Aiven for PostgreSQL Software Reviews

FrontRunners 2021

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.74

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The platform is clear and user friendly. Great product, it took us a few hours to migrate from our database on premise to that on Aiven."
  • icon"Easy to get started with, support is reactive, overall it is a great experience for newcomers."
  • icon"I like the offering of HA services. I like the great customer support."
  • icon"No mainland China support. I understand that's difficult though."
  • icon"As far as I can tell there's no way to set a separate billing email."
  • icon"Low limits on maximum connections for SaaS use-cases where a large number of connections are required. Do not have root/postgres admin access to install custom extensions."

All Aiven for PostgreSQL Reviews

1-25 of 68 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Charlie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

The best managed PostgreSQL solution I've tried

I have always wanted a solution like Aiven; easy-to-use like Heroku, but with far more powerful features and far more affordable.

Pros

- latest version of PostgreSQL available nearly immediately - great performance - easy-to-understand UI with enough power to do everything I needed - straightforward solution, not excessively complicated - ability to deploy into cloud provider of my choice, no lock-in - clear pricing - excellent support

Cons

- not possible to leverage free credits from cloud providers

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

An excellent, full-featured database provider

Pros

The general ease of operation for: - Spinning up new databases - Scaling up - Scaling down - Migrating to a different region - Restoring backups Is really great. It's amazing how many features you get out of the box. The plans with redundancy are also cool because you get full access to the slave as a read-only replica, this means you can run heavy select queries without putting load on the main database. There is a very significant "it just works" factor to it, which is not something I would imagine myself saying about a database provider so easily.

Cons

They are not the cheapest Monitoring/alerting options were a bit lackluste, but this has improved recently.

Mikko

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2018

title

cool

Cons

Not being able to copy from one gb to another easily or automatically

Response from Aiven

Hi Mikko, Thank you for your comment. You can find more information about copying entire databases from one service another from: https://help.aiven.io/postgresql/getting-started/migrating-your-existing-postgresql-database-to-aiven Hope this helps!

Replied February 2019

Mathias

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Focus on the productive stuff

Extremely esay to use and get started with in seconds. Very helpful support if so be needed and a very reliable service.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to spin up a postgreSQL instance and start being productive. Everything from creating a secure password to SSL-certificates are handled automatically. Point in time backups make you confident to use and test without gambling hours of work and for the serious tests and development environments - spin up a replica by forking the database with the press of a button!

Cons

It is a bit expensive if you need more disk space, which isn't unusual when dealing with data and databases.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

It's great. Everything just works; setup was effortless; customer service is responsive and helpful.

Pros

The best thing are the no-downtime migrations and upgrades. The setup was quick and easy and since then no maintenance has been required. Customer service is great and pro-active. The dashboard works well.

Cons

As far as I can tell there's no way to set a separate billing email. It would be nice to also see in the dashboard what's taking up most memory and disk space and to be able to set up alerts, such as if there are queries that take too long to execute.

Response from Aiven

Thanks for the review! Great to hear you have had a good experience so far. Regarding to your comment on setting a separate billing email, field for that has now been made available.

Replied February 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Great product, really happy about it

Pros

- the support provided during the sales cycle - the exploration of possible options - the platform is clear and user friendly - great product, it took us a few hours to migrate from our database on premise to that on Aiven.

Cons

- the fact that we can only have Timescale Open Source features run on Aiven, and not the advanced features.

Reasons for choosing Aiven for PostgreSQL

Database as a service, H.A.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

Works well, has cloud datacenters in many regions.

Don't have to host Linux servers for it myself.

Pros

Datacenters in multiple regions, multiple PostgreSQL versions. General high level of availability. Support is helpful and pretty fast (located in my timezone.)

Cons

No real cons actually. Had a problem once (which was related to my PG driver etc), the customer support helped me resolve it fairly quickly.

User Profile

Márton

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

So simple and powerfull

I am very satisfied with Aiven so far.It eliminated the need for in-house solutions for backup, scaling and upgrading a PostgreSQL server.

Pros

I have only used the PostgreSQL service so far and I really like how easy it is to start, fork en upgrade the service. A great feature, and a must for us, is that you can choose on which cloud provider and location the service should be deployed. We have been hosting our own PostgreSQL server for years and had to manage upgrades, backup and scaling on our own. And it feels great to finally leave that behind us and start using PostgreSQL as a service. The support is great to. I have been in contact with the support using the chat feature and have been helped every time.

Cons

The official API client was a bit hard to understand at first.

User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

Great service

The implementation of our business!

Pros

Can't fault Aiven at all, great service, the exact services we require (postgres and elasticsearch) and always more than willing to help

Cons

While it is a managed service you do need to have at least a minimum of knowledge to setup and run the services on offer.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2018

Good for quick start, but more features required

Pros

Ease of use, quick setup. We easily migrated to cloud and don't have to manage PostgreSQL any more.

Cons

Not enough features and settings for PostgreSQL: for example: slow queries logs are missing and we have to monitor by third party tools.

Daniel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Remote replicas to the rescue!

We tested and we loved it, the remote replica is a service that takes weight out of our shoulders in a brilliant and simple way.

Pros

The interface is easy to use and intuitive. The remote replica option is saving the company time. In the past, it was hard to manage and configure the remote replicas using tools like Bucardo and PostgreSQL in RDS, which does not support binary replication (at least it didn't back then). The replicas between the remote databases happen almost instantly. Great support for extensions.

Cons

The chat support takes a long time to answer the questions but when they do, the answers are to the point and helpful.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon RDS

Switched From

Amazon RDS

Reasons for switching to Aiven for PostgreSQL

Remote replicas.

Bruno

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Aiven PostgreSQL review

Pros

Performance is much higher than Amazon RDS

Cons

Failover can take quite a long time.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon RDS

Switched From

Amazon RDS

Reasons for switching to Aiven for PostgreSQL

IOPS

Mario

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Aiven is very efficent for me, because is very easy use to

the serves restores in atumatic in downtime the backup automatic facility to see the performance

Pros

graph of metrics query statics easy admin of users the autimatic backups and restores the upgrades of service plans is a very easy and autimatic the agents of service desk are very efficent and friendly

Cons

can't watch logs of befores days aiven dont have a panel to execute querys, i could execute querys without any administrator of postgresql from your platform cant admin sessions, i could close to sessions without pgadmin

Response from Aiven

Hello Mario, Thank you for your review. We¿re glad to hear you have enjoyed the ease of use of our managed PostgreSQL. First, I wanted to let you know that it is now possible to close connections directly from console. Second, our logs view has been improved; for longer logs retention, we support integration to Elasticsearch, where you can keep logs for unlimited (limited by amount of disk space) time. Thanks again!

Replied February 2019

Johannes

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

Excellent, well-designed product. Hard to imagine an easier solution to this problem.

Pros

The best feature is how easy it is to get up and running. Once you've set up an instance, you literally (in our case) just had to copy-and-paste the database URL into our site's (Django-based) configuration. The fact that scaling the instances is so easy also makes it quite comfortable to just start with a small one and then upgrade it as your needs increase.

Cons

We had one or two cases where the instance was unreachable, even though the dashboard reported that it was up. Considering the price, this is pretty good for over a year of service with no redundancy, though. Also, automatically upgrading the PostgreSQL version is obviously a double-edged sword. An opt-out feature might be helpful. We once started getting some errors when the postgres-server version changed.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Aiven is the perfect, no-lock-in DB solution

Pros

Aiven makes it trival to move databases between cloud providers. The stickiest thing about any hyperscaler (AWS/Google/Azure) is your data - it's a PAIN to move. Aiven makes changing your cloud provider a literal point and shoot operation, something that could take weeks of planning trying to from RDS to Cloud SQL or the like.

Cons

A little more customization in the pricing would be nice (and the ability to run within a VPC instead of having to peer VPCs), but honestly there's very little I don't like about Aiven.

Nathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4