User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(17)

17

4 stars

(13)

13

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The performance of this db its is amazing. The team assigned to our project did a great work by migrating a huge system in a short period of time "

  • "Fast query processing and child agg and master agg works super"

  • "Performance is good and it is a relational database"

  • Cons

  • "should be able to keep more data in memory and do not break."

  • "Deployment script is bit challenging and need more custom works"

  • "support is limited. there are not too many tutorial/forum etc."

Browse MemSQL Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -19 of 31 results

December 2019

Sujay from Malwarebytes Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Checked - One solution for Streaming Analytics on Big Data

Pros

- Super simple, we implemented the whole of our customer-facing streaming analytics data store in a 2-day hackathon - Natively integrates with AWS & other services (we are a multi-petabyte S3 shop with huge Kafka clusters) - Since most of it is SQL, anyone can hit the ground running in no-time, an ultra-low barrier to entry - We saw a sub-second response on a test case with 1000 concurrent heavy API calls (scanning billions of rows across many tables + window functions etc) along with applying RBAC functionalities on the fly - Incredibly fast out of the box, basic performance tuning will suffice 95% of use cases - Fantastic partners to work with, super helpful, we have access to their core engineering team, +100 on Customer engagement!

Cons

In my humble opinion, it solved a very unique hard problem for us elegantly (without having to compromise on any architectural or data principles). Problem of streaming analytics on high-velocity high volume data sets with sub-second API responses can be a handful. For me, this along with other use-cases they mention is their core strength. So anything beyond these capabilities is a "Nice to have" for me. Their roadmap covers most of what the community is asking - hot back-up's, better UI, modelling etc.

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

All the previous solutions we tried solved either one or few of the challenges in this use-case for us. Memsql covered almost all the focus areas without having to compromise on any architectural or data principles.

October 2019

Brandon from FirstEnergy Corp.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Thoughts on MemSQL

Our primary use case for MemSQL is an enterprise data lake, which will also serve as a staging area for MemSQL data warehouses. They are currently being developed and are not in production yet. We're learning things as we go, but in general, development is going well and we're satisfied with the product.

Pros

I appreciate that MemSQL is a distributed database that runs on commodity hardware and can be scaled out as opposed to some fixed, vendor-maintained appliances like Teradata. Columnstore is a valuable feature.

Cons

The product is not fully mature. Although it uses the MySQL protocol, it does not always work with MySQL-compliant products. Some administrative functions such as incremental, point-in-time, and object-specific backups and restore are lacking. MemSQL is making progress in these areas, but it still has room to grow.

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

We considered NoSQL products such as Hadoop, but we wanted to leverage our existing SQL skillset.

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

Thanks for your feedback. We work hard every day to close any feature gaps between MemSQL and the older, legacy databases. Incremental Backup lands in version 7.0, and point-in-time restore is being actively developed, and is slated to land next year.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

MemSQL : Needs Time to Mature

This is a good software but needs to mature more for an enterprise level

Pros

Similar to existing RDBMS Supports join In Box implementation with Spark Salable & manageable with memSQL ops

Cons

Security Features Consistency Overflow on Disk

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Cost & future roadmap

October 2019

MOHAMMAD SUFIYAN from Fiserv

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

SUPERSONIC DB - SUPERB

I'll rate it at a full star. Having worked with almost all the databases, I can simply say it aces every database that I worked. The Transformation capabilities in LOAD command is something I have not seen anywhere which helps a lot along with capturing errors and rejects in the LOAD command.

Pros

Super fast and would have give a fair bit of competition to CONCORD Aircraft:). But seriously it is the Database of the new generation with huge potential for both On Premise and Cloud. High compatibility, resilience, scalability are some superb features to work on with it. Highly recommended to any Organization wanting to get rid of the Old fashioned drag on DBs.

Cons

I don't have any particular dislikes, but would love to see its own Client interface, inbuilt Data Modelling capabilities and a superb front end which can help potentially any Developers or Programmers to start the development from Day 1. Secondly I would also like to see a proper Blogging web portal to help developers resolve their queries, issues faster.

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

Supersonic is a great description. Thank you. Have you tried MemSQL Studio, the web-based SQL editor and cluster monitor?

September 2019

Manisha from Macys

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Very fast

Pros

fast response, perfect for real time apps

Cons

documentation isnot too clear about what sits in memory and what on disk. even though all our tables were made to reside on disk, we were getting lots of usage alerts, took for ever to resolve.

October 2019

Joel from EOG Resources, Inc.

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Best in memory SQL offering available

MemSQL has helped us enable significant business value through a simplified data lake system. Large amounts of IOT data (trillions of rows) can be queried in milliseconds. In addition business databases with processes (running on similar hardware) that took hours to run and now running sub-second on MemSQL. The path to get to where we are was not easy, but MemSQL was alongside us all the way.

Pros

1. Amazing Performance. 2. ANSI and PL SQL compatibility. Enables easy transition from traditional databases to MemSQL. 3. Highly and easily Scalable 4. Easy to setup, easy to work with. 5. Great support.

Cons

Lack of Incremental backups, No Failback of replications. Lack of transaction logging. Lack of recoverable snapshots. (All these are near term upcoming features in MemSQL though)

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Simple, Legacy compatible, performance

September 2019

udayakumar from macys

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Good inMemory DB but not great Customer Support

Overall we like the products but some important features are lacking.

Pros

I like the way how it solves both being an In-memroy DB and Relational at the same time .. most of the In-Memory products are not relational. Query Response time are good.

Cons

Not Good customer support, Even for PROD-Sev1 issues it's difficult to get on-call representative support. Lacking Two way DB replication for DataCenters.

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Being and In-memory Relational DB.

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

I'd love to learn more about your support experience and escalate your concern so we can better serve users in the future. Can you reach out to community@memsql.com so we can learn more?

October 2019

Ahmad from CSS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Best Distributed RDBMS Ever!

So far MemSQL was able to handle all types of workloads we applied to it, executing blazing fast queries against tables with real-time data ingestion. Some of the features we use and are extremely helpful are json support and full-text search, which allowed us to ingest millions of documents every day and run sophisticated dashboards against them

Pros

1. Lightening speed queries 2. High speed, high throughput, real-time data ingestion and queries. Thanks to the pipelines 3. Scale out very easily with no limit 4. In-memory tables for high OLTP workloads, and on-disk columnar storage for OLAP workloads 5. Short learning curve. drop-in replacement to the famous MySQL DB 6. Full-text search 7. Free edition is available

Cons

I really can't think of much here. I advise MemSQL to accelerate adding features to the MemSQL studio

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Achieved the highest performance, short learning path, familiar syntax, compatibility with almost all products in the market as it support MySQL wire protocol. Cost effective Excellent support team

October 2019

Ivan from Playtika

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Horizontally scalable relational database

- online segmentation of users - monitoring - data science

Pros

- horizontally scalable relational database - huge performance win comparing to on-prem alternatives - easy to setup on k8s - easy to connect to kafka

Cons

- cross data center replication requires manual intervention on failover

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Used by company competitors

October 2019

Kai from Criteo

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great replacement for Hadoop for a fraction of the cost

We needed freshly aggregated stats for our realtime bidding logs. Hadoop Hive was taking over 2 hours to perform the aggregation. After migration to MemSQL we were able to aggregate the stats within 20 minutes.

Pros

Deployment was quick and painless. Works well with existing SQL-based data pipelines. We replaced our expensive and difficult-to-maintain Hadoop cluster with MemSQL and a fraction of the cost.

Cons

There were some stability issues early on with the product, however, the support team was proactive in addressing our issues and providing fixes in later releases. Synchronization with an external MySQL meta-database is not straightforward, and we had to build our own custom synchronization scripts.

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

So glad you're getting such exceptional performance.

October 2019

Sanjaya kumar from Vcare corporation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Excellent

Excellent working with Memsql database. We are within our SLA.

Pros

Fast query processing and child agg and master agg works super

Cons

Memsql ops does not work real time some times.

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

faster query processing result and familiar with mysql client.

October 2019

Todd from Priority Payment System

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

memsql

good

Pros

Performance is good and it is a relational database

Cons

support is limited. there are not too many tutorial/forum etc.

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Reputation

September 2019

Adrian from Questrade

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

i dont need the gift card :)

R&D, installation, administration, new features R&D

Pros

fast, reliable, stable, works perfect on Linux replication is fast and too easy to set up :)

Cons

geez ... I really don't know. I am really thinking of something I don't like but nothing comes to mind. I have been doing administration for ... a few good years now.

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Because the R&D was promising.

September 2019

Tencza from Comcast

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Software and Support

We use memsql for our DB solution for cDVR. Your support personal have been very responsive and helped us resolve our issues. Ranging from a SEV1 to a SEV3 issue.

Pros

Ease of use Ease of troubleshooting and upgrading Supporting

Cons

We have had issues with Aggregators/Leafs failing over

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

I'm so glad you've had such a positive experience with support.

October 2019

prasad from cOMCAST

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Memsql is very good for big data development

it was a excellent experience. We were able to build big data pipelines fast.

Pros

fastest in memory database. We have observed that it is very fast with queries,

Cons

should be able to keep more data in memory and do not break.

October 2019

Praveen from Verizon

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Great product. Could be better at performance

Overall experience has been good and with good engineering principles, I'm sure MemSQL can overcome the performance challenges and can be a force to reckon with.

Pros

good product with good core competencies - scalable SQL database designed for transactional and analytical workloads, consistency durability etc

Cons

Performance challenges for in-Memory Database.

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

Price points and durability

October 2019

Jung from GoGuardian

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Best of the both world, row and col

Performance justifies expensive license cost

Pros

You can seamlessly join both row and columnar tables and query across it

Cons

Deployment script is bit challenging and need more custom works

Reasons for Choosing MemSQL

none of them either failed our read query latency tests, write throughput tests, or went over the cost of legacy solution

October 2019

Dana from rbc

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great performacne improvment and great team to work with

Pros

The performance of this db its is amazing. The team assigned to our project did a great work by migrating a huge system in a short period of time

Cons

Since it is a new system that we are implementing as of now...I do not have "dislike".

September 2019

Shane from Comcast

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

MemSQL-6 Administrator Training

MemSQL solves our DBMS need for fast updates to storage, alert on comp nodes and IP delivery.

Pros

When synchronizing permissions to child aggregators, only non-root users are affected. It has real-time processing features, and a child aggregator can be set as master if necessary.

Cons

If a leaf fails it takes the Matser Aggregator 10 seconds to promote the slave partitions from paired leaf.

September 2019

Vihari from Loven Systems LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

MemSQL

Amazing learning experience working with MemSQL, user friendly and easy to learn and understand. Made our lives much easier.

Pros

Performance and fairly easy to understand.

Cons

None actually. But sometimes support tickets take some time to be resolved but apart from that everything is great.

September 2019

Sathwik from Malwarebytes

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Gets the job done

The on-boarding was very smooth. The sales team is always ready to answer any question you have and they don't hesitate to involve their Engineers if you ask for more technical details.

Pros

If you are looking for something for real time analytics/dashboard this is the go-to option. We tried out lot of other technologies/tools and nothing seemed to be meeting the expectations when it comes to concurrent loads and data latency.

Cons

No Support for directly reading out of S3 files.

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

A Quickstart tutorial for pulling data directly out of S3 files is at https://docs.memsql.com/v6.8/concepts/pipelines/s3-pipelines-quickstart/ How can we make this documentation more discoverable?

October 2019

udaneshwara from GE

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Excellent and user friendly

Pros

Fast Accessing and data fetch and reliable

Cons

none.. don't have any con's as of now...

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

MemSQL distributed DBMS

hardware are needed according to cluster requirements

Pros

faster and scalable .. it runs as a distributed cluster thats why it is faster

Cons

it is not free ...and not popular among users although it is useful

September 2019

Omer from Kenshoo

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great product

Pros

The similarity to mySql and the ocerall quickness of the queries

Cons

Slow queries with temp table. Need to change every query in mysql that contain temp table to subQuery.

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

I'm so glad you're enjoying the speed of MemSQL. Temp table performance is unexpected. Can you reach out to community@memsql.com so we can learn more about your scenario and help you achieve amazing results here too?

October 2019

Madhuri from CapitalOne

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Stream fast and Easy to Maintain.

Fast for large Streaming applications and easy to setup pipelines

Pros

1. Ease of Installation 2. Upgrade procedures which support both offline and online. 3. Easy to deploy on to any cloud

Cons

The leaf node is associated with a id which binds it to hardware

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Recommend that you try this software

Pros

Speed of setup and speed of operation, and it runs on Linux.

Cons

We are still learning about this software, and haven't encountered problems yet, but it is in early evaluation stages.

September 2019

Sham from BOFA

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Good

Good

Pros

User friendly, fast, reliable , Stable, consistent

Cons

installation, set up, configuration and documentation

October 2019

Kris from cap1

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Performance SQL

good

Pros

easy to use.better performance. cost saving

Cons

not much complaints about this product.

September 2019

Bryan from RBC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Fast Database with a bit of work

Overall once you get a good understanding of how to structure your data than you can gain the full performance from memsql

Pros

If you understand how to structure your data and where to store it within the database then you can get some great performance.

Cons

I found they weren't completely transparent on how to structure data but once you understand that you can get great performance

Response from MemSQL

Replied October 2019

I'm glad you've found the performance you need here. What concepts were difficult to understand at first? How can we improve our docs? Reach out to community@memsql.com. We'd love to learn more about your experience.

October 2019

Christine from Dell

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great functionality

Pros

I really like how it's user friendly and modern

Cons

It's a little complex to navigate through

September 2019

Hema from Capital one

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Product quality

Pros

More scalability and easy to operate this product

Cons

Price may be the least cons for this product