All Canny Reviews

1-25 of 44 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Katherine

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, it's our guiding compass.

Before using Canny, we manually collected and organized customer feedback in a spreadsheet which was time-consuming and laborious. Canny completely changed the game for us. It has automated the process of feedback collection which saved us a great deal of time and effort. Our Canny board is not just our product roadmap, but it's our company's guiding compass. As a small team, prioritizing what features to build is very important to us. And Canny shows us the direction that we should be sailing towards.

PROS

We love Canny's clean and intuitive interface which makes it easy for our users to navigate and submit feedback. Canny's changelog feature is very useful in showing our product's progress clearly. With Canny, product building is no longer just a one-sided internal practice. It's become a collective effort that involves both the product maker as well as the users. By making our product map public, it allows us to engage and interact with our users transparently. It shows that we care about what our users want. And that helps build customer loyalty. I also love the team behind Canny. They are always very responsive. Canny's founders are incredibly dedicated in building a product that makes tangible, positive impact for businesses.

CONS

Nothing that I can think of for now. I look forward to seeing more great features shipped by the Canny team!

Vendor Response

Thanks so much Kat! We're so happy to hear that Canny is helping your team is many ways :)

Replied May 2020

Jahanzeb

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Canny is really the best by far (beats email and chat support)

Gives us a scalable way of having direct relationships with our customers.

PROS

With email or chat support, you’ll likely have the same conversation many times (in some cases, hundreds of times), which doesn’t help your users (your finite resources could be spent on work that actually benefits them). What Canny does is subtle but profound. With a public forum allows people to create & upvote posts, and updates users on progress on each post, we can now have just one conversation with everyone affected by an issue, instead of 100+ conversations on the same topic. Customers can also potentially help each other out (great for a small team). And it gives transparency on how we work and how quickly we solve issues for the community.

CONS

There are a few features it would be nice to add, which are already on Canny’s feature request list (Canny uses Canny, which is great). So I’m confident that over time, it’ll become even better than it already is (and it’s already quite great!).

Reason for choosing Canny

Canny is more modern, easier to use, and just a better overall experience, built for exactly what we want it for.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much Jahanzeb for these kind words. We are so happy to hear Canny is helping you build relationships with your customers. Don't hesitate to give us feedback, we're all ears!

Replied April 2020

Amit

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2020

Beware - they refuse to listen to top-voted feedback

I would look elsewhere immediately - Canny seems like a club that pretends to take "open feedback" but they delete feedback they don't agree with, and refuse to listen to their own open, voting system.

PROS

UI seems nice, shame about the rest (see the cons section)

CONS

The company bills itself as feedback software, and to dog-food their software, they take on feedback on a public forum which is on their website. One of the top-voted features on their public roadmap is to remove their intrusive "Powered by" branding. In our comms with their people - they flat out refused to remove their branding - despite the number of votes for people wanting that, and despite the fact that we said we would pay much more.

Reason for choosing Canny

We did not pursue this further - it seems Canny (as a feedback company) doesn't actually care about feedback, just about enriching themselves and getting free leads off paying customers by forcing a "powered by" link to be in place, no matter how much you pay, no matter what plan you are on.

Vendor Response

Hi Amit, we're sorry you didn't have a fabulous experience with Canny. This definitely isn't the norm. We obviously take user feedback super seriously - we're a user feedback company after all. But it isn't the only input to our product prioritization process. Just because something gets a lot of votes doesn't mean it's a good fit for our product/customers/business. We believe that every software company should operate with this philosophy. Doing otherwise would be an injustice to customers and could be detrimental to building a successful company. I was trying to be transparent with you about why we don't remove branding, but it seems I didn't do a great job at communicating this, and I offended you. I'm sorry for offending you, and we're bummed to see this has caused you to leave a negative review. Best of luck with Tallyfy!

Replied February 2020

Chelsea

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Don't let customer feedback fall on deaf ears!

Easy to learn and quick to setup. This has made a positive such an impact to our business and with our customers!

PROS

Canny gives our customers a place to feel heard, listened to, and gain visibility into our feature and product roadmap which was not possible before Canny. We set the platform up in just a single day and onboarding was a breeze. Within the first week we had over 60+ posts from our customers! With Canny, we can now provide visibility in upcoming features. It gives our customers a place to leave valuable feedback, upvote on others posts, and comment on existing requests. With Canny, our customers feel as though they have a voice and can influence our product decisions.

CONS

We imported feature requests we've been collecting from an excel sheet which was AWESOME, however I wish my face/name wasn't on those requests. Aside from that, I LOVE everything about Canny.

Reason for choosing Canny

Recommended by a friend, the demo was great, and the software setup was SUPER EASY!

Reasons for switching to Canny

Notion wasn't visible to our customers. There wasn't a good way to log multiple request for the same topic. No good way to track feedback.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the rave review Chelsea! We love companies that care about giving their customers a voice :) thanks for using Canny to do it!

Replied November 2020

Owen

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Excellence

PROS

Integrating with our existing process was very simple. Canny provide no-end of integrations into the platform. This has allowed us to make sense of thousands of GitHub 'Issues' in such a simplistic way.

CONS

The pricing i would say is fair given the impact it can have on your Business although for early stage startups it's difficult to justify. Saying that it's extreamly easy to integrate down the line so when you do make the switch you can be up and running in no-time!

Reason for choosing Canny

Company culture i believe Canny has nailed this and i like to use products that not only prove useful but give inspiration. Canny does just that.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for the kind words, Owen! We're so glad to hear you're enjoying Canny. Don't hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful.

Replied September 2020

User Profile

Meredith

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

A lifesaver for a startup

We are using Canny to collect and prioritize user-based feedback on our proprietary marketing software. Before it was all coming through me (the Product Manager) and it was hard to be as transparent as I would like with our users about where their requests rank in the roadmap, what changes we've made in response to their feedback, etc. Canny makes it all happen for us.

PROS

Canny is intuitive on the administrator end, but more importantly, it's intuitive for the users/feedback givers. It's made an extremely complicated process of receiving feedback, logging it, and then following up with users when necessary into one streamlined software that is incredibly easy to use and scale.

CONS

Our biggest struggle right now is using one Canny instance for different products and services we have. Basically once our internal product starting using it, our web product wanted one, as did our knowledge base software. And we can't afford to give each of them their own instance at this time so things have gotten a little cluttered. It's definitely not a dealbreaker by any means, though.

User Profile

Dom

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Canny is the best product - we reviewed them all and are delighted that we selected Canny.

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the rest of the team at Canny are highly responsive and always come back with a suggestion or an answer so quickly.

PROS

The embeddable widget allowed us to put our features request straight into the heart of our website where users can add feature requests in one click.

CONS

We were early adopters so were forgiving in the early months as the product grew, but there is nothing really that we don’t like about this software.

Reason for choosing Canny

I chose carefully after thoroughly researching the competition. My choice has proved to be correct as we have stayed with them ever since and our users all enjoy using Canny for both adding feature requests and for managing those feature requests.

Reasons for switching to Canny

I shortlisted six products and Canny was one of them. I chose Canny because it looks great, it’s simple but has just the right amount of features without suffering from feature bloat which some of the other competitors clearly did. Also [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was amazing!

Vendor Response

Hi Dom, thanks so much for this glowing review! We're so happy to have you. As always, don't hesitate to reach out if we can improve anything for your team.

Replied June 2020

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Amazing tool for collecting product user feedback

Canny rocks! It's a tool that has an incredible ROI by collecting and managing feedback and feature requests and more. Instead of having to manually review and organize feedback Canny does it for you. Users are able to collaborate with others on new feature ideas and vote on these requests helping to really understand use cases and interest. This kind of solution builds loyalty with customers by not only improving your product but showing customers you are listening and their feedback is important.

PROS

I love the clean design and intuitive UX. Canny is great at collecting and managing feedback and I love all the integrations especially with Intercom. One very useful feature is the ability to collect, enter and attribute feedback to a user instead of the user having to enter it. It's great being able to show a user that their feedback was collected and matters since we no longer say "We'll pass your feedback along..." Now the user and others can see their suggestion and engage others interested in the same feature. Great support as well although it's so easy you'll hardly ever need it.

CONS

Nothing so far. The software doesn't do everything and that's actually what makes it great. Simplicity for the most common uses.

User Profile

Irena

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

HUGE fan of Canny

PROS

Love how easy it is to use, it's intuitive right off the bat. Public vs private comments, voting, integrations with slack/jira, all the things I definitely need to integrate it into our holistic systems are there.

CONS

Would love to see more customizations/controls and an extension of the existing platform into a project mgmt tool. I love how lightweight and intuitive the platform is, we need that for project mgmt focused on software development. that's the gap I see between Jira and Airtable for example.

Vendor Response

Hi Irena! Thanks so much for the kind words. We're happy to hear Canny is working well for you. Our team is definitely looking into some of the stuff you mentioned you'd like to see so stay tuned :) If you have specific customizations/controls in mind, send them our way!

Replied June 2020

Pablo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Simple ticketing system for support and requests

We use it as a communication tool between company workers and the IT team. Users can send us requests via canny. We have automatized some processes and integrated with ClickUp, so tasks are created automatically. What we like is that we don't mix it with our CRM. We use Hubspot for sales and canny for our internal communication. it,s our kind of internal CRM.It works smoothly, practically no training needed to understand how to use it.

PROS

we use it specifically as a support for IT. Our users (internal clients) can send their request via a simple form. We as a team have a responsible for each type of request. example. Support, bugs, new features, etc. For users makes communication with our IT team simple and engaging.

CONS

Nothing to complain, canny is quite simple to use

René-Pier

Online Media, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Managing feature requests and releases for Fari is a breeze

PROS

Not only was Canny easy to integrate directly within https://fari.app, it was also easy to understand for users and admins alike. Their support team have been helping me from the get go even though I didn't even need them because of how simple their product is easy to use. Within the first couple of days, I received dozens of feature requests and Fari's user were excited to have a say in what the dev team should work next on the app. Couldn't recommend enough.

CONS

Canny offers a widget which can be integrated directly within your apps, but that widget doesn't offer a dark theme. This can make it clash a bit with the rest of the user interface of your app if your app offers a dark mode. Minor inconvenience, but I thought I would mention it anyway. The cool thing is, they are using their own product, so that is a feature request that people can vote on, which I did! https://feedback.canny.io/feature-requests/p/widget-dark-theme

Anirudh

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Great tool for roadmapping but expensive post the recent price increase !

PROS

Its a great product and its very easy to get set-up. The ease of use is addictive and proves tough to move away from.

CONS

The recent price increase has made it a bit out of reach of many start-ups

Reason for choosing Canny

Looked like a more complete product

User Profile

Gaurav

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Good tool for community engagement for startups

Overall experience has been great, because it has enabled us to manage our community engagement really well. This hasn't been done by our competitors, hence gives us that edge. So kudos to Canny!

PROS

I like how it enables us to a) provide our customers with a public-facing roadmap that gives them transparency into our product vision and path, along with increasing our credibility in the market, and b) collect important feedback from our customers which helps us build the right features for them.

CONS

The interface leaves a lot to be desired. It feels very 2010s.

Namon

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Out-of-the-box custom forum

Overall we've had a very positive experience with Canny. This is our first experience with a customer-facing forum. It provides our customers with an option they previously didn't have for voicing their opinions, and allows us to aggregate and evaluate that feedback in meaningful, quantifiable ways.

PROS

We selected Canny because we wanted some sort of customer-facing forum for gathering and assessing customer feedback about new features. Canny was easy to set up, and allows us to easily track which posts are new, trending or have the most votes. It provides us with an avenue for gathering customer feedback that we previously didn't have.

CONS

I love the ability to categorize feedback, and I appreciate that the categories are visible to the public. I wish it were easier to add a new category on the fly, while reviewing feedback. As is, I have to review each time how to get to the settings where I can add or edit categories.

Reason for choosing Canny

We felt that Canny offered a very competitive price for the services that we needed. For us, it was the right balance.

User Profile

Kyle

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

More organized and more involved

I have been very pleased with our ability to track feature requests from our customers, while also providing these customers with updates on their requests. This sort of involvement and transparency goes a long way in cultivating trust and loyalty with our customers.

PROS

The ability to have the users of our app to vote on feature requests not only gave our users a renewed sense of investment with our product but allowed to truly make decisions with our customers in mind. Before, collecting customer feedback felt unorganized and ineffective.

CONS

The search functionality can use some work.

Vendor Response

Hi Kyle, thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear you're enjoying Canny. Please reach out if there are specific search cases that aren't working well for you. We're always looking to improve!

Replied November 2019

John

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Great tool for Product Teams

Love Canny. I'm really excited to see how the product grows and will be a part of our team. We currently have the tool heavily integrated into our Product, Marketing and Development teams. Outside of the great toolset; the team has been great to work with - every question gets answered, and they want to understand how we use the tool.

PROS

Very easy to connect to our customer database and provide them an in app experience for feature requests. The voting features, and ability to move requests through statuses to release makes it easier for customers to stay instep with us.

CONS

It's a new company so they have some catching up, but so far seem to have great priorities that align with client needs.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind words John! We're working hard to improve the product with your feedback :)

Replied May 2020

User Profile

Abram

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

The little things matter

Amazing experience with customer support and the product.

PROS

I love Canny's super beautiful design!!! I refused to purchase Aha! for over a year even though I really needed a customer feedback tool. I have been waiting a long time for a beautiful and easy to use feedback tool - Canny is it. Canny also nails all the little things. I still remember a experience years ago when I requested a feature from HubSpot. HubSpot team was very nice but basically told me to go write out the idea myself on their idea board. I thought to myself, I just explained everything to you can't you do it? All of this to say is I love the Canny feature that integrates with Intercom and automatically upvotes features for customers. The person you are talking to in Intercom can see everything right there, no effort on their part is needed! It's not possible to not love this!

CONS

None, but I am still a new user. 1 month approximately.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the kind words Abram! We're happy to hear you're enjoying Canny and our Intercom integration :)

Replied May 2020

Devin

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: