What are Lansweeper users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Lansweeper software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.56

50 Reviews

5
31
4
17
3
1
2
1
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The cost of licensing per asset is very low compared with most popular asset management software."
  • icon"This was very useful as it allows you to detect all computers on the network, useful for any sized businesses."
  • icon"I am always confident the the results. I highly recommend this to anyone in the IT industry."
  • icon"The software can be a little intimidating for newcomers to use. GUI could use some updating."
  • icon"The look and feel is a bit out dated to me. This by no means takes away any use or functionality."
  • icon"There is no way to see what deployments you have running, and there is no way to cancel them once you kick one off."

Jump to:

Browse all Lansweeper Reviews

  • Have you used Lansweeper and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 50 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 50 reviews

User Profile

Steve

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Great Product for all your IT needs

Pros

- Provides IT with all the tools we use in one place. - Manage devices and easy reports - Large community support and oday add-ons.

Cons

- only issue I have is the built in remove software is very poor. normally have to use another product alone with it.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Lansweeper

One of the simplest technologies to deploy and manage. Asset, software and forensic audits are so much simpler and safes a lot of man hours.

Pros

Deployment is easy and simple. This can also be said of the overall management of the software. A very important factor in my line of work is reporting. Lansweeper simplifies this with a whole list of standard reports that can also be used as templates for custom reports. Besides using Lansweeper for asset and software management, we also use it to report on vulnerable applications and assist in some of our internal forensic investigations.

Cons

There are currently no SIEM integration. This would be a great feature to integrate with our SOC.

Reasons for choosing Lansweeper

Ease of use, pricing and reporting.

Reasons for switching to Lansweeper

Ease of use and pricing. Lots of online help.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

A really good starter tool for endpoint management

I recommend this for a small (<2K nodes) single site environment. If they beefed up the deployment tools and added an agent based WOL, this would be a rockstar of a product.

Pros

Simple to setup and easy to use. With a little SQL skills you can easily setup dashboards to monitor some critical information, like primary software versions or percentage of total deployment of AV software.

Cons

Deployment tools are really weak. Installer logic is very limited with no access to WMI for creating conditions. Deployment packages do not survive reboot (ie multi reboots in a single installation package). Deployment installations are flakey. I can push the same package to a computer and it will fail 3x in a row and successful on the 4th. Tech support is based in UK, so if you are in the States forget phone support. "Software" inventory is based on Add/Remove registry, not file based. Any taught files to scan for are not included in any "Software" reports. They are completely separate

Brett

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

The Perfect Network Map

They have been a solid company to deal with. Licensing is always on time upon renewal date and the software upgrades almost on its own. There are endless amounts of customizing you can do to suit your needs.

Pros

I love the ease of scanning our entire network and getting the full spectrum of what we have. When it comes to auditing software and equipment there is no more guess work. I can look at everything from a 10,000ft view or right down to individuals event logs with a few clicks of the mouse. No more jumping over multiple hurdles to troubleshoot a PC any longer.

Cons

I wish there was a better way that when a user switches IP addresses that it easily detects the change and can discard the old record. I find myself clearing out multiple assets at times.

Reasons for choosing Lansweeper

Very user-friendly and it makes our internal and external audits a breeze. With a few clicks of the mouse, I can give full reporting of all software and equipment. The options are endless on what it can do.

User Profile

Agenor

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Keep your IT assets on touch easily

Managing hundreds of servers and users’ computers in different sites is a challenge. Users can connect any kind of USB or Bluetooth accessories, and the technical team can install any software, without administrators knowledge and permission. Lansweeper can help you gather relevant information in a few minutes, from all computers connected in your network, without users knowledge or interference. Then you can keep your software licensing controls updated and prevent risks of unauthorized use software or leak of critical information.

Pros

Lansweeper offers many kinds of asset searching methods, with support for the main operating systems and virtualized servers. The interface is powerful, allowing the administrators to navigate through trees of sites, assets, and all components of hardware and software. You can configure alerts of changing in assets configuration to verify if that asset had a recent incident (problem) or a change request. The cost of licensing per asset is very low compared with most popular asset management software.

Cons

It is not ready for all kind of software licensing and needs improvements to control software on the cloud (licensed by CPU, cores or access). The offline asset inventory tool is helpful to gather information on external computers, but it is difficult to start the inventory and integrate it with online assets results.

Ryan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

User-lock Feature and Functionality in summary review

Better management of Assets. Ease if Helpdeks ticket handling and asset association Group permissions helps to easily deploy access to resources. Just to name a few.

Pros

Since using Lansweeper in our network for over two years this application if found to be very helpful as it allowed us to easily scan our network automatically throughout and discover hundreds of different types of assets. The well defined structure, dashboard, reports and its components helped us to easily build and form a scale-able, flexible network management solution for our environment with the ability to know what has changed, when and where. The deployment is very simplified. We had managed to easily setup the database, web console and scanning service, all on the same machine. The agent-less and fully automatic scanning engine makes it a second to none and a worthwhile purchase.

Cons

There is not a difficulty of a problem area that we have found with the use of this application. In fact, the software probably just need a more rich dashboard for future versions and that should complete its visual effect at a glance.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Simple to Install and Easy to Use but Often Limited

We had no idea what our network and systems looked like and Lansweeper helped significantly in offering a lot of insight into what our topology is, how many assets we have, and what the systems look like in terms of software installs, OS versions, patches, etc. The fact that it costs fractions of the larger offerings is a major plus.

Pros

It's ease of use over the long term. From set up to day to day, configuring lansweeper to fit into your environment is super simple and straight forward. We use it mostly for network scanning, IP management, and asset management.

Cons

We're a mixed environment -- a lot of Linux, Mac, and Windows systems -- it would be nice for Lansweeper to add more robust features for both Linux and Mac. Also, to build search queries requires knowledge of SQL. Which seems sort of ridiculous but I would imagine that the Lansweeper will improve the complex search/queries features soon.

Reasons for choosing Lansweeper

It's pricing! It's exceptionally affordable (even free if your network is small enough) given the feature set. Hard to argue with that!

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Essential IT Tool

I'm very happy with Lansweeper and we are going to implement the help desk software in the near future to replace our current ticketing system. It's a more robust system than other similar programs.

Pros

Lansweeper is by far the most vital bit of software that I employ for my day to day duties. I use it to track assets, keep tabs on warranties that might be expiring, track disk errors before hard drives fail, and even perform functions on devices. It's very handy for checking background items while the end users obliviously go about their days. There are also a wide variety of 3rd party add on's to increase functionality.

Cons

I am not a fan of the lansweeper reporting software. I'm able to use the built in reports but I'm not well versed on writing my own and I can't find any help to break it down into terms I can understand.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

An absolute must have

Software upgradeds and installs, or uninstalls are done quickly when deployed via Lansweeper. Asset tracking is simple.

Pros

I can't imagine doing my job without Lansweeper. From inventory management to software deployment Lansweeper is there to make my job easier every single day. Here is one of many examples, we recently upgraded our PACS system which required a new client be installed on 300 workstations. I simply created a "deployment" in Lansweeper and ran it dept by dept and was able to get all 300 workstations done in less than an hour. This would have taken me a week to do manually.

Cons

There is no way to see what deployments you have running, and there is no way to cancel them once you kick one off.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

A greet way to start asset tracking

Lansweeper was easy to deploy and configure on the network and the insight it gave us into all the assets we had was invaluable to say the least. We used the system to track supplies levels on all out multi function printers. We used it to track and graph out when computer system would need to be replaced and when warranty's were going to expire.

Pros

I loved being able to see what users had what systems and what software they had on them. We also used this to monitor ink and supplies levels of all our multi function printers so we could ensure that even our remote site stayed working.

Cons

We wished there a was a bot more customization to the alert emails that we would set up so we could see what we needed at a glance.

Mark

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Lansweeper shows you just about everything you would want to see on your network.

Lansweeper is a very good product. It gathers information about network switches, Printers, PCs, and even the UPS power units on the network. It helps immensely when doing software audits and to also determine when a device was accessed last. It has a great deal of information available to the administrators and for our team we really couldn't do our business without it.

Pros

- identifies all devices on your network including PCs - keeps track of the last time a PC or other devices were logged into by the last person to log in. - keeps track of all software on a PC - keeps track of the warranty of a PC - integrates seamlessly with active directory - allows for manual entry for some devices that do not have a network monitoring port such as a UPS power unit if you want to try to use Lansweeper for an inventory control software.

Cons

- once a device is removed off the network it does not automatically delete that device. This causes some problems and requires an administrator to keep track of all users they have deleted from Active Directory and then go back into Lansweeper to delete that user. Because of this Lansweeper is not truly an inventory software but you could use it in that manner with additional input for staff members.

Lisa

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Robust Help Desk system

There is a lot this system can do for an IT department. What you put in is what you get out of it. Its a blank slate for you to customize, store, and use.

Pros

Lansweeper encompasses almost all of the needs for a HelpDesk. Tickets can be input and viewed easily. Email notifications can be customized. The sorting and filters are intuitive and useful. Lansweeper keeps track of Assets and you can search using any of the fields available. There is an Asset Import that is very helpful when adding a lot of equipment all at once. Its also customizable for fields, both static and dynamic. It is also helpful with Remote Access and scanning the network. It can be as simple and basic or complex and all encompassing as you make it. Its scalable on all ends. There are also Knowledgebase sections that are helpful to users if used. It is excellent for small to large organizations.

Cons

One of my biggest pet peeves is the Report section. It is not very user friendly and rigid with its output. It can also be a little challenging at first when scanning the network and determining which things it will automatically discover and which things it needs input on first. But once learned, you'll know what it will and wont do for you.

Mike

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Easy to use and powerful

Hardware and Software inventory is done very well. Reports can be ran manually or setup as automated. This can double as an Alert if the report is looking for things like low disk space or toner almost empty. We use its helpdesk feature as well and its very detailed and easy to view. Adding notes lets you send back to the user or just leave an internal note for you or your support staff.

Pros

First off it found most of my devices easily. The information it gives outperformed other software I was using. Software if finds shows up easily and not multiple times for 1 piece of software. Its clean looking and the reports are great! they are SQL and they have lots of reports you can use or change to fit your needs, Very Nice. The Helpdesk part is also easy and more detailed than other software I have used.

Cons

Not much but the menus can sometimes be too close as they pull down when you hover over them and that can be a little annoying.

Reasons for choosing Lansweeper

Cost and options being part of the software and not add on modules.

Reasons for switching to Lansweeper

We needed a better way to get reports and Alerts. Also the software scan in spiceworks pulled up pieces of the software making it look like it was installed more that once. I quickly found out in 1 day how much better Lansweeper is than Spiceworks.

David

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Lansweeper is our inventory savior

Form helpdesk to an automated inventory scan, Lansweeper has saved us so much time it's immeasurable. Everything is wonderfully integrated and very customizable. With it integrated to our AD it connects devices to users and created tickets seamlessly. Being able to quickly identify which device a user is having trouble with is fantastic. There are so many features it's hard to fit all of them into a single review. Safe to say is that you can in theory do everything you'd like from a troubleshooting and management standpoint. Application deploy, integrated uVNC remote desktop, Quick inventory management are just a few features that are great to have access to. If the included tools are not enough they have a great forum in which loads of people have submitted their own solutions to further extend the variety. Me and my colleagues highly recommend Lansweeper.

Pros

The automated inventory scan. The built-in uVNC support.

Cons

There a few things I dislike about the product. Everything we like is there and if it isn't the forum most likely have a solution to it.

Michael

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Good Asset management Software. With a few tweaks, it could be great but it is not there yet.

All from this device I can keep track of assets, access the admin share of the PC, or remote into it all from within the tool.

Pros

Identifies all devices on you network. Lansweeper is pretty fast compared to some of the asset management software that I have used. You can access the admin share on individual PCs, and remote into them with RDP all from the tool.

Cons

The biggest pet peeve that I have with Lansweeper is that it only hold onto the record of the device for 30 days after it goes offline. This is a big problem when you have a massive amount of offline inventory.

Response from Lansweeper

Hi Michael, Thank you for your review! By default, Lansweeper does not delete any previously scanned assets from your database or web console. We would recommend checking your Automatic Cleanup Options under Configuration/Server Options to prevent any offline inventory from being deleted. If you have any further questions, don't hesitate to contact our support team via support@lansweeper.com. They would be happy to assist. Have a great day!

Replied March 2018

Jeff

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Awesome IT asset management software at a low, low price!

We bought lansweeper primarily to keep up with software licenses, but it's a very valuable asset management tool all around. We probably only use 5% of its functionality, but it's worth the (low) price just for that. I'm looking forward to taking more advantage of the power tool as time permits.

Pros

Lansweeper is awesome. It's so helpful, and so powerful, and it's cheap! They also send regular emails with helpful information about security vulnerabilities that have been patched, so I can alert my users to run Windows updates, update their browsers, etc.

Cons

Honestly, nothing really. It does have its own ticketing system built in, and I'd love to see an easy integration with Zendesk, but it does have the ability to send emails, so having it do that to open a Zendesk ticket is an easy thing to do.

Reasons for choosing Lansweeper

It was on a list of recommendations with 4-5 other software packages. A quick look at each of their websites was enough to convince me that Lansweeper was the way to go. I've not looked back; Lansweeper is a great product that is well-supported and continually updated. And it's inexpensive!

Ian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Excellent Product for the Money

I liked this so much at my previous job that one of the first things I did two years ago when I switched employers was to arrange to purchase licensing at my new place of employment. Everyone here has been just as impressed with it as I am.

Pros

I cannot imagine doing my job as a systems administrator without this tool. It makes automating so many processes super easy, and is easy to customize with a great user base.

Cons

I really can't think of anything negative to say about this. Some auditors don't like the fact that it needs either local or domain admin privileges to utilize most of its functionality, but so do many tools in this category.

Grant

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

Lansweeper is a very capable local workstation inventory and management tool

Up to date workstation inventory, including hardware and software.

Pros

I like the software inventory on each workstation. I like that it comes with a (fairly simple) help desk facility. It is very easy to install and let run in the background. Whenever I need it (to look for sofware licenses or check disk capacity, for example), it has the latest inventory of what is on my network.

Cons

I wish that it was easier to manage the workstations that have disappeared. It is hard and tedious to delete the ones I've renamed or retired. I also am not happy with the Mac support. I guess that goes for Linux. You need to provide the "superuser" privileges to connect to each machine (windows is AD controlled so there is a domain admin authority).

Maxx

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Lansweeper is a powerful, web-based solution for domain management

Pros

Lansweeper automatically scans all PC assets on a domain and allows you to see information including RAM, Processor, HDD size and available space, warranty info, software keys, and several other bits of information from each individual asset.

Cons

The UI can be confusing to new users. Initial setup is a bit daunting, but considering how useful it is once installed it's worth the work.

Andre

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Lansweeper is the best admin tool that I have found !

View on my network devices and status. Capability to launch custom actions to these devices. The best admin tool that I used and reviewed by far. Good community. Easy of use.

Pros

Easy to use, one click away ! Customable reports. Can easily add custom actions for devices. Licensing management

Cons

I wish the lsremote.exe (VNC remote control tool) be a little bit more quicker with refresh rates.

Harold

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Lansweeper

Lansweeper is a great utility for Systems Admins. It has pretty much all you can ask for with regard to managing assets in your network. It has a great reporting tool that will report everything you need to know about a particular device on your network. Additionally, it has tools to remotely administer devices.

Pros

Reporting Assets management Web based Can attach to Active Directory network Bang for the buck

Cons

None

Matt

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Best asset management program for the money.

Pros

One of the biggest pros of this program is the price. Very aggressive pricing for exactly what you need in an IT asset management program.

Cons

The UI could use a revamp. The look and feel is a bit out dated to me. This by no means takes away any use or functionality.

Jim

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Lansweeper gets the job done when it comes to asset management

Pros

It picks up everything on the network rather quickly. Being able to see printer toner levels is really helpful for remote management.

Cons

The deployment options could be a little better and there is not great documentation for it. It is a lot of trial and error.

Jeff

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Excellent asset management software at a fair price

Pros

Detailed breakdown of your hardware. Very detailed reporting abilities using SQL statements. Can send remote commands and software installs.

Cons

Can run into issues with discovery of network connected devices. Some items won't properly display content.

James

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Great Network Discovery and Asset management

Pros

This software does it all for managing devices on a network and creates great reports. This software gives a full network over view.

Cons

This software is web based I wish it was more of an application but have not ran into any issues yet.

Showing 1 - 25 of 50 reviews
Lansweeper

Lansweeper

4.56/5 out of 50 reviews
PriceDemo