User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.0 / 5

Value for Money

2.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

3.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(0)

0

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "It is fast and easy to implement in any given organization. It has all basic and advanced features of a ITIL compliant ticketing tool. "

  • "Amazing support! Every issue I have contacted them with has been resolved beyond my expectation."

  • "Only redeeming feature is that it is a centralized Change/Incident management system. The colour is blue, and that is where it ends."

  • Cons

  • "Customization and downtime is hours if you migrate or upgade"

  • "the cost of the software, we needed to contact the support personnel on a few occasions to get the software to work as it should"

  • "Too complex to use due to lots of things and moreover the user interface is not simple plus right click doesn't work everywhere "

Browse CA Service Desk Manager Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -39 of 11 results

July 2018

Alex from Adventist Health System

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Decent Ticketing System

Not bad, if you have only one team with consistent needs using the software. Once you need to customize it, you feel its limitations.

Pros

Was our previous ticketing software for our Contact Center before moving to ServiceNow. Able to capture category, subcategory, comments, affected end-user, and much more. Can also report out of CA to track rep performance, call trends, etc.

Cons

Not nearly as customizable as ServiceNow, and its reporting functionality isn't as robust, either. Our Supply Chain Contact Center shared CA with our IT Contact Center, and, since it had such limited customization options, we had a number of challenges making one piece of software work for both teams. We've removed that problem with ServiceNow

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Big and powerful software suite, capable of solving all your ITSM needs, with huge complexity

We were able to implement ITIL and ISO 27K compliant processes. It was very simple to assign very specific access privileges to different users. We accomplished a robust and fully functional integration of our monitoring alerts for ticket creation. Business rules have reduced a lot of human errors and minimized non-compliant execution of our processes.

Pros

The suite can provide anything we need regarding our ITSM needs. We can implement business rules, custom fields, automated validations, workflows, processes, etc. There's basically no limit, no ITSM business need we can't somehow do. No ITIL process we can't implement and certify. The management and agent GUI is consistent, once you understand how things are organized, you can easily navigate and find whatever option you need. Role based access control provides maximum granularity to satisfy the needs of the most strict security policies. CA's technical support is among the quickest and most capable support teams I've ever been served by.

Cons

There are too many software products in the suite, all of them needed to have a fully functional and compliant service desk. From the desk itself, to process automation, business reports, service catalog, self service GUI, access control management. These products have been created along a very long timeframe, which translates on very different software development fundamentals. While Service Desk is a rather old piece of software which relies on obsolete technologies la .NET 2.0 and the Java plug-in, service catalog and self service portal are more modern pieces of software. The APIs are not as robust as expected, or as seen in disruptive competition, a very limited REST api and a very complex SOAP webservice make it a big challenge to build robust integrations. CA support has confirmed there are no plans for building from scratch a new, modern version of Service Desk.

March 2018

Mohit from HCL

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

I am having moderate experience with CA service desk manager.

This provides all benefits of any ITIL compliant ticketing tool. We have started managing all our incidents/service requests through this and effectively managing SLA's

Pros

It is fast and easy to implement in any given organization. It has all basic and advanced features of a ITIL compliant ticketing tool.

Cons

I certainly don't like the customization ability of this tool. We have struggled much with our tools team for getting the customized report. Also, analyzing the activity logs of any ticket is not so easy , you have to invest 10 minutes for a single ticket.

February 2018

Karen from eGov Jamaica

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

CA service desk was easy to install with the exception of a few database problems

Use of customer service and general CRM reports that were tailored

Pros

It is easy for new users to learn, the software does not require a lot of training man hours for one to use it.

Cons

the cost of the software, we needed to contact the support personnel on a few occasions to get the software to work as it should

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Classical Service Desk Product

Streamline the ITIL process of an organization and help automating their IT infrastructure

Pros

One of the classical SD product developed using legacy and proprietary language but well advanced technical product.

Cons

Customization and downtime is hours if you migrate or upgade

August 2019

Joel from Education Aid

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2019

Sounds Great on Paper... Start using it and you'll hate it.

From a UI perspective the software is a train wreck. Most of our service agents hate it. From a Development stand point, you will spend a lot of time just chasing your tail trying to figure out why something isn't working only to find out that there is a known bug within the software that is preventing you from doing what you intended to do. The communities are helpful and most of the folks there are very nice. They seem to have the sense of "we feel your pain too" mentality. Overall the quality of this software and the overall architecture is a train wreck. This was supposedly a cheaper alternative to some of the competition but the down side is we wasted millions trying to make this thing work when in reality it never would. Its a broken smoldering pile. STEER CLEAR!

Pros

The concept and what it was attempting to do is brilliant. If it actually worked it would have transformed the entire agencies IT structure.

Cons

It didn't work. It was full of bugs and it seemed like we were basically paying to test out their software. The CA / Broadcom QA team is non-existent. At the time of writing this review their Process Automation piece of the suite is inherently flawed to the point that it has broken all integration with the rest of the software.

December 2018

Ian from KPRDSB

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

So much customization, while also feeling dated.

Pros

Amazing support! Every issue I have contacted them with has been resolved beyond my expectation.

Cons

Difficulties tracking and identifying tickets requiring a very granular and intricate process management.

May 2019

Brian from datacom

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

CA Service Desk Manager - Version: 'SDr12_6-165'

Terrible, there are better opensourcer free offerings out there if you want CMDB, incident, Change and problem management or something the is a little more stable and closer to ITIL

Pros

Only redeeming feature is that it is a centralized Change/Incident management system. The colour is blue, and that is where it ends.

Cons

The CMDB part of it is near impossible to use, especialy if you have 30+ clients, 10000+ CI's and all the entities that hang of that. It is terribly resource hungry, the client frontend downloads a pile of code before it fires up, so a network killer for anybody that is on a wan or wifi in remote locations. When you have 100+ technicians trying to update their incidents/change orders it is prone to hang or not update. Very very difficult to extract any meaningfull data out of the system, their is no meaningful built in help. If there was ever a counter productive product, this is one of them.

September 2017

Adnan from Atos India

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Good value for money

Pros

Detailed service desk tool with lots of features and functions needed for a complete service management system

Cons

Too complex to use due to lots of things and moreover the user interface is not simple plus right click doesn't work everywhere

August 2019

Marco from Axios Systems

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2019

CA Service Desk

Tool that is rapidly going out of the market. No Portal concept, no friendly interface, CA is not pushing it

Pros

Support and many large organization used it, so user group was useful

Cons

Lack of functionalities, unfriendly, old tool.

April 2017

Karen from eGov Jamaica

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

CA Service DESK

the organisation to which I am employed has used this software as a tool mainly for help desk staff. The asset management portion is not currently being used.