User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(47)

47

4 stars

(15)

15

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy and fast to start a new service. Easy service overview. Nice pricerange from hobby to business"

  • "Console is easy to navigate. I didn't need a single tutorial to figure out what was where."

  • "Availability and live migration feature is awesome "

  • Cons

  • "They are not the cheapest Monitoring/alerting options were a bit lackluste, but this has improved recently."

  • "The chat support takes a long time to answer the questions but when they do, the answers are to the point and helpful."

  • "A little more customization in the pricing would be nice (and the ability to run within a VPC instead of having to peer VPCs), but honestly there's very little I don't like about Aiven. "

Browse Aiven PostgreSQL Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 63 results

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Charlie from TORQ Interface

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

The best managed PostgreSQL solution I've tried

I have always wanted a solution like Aiven; easy-to-use like Heroku, but with far more powerful features and far more affordable.

Pros

- latest version of PostgreSQL available nearly immediately - great performance - easy-to-understand UI with enough power to do everything I needed - straightforward solution, not excessively complicated - ability to deploy into cloud provider of my choice, no lock-in - clear pricing - excellent support

Cons

- not possible to leverage free credits from cloud providers

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

An excellent, full-featured database provider

Pros

The general ease of operation for: - Spinning up new databases - Scaling up - Scaling down - Migrating to a different region - Restoring backups Is really great. It's amazing how many features you get out of the box. The plans with redundancy are also cool because you get full access to the slave as a read-only replica, this means you can run heavy select queries without putting load on the main database. There is a very significant "it just works" factor to it, which is not something I would imagine myself saying about a database provider so easily.

Cons

They are not the cheapest Monitoring/alerting options were a bit lackluste, but this has improved recently.

February 2021

Bradley from Gamesheet Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2021

Bradley uses Aiven

It's okay, it doesn't fail which is great, but lacking in tools.

Pros

Console is easy to navigate. I didn't need a single tutorial to figure out what was where.

Cons

Monitoring, Performance measuring, and optimization tools are pretty non-existent

Reasons for Choosing Aiven PostgreSQL

I didn't choose, inherited from a prior decision.

August 2018

Mikko from Enterlot

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2018

title

cool

Cons

Not being able to copy from one gb to another easily or automatically

Response from Aiven

Replied February 2019

Hi Mikko, Thank you for your comment. You can find more information about copying entire databases from one service another from: https://help.aiven.io/postgresql/getting-started/migrating-your-existing-postgresql-database-to-aiven Hope this helps!

February 2021

AURELIEN from ADEO

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Easy and efficient

Pros

Easy to use and manage for other users and device declaration

Cons

Nothing to report now, the management of authorized ip is not the most user-friendly, but good enough.

August 2020

Justin from LMI

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Works for us

We use this product to back our application for all environments. It is a huge improvement over our previous provider who was less expensive, but not nearly as stable or user friendly.

Pros

The ease of deployment and the dashboard are super important to us and these guys seem to have put a lot of thought into building a toolset that works for devs.

Cons

I don't have anything useful to add here.

Reasons for Choosing Aiven PostgreSQL

Price and ease of use.

Reasons for Switching to Aiven PostgreSQL

We were experiencing slow downs and instability on the previous postgres service.

April 2019

Mathias from Save by Solar

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Focus on the productive stuff

Extremely esay to use and get started with in seconds. Very helpful support if so be needed and a very reliable service.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to spin up a postgreSQL instance and start being productive. Everything from creating a secure password to SSL-certificates are handled automatically. Point in time backups make you confident to use and test without gambling hours of work and for the serious tests and development environments - spin up a replica by forking the database with the press of a button!

Cons

It is a bit expensive if you need more disk space, which isn't unusual when dealing with data and databases.

August 2020

Ev from ZeNhub

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

My review

Pros

It works. It seems stable. We hope someones is handling all the version updates and patches for us, but we don't get a lot of visibility into that.

Cons

It's expensive and I'm not sure how much value Aiven is providing us. We consider just running Postgres on our own cloud almost every day.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Márton from Tempus Information Systems AB

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

So simple and powerfull

I am very satisfied with Aiven so far.It eliminated the need for in-house solutions for backup, scaling and upgrading a PostgreSQL server.

Pros

I have only used the PostgreSQL service so far and I really like how easy it is to start, fork en upgrade the service. A great feature, and a must for us, is that you can choose on which cloud provider and location the service should be deployed. We have been hosting our own PostgreSQL server for years and had to manage upgrades, backup and scaling on our own. And it feels great to finally leave that behind us and start using PostgreSQL as a service. The support is great to. I have been in contact with the support using the chat feature and have been helped every time.

Cons

The official API client was a bit hard to understand at first.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

James from When You Move

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great service

The implementation of our business!

Pros

Can't fault Aiven at all, great service, the exact services we require (postgres and elasticsearch) and always more than willing to help

Cons

While it is a managed service you do need to have at least a minimum of knowledge to setup and run the services on offer.

October 2017

Mario from Tecnomotum

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Aiven is very efficent for me, because is very easy use to

the serves restores in atumatic in downtime the backup automatic facility to see the performance

Pros

graph of metrics query statics easy admin of users the autimatic backups and restores the upgrades of service plans is a very easy and autimatic the agents of service desk are very efficent and friendly

Cons

can't watch logs of befores days aiven dont have a panel to execute querys, i could execute querys without any administrator of postgresql from your platform cant admin sessions, i could close to sessions without pgadmin

Response from Aiven

Replied February 2019

Hello Mario, Thank you for your review. We¿re glad to hear you have enjoyed the ease of use of our managed PostgreSQL. First, I wanted to let you know that it is now possible to close connections directly from console. Second, our logs view has been improved; for longer logs retention, we support integration to Elasticsearch, where you can keep logs for unlimited (limited by amount of disk space) time. Thanks again!

October 2017

Johannes from Pubfront ApS

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Excellent, well-designed product. Hard to imagine an easier solution to this problem.

Pros

The best feature is how easy it is to get up and running. Once you've set up an instance, you literally (in our case) just had to copy-and-paste the database URL into our site's (Django-based) configuration. The fact that scaling the instances is so easy also makes it quite comfortable to just start with a small one and then upgrade it as your needs increase.

Cons

We had one or two cases where the instance was unreachable, even though the dashboard reported that it was up. Considering the price, this is pretty good for over a year of service with no redundancy, though. Also, automatically upgrading the PostgreSQL version is obviously a double-edged sword. An opt-out feature might be helpful. We once started getting some errors when the postgres-server version changed.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Aiven is the perfect, no-lock-in DB solution

Pros

Aiven makes it trival to move databases between cloud providers. The stickiest thing about any hyperscaler (AWS/Google/Azure) is your data - it's a PAIN to move. Aiven makes changing your cloud provider a literal point and shoot operation, something that could take weeks of planning trying to from RDS to Cloud SQL or the like.

Cons

A little more customization in the pricing would be nice (and the ability to run within a VPC instead of having to peer VPCs), but honestly there's very little I don't like about Aiven.

January 2020

Nathan from WealthBar Financial Services Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Painless PostreSql

Overall all of my interactions with the Aiven team have been positive, even if we didn't arrive at a solution the support team is knowledgeable and truly tries to help. As for the system itself it has been pretty rock solid so far. Keep up the good work.

Pros

The confidence I have that the DB will be running, that if there is an update or upgrade I can (from the DB side) simply click a button to deploy it.

Cons

We are currently transitioning most of our app to k8s and the systems just don't seem to work super well with Digital Ocean's current solution. (We don't get VPC's and as such have issue with whitelisting correct IP's as they tend to change)

Reasons for Choosing Aiven PostgreSQL

I was not part of this process

July 2019

Daniel from CloudWalk

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Remote replicas to the rescue!

We tested and we loved it, the remote replica is a service that takes weight out of our shoulders in a brilliant and simple way.

Pros

The interface is easy to use and intuitive. The remote replica option is saving the company time. In the past, it was hard to manage and configure the remote replicas using tools like Bucardo and PostgreSQL in RDS, which does not support binary replication (at least it didn't back then). The replicas between the remote databases happen almost instantly. Great support for extensions.

Cons

The chat support takes a long time to answer the questions but when they do, the answers are to the point and helpful.

Reasons for Switching to Aiven PostgreSQL

Remote replicas.

October 2019

Paul from Anders Innovations Oy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Best managed DB so far

After we started using Aiven, DB's have been one thing that we don't have to worry about.

Pros

It was just super simple to start using it. The possibility to deploy the service to the same locations where we host our capacity was crucial for us. Also as a nice plus, aiven has made their own Terraform provider which we also use to manage our capacity.

Cons

Option to create "Service Accounts" would be really nice. Currently all the API tokens are tied to actual user accounts and that might cause problems at some point. But other than that there's not much not to like :)

Reasons for Choosing Aiven PostgreSQL

Pricing and the fact that we can have same solution across all cloud service providers we use.

October 2017

Efrain from Tecnomotum SA de CV

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Using Aiven has been a great experience because it has permitted us to deploy faster database server

Deploying database servers it is now really fast for us.

Pros

I like that is possible to deploy PostgreSQL within seconds. I also really like that is possible to upgrade to a minor or major version of PostgreSQL without a noticeable downtime. I like the offering of HA services. I like the great customer support.

Cons

That it is not possible to have customizable PostgreSQL logs. On our dedicated servers we customize this logs to show us querys that last longer than 5 seconds, currently this is not possible with Aiven.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

It's great. Everything just works; setup was effortless; customer service is responsive and helpful.

Pros

The best thing are the no-downtime migrations and upgrades. The setup was quick and easy and since then no maintenance has been required. Customer service is great and pro-active. The dashboard works well.

Cons

As far as I can tell there's no way to set a separate billing email. It would be nice to also see in the dashboard what's taking up most memory and disk space and to be able to set up alerts, such as if there are queries that take too long to execute.

Response from Aiven

Replied February 2019

Thanks for the review! Great to hear you have had a good experience so far. Regarding to your comment on setting a separate billing email, field for that has now been made available.

July 2019

Bruno from Ometria

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Aiven PostgreSQL review

Pros

Performance is much higher than Amazon RDS

Cons

Failover can take quite a long time.

Reasons for Switching to Aiven PostgreSQL

IOPS

October 2019

Joseph from Sift

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Easy to use console and high availability

Pros

The console was easy to use and intuitive. We were evaluating GCP CloudSQL vs Aiven and really what it came down to is that Aiven has better up time. CloudSQL has maintenance periods of 5-10 minutes that render the service unavailable, which is unacceptable for our uses. We also liked that Aiven could host on any major cloud platform (on GCP in our case).

Cons

At first it wasn't clear to me at first that I needed to connect to the DB and create users and manage the permissions manually through the CLI. Might be nice to have an initial user creation or way to manage the db users in the console.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great product, really happy about it

Pros

- the support provided during the sales cycle - the exploration of possible options - the platform is clear and user friendly - great product, it took us a few hours to migrate from our database on premise to that on Aiven.

Cons

- the fact that we can only have Timescale Open Source features run on Aiven, and not the advanced features.

Reasons for Choosing Aiven PostgreSQL

Database as a service, H.A.

March 2019

Sugandi from BBM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Overall is more far better than Google cloudsql

Good so far, you guys provide mysql as well?

Pros

Availability and live migration feature is awesome

Cons

Last time (couple weeks) it still cannot zoom to specific range of time in metric dashboard or i am wrong remember

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Works well, has cloud datacenters in many regions.

Don't have to host Linux servers for it myself.

Pros

Datacenters in multiple regions, multiple PostgreSQL versions. General high level of availability. Support is helpful and pretty fast (located in my timezone.)

Cons

No real cons actually. Had a problem once (which was related to my PG driver etc), the customer support helped me resolve it fairly quickly.

February 2018

Karl-Jørgen from KMD

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

It works nicely

Pros

Easy and fast to start a new service. Easy service overview. Nice pricerange from hobby to business

Cons

We had a service issue some time ago where we had no database for 4 hours. We needed to upgrade to business to have better fallback

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Overall good, customer support is good, however pricing is not great compared to AWS, logs not good.

Pros

Ease of use, being able to upgrade, downgrade hardware as needed, great customer support, overall decent interface.

Cons

Hardware versus price is not great, especially compared to AWS, not great logging, seems difficult to customize, no auto scaling.

August 2018

Mags from Access Telehealth

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

new to cloud db services

Very happy with service and support

Pros

- Australian data centre (no one has these!) - Postgres support - Easy to create an account and a database - Customer support is very good - Documentation and guides are very good - Intergration with Datadog was easy

Cons

1. The default db is named 'defaultdb' so i created new dbs for staging/prod so i dont use the default db, i find this a bit confusing 2. On overview page only default db is shown, I would prefer to see all my db's and possibly set favourites 3. When I hit the server the Current Queries tab shows IP address but duration and db fields are blank? 4. Pricing seems a little steep for mid level single app users 5. Would like to see explanations in console graphs to better understand what they mean

October 2017

Yoav from Kenhub

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Nice UI. Great support. Great features (for PG, a bit less for redis unfortunately)

Pros

Setup is very intuitive, and it seems to work great. Support was prompt and knowledgeable (which is hugely important). PG features seem solid and the flexibility to choose the cloud hosting, size etc is great.

Cons

easy Redis backup/import is still missing unfortunately. We'd love to use Aiven for redis too, but with those limitations we can't yet. I'm still a bit hesitant about how likely Aiven is to stay in business as a company. It's not so well known and hard to know who's behind it and that it's doing well financially to keep going for many years. (btw, I think you guys should be more active on HackerNews and other geek channels where you should market yourselves.)

July 2019

Mitchell from Sticitt

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Very impressed

Pros

The ability to link to our Google cloud cluster using VPC was very valuable. Features such as PITR and connection pooling makes Avien PostgreSQL in another league entirely when it comes to cloud services. Well done.

Cons

It would be useful to allow a whitelisted IP address into the service even when its configured with VPC

Reasons for Switching to Aiven PostgreSQL

Lack of features such as PITR and connection pooling.

October 2018

Alex from DadeSystems

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Software developer

excellent

Pros

Easy to deploy and setup replication on any cloud provider we like

Cons

We want to move to our production environment but we need a SOC2. Currently, aiven does not have that. WHEN WILL YOU GET IT?!

Response from Aiven

Replied February 2019

Hello Alex, Thanks for the review! We¿re glad your experience has been good so far. Regarding your question, we are aiming for SOC2 report it during 2019. In case you have requested the feature through our support, you will be notified when it¿s available. Meanwhile, I suggest you following our RSS feeds for further updates. To demonstrate our commitment to our customers' information security, we maintain compliance with all major data regulations and are ISO 27001 certified. Thanks again and stay tuned!

July 2019

Jason from Financial Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great trial period experience

Using Aiven lets us keep our DB from the tight grip of the majors and avoid lockin.

Pros

Excellent "managed" db setup, overall. I liked how Aiven seemed to abstract the cloud-company-centric database offerings that each cloud co offers but made it appear "seamless" to me.

Cons

Could use a better explanation of pricing w.r.t. what the standard google/amzn/do db setup might cost.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

Good for quick start, but more features required

Pros

Ease of use, quick setup. We easily migrated to cloud and don't have to manage PostgreSQL any more.

Cons

Not enough features and settings for PostgreSQL: for example: slow queries logs are missing and we have to monitor by third party tools.

November 2017

Andy from BBM (BBMTEK)

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Great PostgreSQL offering with managed PGBouncher

Pros

- Managed PGBouncher - easy setup and upgrade - quicky offering new technologies (e.g. PostgreSQL 10)

Cons

- lack of integration with datadog for metrics. right now we need to get some metrics manually using the Aiven metrics API

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great affordable product

Overall, it's been a smooth experience transitioning and migrating over from our previous hosting platform. The support has been absolutely great thus far.

Pros

It's clean, simple-to-use, and best of all, is serviced by very knowledgeable IT staff who can answer the finer details of our technical questions and make nuanced recommendations. The pricing plan is also friendlier than those offered by the bigger platforms.

Cons

It would be great if we can be on the trial plan too, and getting on it was a bit of a hassle, but otherwise not much complaints.

January 2018

Louis from PIXELTEX

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

We love to use Aiven to spawn PostgreSQL databases, it's easy to use and many features we like

Fast and easy setup, vast choice of cloud providers and regions.

Pros

Zero-downtime migrations and plan changes, database forks, nice metrics with iops. Configuration seems to be hand-crafted to the installation, which is nice.

Cons

Plans could be more flexible in terms of space. Would be great to be able to choose disk space independently. Even for a small database which is used to store archive data, it gets very expensive.

May 2019

Tony from Aquicore

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Aiven provides reliable and secure services, and support has been super knowledgable.

We use Aiven Postgres to deploy new services rapidly. I like how Aiven handles changes to the deployed environment. The support team at Aiven answers questions clearly and are knowledgable.

Pros

Aiven provides premium security for all accounts, not as an add-on feature.

Cons

The terraform plugin is not up to full feature parity, but covers most of our use cases.

July 2019

Quinn from Axiom Zen

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

aiven is a great service, very few downsides

Overall aiven PostgreSQL has been a smooth experience, with smooth upgrades/migrations. We are using it to replace a legacy MongoDB stack.

Pros

The self-service nature of everything, including vpc peering. The existence of a hashicorp terraform provider works perfectly for us :)

Cons

Chat support isn't great, I'd rather be able to asynchronously create a ticket in response to issues rather than wait for staff to be available via chat. Some postgres options aren't configurable (ie. deadlock_timeout).

May 2019

Mike from Kaiterra

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

So far so great

We need hosted Postgres that provides read-only replicas in other geographical regions. And when selecting the region for our master, it was important to select a region with good connectivity to mainland China. Aiven's ability to live-migrate a database to another cloud region or cloud provider with only a few clicks made this incredibly simple. We're also using logical replication, which Aiven has support for via the aiven_extras plugin. Support has always been great, with competent and detailed technical answers to all questions I've asked.

Pros

The feature set (cross-regional replication, live migration, logical decoding), and support. Support has been amazing.

Cons

No mainland China support. I understand that's difficult though.

June 2019

Matt from yulife

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

New users but great product so far

database migration went off without any major issues

Pros

Ease of setup and peering, account manager was helpful and responsive throughout the evaluation process, ease of upgrading instance, SLA of 100% is very appealing, just takes some of the worries away that we have :)

Cons

createing a read-replica and not being able to select the specific custom vpc from aws.

Reasons for Choosing Aiven PostgreSQL

encryption by default, easier admin panel.

Reasons for Switching to Aiven PostgreSQL

cost and control over security and backups

November 2019

Edmund from Ometria

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Aiven Postgres

Pros

I think the Aiven console is very useful and allows for a lot of database tasks to be completed via the UI, which is quite handy. Additionally, the dashboards built into the dashboard are pretty useful for monitoring the overall state of the Postgres instance.

Cons

I feel that there is some missing documentation with the documentation on the Postgres service not being quite as complete and clear as it could be.

March 2021

Oriol from replay poker

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Potential best DBaaS

Pros

simple to use, performant and reliable.

Cons

Had to create a temporary grafana installation to grab the prometheus dashboard and took some considerable time to adapt it to our own self-hosted installation.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Awesome service

love it

Pros

Its so easy to set up and get started with, and the blog article that tells you how to set up timescale db (that was the primary reason we needed aiven in the first place). I love it.

Cons

Nothing to do with the service, but the fact that timescaledb wont let us use the enterprise license in aiven is deeply disappointing. But love aiven, keep up the great work guys

April 2018

Max from M2P Consulting GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Works as it should, no useless overhead

Quick and easy solution for my need of Database as a service.

Pros

Absolutely easy setup. Just a few clicks and everything is up and running. No overhead configuration or to database specific. I needed a Database as a service, i got a database as a service. Nothing more to say.

Cons

I miss a little button to start a database backup by myself. Maybe it is there somewhere, but i am too blind...

November 2017

Jeremy from OptioPay

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Painless.

We offload backup and high availability operations.

Pros

Taking postgres off our production servers makes them basically immutable and much easier to manage. Backup and failover of a single-node database is very important, but not part of our core competency.

Cons

It would be nice to have per-aiven-user postgres admin accounts so that we can audit access via tools like psql.

June 2019

Djay from Stealth Startup

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Excellent cloud managed offering of PostGreSQL with nice extensions

We are using it to solve temporal data ingest and queries for IoT use-cases.

Pros

Easy cloud based management of all database operational aspects.

Cons

Low limits on maximum connections for SaaS use-cases where a large number of connections are required. Do not have root/postgres admin access to install custom extensions.

January 2021

Jim from Capstone Metering

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Capstone Aiven Review

Super simple I loved it

Pros

-Ease of deployment and a centralized place to manage multiple databases and services. -Ability to choose region to deploy in

Cons

- I still had credits left but my trial ended at the 30 day mark. This wasn't a huge deal and I saw the credits role over but typically with credit based trials (AWS GCP Azure) you can go until your credits are used up.

Reasons for Switching to Aiven PostgreSQL

Wanting a more centralized place to manage multiple databases

December 2017

Andrey from Global Payments Processing AG

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Easy yet powerful

Pros

I enjoyed using the Aiven console a lot. It is very straightforward to use, well-organized and documented.

Cons

Not much to complain about. Probably Services overview page could provide connection details straight away, so the user doesn't have to click on the service name to find the host and port.

January 2018

Gary from Grinning Elephant, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Powerful yet easy to use

Pros

The simplicity of upgrading databases. The virtualization (to the customer) of cloud provider choices. The ability to control all aspects of the database and users.

Cons

Log file management. Uncertainty of the company (the same as with all startups). Performance of the low-end option.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Ideal setup for Postgres + TimescaleDB

Pros

- Good Terraform support - TimescaleDB support (plus other addons) - Very responsive sales and engineering department - Supports all major cloud providers including Azure

Cons

- Pricing is more expensive than Azures own Postgres (but that doesn't TimescaleDB)

July 2019

Justin from ZenHub

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

PG Review

Pros

Terraform compatibility, Easy to deploy, fast and scalable

Cons

Potential Slow support due to the chat saying that "turn around time is 3 -5 hours".

Reasons for Choosing Aiven PostgreSQL

terraform and we use other products in your sister company.

February 2019

Sylvain from Norauto

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Very good service, easy to use

Pros

Aiven services on PostgresSQL is the easier I ever met. the admin UI is user friendly, and the whole thing is secured.

Cons

The time of start and stop is quiet long, but it's really nothing so far.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 63 reviews