy connects directly to the processors. I felt like the customer service was a little rude, and I don't do a super high volume of contracts or invoices, so I switched to save money.

Vendor Response

Hi Aquarius, it's great to hear that you're loving Indy's ease-of-use and dedicated support team we're always here and happy to help if anything arises. We're also working hard to release new features to help improve your workflow and we have some exciting things planned. Thanks for the feedback on Time Tracker. We'll take a look and see how we can improve the tool. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you have any other insights on Time Tracker. Feedback like yours allows us to continuously develop and improve our product.

Replied July 2022

Nathan

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2022

Indy is good, but has a way to go

I like it, wouldn't recommend it till bugs get sorted out...I want FULL branding...and nothing that says Indy.

PROS

I like that I can easily manage all my projects and not have to click twenty times to find the status of a project

CONS

I want FULL custom branding. I'm tried of my emails coming from Indy....I don't want my clients to know I use Indy

Reasons for switching to Indy

Cost

Vendor Response

Hi Nathan, it's great to hear that Indy has been able to help with project management. We really appreciate the feedback on more custom branding options and it's on our radar. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you have any other valuable feedback.

Replied July 2022

Andrea

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Great application!

PROS

I needed a simple interface for contracts and proposals and light contact management. I love that I can host forms, proposals, and contracts all in one place. You also cannot beat the price point for the value!

CONS

It's a newer program so there are some additional features I'd like to see down the road. But the price point is so good and the program itself is so easy to use that I'm willing to wait out for some additional features, like linking forms to contacts.

Reason for choosing Indy

I wanted something a little simpler and more intuitive.

Reasons for switching to Indy

I wanted something a little simpler and more intuitive. I didn't need (or want) all of the Dubsado features; Indy provided all of the features I really wanted.

Vendor Response

Thank you for being a valued Indy member, Andrea. We built Indy to be simple yet powerful so we're glad to hear that it has all the tools and features for your business. You can add a lead from Forms as a contact by clicking the 3-dot menu next to the name and then clicking 'Add contact'. If you are looking for something different (or not seeing this on your end), please reach out to support. Also, we love feedback! You can reach out to support at any time to submit feature requests. Feedback allows us to continuously develop and improve Indy.

Replied October 2021

Nathan

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

VERY responsive customer service

I loved their forms and their project proposals. I hit a wall with their integrations and the chat platform. They're US-centric at the moment but they told me they're rolling out international currency support in a few weeks.

PROS

Very friendly to use, very easy to integrate forms with my Squarespace website with a block of code

CONS

Integrations. Very few integrations (as yet). You would use a lot of this INSTEAD OF Google Workspace.

Reasons for switching to Indy

Bonsai hit me with a currency conversion fee when no such thing occurred. Not advertised anywhere, no explanation until I contacted support.

Vendor Response

Hi Nathan, thanks for the feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed using Indy's Forms and Proposals tools. International support is something we're focusing on and we have some exciting releases coming out for that shortly. Intregations are also something we're looking into. Please let our support team know if there are any specific integrations you'd like to see (outside of the CRM and email integrations that have been discussed). All the best!

Replied March 2022

Quincy

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Best software for the beginning small business owner

I needed a simple service to do invoicing, possibly create standard documents to use for new clients, and at some point expand the business.

PROS

The Indy service has made the invoicing process easier, and provides a variety of ways to get paid. The UI is extremely intuitive, and its priced just right for getting started with a small business.

CONS

All the features are great, even the ones I don't use regularly look appealing. Wish there was a tax recording/filing feature included as well.

Reason for choosing Indy

It provided invoicing, various payments methods, standard documents, simple UI, and chat all in one place.

Reasons for switching to Indy

Lack of options for payments. They are now making changes, but it's probably too late. I'm into Indy now.

Vendor Response

Hi Quincy, thanks for being a valued Indy member! It's amazing to hear that we've made the invoicing process easier. This is exactly what we were going for with all our tools we hope you see that as you test out some others. I've forwarded your feedback about a tax recording/filing feature to the team for consideration. Please don't hesitate to reach out to support if you have any other feedback. Feedback like yours allows us to continuously improve and develop Indy.

Replied December 2021

Ryan

Design, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Indy takes care of business

I'll use Indy over Bonsai and the other competitors because there is a free model that suits my needs for now, along with room to grow into paid models when I pick up more work.

PROS

Many logistical aspects of preparing proposals and contracts are difficult for freelance workers to learn on the go. Indy makes it easy for people like me to take care of these necessary professional aspects without the steep learning curve of learning to draft contracts.

CONS

There are a number of aspects in the proposal drafting that lack flexibility. When including an estimate, sometimes it is helpful to have a line item with quantity zero (0) to present the client with optional add-ons. Additionally, a "discount" line item appear and cannot be removed; it's a bad optic to show a client "hey, some people get a discount but not YOU. Discount is ZERO DOLLARS."

Reasons for switching to Indy

Budget concerns; having a free base model with room to grow into paid models is exactly what I was looking for.

Vendor Response

Hi Ryan, thanks for being a valued member. We understand that creating proposals and contracts can be daunting so we're happy to hear that Indy has helped ease the learning curve. We'd love to talk with you more about line items and see if you're looking for more flexibility there or the ability to create packages for your clients to choose from. Regarding the discount in proposals, we've actually released an update last week that should fix this issue. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you still see this issue.

Replied March 2022

Aidan

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

An all up invoice and contract system that doesn't drain your bank!

Very happy with the software. It's always a win when you find software that actually works at a pricepoint that makes sense.

PROS

I absolutely love the contract builder that Indy has. It's easy and intuitive to navigate. Coming from honey book for the past three years, I'm so happy I found Indy, Invoices look great and are easy to generate. the desktop and mobile app are seamless. Very happy with the functinality.

CONS

I wish there was a way to send the contract and invoice together in one email. Maybe there is a way. haven't found it out yet.

Reason for choosing Indy

Price and function

Reasons for switching to Indy

Price and function

Vendor Response

Hi Aidan, thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are so thrilled to hear that it is easy to create great-looking contracts and invoices while providing a seamless way to run your business while at home or on the go. Regarding sending 2 items in one email, I have forwarded this feedback to the team for feature consideration. In the meantime, you could create an invoice and share it via a link instead of the email service. Then when you create/send your contact, add the invoice link into the email body for the contract email. When your client receives the email, they'll see the block for the contract and an active link for the invoice. If you reach out to support, I can provide you with a step-by-step tutorial with images. Additionally, if you ever need anything at all, please reach out to us via the in-app support chat button.

Replied December 2021

Rob

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Easiest invoice platform + best value for your money

I'm able to spend less time on invoicing and billing, literally 5 minutes to create an invoice.

PROS

First, best value for your money. Super easy to use, you're able to duplicate invoices, integrate Stripe just for certain invoices and keep track of payments all very convenient and easy.

CONS

I guess if you could import data for tax purposes that would be useful.

Reasons for switching to Indy

Too expensive

Vendor Response

Hey Rob, thanks for being an Indy member! We're happy to hear that you're loving Indy's Invoices tool. We strongly believe you should keep the money you earn which is why we've made the Pro Bundle so affordable. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback about importing tax data to the team. Feedback like this allows us to continuously improve and develop Indy. Please never hesitate to reach out to support with more feedback.

Replied October 2021

Stephanie

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

I'm obsessed with Indy

I'm obsessed. It's been helping me keep track of which clients haven't paid me (and more importantly how long it's been since they paid me) and how long it takes for my invoices to get paid in general.

PROS

Indy helps keep track of EVERYTHING. I can login every morning and know what I have to do throughout the day. I have reminders in my email about important tasks and meetings, as well as due dates that are coming up, so I know I'm staying on top of things. I'm just starting out with my business so it's very important to me to be able to deliver for my clients, and Indy has been doing a great job of making sure I don't drop the ball.

CONS

Anything I don't like has been minimal, and is usually something I can take care of on my own. For instance the client management, when sending invoices, forces you to initially address it to a specific client rather than the business that the client/contact works for. It's something I can go in and edit easily though, but it would be nice to be able to put the organization as the client and simply name contacts there without having them become the only point of contact for the organization.

Vendor Response

Hi Stephanie! Thank you for being a valued member. We're happy to hear that Indy has helped you keep track of everything so you can keep your business running smoothly. I have forwarded your feedback about creating companies as a contact with different people associated with that company. Please don't hesitate to reach out to support if you have any other feedback on what you'd like to see on Indy.

Replied December 2021

Sara

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2022

Streamlined

PROS

I have absolutely loved streamlining all of my processes into one platform. Being able to do project management, time tracking, tasks, contracts and invoices in one place has been a dream!

CONS

I would love to see clearer information on what using Indy is like from a client's perspective, and be able to customize that experience for more collaborative work.

Reason for choosing Indy

Price was right, and had most of the features I was seeking.

Vendor Response

Hi Sara, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback it's greatly appreciated! We're so happy to hear how Indy has helped streamline your business. This year we are focusing on improvements meant to enhance your client's experience and make collaboration more efficient. If you'd like to know how we plan on solving this or have any other feedback to share, please reach out to our support team. We'd love to talk to you.

Replied February 2022

Nakia

Design, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Indy is stress fre

Overall Indy as been a great experience.

PROS

Im defiantly someone who overthinks and gets easily overwhelmed with "wordy" CRM platforms that requires me to spend too much time figuring how to use them. With Indy I very at ease and comfortable. Everything is minimal and straight to the point.

CONS

I would love to see more templates for emails and automations for things to flow easily. I would like to be able to schedule 1:1 meetings with clients. I also would love to see a Kanban board for task progress. Also a client portal would be awesome !!!!

Reasons for switching to Indy

I wanted to find a CRM tool that was simple and stress to use

Vendor Response

Hi Nakia! It's great to hear that Indy is making it easy for you to run your business without all the stress. The indie life is complex and our team works hard to release tools and features to make it simpler. Thanks for all the feedback. Some of these features are actually already on our radar! I'll be sure to pass those that aren't over to my team for consideration. You can schedule meetings with clients using the Calendar tool if you integrate your Google account. If you'd like another way to schedule, please contact support that way we can delve into this topic further. I'd also love to talk with you more about your feedback. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Replied October 2021

Danielle

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

I recommend Indy often!

I have been using Indy and have not looked back. I haven't had the need to search for other software, and I love how I can manage my invoicing and contracts all in one stop. I am thinking of using the intake forms as well!

PROS

I found the software quite robust at a price point I could easily afford. This was critical for me, as I shopped around for a lot of different software. I find it very easy to use and it supplies so many things I have yet to fully utilize.

CONS

When I was designing my proposals, and I had a title, it had a big white box around it. If I tried to put the header into my image, my proposal had no title. Just a design thing, but it made it a challenge to make it look the way I wanted. BUT, the ability to embed my book calendar right into the proposal = perfect!

Reason for choosing Indy

Price was a big one, but also... I just don't need all that dubsado offers. I used it in my client's business but I couldn't justify using it at this point.

Reasons for switching to Indy

Time tracking was part of it, it was just unreliable. Also, I felt like it was pretty glitchy and limited

Vendor Response

Hi Danielle, it's so great to hear that Indy was able to offer a robust set of tools to manage your business at an affordable price. We just released a new design/layout today to the header section of proposals that should fix this issue. When you have a moment, take a look and let us know how it's working for you! Also, please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you have any other feedback.

Replied July 2022

Freddy

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Great features and much more affordable than any other platform.

Amazing!! Its now a huge part of my workflow as a freelancer.

PROS

Features are great. Interface is easy to use. Pricing is affordable. Contracts, invoicing and proposals are vital to my business.

CONS

Honestly, I love the product as is and can’t wait to see how much it grows!

Reasons for switching to Indy

Pricing and payment issues from Bonsai.

Vendor Response

Hi Freddy, we really appreciate the great feedback! We're so happy to hear that our all-in-one productivity software is vital for your business at a price that doesn't burn a hole in your pocket. We have some exciting things planned for this year and we can't wait to share them with you.

Replied March 2022

Dan

Online Media, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Very Affordable

This application makes it super easy for my small business to setup contracts, create invoices, send invoices and receive payments. It's actually helped create more credibility for my very small business - making it look bigger and more professional. But most impressive is how inexpensive Indy is.

PROS

Templates for creating contracts Easy invoicing Easy client management

CONS

Still can't seem to send a contract to two clients at once. Maybe it's just me, but that's the only thing that didn't seem to work when I tried it.

Vendor Response

Hey Dan! Thank you for all the great feedback and for being such a valued member. We're glad to hear that Indy has helped you set up and run your small business. You can send a contract to 2 clients but it may be a bit hidden. First, you'll assign a primary client. Then on the final send step, click the 'Recipients' tab to add an additional recipients. I'll be sure to share this feedback with the team so they can make this feature more accessible. Please don't hesitate to contact support if you have any questions or feature requests!

Replied October 2021

Maria

Market Research, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Indy, the best option for starting freelancers

As a platform Indy is very complete but the thing I like the most about the platform is their Client Support. Whenever you have a question or a problem, they help you right away in the most way.

PROS

The most impactful feature from Indy is the time tracking and invoicing. In my case I started to do freelance as a Virtual Assistant out of nowhere so I needed a platform to help me gain confidence with my client and make me look like a total professional. The contract proposal, time tracking and invoicing features help me quite a lot to be a better professional.

CONS

The only thing missing with Indy is the mobile app, it really would improve my work. Hopefully they will get it out soon

Vendor Response

Hi Maria, it's great to hear how Indy has helped your business. Thanks for the feedback on mobile! We're currently working on reimagining the Indy mobile experience and we'll have more to share on this as it develops.

Replied August 2022

Trisha

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

July, 2022

I love Indy! I've tried numerous other contract management softwares and Indy checks all my boxes!

PROS

Daily task management; unlimited projects; invoicing

CONS

Ability to archive projects that are complete. Filtering through completed projects to locate active is cumbersome. Would also like to see a visual counter of active projects, pending projects and completed projects.

Reasons for switching to Indy

Consolidating my daily tasks into one platform. Tired of using different softwares; looking for a solution where I can just log in and have everything I need at my disposal.

Vendor Response

Hi Trisha, we're happy to hear that Indy is checking all your boxes. Thanks for your feedback on Projects we'll have our team look into adding the ability to archive completed projects and a project counter to keep track of your projects. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team if you have any other amazing feedback.

Replied July 2022

Corky

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE