All Lansweeper Reviews

1-25 of 62 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Lansweeper

One of the simplest technologies to deploy and manage. Asset, software and forensic audits are so much simpler and safes a lot of man hours.

PROS

Deployment is easy and simple. This can also be said of the overall management of the software. A very important factor in my line of work is reporting. Lansweeper simplifies this with a whole list of standard reports that can also be used as templates for custom reports. Besides using Lansweeper for asset and software management, we also use it to report on vulnerable applications and assist in some of our internal forensic investigations.

CONS

There are currently no SIEM integration. This would be a great feature to integrate with our SOC.

Reason for choosing Lansweeper

Ease of use, pricing and reporting.

Reasons for switching to Lansweeper

Ease of use and pricing. Lots of online help.

Brett

Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

The Perfect Network Map

They have been a solid company to deal with. Licensing is always on time upon renewal date and the software upgrades almost on its own. There are endless amounts of customizing you can do to suit your needs.

PROS

I love the ease of scanning our entire network and getting the full spectrum of what we have. When it comes to auditing software and equipment there is no more guess work. I can look at everything from a 10,000ft view or right down to individuals event logs with a few clicks of the mouse. No more jumping over multiple hurdles to troubleshoot a PC any longer.

CONS

I wish there was a better way that when a user switches IP addresses that it easily detects the change and can discard the old record. I find myself clearing out multiple assets at times.

Reason for choosing Lansweeper

Very user-friendly and it makes our internal and external audits a breeze. With a few clicks of the mouse, I can give full reporting of all software and equipment. The options are endless on what it can do.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2018

A really good starter tool for endpoint management

I recommend this for a small (<2K nodes) single site environment. If they beefed up the deployment tools and added an agent based WOL, this would be a rockstar of a product.

PROS

Simple to setup and easy to use. With a little SQL skills you can easily setup dashboards to monitor some critical information, like primary software versions or percentage of total deployment of AV software.

CONS

Deployment tools are really weak. Installer logic is very limited with no access to WMI for creating conditions. Deployment packages do not survive reboot (ie multi reboots in a single installation package). Deployment installations are flakey. I can push the same package to a computer and it will fail 3x in a row and successful on the 4th. Tech support is based in UK, so if you are in the States forget phone support. "Software" inventory is based on Add/Remove registry, not file based. Any taught files to scan for are not included in any "Software" reports. They are completely separate

Dan

Renewables & Environment, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Good product with some odd quircks but not expensive

For the money, it does what it needs to do, and it is always available, and security s reasonable for the price.It is very comprehensive once you know how to drive it.

PROS

It is cheap, and it is easy to run on-premise.It has a cloud version you can sync, but it is not as comprehensive.Self-updating agents is a bonus.

CONS

The reporting engine is way too complex. Why do you need to know database query methodology to get a simple report?Migrating a database from one scanning device to another is not a straightforward process, and you need to invest a good amount of time learning how this tool work.

Reason for choosing Lansweeper

Price vs needs.Clear instructions and help.Good support forum.

Reasons for switching to Lansweeper

The complexity of the previous product, no cloud scanning options.

User Profile

Agenor

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Keep your IT assets on touch easily

Managing hundreds of servers and users’ computers in different sites is a challenge. Users can connect any kind of USB or Bluetooth accessories, and the technical team can install any software, without administrators knowledge and permission. Lansweeper can help you gather relevant information in a few minutes, from all computers connected in your network, without users knowledge or interference. Then you can keep your software licensing controls updated and prevent risks of unauthorized use software or leak of critical information.

PROS

Lansweeper offers many kinds of asset searching methods, with support for the main operating systems and virtualized servers. The interface is powerful, allowing the administrators to navigate through trees of sites, assets, and all components of hardware and software. You can configure alerts of changing in assets configuration to verify if that asset had a recent incident (problem) or a change request. The cost of licensing per asset is very low compared with most popular asset management software.

CONS

It is not ready for all kind of software licensing and needs improvements to control software on the cloud (licensed by CPU, cores or access). The offline asset inventory tool is helpful to gather information on external computers, but it is difficult to start the inventory and integrate it with online assets results.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2020

Simple to Install and Easy to Use but Often Limited

We had no idea what our network and systems looked like and Lansweeper helped significantly in offering a lot of insight into what our topology is, how many assets we have, and what the systems look like in terms of software installs, OS versions, patches, etc. The fact that it costs fractions of the larger offerings is a major plus.

PROS

It's ease of use over the long term. From set up to day to day, configuring lansweeper to fit into your environment is super simple and straight forward. We use it mostly for network scanning, IP management, and asset management.

CONS

We're a mixed environment -- a lot of Linux, Mac, and Windows systems -- it would be nice for Lansweeper to add more robust features for both Linux and Mac. Also, to build search queries requires knowledge of SQL. Which seems sort of ridiculous but I would imagine that the Lansweeper will improve the complex search/queries features soon.

Reason for choosing Lansweeper

It's pricing! It's exceptionally affordable (even free if your network is small enough) given the feature set. Hard to argue with that!

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Essential IT Tool

I'm very happy with Lansweeper and we are going to implement the help desk software in the near future to replace our current ticketing system. It's a more robust system than other similar programs.

PROS

Lansweeper is by far the most vital bit of software that I employ for my day to day duties. I use it to track assets, keep tabs on warranties that might be expiring, track disk errors before hard drives fail, and even perform functions on devices. It's very handy for checking background items while the end users obliviously go about their days. There are also a wide variety of 3rd party add on's to increase functionality.

CONS

I am not a fan of the lansweeper reporting software. I'm able to use the built in reports but I'm not well versed on writing my own and I can't find any help to break it down into terms I can understand.

Terry

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Great Tool With Great Price But Concerns Of Data Sovereignty On Cloud Instance

Lansweeper's on-prem instance has strong scanning and data rationalization capability. Its pricing is quite cheap comparing to other new or major IT asset management tools. But the report function in its on-prem instance is based on SQL query. If the built-in reports cannot meet the requirement, users need understand the database tables to create reports themselves which is not easy for everyone if has no knowledge about how database works or links together. Its newly cloud instance provides much better data analysis and asset topology however it requires to send data to AWS Ireland data centre which causes concerns of data sovereignty issue.

PROS

It has very attractive pricing on the market. Its agentless scanning capability is quite strong to capture all necessary information. Its cloud instance has much modern interface and data analysis feature

CONS

As today, its cloud instance requires sending data to AWS Ireland data centre which causes data sovereignty issue. Lansweeper only develop new capabilities on its cloud instance while no major improvement on its on-prem instance. Its reporting function in the on-prem instance is quite complex and require knowledge about database relationship and SQL query.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

A greet way to start asset tracking

Lansweeper was easy to deploy and configure on the network and the insight it gave us into all the assets we had was invaluable to say the least. We used the system to track supplies levels on all out multi function printers. We used it to track and graph out when computer system would need to be replaced and when warranty's were going to expire.

PROS

I loved being able to see what users had what systems and what software they had on them. We also used this to monitor ink and supplies levels of all our multi function printers so we could ensure that even our remote site stayed working.

CONS

We wished there a was a bot more customization to the alert emails that we would set up so we could see what we needed at a glance.

Philip

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Ideal for SME network internet and management

Positive. This was up and running within 30 mins. Customizable reporter and altering to give you weekly updates and changes. Great product.

PROS

That is scans all ips and reports detailed information. This does progress, printers pcs even down to Amazon echo!

CONS

Very little it's very customisable. If anything interrupt it can do too much. But one your are familiar I would be surprised if it doesn't meet your needs better than most if the competition. Only real drawback is it's an on prem solution that needs to be updated periodically rather than some of the cloud based alternatives

Reason for choosing Lansweeper

Ease of deployment and fully functional free trial

Mark

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

Lansweeper shows you just about everything you would want to see on your network.

Lansweeper is a very good product. It gathers information about network switches, Printers, PCs, and even the UPS power units on the network. It helps immensely when doing software audits and to also determine when a device was accessed last. It has a great deal of information available to the administrators and for our team we really couldn't do our business without it.

PROS

- identifies all devices on your network including PCs - keeps track of the last time a PC or other devices were logged into by the last person to log in. - keeps track of all software on a PC - keeps track of the warranty of a PC - integrates seamlessly with active directory - allows for manual entry for some devices that do not have a network monitoring port such as a UPS power unit if you want to try to use Lansweeper for an inventory control software.

CONS

- once a device is removed off the network it does not automatically delete that device. This causes some problems and requires an administrator to keep track of all users they have deleted from Active Directory and then go back into Lansweeper to delete that user. Because of this Lansweeper is not truly an inventory software but you could use it in that manner with additional input for staff members.

Ian

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Excellent IT asset management system

PROS

Lansweeper provides an asset management system that's full featured and has an efficient & initiative interface.

CONS

The cloud service is a significant departure from how Lansweeper operates and does not include the same functionality as on-prem. I understand some lack of feature parity, but it seems like they have made significant design decisions which prevent feature parity from ever being available.

Ryan

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

User-lock Feature and Functionality in summary review

Better management of Assets. Ease if Helpdeks ticket handling and asset association Group permissions helps to easily deploy access to resources. Just to name a few.

PROS

Since using Lansweeper in our network for over two years this application if found to be very helpful as it allowed us to easily scan our network automatically throughout and discover hundreds of different types of assets. The well defined structure, dashboard, reports and its components helped us to easily build and form a scale-able, flexible network management solution for our environment with the ability to know what has changed, when and where. The deployment is very simplified. We had managed to easily setup the database, web console and scanning service, all on the same machine. The agent-less and fully automatic scanning engine makes it a second to none and a worthwhile purchase.

CONS

There is not a difficulty of a problem area that we have found with the use of this application. In fact, the software probably just need a more rich dashboard for future versions and that should complete its visual effect at a glance.

Lisa

Management Consulting, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Robust Help Desk system

There is a lot this system can do for an IT department. What you put in is what you get out of it. Its a blank slate for you to customize, store, and use.

PROS

Lansweeper encompasses almost all of the needs for a HelpDesk. Tickets can be input and viewed easily. Email notifications can be customized. The sorting and filters are intuitive and useful. Lansweeper keeps track of Assets and you can search using any of the fields available. There is an Asset Import that is very helpful when adding a lot of equipment all at once. Its also customizable for fields, both static and dynamic. It is also helpful with Remote Access and scanning the network. It can be as simple and basic or complex and all encompassing as you make it. Its scalable on all ends. There are also Knowledgebase sections that are helpful to users if used. It is excellent for small to large organizations.

CONS

One of my biggest pet peeves is the Report section. It is not very user friendly and rigid with its output. It can also be a little challenging at first when scanning the network and determining which things it will automatically discover and which things it needs input on first. But once learned, you'll know what it will and wont do for you.

Mike

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Easy to use and powerful

Hardware and Software inventory is done very well. Reports can be ran manually or setup as automated. This can double as an Alert if the report is looking for things like low disk space or toner almost empty. We use its helpdesk feature as well and its very detailed and easy to view. Adding notes lets you send back to the user or just leave an internal note for you or your support staff.

PROS

First off it found most of my devices easily. The information it gives outperformed other software I was using. Software if finds shows up easily and not multiple times for 1 piece of software. Its clean looking and the reports are great! they are SQL and they have lots of reports you can use or change to fit your needs, Very Nice. The Helpdesk part is also easy and more detailed than other software I have used.

CONS

Not much but the menus can sometimes be too close as they pull down when you hover over them and that can be a little annoying.

Reason for choosing Lansweeper

Cost and options being part of the software and not add on modules.

Reasons for switching to Lansweeper

We needed a better way to get reports and Alerts. Also the software scan in spiceworks pulled up pieces of the software making it look like it was installed more that once. I quickly found out in 1 day how much better Lansweeper is than Spiceworks.

David

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2017

Lansweeper is our inventory savior

Form helpdesk to an automated inventory scan, Lansweeper has saved us so much time it's immeasurable. Everything is wonderfully integrated and very customizable. With it integrated to our AD it connects devices to users and created tickets seamlessly. Being able to quickly identify which device a user is having trouble with is fantastic. There are so many features it's hard to fit all of them into a single review. Safe to say is that you can in theory do everything you'd like from a troubleshooting and management standpoint. Application deploy, integrated uVNC remote desktop, Quick inventory management are just a few features that are great to have access to. If the included tools are not enough they have a great forum in which loads of people have submitted their own solutions to further extend the variety. Me and my colleagues highly recommend Lansweeper.

PROS

The automated inventory scan. The built-in uVNC support.

CONS

There a few things I dislike about the product. Everything we like is there and if it isn't the forum most likely have a solution to it.

Michael

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Good Asset management Software. With a few tweaks, it could be great but it is not there yet.

All from this device I can keep track of assets, access the admin share of the PC, or remote into it all from within the tool.

PROS

Identifies all devices on you network. Lansweeper is pretty fast compared to some of the asset management software that I have used. You can access the admin share on individual PCs, and remote into them with RDP all from the tool.

CONS

The biggest pet peeve that I have with Lansweeper is that it only hold onto the record of the device for 30 days after it goes offline. This is a big problem when you have a massive amount of offline inventory.

Vendor Response

Hi Michael, Thank you for your review! By default, Lansweeper does not delete any previously scanned assets from your database or web console. We would recommend checking your Automatic Cleanup Options under Configuration/Server Options to prevent any offline inventory from being deleted. If you have any further questions, don't hesitate to contact our support team via support@lansweeper.com. They would be happy to assist. Have a great day!

Replied March 2018

Jeff

Wholesale, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT