All Tableau Reviews

1-25 of 2,240 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Gaurav

Higher Education, 1,001 - 5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed November 2020

The easiest tool for Dataviz

User Profile

Shishir

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Excellent tool for Data Visualization with simplicity

I have worked on domains like Telecom and Network where in I have been using Tableau. Its really liked by senior management as it shows each and every bit very clearly to relevant stake holders. For example, Marketing head likes region wise revenue sale dashboard which gives region/sales manager/product wise sale.

PROS

There are many features which lot of users would have liked:- 1. Connection to almost all database 2. Many types of Charts can be created including Sankey, Doughnut, Maps etc. 3. Its has the feature of data blending and data extraction 4. Dashboards can be viewed on multiple devices like tablet, mobile and laptops. 5. Its really fast while drilling down or filtering out from any dashboard.

CONS

Its a bit expensive tool as compared to other data visualization tools however its a value for money.

Reason for choosing Tableau

There were multiple check points before choosing Tableau:- 1. We refereed Gartner quadrant which showcased good image of tableau. 2. Reviews taken from friends who are working in other organisation. 3. Some POCs developed on Trail version of Tableau

Reasons for switching to Tableau

It was a organisation demand however but as and when I started working on Tableau, I really liked working on it.

User Profile

Andres Ernesto

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

My opinion

My experience is average, before I used it more often, however, I use it less and less nowadays

PROS

high support, tools, ease of integration and great community

CONS

I have presented slowness with the tool and there are also other attractive options on the market, both in usefulness and price

Reason for choosing Tableau

popularity in the community and for being a stable tool

Reasons for switching to Tableau

in my case it's due to performance issues when used by VPN

Mateusz

Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Excellet story telling and analysis capabilities

PROS

The ease of creating customizable dashboards to share with clients with the ability to create branded content.

CONS

There is a competitive aspect to more and more clients transitioning to PowerBI due to the Microsoft suite "all in one" aspect.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Amazing for data analysis and exploration, not great for dashboards

At my team we use Tableau as a data exploration tool for data practitioners, and not for dashboards and data reporting to the company. This setup takes advantage of what Tableau does best and don't use it for what it doesn't. Tableau as a data reporting and dashboard tool may be suited for more traditional organizations, with a lot of experienced BI personnel who can take the time to build good dashboards with it.

PROS

Tableau allows for very good exploratory data analysis, and one can build amazing visualizations with it. Once you learn how to work with it, it becomes very easy to explore data and get insights from it.

CONS

Tableau is very expensive compared to its competitors, and if you want to get the whole company using it for dashboards, the pricing is certainly prohibitive for startups. I also don't Tableau for Dashboards, as the discovery and navigation interface is not very inviting to business users and dashboards are hard do discover. At the same time, building dashboards on Tableau is a lot less straightforward than in other tools. One can build very advanced dashboards, but that requires a lot of time and expertise, which not all Data users in a company will be.

Nithin

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Best data visualization tool out there

PROS

The fact that Tableau supports practically all connectors, including Teradata, Bigquery, Salesforce, SAP, Snowflake, and others, is one of its finest features. Furthermore, it can produce and support a wide variety of chart kinds, such as pie, donut, map, and Sankey charts. I am capable of creating engrossing dashboards that tell tales to inspire my audience.

CONS

Tableau can be costly for individual users or small enterprises due to the high licensing prices associated with Tableau Desktop.

Kimani

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Data Visualization

The overall experience is good. I have created many important visuals on the platform.

PROS

I think Tableau is up there when it comes to data visualization. One is able to create complex data visuals as one wishes. Secondly, one is able to perform arithmetic on the data as you create the visuals. Tableau is the best platform for data analysts and the whole business community.

CONS

When creating visuals, Tableau chooses the type of chart to use according to the type of data you have. For instance, one is not able to create a line chart unless data involving dates is used. This can be really annoying.

Reasons for switching to Tableau

Power BI become very difficult for me to use.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Revolutionary software in the field of data

Tableau is faster than other business intelligence tools. I'm sure Tableau can bring revolution in the field data. I recommend it.

PROS

Superb software for those who work with data. If you are data engineer, data analyst , data scientist, teacher, student or business own you should try it once.

CONS

Tableau has nothing dislike thing. It's amazing software. It can solve almost all problems related with data. Whether you want reporting or data processing. It can handle very easily.

Reasons for switching to Tableau

Because Tableau is faster than other business intelligence tools.

Munavvar

Online Media, 2-10 employees

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Exceptional Data Visualization Tool & Dashboard

Still Learning to create the dashboard & integrating BigData like Google's Big Query and its fun while building visualization. I enjoyed creating Visualization for one of the Clothing Brands in Surat, India.

PROS

It supports Python, so customized visualization is possible (for Python programmers, it's easy) to create their own custom dashboard and visualization.

CONS

It's a bit costly, where PowerBI is free.

Reason for choosing Tableau

In-depth customization and data cleaning is possible and easy in Tableau, which is why I liked this.

Reasons for switching to Tableau

Using both PowerBI and Tableau.

Valente

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Tableau Terrific

Tableau is a great tool if seeking an application that can make sense of your data in a visual way.

PROS

Tableau has the capability to display our data in various ways. The drop down menus in Tableau give the user the ability to manipulate the data and be presented in unique ways.

CONS

No negative report on Tableau on my part. It is a great application and tool.

Osman

E-Learning, 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Create reports using Tableau

PROS

The capabilities that it offers to connect with systems in order to create reports without any issues and visualization that helps stakeholders to make decisions

CONS

That for initial users the user interface is not that friendly

Vishal

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

One of the best BI tools available in the market

It was really good and helped in granular level analysis of data.

PROS

Tableau is one of the best business intelligence tools available in the market. The visual interface is really good and easy to use. The entire aspect of building dashboards with ease, setting up alerts is really good. The features available in desktop version are really good and caters to most of the requirements.

CONS

A few areas where Tableau can improve are: 1) Navigating between multiple sheets is sometimes a tedious process. Something can be done if a user wants to move multiple sheets here and there in the workbook. 2) Add more features to Tableau Explorer - a lot of features are available in Tableau Creator/desktop version which are important for creating dashboards. Those should be added to Online version as well 3) Integration with files stored in AWS S3 is not available right now - direct integration should be available.

Reason for choosing Tableau

Better pricing Better feature Better integration with databases

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Tableau: The Game-Changing Data Analysis Tool

Tableau is widely recognized as a powerful and versatile tool for exploring and analyzing data. Its user-friendly interface and ability to connect with a wide range of data sources make it a popular choice. However, it can be relatively expensive, has a learning curve for new users, and may not be as customizable as other data visualization tools. Overall, Tableau is a top choice for data analysis and visualization.

PROS

User-friendly interface that is easy to use and modify visualizationsPowerful data analysis capabilities for exploring and analyzing large datasetsSupports connectivity with a wide range of data sourcesInteractive dashboards that allow viewers to interact with the dataCustomization options to tailor visualizations to specific needsLarge and active user community that provides support and resourcesEasy integration with other software and tools, such as Microsoft Office and Salesforce.

CONS

Cost: Tableau can be relatively expensive, especially for small businesses or individual users.Steep learning curve: While the interface is user-friendly, the tool's advanced features may require some technical expertise, leading to a learning curve.Limited collaboration features: Tableau is not as collaborative as some other data visualization tools, which can be a drawback for teams.Limited customization: While Tableau offers some customization options, it may not be as customizable as some other data visualization tools.Limited functionality without additional tools: To perform certain functions or use specific data sources, additional tools or software may be required.

Reasons for switching to Tableau

For More intuitive and user-friendly interface

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Great BI Tool

Love the product, great for Ad-Hoc presentations and digging into historical data.

PROS

I really like how easy it is to try visualizing data in different ways. Going into an analysis I don't always know the best way to present my data, so being able to try different things so easily makes my analysis a lot easier.

CONS

Formatting visualizations is not easy to understand. Clunky UI for formatting. Somewhat difficult to figure out what exactly is being changed by different options.

Reason for choosing Tableau

Best value for money, easier to use, better fit for the key projects the organization was taking on at the time.

Reasons for switching to Tableau

Power BI was a pain to use, slow, and did not have the same out of the box visualizations that Tableau does.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Very comprehensive and all-inclusive solution

The ability to build dashboards that capture data that originate from sources so that it can be compiled in reports and dashboards that are used to analyze performance data of digital marketing campaigns.

PROS

The ability to create and visualize sets of data in a number of different ways, and tailor it to your liking something very powerful about the tool that really stands out. Having one set of data and being able to visualize and paint of a picture of that data in two different ways side by side in one dashboard really stands out for me.

CONS

The time it has taken to get in touch with customer support at times when there are urgent issues has been a frustration and has prevented our team from being able to troubleshoot a few different technical product issues in a timely manner.

Reason for choosing Tableau

Based on user reviews, through product demos and feedback on the initial product walkthrough, I found the solution to be tailored more to our teams needs.

Griffin

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Tableau Rocks!

Overall, Tableau is a fantastic program for getting automated reports created, published, and off your plate! The visuals are amazing and the subscriptions and alert system are my absolute favorite. The software has its quirks but I've yet to have a problem I couldn't logically program my way around with a little time spent on web forums. Amazing software, very useful, exciting to use!

PROS

I love Tableau because, to me, there is almost nothing else out there that does data visualization so quickly and so effectively. I love that you can import almost any kind of data source (I only use SQL or Excel as sources, but there are hundreds of other options). I love that you can then add your own calculated fields, group data into custom buckets, and create parameters which the user can input on the published workbook. I love that you can visualize the data so quickly and in so many ways (with color and shape/size as further attributes). It's like a pivot chart in Excel but so much more agile to use! Finally, I love that you can then build dashboards with these individual reports/worksheets that you create, publish them onto the web, and essentially "set it and forget it," thereby providing your end users with future reporting that is automatic and requires no further work on your end! The real beauty is the creation of alerts and subscriptions, which can email users on a schedule or depending on certain conditions. That's when life really gets exciting--it's like having a full-time robot managing your processes!

CONS

I definitely wish Tableau could write back to a database. That would be amazing. I've heard it's in the works, but for now, it's still just on my wish list. I dislike various aspects about Tableau that can make it quite tricky to use. When you publish a data source, you should really publish it first before creating any calculated fields, groups, or parameters. Otherwise, it becomes much more difficult to edit these fields later as you have to re-download the published data source to make your edits to those fields, and then republish your data source, which results in my having to ask IT to re-input the server refresh password to get the data to refresh on a schedule again. This is a tremendous headache. So it's best to create and save new fields at the workbook level, not the data source level. There are also a great many bugs I still run into with Tableau from time to time. Strange behaviors that show me it was created by a human being, as all software is. There is usually a way to figure out a workaround but you have to get creative. Tableau is quirky, for sure. Some actions in the local program work great but don't necessarily translate to the web form. For example, if you create a calculated field that depends on data from two different sources, that works great locally, but it doesn't work well once you publish those data sources to the Tableau Server, because, for some reason, it does not allow the calculation to draw from the separately published data.

Anthony

Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Tableau- Comprehensive Business Software with Advanced Reporting and Analysis Tools

Tableau has been a great asset for analyzing various reports and data sets. As a data analyst, I found it to be an invaluable tool for keeping my critical reports organized and easily accessible. I highly recommend Tableau as a business platform for both report designers and users as it provides unmatched flexibility in developing and using data sets in ways that will meet your complex business requirements.

PROS

Expansive functionality that allows the user to both manipulate and export data in a wide variety of formats. Export as an image, excel workbook, PDF file, Powerpoint or more. Multiple custom filter options that allow you to sort to the data that is most important to your needs. Easy to navigate through reports and convenient features such as adding favorites that will show up on your dashboard. Clean and professional interface that helps with organization of projects. Sharing reports within your organization is simple and there are restriction features which will allow you to determine who has access to the data sets as you see fit. Software gives information on when data was last refreshed, if the report is in real-time, or when the data is scheduled to refresh again.

CONS

Inactivity will cause you to have to refresh the page and remove any applied filters which will require you to wait again for the filtered data to load. This can be a little frustrating especially when pulling very large data sets that take a long time to load before you can pull them and then forgetting to export the data before the page refreshes. However, this is a rare occurrence as the refresh time is pretty generous, at least a couple of hours in my experience. Nevertheless, something to note for improvement in future versions.

Masa

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

The de facto tool for all future analytical instrumentation professionals

It helped me to combine multiple data sets and create easy-to-understand graphs. I used to use Access and Excel to create matrix tables and graphs, but with the sequential conversion to Tableau, I was able to obtain results in about an hour instead of a full day, which dramatically reduced our work time. The result was a dramatic improvement in efficiency. As I was able to drill down and deepen our analysis, I was able to visualize things that I had not been able to express before, and I was able to notice issues that I had missed. The data mart was built at the same time as the introduction of Tableau, and the data sources are now centrally managed, which strengthens governance. Since I can now check the results on a daily basis, which I used to be able to check only on a weekly basis, the speed of the PDCA cycle has increased, and I am now able to challenge various ideas more ambitiously. The ability to visualize data in an easy-to-understand manner has made the task of "communicating" easier.

PROS

I used to use Access and Excel to create reports on data aggregation and analysis of the current situation, which changed every day, and I had to repeat the same tasks over and over again each time. However, since I started to use Tableau, the freshness of the most important data has not deteriorated, and I can visually view the data reflecting almost real-time data. The basic operation is not difficult for beginners. The basic operations are easy to get used to, even for beginners, and it is not that difficult to get started. I can organize data that Excel can't handle and put it together in a way that is easy to understand, and I can use the UI to cross-tabulate, graph, and visualize changes in numerical values, making it very convenient to use. Another advantage is that no knowledge of SQL or other programming languages is required to handle the data. Since visualization can be done interactively, which is usually difficult when there is a considerable amount of data, it is easy to make considerations based on the data. Since it is possible to quickly change the chart (change the aggregation unit, change the axis, change the filter, etc.), it is easy to get new insights since it is stress-free to look at the data, consider the results, and change the approach again. Data visualization that involves aggregation is powerful anyway.

CONS

I would like to see a more complete set of manuals. Statistical knowledge is not necessary, but some of the expressions on the screen are difficult to interpret, and it takes time to get used to them. The visualization is not intuitive, and when you try to do something a little more elaborate, it has its own quirks, and I think it requires training to make the visualization look the way you want. As for the display format of the graph, you can easily switch the format by selecting from the palette, but it is difficult to find the menu for things like drawing auxiliary lines. Sometimes it takes a long time to load the data, so it would be very helpful if that could be improved. It doesn't depend on the size of the data or the environment of the PC, so I would really like to see this improved. It tends to be very slow due to slow loading of data and loading every time you switch tabs. It is not suitable for advanced analytical simulations such as statistical analysis or predictive modeling. It is only a visualization tool. I would like to see more options for license types and prices. The price hurdle is too high, so please make it easier to introduce.

Virginia

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Tableau Desktop is my must-have software. I couldn't do my job without it (nor would I want to)!

Tableau has allowed our office to look at data in new ways. Whether we're using it for data exploration or dissemination, it makes the information easy to understand and use, even for newbies. In the past, we used spreadsheets and PDFs to share data with various constituents, but they were dense and only offered a static view of the data. Now, with interactive dashboards, end-users can not only search for the exact information they need, they can also see how it fits into the big picture. This capability has led people to ask more questions and actually get excited about data and assessment. Tableau allows us to answer those new questions quickly and accurately than before.

PROS

I have been using Tableau Desktop for over five years now and I still get excited about it. First, Tableau is so easy to learn and use--the intuitive interface allows even first-time users to create amazing visualizations. Second, Tableau is a time saver. What used to take me weeks now takes days and what used to take days now takes minutes. Third, Tableau is versatile. There are many different chart types available, and with the ability to tweak everything from size to font to color, your imagination is the only limit. Fourth, Tableau is always evolving and improving. With each update, Tableau adds new features and capabilities that continuously make my job easier to perform. The software is capable of connecting with data in many different formats from spreadsheets and SQL to PDF's and spatial files, making it useful for any field or company that works with data. I could go on and on about the benefits of using Tableau, but the best way to understand my enthusiasm is to try the product--it speaks for itself!

CONS

Sometimes large data files can take several minutes to load. Tableau allows for the creation of extracts to speed up the process, but the initial upload still takes time. Tableau also does not have an auto-save feature, which has caused me to lose work on several occasions.

User Profile

Margot

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: