All MySQL Reviews

1-25 of 2,051 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Frank

Computer & Network Security, 11 - 50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed October 2021

MySQL

User Profile

Filipe

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

MySQL review

With MySQL i can sell more software because I can sell cheaper, and the performance is the same than others

PROS

MySQL is a great to database and is very very powerfull I use it everyday on my work when I develop web applications for my clients MySQL is reliable and have some great admistration tools with great value MySQL works very good and uses less system resources than other similar softwares

CONS

MySQL have all that I need to do my work perfect with less cost than others similar softwares MySQL works great for web applications, with good performance

Reason for choosing MySQL

With MySQL I have the same performance with less cost

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL works great on windows and linux, uses less system resources than other softwares

User Profile

Aleksandr

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great overall but has some very important caveats.

Mysql as any other tools has it's advantages and downsides. It may be fast, ACID-compatible, it may serve as memory cache. It has some dark corners and sometimes may hang on complex queries, or even corrupt the data (this is really rare case, but I faced it more than 10 times during my experience). Consider your scenario carefully. And always, always, ALWAYS make backups.

PROS

There a whole world of documentation, best practice, books on mysql. It can be found on nearly any cloud, system, paas. It is really fast (on MyISAM), support transactions (InnoDB), may perform as in-memory cache (memory), or even CSV (never use this one except for testing or reports). Deploy and set up takes next to no time, it consumes very little resources. Actually I feel it is hard to write a review on MySql because over decades of extensive usage it become the standard de-facto, even LAMP has (M) for MySQL. It is a mature if, well known RDBMS with tons of extensions and forks (not sure I may name them here). It is worth to mention though that MySQL is a default backend storage for a whole number of software. MySQL is compliant to SQL standard though with some differences. It may require some changes to your codebase but still, they should not be critical. What will really surprise you is that ORDER by lacks "nulls first/last" clause and that collates may surprise you. In a somewhat unpleasant way. Window functions, virtual tables, temporary tables are here as well and trust me - this is quite important matter, something that is a vital part of any DB. You will find a lot of web and standalone management tools to work both with server and data, some of them are free, others are not, chose yours.

CONS

First and biggest cons is that MySQL is not suitable for big amount of data. It always had and still have troubles performing complex joins. Database may get corrupted under some scenarios when significant selections is performed same time as other clients perform batches of inserts/updates (basically, there is a long lasting bug in memory management). Transactions are available in a single engine InnoDB and it is much slower than MyISAM. Worst thing is that in scenarios with multitenant databases with somewhat mediocre load MySQL starts to leak memory. This i a known well-issue, and there is no cure at this moment, you have to reboot the database instance. This is simply a disaster. Performance insight is something that could enjoy some more love. While Mysql is compatible with most of standard SQL, there are still some hard to explain differences.

Reason for choosing MySQL

Mysql is still used in some of our projects, but we are on our way to switch to another RDBMS for the reasons I described above.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

MySQL the default database server

We just use MySQL for all of our databases

PROS

It's the default standard for many companies. MySQL has grown into a very stable product that never crashes. We've made the move to MariaDB, but found that the tables sometimes get corrupted when restarting a database server under heavy load. With the recent speed improvements to MySQL, we have decided to actually migrate back to MySQL.

CONS

I'd really like if they would spend a bit more time on their CLI interface. As in, syntax highlighting in the CLI, an easier way to scroll through multiline queries when going through the history. I would also like it if we can specify a color scheme to use for the output.

Reason for choosing MySQL

both other servers come highly recommended by other parties, but for some reason they just don't have the feature that we're looking for.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MariaDB crashes too much.

John

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

SQL Review

PROS

SQL is one of the best programs that deal with relational databases, that is, those that are based on relationships between tables. It also provides many advantages for data, including high protection, privacy, and integrity.

CONS

One of its disadvantages is that it is difficult for beginners to deal with, due to the large number of tools and commands in it

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

10 Years of MySQL

MySQL is a robust and scalable choice for many database-driven projects, offering numerous advantages for both beginners and experienced developers. I appreciated this coming in as a novice and learning overtime how important a functioning database is to a project.

PROS

MySQL's compatibility with various platforms and extensive support for programming languages contributes to its versatility, making it suitable for diverse applications. Moreover, its extensive online community and detailed documentation make troubleshooting and learning effortless.

CONS

MySQL lacks some advanced performance optimization features found in other database management systems. This limitation may require additional effort to optimize complex queries manually.

