All DbVisualizer Reviews

1-25 of 95 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Genuine

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Game changer!

Mainly data collection from our standalone systems, to support advanced data analytics and reporting.

PROS

DbVisualizer was a game changer for us when we were evaluating expensive products to do data collection. It provided as with cost effective options to collect large amount of data effortlessly.

CONS

None that I can think of. It worked great and met all our requirements.

Reason for choosing DbVisualizer

Cost effective and ease of use & implementation.

Reasons for switching to DbVisualizer

Expensive

User Profile

Simon

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Navigation in data is superior

DbVisualizer became my primary database tool, and I don't want to miss it.

PROS

I often must navigate in the database's data, and that's where DbVisualizer shines.

CONS

The code completion is not as good as with DataGrip

Reasons for switching to DbVisualizer

DataGrip is also a great product, but it has no data navigation.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Fullt functional multi-platform database client

Overall DbVisualizer has become a staple in my toolbox because I am able to access different platform databases without having to switch between the vendor-provided tools. It has many of the features that I need and would gain by using the other tools.

PROS

The ability to connect to a database-independent of platform from a single tool is the biggest reason for my use of DbVisualizer. The tool provides a single tool that can query or inspect the database structure.

CONS

There is not much to dislike about the tool, but it would be nice to have the option to export to Excel. The export feature is something that I do use regularly and being able to get data into Excel for business users to consume would be helpful.

Daniel

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

DBviz review

Very pleased, meets our Data Engineering and exploration needs at a fair pricepoint

PROS

Ease of use,,, Price, Connectors,,, frequent updates

CONS

For what we use it for, it meets the need

James

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

One of my "Must Have" Tools

PROS

I've been using DBVis for about as long as it's been around. I recall using it back around 1999. This product has continued to evolve and improve, which is why I continue to subscribe to annual updates. The greatest benefit I've gotten from the app is a single platform providing access to any data source having a JDBC driver (which is probably near all of them) and that exposes those differing systems in a common and consistent way. There is absolutely no noticeable lag or buffering or constant cache updates like I see with another product.

CONS

Prior to about 2017 I'd have very little to say here. Around that time I began using a programming editor, JetBrains IntelliJ Ultimate. Part of that software is their full DataGrip application. Somehow, they've got the edge when it comes to code completion and object introspection. The responsiveness within the UI is so much quicker and smoother than when I enable auto-completion in DbVis.

Reason for choosing DbVisualizer

I use both DbVis and IntelliJ DataGrip (bundled with their editor). For it's integration with editor and object introspection, DG is preferred. For an overall more responsive and flexible experience, I use DbVis.

Paul

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Best SQL Workbench tool that you'll find

I do a lot of experimentation using DbVisualizer. It allows me to easily modify database schema, load new 'experimental' datasets, and then run queries against them. (Hence, if I had Python scripting in DbVisualizer, I could do everything in there and I would only ever use DbVisualizer).

PROS

It's easy to connect to databases, easy to manage and query them, it's simply a fantastic tool for anyone who frequently interacts with databases. I use it in preference to the database vendor's own tools - I use one tool to rule them all :^).

CONS

I haven't come across any yet. But...if I had a wish list feature that I could add to DbVisualizer, it would be support for something like Python scripting within DbVisualizer itself. That would give me the perfect tool.

Reason for choosing DbVisualizer

I found DbVisualizer much easier to use than any of these alternatives. It was more intuitive and the database driver and database connection wizards make it easy to connect to any database that I need to use.

Reasons for switching to DbVisualizer

I was fed up on having to learn new tools and switch between different tools with different commands for each and every database. DbVisualizer gives me all of that control and functionality in a single tool.

Michael

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Fantastic database tool for software professionals

DbVisualizer has helped me in my work greatly for many years. I believe it's been a decade or more that I've been using it. I've tried other database tools, but in my work, no other software is as comprehensive and quick to use as DbVisualizer.

PROS

My favorite three things in DbVisualizer are 1) variable replacement and 2) inline export functionality. The time I save exporting my results as a CSV as the query is running is super helpful! It happens right inline with my scripted queries using the @export command and its settings. I love it. Finally, 3) the documentation is great. I can always find what I'm looking for with the online documentation, when I need it.

CONS

This is a user preference issue, and just my opinion: The theme (colors, fonts, etc.) options changed with the last version on Mac and I would like to be able to use the original theme from earlier versions. In fairness, I haven't spent the time to investigate if this is possible, but the 4 or 5 themes you are given as startup options are not great, to me.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Powerful, flexible & verstile

Since 2015, I've been using DbVisualizer in order to work, primarily, with Salesforce. Since then I've also used it with Sqlite3, PostgreSQL, MS SqlServer and others. The Pro version is especially handy due to having the ability to open as many SQL (and other) windows as necessary. Once I used the macro abilities for ETL type of work and found that to be easier than expected. Overall, a solid, worthwhile tool.

PROS

Interfaces with any database I've attempted to use. Extremely useful with Salesforce (assuming availability of an appropriate JDBC driver) Easy to discover schema, save schema, duplicate databases for multiple environments Shows all data in a specified table Data exportable and importable as CSV

CONS

Sometimes, setting up a new database connection can be a little tricky. Admin must know the options.

Reason for choosing DbVisualizer

Flexibility for use with a wide variety of databases.

Evan

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Using for Over 20 Years

I've been using DbVis since the first version, well over twenty years. I've tried various other tools but keep coming back to DbVis for it's familiar ease-of-use. Indispensable tool.

PROS

Easy to manage multiple database platforms from one interface.

CONS

Java-based implementation can be sluggish.

Mads Freek

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

DbVisualizer review

PROS

Supports many databases - just using java

CONS

It's UI is somewhat java based/limited ...

Michael

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Long time user - haven't seen anything better

I have been using DbVisualizer for over 10 years, keeping up with updates along the way. I have I tried out most of the similar universal database client tools, but nothing compares with DbVisualizer.

PROS

Provides a common interface to many different databases. Easy to use.

CONS

One feature I would like to see added is the ability to run an external shell command whenever I connect or disconnect to a database.

Edward

Food Production, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Great Product

I have been using this product for over 5 years. I searched for a long time, tried many other products but once I found DbVisualizer my search was over. I even prefer and use this over MySQL’s Workbench.

PROS

This is my go to product for dealing with our MySQL instances which host our data warehouse. It has everything I need and it is simple to use. I do not think I have ever referenced the help for DbVisualizer.

CONS

I would like to see the ability to deal with user accounts and permissions added.

Reason for choosing DbVisualizer

It had all of the features I wAs looking for

Marcos

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

DbVisualizer Ease of Use

It my opinion it’s an excellent product.

PROS

The ability to reverse engineer the objects is most important.

CONS

I have not discovered anything yet. I use it for postgres.

Reason for choosing DbVisualizer

Rich features.

David

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Easy and efftective

PROS

I love the ease of DBVisualizer, everything is there and easy to use. It doesn’t take a lot of training to figure out each capability.

CONS

I do wish when importing from a file it gave a bit more info in what is failing if applicable.

Robert

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Go to application

PROS

The ease of use with communicating and accessing the different source systems we work with daily

CONS

The Enterprise license structure policy. We do not have enough users to fulfill.

Bengt

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

DbVisualizer integrated with Mimer SQL

It is used as a frontend to the database server. Allows both the occasional use and more heavy duty daily use.

PROS

DbVisualizer allows access to the Mimer SQL database. In fact, ALL SQL data definition commands can be generated through the menu interface.Very easy to get an overview of the schema and all objects in the database.

CONS

Difficult to setup first connection and get started.

Reasons for switching to DbVisualizer

The flexibility in the definitions of the profile xml files are superb.Very good quality of the product. Very few problems and crashes.

Ed

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

overall

I've had very good experience.

PROS

Good visualization, good use of memory and easy to back out of queries.

CONS

I wish copying values from a result set would put commas between the values and single quotes like SQL developer does.

Reason for choosing DbVisualizer

I like the visualization. I like the fact that you can open up a result set in Excel. I like the way SQL is formatted

Don

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Great Product

Love it. I literally use it 3 times a week at minimum.

PROS

I love it's ease of use connecting, navigating and querying. The query builder feature is a great way to start on complex joins without having to type a lot. :-)

CONS

The viewing of relationships and references or anything looking like an ERD is quite unintuitive and clunky.

Frank

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: