All MongoDB Reviews

1-25 of 411 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Juan Manuel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Best no-sql database

My experience is very good, it works very fast, it is configured quickly, you can view and make queries from your software to see the data of your database. Making backups is very simple and integrates perfectly with our javascript development.

Pros

Very fast installation and use. It has very complete tools to manage you, such as the Mongo Compass or the possibility of having everything in your cloud with Mongo Atlas. The installation is very simple and the power of the tool is incredible and integrates perfectly with our system built in NodeJS. It has a very detailed documentation which facilitates its integration.

Cons

The main cons is that it does not have the possibility of making queries with JOINS but this is a limitation of NO-SQL databases

Reasons for switching to MongoDB

We made the change since we needed to make a smaller service and we did not see the need to connect an sql base. With mongo we gain ease and speed

Anees

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

MongoDB is the goto datatbase for any solution

Great, greatest

Pros

The ease of use. JSON type document helps me to scale my database model as the application is growing. Along with the powerful query language of MongoDB it's so easy to pull data from the data. MongoDB also gives free 500MB is space without giving any credit card and I found that very awesome!

Cons

I would like to see the compass getting more powerful and having many more features.

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

Because of more developer trust in this project.

Reasons for switching to MongoDB

Because of the availability of an easy-to-use cloud with zero setups.

Trevor

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2020

Cheap Mongo DB

Built several multi-node clusters for data warehousing for ETL tools. Had a lot of issues early on to get it working. Documentation 2 years ago + was spotty but now its a lot better. Not to mention the software has evolved to include features sorely missing awhile back. We moved away from thsi product as it doesnt allow backups as robust as MSSQL and oracle but its great for certain types of data needs.

Pros

Can use a free version of it. And does allow clustering of it inclusive.

Cons

Compass client tool is useless versus other DB software tools. Pretty much all cli based access ot the collections within

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

3rd party software only supported this at the time. We have since moved away from that 3rd party software and this platform.

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

MongoDB review

Awsome, ease to learn

Pros

the data embankment is secure and manageable

Cons

currently no cons for me, overall good software features

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

MongoDB was the provided database by the programmer to manage

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Java developer on MongoDB.

Pros

MongoDB is for me the top database for microservices applications. It scales great and is easy to use. It has many integrations with popular programming languages. It is easy to configure it for heavy loads.

Cons

It is a NoSQL database by which it can be a certain entry threshold for beginners. Correctly selecting and setting up indexes can be a problem.

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

MongoDB was simpler and just good enough for our use case.

Reasons for switching to MongoDB

We moved away from the amazon platform.

User Profile

Darian

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

Review of MongoDB

We used Mongo to host some incoming user data on one of our portals. We needed a solution that could host variable length data where the format could change semi-irregularly. Mongo was both quick to implement and reliable in use and has caused us no problems once we finished all the configurations.

Pros

MongoDB was our go-to solution for a NoSQL database due to the ease of installation and simplicity. We had used Mongo before for smaller projects but decided to use the MongoDB Atlas service to have a reliable instance online. Using the hosted version alleviated a lot of the configuration issues we had experienced also, although it isn't required to use the hosted version depending on the use case.

Cons

The visualization aspect of Mongo constantly was an issue for our team. We wanted to display dashboards of our data through a variety of methods but most were difficult to implement using Mongo, or were simple/slow at best. There was also a lot of trouble trying to connect MongoDB Atlas with our AWS VPC, specifically so that our cloud functions could access it.

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

We previously used Mongo for an original version of our project, and when considering alternatives we decided to stick with what we were used to.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2022

Why mongodb is widely used database in current market situation.

I have merged mongodb with the react js and building a fully dynamic website for a client. And mongodb have the user authentication in builtin so it’s easier for me so no need to extra code for that part.

Pros

Mongodb is a no-sql( not only sql) database.so it is different from other traditional database.its support partitions and indexing both so the data fetching is way more faster then other traditional database. We can use both partition and indexing for storing data and also make use of partition we can fetch data in less time as compared to others database and its store data in horizontal way so no relation and no scheme needed so its gives faster performance in data analysis.

Cons

Mongodb doesn’t support procedure which is now supported bat many other no sql database and mongodb have little bit complex queries to understand for a new user.

Reasons for switching to MongoDB

Because my sql is a traditional database and for making relationships between the tables its cost more for larger data set so want to use no sql for cost effective and faster experience.

En

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Best Document Store

Pros

MongoDB is the best document store on the market. For Java world it has all the APIs and framework support behind. It can also be used with Spring Framework Data. It has query dsl support. There is so many community support.

Cons

Coming from RDBMS world it could take a while to learn

Reasons for switching to MongoDB

Oracle DB had no support to the document based NOSQL at that time.

Vinicius

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Review for MongoDB

MongoDB is great for document-based storage on cloud environments.

Pros

Easy to use, learn and find support documentation. Fully cloud-based database.

Cons

Limit size for document and no transaction support.

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

Costs and easy horizontal scale out (sharding).

Krishnamurthy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Best tool for developers and for data analytics

Overall nice experience to learn about NoSQL database.

Pros

Nice user experience and what I like about this software is easy installation using command prompt.

Cons

It is a Non relational database management system and you should know about what is relational and use Mysql or any other relational database to start with.

Reasons for switching to MongoDB

It handles large datasets and easy to use

Tyson

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Amazingly Flexible Database Capability

Pros

I don't usually rave about products, but I do about MongoDB. * MongoDB's schemaless document-centric approach to database makes it easy to store any kind of data I need to, even subdocuments and array fields with minimal fuss within code or tools. This allows for a lot of flexibility and makes it easy to upgrade or refactor existing software. * MongoDB's indexes provide amazing performance even in a schemaless world. Simple and compound indexes, as found in the relational database world, are just the start. Add to that multikey indexes (indexes over array fields), string and geolocation indexes, and indexes where entries expire documents with time. Mongo has it all. * MongoDB's approach to scalability - using replica sets for high availability and fault-tolerant failover and sharding databases over a potentially large number of servers - makes it easy to scale huge amounts of data without overly expensive hardware and failover complexity. * MongoDB driver support is available for a variety of languages. * Mongo University, free graded courses covering various aspects of MongoDB from development to administrative activities to security, etc., offers a solid path to learning.

Cons

I'm a huge proponent of MongoDB but because of the nature of schemaless document-oriented databases, there are still some problems for which a relational database is still the answer. There are some applications and technical domains where relational databases still have a huge lead over Mongo for performance.

User Profile

Frank

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

MongoDB is the NoSQL leader and getting better

The first decision about whether to use MongoDB or not is whether you need a relational or non-relational DB. Once you decide a non-relational is best for you project, then MongoDB is a solid choice. It has the ongoing support of a professional team and is widely used in the market, especially for projects utilizing the MEAN stack. This makes it easier to deploy than other solutions.

Pros

MongoDB is incredibly easy to set up and use. The fact that non-relational DBs are better for more unstructured data, makes it so that you don't necessarily have to know exactly what the end state is going to be before building your schema. Its data throughput is also a key differentiator, so anything with Big Data is going to be a good fit for a non-relational DB and MongoDB, in particular. Finally, the team behind MongoDB is constantly improving the product and releasing updates, and there are several good data viewers in the market, including one from Mongo, for viewing the data and creating queries.

Cons

Creating metrics dashboards can be challenging due to the potential need for JOIN queries in your data. Anything that contains these will be harder to aggregate. Their aggregation framework can be hard to use and limiting for certain requirements.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

Mongo DB

According to my experience with MongoDB it is good NoSQL database. It has good query capacity, Also when we going to solve some business problems some requirements are change when we build the system. At that time we have to change same database collections. MongoDB support it.

Pros

Mongo DB is non relational database (NoSQL). It is a document database. it has good query capacity. Very easy to install and setup Mongo DB. Also Mongo DB is schema-free, there fore our software (code) defines the schema. It support BSON data format, there fore no complex to write code with mongo db (most of programming languages support BSON data format. We can index the mongo collections and increase the query performance

Cons

When we need to query using two mongo collections (join two collection), we can use lookup feature. but the problem is Mongo DB lookup feature is slow. Also we have no option to run query among two or three collections like as Elastic Search. When we using Elastic Search we can run query among two or three indexes(collections). There for in Elastic Search we can move historical data to separate collections and improve query performance. if we need query with historical, Elastic Search support it. But using Mongo DB we have to handle it in programming side.

Jean

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

MongoDB Opensource Easy and Powerful

Because the data storage is in JSON-like documents, it is very easy to understand and visualize. Used in class, and currently implementing an app for a physical therapist that tracks clients exercises and progress. I like the fact that the storage is encrypted.

Pros

I was introduced to MongoDB in a bootcamp. It is free and opensource. I wondered how good free could be. In my opinion it beat firebase. Objects can be defined graphically or via your code. It is easy to interface with Postman. Commercial upgrades are available. Currently using Mongo for an app. Supports Node.js. there is a lot of documentation available for beginners.

Cons

Not suitable for complex transactions. An occasional backup is recommended. After a crash, you need to check your logs. In fact, you may not know it crashed until you check your logs. With a crash or reset documents may fall into an "unconfirmed" category and are lost. This may have bee corrected in more current versions. I don't know.

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

Just more powerful.

Reasons for switching to MongoDB

I really liked the JSON graphical interface for defining the objects, ease of use and integration with Node.js

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Next generation database

Overall, it is the best database ever. I worked with Graph Database, and SQL Database. But I most like MongoDB.

Pros

Unlike, SQL databases, we can store direct JSON object in MongoDB. Also, can store mapping values in one collection. e.g. we can store all property related to a user in one document.

Cons

Nothing for dislike. In MongoDB, We can not be mapped with 2 collections.

User Profile

Dmitry

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

The best document storage solution if you know how to cook it

It is one of my favorite DBs and I'm using it for a few of my projects.

Pros

Super easy to install and start working with it. A great start for prototyping a project or if you need to do an enormous amount of inserts. Native library for Python

Cons

Lack of free UI tools for DB management; Not straightforward mechanism of migration between versions.

Reasons for choosing MongoDB

NoSQL

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4