User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(192)

192

4 stars

(107)

107

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It is very easy to setup, and its usage is very intuitive. It is very easy to scale and there are straight forwards ORMs to use it like Mongoose."

  • "Very powerful and fast, full of functionalities and well documented."

  • "It's fast, very fast, and it's capable of storing large amounts of data. It's very simple to pick up and use since you can just stick documents in a new collection."

  • Cons

  • "There are some performance trade-offs, but at the scale of most applications, it certainly won't be your bottleneck. "

  • "Mongo instances can be cursed with read/write locking but can be overcome when installed and scaled correctly."

  • "I think the indexing options are still a little bit lacking... Compared to the even older versions, the progress is very good."

Browse MongoDB Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 311 results

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Michael from Burkson Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Fast, fast, fast, and agile

Very positive. I will likely use MongoDB on every future project of moderate to extreme complexity.

Pros

One of the most difficult parts of software development, especially with complex projects, is keeping the software maintained. As business requirement change, the effort required to make those changes grows over time. MongoDB opened up a whole new world for me. I can make structural changes to my underlying data with ease without too much modification the data access layer. It reduces initial development significantly, and allows my team to pivot to new requirements with unprecedented ease. Because related data is encapsulated, queries are much faster, and our software is extremely performant. Highly recommended.

Cons

The tooling isn't great. Compass is a decent tool for accessing and lookup, but it lacks polish. It's slow to start up and sometimes difficult to pull up the data I'm seeking

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

First, the switch was experimental. Then, as the benefits unfolded, we knew MongoDB was a keeper.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Great data storage solution with space for improvement

Using MongoDB for years, mostly as local storage in docker containers. Latest project is based on cloud solution.

Pros

I like the Atlas Cloud solution. It enables various tricks and cross-integrations of single database between multiple apps (containers) with simple user management - for a reasonable price.

Cons

I cannot get over this Atlas Compass UX issue - I want to open at least two "tabs" with collections at the same time. This is not possible and even worse, when you switch between collections, thee state is completely reset. So I'm compiling the search query carefully with all the commas, brackets and identifiers, I often need to search for ID from another collection or maybe from the same collection. When i change collection scope -> BAM! The whole query is gone :( The input should retain its actual value... Second "issue": When it comes to schema changes in living DB, sometimes it behaves unexpectedly (no error, no data). Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I would like to know it...

Reasons for Choosing MongoDB

Document orientation, cloud feature, high security, price

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

Terrible security.

February 2021

Abdelmadjid from Anywish

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

A great companion to Javascript back ends

I've launched a few products that use MongoDB and have been very happy with the performance and scalability.

Pros

MongoDB integrates very well with JS-based server code. It's fast and its dynamic, NoSQL nature allows for a lot of flexibility and creative use.

Cons

As MongoDB isn't as ubiquitous as other solutions like MySQL, there's a bit less tooling available and some IaaS platforms treat it as a second class citizen.

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

As our next project was using JS, we went for the deeper integration that MongoDB offers.

November 2017

Rob from RideAmigos

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2017

Mongo allows you to take off easily, but makes it harder to do more advanced analysis.

Pros

-Easy Setup -Getting simple data in/out is painless & straightforward -Basic analytics are easy, as is managing multi-server clusters

Cons

-Working with complex data is a difficult. -Many original features or design choices were incorrect and slow to be corrected. For example, timezone support is minimal and days/dates/months use a custom numbering rather than ISO. Mongo is only now adding ISO versions of aggregation commands

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

MongoDB is a powerful and dependable database that will lure you into the world of NoSQL

MongoDB is at the core of our programme, which needs pace and accuracy. It's mainly used by the tech runtime team, with other teams using aspects of the software using it implicitly. For all online and mobile applications created for our customers, I use MongoDB as a database. It satisfies all of our requirements. The service is of high quality, being dependable, convenient, and durable. It's the most up-to-date and successful platform for software development.

Pros

Change streams and graph queries are two common database principles that MongoDB has quickly embraced. For popular programming languages, there is excellent library support. Developers will find it easy to set up and configure. It's also simple to write a query. Good scalability so data can be efficiently shared and is available quickly . There are a lot of tools and help online. Since there are so many ready-made options available, it's pretty simple to set up in some conditions. If you know JSON then it going to be easy for you to use.

Cons

The user interface is a bit difficult to understand at first. They could make it easier to integrate with other NoSQL databases. When opposed to a SQL-based database, extensive aggregation queries in MongoDB can be challenging.

October 2020

Naseeb from abgs

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

One of the best for Web Developers

My overall experience with MongoDB is good. I'm satisfied with it. It is much perfect when we are integrating it with JavaScript backend. I recommend using MongoDB for all the web developers as it provides great developer experience. The developers can setup easily and configure with their technology. I find MongoDB very useful, not only for the developers but also for the beginner students which can help them in their college projects.

Pros

First thing is there's no need of any Queries; it is the king of NoSQL. MongoDB is easy to user and learn too and also a flexible schema for changing data elements. Being a web developer, i work on JavaScript, so it's too good for Integrating with JavaScript backend like NodeJS. For the beginner and new comers, they have Mongo DB for free with certain amount of data storage.

Cons

Unlike SQL, it has no joins, which can sometime be an issue in some data retrieval cases. Sometimes it works very slow in the cloud environment. There are no functions available for Transaction. MongoDB's documentation is much confusing to the users. Even if it's easy to use and learn, learning MongoDB might take some time. I thinkg it is hard to work with complex queries.

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

writing queries for each execution was taking lots of time and i used to face lots of problem and errors. Then, finally i came to know about MongoDB which supports NoSQL and is easy to use and install.

September 2019

Heshani from Insfra Technologies

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Fastest leap In database management

I use mongo with our applications. For any set of data, this is the best database.

Pros

Really speedy and requires less memory. We can create collections without a definite number of rows and columns to come. We can add data without restrictions It gives a JSON output which is really easy to work with Easy to add , edit and remove data If a certain section has more than one data, we can insert them as sub arrays, and it makes the developments so flexible.

Cons

The free version allows limited memory so that we have to upgrade it to insert unlimited data. Other than that this is the best.

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

We had to move as it takes very few memory and it is really fast. Also for data in a certain collection there are no limitations like fixed number is rows or columns. So that we can freely use it as we wish.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Greg from Alan B. Miller Entrepreneurship Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Stellar DB solution—Easy to learn!

MongoDB has been the perfect solution for the MillerEC. I've loved learning to use it and look forward to deploying projects with it in the future.

Pros

- incredibly easy to learn and integrate into code - fantastic support and built out systems for different languages (Nodejs, for example) - fast - the free version is all I have ever needed. It rocks

Cons

- it lives on its on servers. That's usually great, but makes testing difficult at times and does not feel as proprietary as one's own SQL servers

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

Google Sheets is not a great backend solution, though you can certainly hack your way through problems.

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Bakare from Deimos ML

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

MongoDB Management Experience

Useful for modelling social graph data and catalog data

Pros

Easy setup with various SDKs Good replication strategy Aggregation modelling is very straight forward

Cons

Collection indexing is very hard to update Increased memory usage

Reasons for Choosing MongoDB

It was the easiest to setup, we were developing a POC and needed easy integrations to push to market faster

February 2021

Kanad from Freelancer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great DBMS with Fast response time.

Have been using MongoDB for almost all my projects, best for quick prototyping.

Pros

MongoDB provides free Atlas Cloud Tier making it very convenient and easy to setup a database for projects with minimum requirements. MongoDB being a schema-less database helps in adding or removing a record without changing the whole structure much quicker.

Cons

MongoDB lacks in some flexibility with the queries like JOINS and no support for transaction for multiple document level. Even though these features are not used often it may still be required. Takes more storage than MySQL to store data which could be an issue for Free Tier users.

June 2019

Tyson from Ensign Peak Advisors

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Amazingly Flexible Database Capability

Pros

I don't usually rave about products, but I do about MongoDB. * MongoDB's schemaless document-centric approach to database makes it easy to store any kind of data I need to, even subdocuments and array fields with minimal fuss within code or tools. This allows for a lot of flexibility and makes it easy to upgrade or refactor existing software. * MongoDB's indexes provide amazing performance even in a schemaless world. Simple and compound indexes, as found in the relational database world, are just the start. Add to that multikey indexes (indexes over array fields), string and geolocation indexes, and indexes where entries expire documents with time. Mongo has it all. * MongoDB's approach to scalability - using replica sets for high availability and fault-tolerant failover and sharding databases over a potentially large number of servers - makes it easy to scale huge amounts of data without overly expensive hardware and failover complexity. * MongoDB driver support is available for a variety of languages. * Mongo University, free graded courses covering various aspects of MongoDB from development to administrative activities to security, etc., offers a solid path to learning.

Cons

I'm a huge proponent of MongoDB but because of the nature of schemaless document-oriented databases, there are still some problems for which a relational database is still the answer. There are some applications and technical domains where relational databases still have a huge lead over Mongo for performance.

April 2019

shashank from Miracle Software Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best No-SQL Database.

MongoDB has no proper structure like rows and columns in RDBMS. There is a feature called indexing where each and every row in the MongoDB database is identified with a unique id. The unique id is provided for each and every new document. The queries are easily understandable without involving any complex joins, unions. It also obeys the Atomicity, Consistency, Isolation, Durability known as ACID properties which are essential for a database. MongoDB supports sharding means huge data can be divided into smaller data and can be stored in multiple databases across a network. Different collections in MongoDB can be clubbed together and it also supports transactions which involve data needed from multiple documents across a collection. Based on these properties I have worked on different use cases and because of these features, work became simpler.

Pros

1) There is no fixed schema like RDBMS. We can alter the table structure insert any number of rows and columns. 2) Data retrieving from this No-SQL database is very much fast when compared to other No-SQL databases. 3) Very easy to install. Provides JSON data support. 4) Can be integrated into different languages like Java, PHP. 5) There are no complex joins of queries like RDBMS. 6) The technical support can be available from MongoDB clients in case of any complex issues that occur while working. 7) Having extra features like a backup of stored data, sharing the data to multiple systems across the network is an added advantage. 8) Handles unstructured data i.e the data which has no format, no proper structure.

Cons

I did not find any flaws with this software.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Frank from SixPlus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

MongoDB is the NoSQL leader and getting better

The first decision about whether to use MongoDB or not is whether you need a relational or non-relational DB. Once you decide a non-relational is best for you project, then MongoDB is a solid choice. It has the ongoing support of a professional team and is widely used in the market, especially for projects utilizing the MEAN stack. This makes it easier to deploy than other solutions.

Pros

MongoDB is incredibly easy to set up and use. The fact that non-relational DBs are better for more unstructured data, makes it so that you don't necessarily have to know exactly what the end state is going to be before building your schema. Its data throughput is also a key differentiator, so anything with Big Data is going to be a good fit for a non-relational DB and MongoDB, in particular. Finally, the team behind MongoDB is constantly improving the product and releasing updates, and there are several good data viewers in the market, including one from Mongo, for viewing the data and creating queries.

Cons

Creating metrics dashboards can be challenging due to the potential need for JOIN queries in your data. Anything that contains these will be harder to aggregate. Their aggregation framework can be hard to use and limiting for certain requirements.

March 2020

Omair from Synap

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Robust for scaling

We switched from MLabs after MongoDB bought them and have since been able to make much better use of the MongoDB ecosystem with Compass, Charts, stronger cluster configuration etc.

Pros

We can see that MongoDB are on a growth-mindset, constantly adding new features like serverless functions, analytical text search, global write ops, and many other at-scale, enterprise level features. Some of these are already helping us reduce our infrastructure costs, for example, we've recently began switching off our third-party search service that was costing us £££ thanks to the introduction of MongoDB search.

Cons

We've had some recent headaches around the MongoDB connection string changes and issues with whitelisting some of our private VPNs on AWS. But these are minor issues. I personally think the Performance Advisor feature is poor - it would be far better to get a list of all unindexed queries listed by overall usage by time-period, rather than the adhoc suggestions that we see.

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

MongoDB purchased mLabs and so we migrated.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Mongo DB

According to my experience with MongoDB it is good NoSQL database. It has good query capacity, Also when we going to solve some business problems some requirements are change when we build the system. At that time we have to change same database collections. MongoDB support it.

Pros

Mongo DB is non relational database (NoSQL). It is a document database. it has good query capacity. Very easy to install and setup Mongo DB. Also Mongo DB is schema-free, there fore our software (code) defines the schema. It support BSON data format, there fore no complex to write code with mongo db (most of programming languages support BSON data format. We can index the mongo collections and increase the query performance

Cons

When we need to query using two mongo collections (join two collection), we can use lookup feature. but the problem is Mongo DB lookup feature is slow. Also we have no option to run query among two or three collections like as Elastic Search. When we using Elastic Search we can run query among two or three indexes(collections). There for in Elastic Search we can move historical data to separate collections and improve query performance. if we need query with historical, Elastic Search support it. But using Mongo DB we have to handle it in programming side.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Alex Danilo from SAP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

MongoDB review, a great, secure, and flexible tool to store your data.

Installing, set it up, and link it with some backends applications. Customizing hooks, and triggers. Use of CRUD requests.

Pros

MongoDB is a great and fresh database server that allows you to create and use non-relational databases, that means; you can store the data in JSON format object. Being an amazing and handy tool that will be compatible with almost every type of development. Moreover, MongoDB features cloud services, allowing you to create and use cluster and triggers, also a tool for monitoring. Furthermore, Mongo uses hooks systems that offer you the option of use CRUD requests and customize the behavior of your database and the way that your models interact.

Cons

For novices or junior developers, the setup of mongo and its services will be hardy, being essential have some basic knowledge about how MongoDB and the non-relational databases work. For this scenario, MongoDB has a complete, and handy Documentation that explains every service and gives you examples about using the databases and its services.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

One of the best NoSQL alternatives to traditional row/column RDBMSs

While my company uses the Microsoft stack (.NET/IIS/SQL Server) for our enterprise development, we use a MERN (MongoDb, Express.js, React and Node.js) stack for most of our internal development (Intranet, sales reporting, ETL, automation, etc.). MongoDb is a key part of the flexibility of this stack, allowing us to model dynamic and complex data very quickly -- a huge advantage working in an agile development environment with short dev cycles and heavy reliance on iteration/refactoring.

Pros

Being a NoSQL, document-based database, MongoDb allows me to think about data NOT in terms of rows, columns, tables and keys, but in terms of complex hierarchical JSON-like documents that very closely resemble how the data is presented and used. This is incredibly valuable when quickly stubbing out a new app's feature set and the data requirements for it, with the added advantage that MongoDb works seemlessly within a MEAN/MERN development framework. Also, the learning curve is greatly shortened by MongoDb University, which is a free set of training courses taught by MongoDb, Inc., Engineers. It's an amazing free resource for the neophyte Mongo developer.

Cons

Because MongoDb doesn't have a schema, deeply nested objects can become needlessly complex if the developer doesn't have a strong understanding of hit/her data. Queries requiring joins of complex object structures can be slow in non-optimized, under-powered environments.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Tarak from Insuide Technologies Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best NoSql database out there

It's a great database and best to learn for someone entering the database world.

Pros

It's ease of use and integration with Python is the best thing. Use for web development and other applications, this has been a great tool.

Cons

Don't know the cons of this great product. I can say it would be better if they start providing certifications for professionals.

Reasons for Switching to MongoDB

Ease of use.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Powerful data base that allows high performance, continuous growth and high availability in storage

When working with this database, the expansion became easier and much more economical than the relational data base due to the horizontal scaling, distributing the load across all the nodes, which allowed the organization to store many more data and perform queries. manufacturing very quickly

Pros

Queries can be made quickly because the data is connected and interlaced thanks to the ID that is given to each document, the search is simpler; in addition, it has the facility to balance the loads which allows a better storage of files, it does not have to pay for the license, it contains a high security with advanced user management, the semi-structured or structured databases can be easily adapted, you can program the tasks, you have tools for the analysis of the data, using this data base the neck of bottles generated in the relational databases is completely eliminated

Cons

When running mongoldb uses all the free RAM which works as the cache, when the amount of data exceeds 100GB it usually has performance problems, when making a copy the verification and the durability is committed, when making a writing on the base of data the same is blocked which drastically reduces the concurrence

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

A tool that fits very certain needs

Pros

Certain common operations are very very easy to spin up a one-off query for and utilize the data right then and there. In that sense, there is a very lightweight feel to developing with MongoDB at the start of most projects.

Cons

The design paradigms around MongoDB make it so that you will eventually want to add some sort of schema-type check somewhere in your stack. This will make development much simpler over time as the data begins to evolve. In general, there's a lot of other scaffolding you will want to do in order to sane-ly use a NoSQL as most people seem to want to (a quick start data store for a project that would otherwise benefit from a relational database). Not saying this is the "correct way" to use MongoDB, but just our experience within a system/framework like Meteor for example.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Diego from Lacuna Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

A great not-too-NoSQL database

I personally used it in project since the day it came out, and honestly some things were really bad, but the biggest barrier was in my teammates head as they rejected the innovation it represented at the time.

Pros

MongoDB has been a great product from the start as it brought the simplicity of the NoSQL movement against the old SQL/RDBMs "monsters", but also bringing a host of functionality that made it possible to use it immediately and without too much work in respect of the old RDBMs mindset and feature set. Setting it up even in a complex environment remains relatively easy, and also using it it's quite straightforward for developers. 3rd-party libraries and framework support is constantly increasing as well.

Cons

It has a history of bugs and weird things that made it look bad to some people.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Sofia from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Within the NoSQL databases, probably one of the best

Count on NoSQL database technology, with a free but very useful technology, perfect for handling large amounts of data, making better use of the hardware resources of the applications that require it.

Pros

This type of non-relational database is a very useful tool today, where the amount of data handled in the web services are very abundant and a better way to store and take advantage of resources is needed, we use mongoDb, with its noSQL proposal takes better advantage of resources, since no paid licenses are needed, this money is used for hardware power, the expansion is easier since the database should not be restructured, it will keep the files linearly, that the escalation is horizontal and the load is distributed across all the nodes, taking better advantage of the hardware performance making any application more scalable.

Cons

It has its weaknesses, but you must know when to use this technology and when to use relational database, there are no transactions so if you need to use it, you should simulate them in a certain way, if it is very required in your application it is better to use sql, either Joins is available, so you should make several queries to interact between the data, you must be careful with this and know what technology is better with the application that will be developed.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Ramindu from Virtusa Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

The de facto standard for document-based NoSQL databases

MongoDB has made it very easy to rapidly develop and deploy applications that require a document-store based NoSQL database solution.

Pros

MongoDB is the most widespread solution available in terms of a NoSQL database that manages data as a document store. It provides all the best features a NoSQL database should have to offer: clean and easy setup, simple syntax, as well as advanced features such as map-reduce and scaling capabilities. The BSON document type maps beautifully with the JavaScript stack, making it simple to wire up an application with a nodejs backend and any popular frontend JavaScript framework.

Cons

MongoDB can be hard to set up to support auto-scaling environments, and the best provisioned hosting options are quite expensive.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Nishantha from SML

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Review of MongoDB

I'm using mongoDB for more than two years and It was great selection when I need to store documents which has unknown structure along with shared structures. That means, it's very easy to save a JSON in mongoDB. This is very helpful when creating embedded databases for java microservices projects using spring boot by adding dependencies via start.spring.io

Pros

MongoDB is a schema less database management system and it has a document based structure and can store collection values on documents. It is extremely faster than the relational database management systems and it is a light weight reliable application. And It is very easy to scale while the product is open sourced which is free of charge.

Cons

Database joins are not supported since this is a No-sql database.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

A database revolution

For non-relational data storage, you really cannot beat MongoDB.

Pros

It's incredibly flexible and performant. With rich documents you can keep data in just about any way that makes sense to you. When your data doesn't nicely fit into the relational database format you'll want to use MongoDB. They're constantly developing the database and each version brings more features and better ways of doing things. The aggregation features allow for complex heavy queries to be run very quickly.

Cons

It can be a bit complicated to start with and writing aggregations without a great tool to help can be pretty tricky. Some of the features in the earlier versions are slightly limited and miss core requirements like 'join' style queries.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

MongoDB is the best solution for NoSQL database.

Overall MongoDB is the good choice for NoSQL database. It is basically document type database. It suits well in Javascript environment of NodeJS, Angular, React etc. where we can directly store and read objects from the framework. It is one of the component of MEAN stack.

Pros

Most of the features we can get it for free. It is very light weight and easy database. It has support with almost all popular programming languages. its performance is continuously improving with the newer versions. It is very easy to setup and use.

Cons

Sometimes it goes difficult to create JOIN like queries with MongoDB. They have provided the aggregation framework but it does not give ease and like SQL Join queries. It can crash in the production environment.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Database Schema

I am a javascript developer and I always prefer to use MongoDB because it is very compatible with javascript world , I have setup many relations among the collections and it is very easy for overall web and mobile development.

Pros

1. MongoDB is very compatible with javascript based technologies such as Node.js , Angularjs and Angular2+. 2. Import and Export Database is very easy. 3. MongoDB also IDE to manage Database collections. 4. Executing Database Schema is really easy. 5. Setting up relations in MongoDB is very easy as compared to traditional SQL based Databases.

Cons

You need to have a little bit knowledge of SQL and Database queries to understand the MongoDB concepts for managing DB and running its functions.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Dilraj from Click Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Awesome NoSQL database

MongoDB provides most of the features of SQL databases, if not more, like aggregation, clustering, replication, compound indexes etc. Once configured properly, it lets you quickly start saving and fetching data very easily and efficiently.

Pros

Mongo comes as an alternative to SQL databases and provides vast number of features and flexibilty as compared to SQL databases. It can be used for storing huge amounts of data as JSONs and it provides seamless integration with tech stack using Node.js.

Cons

Even though Mongo allows you to build your application without a rigid schema, it still needs to be configured and architectured properly to make sure the performance is up to the mark when data size starts increasing.

February 2020

Anubhav from Nagarro Inc

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

MongoDB Review

The experience is very good in working with MongoDB.

Pros

MongoDB supports range queries and regular expression searches which is very helpful for the user. It provides high availability with replica sets.

Cons

The security features of the software can be enhanced as the default security configuration provides full access to any user.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Playing with data in a easier way for CRUD operation

Overall it is best as you can use the software with large database and unstructured data without any issues.It is schema- less database.

Pros

I am using mongodb with CRUD (create,read,update, delete) operation in my projects for doing modification with data and insertion.It is useful when you have instructed data and data size is very large,you can easily go with mongodb .It is very easy to install and setup if you are new to it.The query is very simple and easy to understand.

Cons

When you want to merge any two documents it is difficult as we can't used the join thing here.There is one default transaction support which we need to handle ourself.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Cheshan from Information Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Best NoSQL database for light weight project

Pros

I used MongoDb for my MEAN stack project which was a project management application.it is very easy to define datatypes and data fields in monodb with just a few line of codes.we actualy don't need to create data tables as in SQL.mongoDb will handle all that for us and another is with mongoDB there is no down times to update our databses because mongoDB will not requre script updates.that was very helpful in my roject because the application has to run all the time and collecting huge amount of data and also handling lot of concurrent users.so i think you need to try this mongoDb at least onece.

Cons

main cons whcich i was facing during my projects was there are no JOIN operations with mongoDb like in SQL.so i had to handle some application data retrivel process handle with whole dffertent qury.also i had some issues with concurent transation with my databse when application is in load test and performance testing levels.

May 2019

Pratik from VMware

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

First NOSQL based database as far I know and very efficient.

Pros

Traditional databases was not supposed to deal with lots of data and unstructured data and then NoSQL came. It changed the way we were dealing with data.Now , you dont have to define table column datatype, you dont have to put size on table columns , you have all these features . I really enjoy working with MongoDB, easy too horizontally scale using daemon process and replication is also very easy, not much different in syntax from traditional RDBMS, thus learning curve is easy.

Cons

Miss core features of MySQL databases, No more transactions , committing

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

MongoDB database

I use MongoDB for the last 6 years. I wasn't sure that MySQL could handle large data volumes and decided to use MongoDB for projects where we have more that 50M records in the table.

Pros

1. MongoDB faster than relational database. 2. We can store any type of data in the document. 3. Can be used for Big Data.

Cons

No way to join another collection (table). It is very difficult to crate any large application without using joins. Because of that I had to use relational database and MongoDB together.

August 2018

Pradeep from ZITIMA

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Excellent database with high performance and high availability compred to other no SQL options

Lesser time to migrate from RDBMS to NoSQL, Option to store the data on mobile/client side and sync option to server/cloud. Flexibility.

Pros

The data queries have faster response, it is more simlple with excellent load balancing. Also the security part it is far more secure and reliable compared to other memcached providers. Migration fro traditional RDBMS system is as well smooth without much struggle.

Cons

Memory/RAM useage shoots-up to roof most of the times, degraded performance when working on the very large databses. Better tools for data analysis and management would be good thing, console is good but not enough

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Khumar from Data Processing Center - Ministry of Communications and High Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Best Non-Relational Database for developers

Pros

I use MongoDB.It's high-performing for simple queries.And it is flexibility - I can add new columns or fields on MongoDB without affecting existing rows or application performance.This database systems can be expanded horizontally. Thousands of servers can operate as a cluster and can handle very large data.The database doesn't require a database administrator. I prefer to use MongoDB in my projects. Indeed, it is worth the use of MongoDB.

Cons

This gives you the flexibility to change your data schema without modifying any of your existing data. Sharding support-the feature of sharing large-scale data among servers is also one of the surplus values that distinguishes MongoDB from similar ones. If you want speedy db use MongoDB.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Luis Enrique from Panorama

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Secure data storage with NoSQL

Pros

It is a very easy to use software with a good storage, offering intuitive tools to allow to store data in a secure way while the developer chooses a key that will be the access key. It is simply perfect for our company and the opportunity to store data in order to avoid any misplacement of them. It has a good balance of them and you can make inquiries with java Script.

Cons

Mongo DB can present problems after a standard of 100 GB, it tends to paralyze and this can be a bit complicated. It is a fairly complete software, it is simply perfect for our company and the opportunity to store data in order to avoid any misplacement of them. It has a good balance of them and you can make inquiries with java Script.

October 2019

kalaiselvan from Bahwan cyber tek

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

MongoDB Review

Overall it is a good choice for handling unstructured data with the ease.

Pros

MongoDB is not a RDMS database( i.e NoSQL Database) which helps to store any kind of unstructured data. Fault tolerant fail over and sharding databases makes easy to handle large amount of data without any data loss. MongoDB Driver is available for all popular languages and it works greatly with Big Data. we can retrieve output as JSON , which makes the data more readable. There is no need for writing complex queries like RDBMS and it is very easy to install.

Cons

Difficult to retrieve data from the combination of more than one collections. Free version offers only limited memory to handle data.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

NoSQL based databse with easy replication and horizontal scaling

Pros

MySQL has several limitations, like strict datatype, no horizontal scaling, and difficult replication but MongoDB solves it all. It allows horizontal scaling, replication and it relaxes the constraints of strict datatypes. In today's time when rapid development is required, MongoDB comes very handy. A MongoDB demon will keep running in the background that helps you with all replication and scaling process.

Cons

You will definitely miss transaction type features in MongoDB

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Great DB for agile projects

Very flexible and great fit for new JavaScript frameworks that use JSON.

Pros

This is probably the best document-oriented database. Since it is not relation-based database, it can better handle design mistakes that developer might make during iteration of agile development. Every change is very simple and convenient. As it has very useful validation of JSON data based on JSON definitions, it makes it very mistake protective. It is also very scalable, can be distributed, and again, scale horizontally for better performance, if you need them.

Cons

It does not have referential integrity, which makes it little complicated to use when you need defined, related and enforced relations between pieces of data, especially in big environments. When database grows, it can easily be very unefficient considering stored data vs real storage on the disk.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Diego from ByteLegion

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

The game changer DB

Best DB for startuppers. You can choose a self-hosted or cloud-hosted solution.

Pros

An easy to start and master database solution. It's a "must-know" for a back-end developer. You can quickly start a project without worries to have already thought about data structure. Best noSQL solution! A really good idea that changed software development. For a startup or an "always changing" software, it is a must.

Cons

A little bit too easy to mess up data :). Maybe not the best solution to heavy relational data (eg transactions).

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Our first approach to non-relational DBs

Pros

We're starting a new project, an idea management platform. So far we've worked with relational DBs, but given the nature of the project we decided to give MongoDB a try. We're using the open source version, so the pricing is unbeatable. We can handle 1mln documents as a breeze (although we probably never will) and what we would do with a number of tables, queries and joins is now done with a single find() over a single collection, which is frankly amazing and made us wonder how much time we wasted until now. Writing a simple CRUD application is a matter of hours starting from zero. The Java driver does a lot of what you'll need, including de/serialization of pojos and connection pooling. This is nice, less choices to make! The MongoDB University offers free online courses (they seem to be of nice quality) and certifications.

Cons

The change from RDBMS to documental is a strong paradigm shift. We're just waiting the day we'll have to redo everything from scratch... and we hope it's going to be soon. The command shell and especially the Java driver have a weird interface. There's an incredible amount of ways to get to the same task, and it seems that MongoDB is suffering by "featuritis", which is natural since *it is* a commercial product. You can't take the courses when you want: they're only presented in conjunction with examinations which are periodical. You might still want to wait for one, because he amount of available single videos is otherwise overwhelming.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great DB, if you know what you're doing

Pros

One of the best NoSQL DBs currently available. Beware, this statement is only true if you know what you're doing. If you're trying to use NoSQL DB where clearly a relation DB should be used, you're gonna have a bad time. It's also great for fast prototyping - don't have to mess with SQL migrations when you change DB structure a lot.

Cons

I think the indexing options are still a little bit lacking... Compared to the even older versions, the progress is very good.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Retrieving data is really easy if they well organized

It is really a good solution for database management and analytics. we can store any kind of structured document as a json documents.And there is plenty of query operations to retrieve data and there is "lookup" operation for connect different kind of data collections.It is really easy to process data with mongo.But when we store data and if they not organized well it will consume time more than normally.

Pros

Ability to store data in any structure

Cons

There are lot of limitation when using "lookup" operation to connect two collections

August 2018

Srikanth from SALESFORCE COM INC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

One of the Best No SQL Document Database

Pros

Index is really easy. Reads/writes are very fast. Query language is simple and easy to understand. Since it is no sql document database with json documents, it works with most of the current application which depend on json for interaction between components.

Cons

Advanced concepts like scaling and sharding may need mongodb consultants help. Available Mongodb clients like Robomongo is not easy to use. Will definitely need lot of learning before implementing in project.

August 2019

Priyash from FourPoint Energy,LLC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

process, store nosql based data

Pros

The rise of mongoDB lies in the inability of MySQL in dealing with not structured data. MongoDB can process and store anay data where datatype requirements and data structure , size requirements can be relaxed and additionally it can easily scaled.

Cons

MySQL is a recognized software for many features, few important features are transaction , commit, rollback which is highly helpful in many instances but are absent in MongoDB

January 2020

Jesse from Ansira

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

It excels at what it does... as long as you understand what that is

There are a lot of non-relational database options out there. These bring a ton of different advantages/disadvantages to the table. It really does feel like most alternatives are offering only part of the MongoDB feature-set. With major cloud providers now offering MongoDB as a managed service, this is a huge victory for them since management is the biggest downside to the product.

Pros

Mongo sets the bar for features when it comes to non-relational databases. From clustering to full-text indexing to geospatial indexes, its extremely hard to beat what MongoDB offers. It's easy to use from a developer perspective and easy to load and query data.

Cons

The operations side of Mongo can be a completely different story. It's really hard to configure clusters and even harder to recover from failures. The payoff is worth it because the feature-set is second to none.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Adam from Firefly Legal, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2018

Wrote a new product using Mongo DB. A great noSQL DB.

Love Mongo DB Life is really good. Fast Dev Cycles

Pros

I love how easy it is to store JSON documents. No need to pack and unpack data just store objects with how I use it on my application server. Mongo scales very easy. Ran a production system for 3 years with zero downtime. You can 't beat the cost.

Cons

Better tooling would be a huge help. You can do everything in the command line but some tasks that you don't use every day take time to look up and execute.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

MongoDB - Best NoSQL database

We are using MongoDB for document based records where preferences for million users are stored in a collection and each user can have its own preferences. Even we have surveys from users filled in MongoDB

Pros

1. No SQL document-oriented. Leave your hassles of schema definition behind. 2. Scale it for trillion records reds per day 3. Cluster config is easy.

Cons

1. Learning query language is a curve you need to follow. 2. Complex joins are a hassle. But manageable.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Josmar from SOAINT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

The best friend of nodejs and json

Pros

- Extremely efficient to integrate with big data - It is very easy of scale - The integration with nodejs and graphql is something completely natural - The speed and usability that the minimongo gives for mobile applications are very nice. - It is very easy to incorporate or deprecate field on collection.

Cons

- Security is scarce or difficult to configure and integrate - Few free providers available in the cloud. (After using free tier)

February 2019

Santhosh from Fujitsu

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

The most flexible database!

Great piece of software that vastly simplifies Backend development.

Pros

MongoDB is one of the most versatile and forgiving databases I've ever used. It's easy to set up, scales well and it performs great for most CRUD applications. Especially for Javascript devs, you feel right at home with its JSON-like document store. Not much else to say about it, if I was quickly creating an application and time spent in development was critical, I'd almost definitely use MongoDB.

Cons

There are some performance trade-offs, but at the scale of most applications, it certainly won't be your bottleneck.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 311 reviews