Reason for choosing MySQL

Because its compatibility with other platforms and services is unparalleled, offering rocksteady databases is an important part in beginning a project.

User Profile

Emiliano

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

MySQL has always been one of the best relational databases

Many of our relational databases work nowadays with MySQL, we find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL or other alternatives, as well as it's knowledge more broadly distributed due to it being very beginner friendly for web projects, joined with PHP usually.

PROS

First of all there's a free community version, as well as alternative software like MariaDB and Percona Server which have an open-source approach as well. There are multiple services to manage MySQL like Amazon RDS as well as similar products on GCP or Azure, so it's not entirely required to have expert knowledge to use these databases if you are willing to pay for support.

CONS

The upgrade process for MySQL requires downtime and it's not easy to perform a rollback either (on some cases it's entirely impossible unless you restore a backup). Managed services don't provide a zero-downtime upgrade process either, except for migration all your info and deltas into a new database (which sometimes is not entirely available)

Reason for choosing MySQL

We find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL and also more teammates felt comfortable with this software since they were quite familiar with it and possible debugging on the future.

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

The well balanced

I use MySQL in many personal projects, like my automated house project. It was a very good choice, I'm happy with this. Also, in the past, I have worked with MySQL and PHP in my company's intranet page. It was a good tool, but as the company grows, we need to migrate to another platform. Also, it is important to say that if you use the correct database engine with MySQL, you can have foreign keys and other types of constraints so it is very flexible.

PROS

MySQL is a well balanced product, while it is free to use, it also has many features you can find in corporative solutions, like SQL Server and Oracle. If you ever need help, you will find answers almost everywhere, from their own documentation to stackoverflow and other forums, easily. You will have a very short learning curve with MySQL.

CONS

When you need to deal with great amount of data, like some kind of data warehouse structure or huge amount of measures to analyze, you better go other choices. It starts getting too slow with the same hardware other products will work smoothly. But I guess that is not the purpose for MySQL. In the other hand, if you want it to build a transactional system like an e-commerce platform or even a Blog page, it is a very good choice!

Reason for choosing MySQL

I chose it instead of PostgreSQL because the ease of use and plenty of documentation around the internet, with many forums and examples. Both tools have a great community support, but I felt MySQL has more.

User Profile

César José

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

A very good option for small software development projects

To get started in application development, I highly recommend it for its ease of use and how effective it can be for handling data on a small scale. Of course, MYSQL has to be just a step to later migrate to systems that better manage data on a large scale, such as SQL Server or Oracle.

PROS

Mysql is a good tool to start in the world of software development. It offers a small but powerful product, with effective database management when it comes to bringing us useful information for the business. With a few command lines we can get all the information we need, and its installation and first use is fast and intuitive.

CONS

Although MYSQL works well for small and medium projects, in large-scale projects we can suffer a bit with information and data management, since this tool is not entirely designed to handle large-volume data. It can handle data in large volume, but the way in which it will do it will not be the most efficient or the most optimal, which can cause a certain lack of speed when deploying our project.

Reason for choosing MySQL

The ease of use of Mysql made me decide on this specific product in the end.

User Profile

Edwin

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Best tool for Database Management

It is one of the best tool if you want to learn database management since it is free, simple to learn and it's performance it's really good.

PROS

First it is easy for one to learn how to use this software. It is also an open source that is one can get it online for free. Another thing I like about this software is that it works well with different programming languages as well operating systems that are Windows, Linux and MacOS. Lastly it is fast and installation is simple.

CONS

It's slow when running large databases. Using it can also be hard for people who have no experience. Lastly is the user interface that is workbench, it is not interactive thus it needs some changes to improve it's performance.

Reason for choosing MySQL

It is highly customizable in that users can set it up to meet their needs. In addition it is open source in that any person can get it for free.

Manasseh

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

There is no better database management system than MySQL.

I've used MySQL for a few years, and I'd heartily recommend it. It is a very capable and flexible solution for managing your server-based data.

PROS

Despite being available for free, MySQL has numerous functionalities that are also present in commercial products like SQL Server.

CONS

The majority of other databases, save for MySQL, offer data transfer between DB and distributed file systems like AWS S3.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

Considering how simple it is to use and how much online documentation there is, I decided to use it instead of PostgreSQL.

Lilantha

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

MySQL Review

We resolved over DBMS issues with MySQL. It is free therefore We resolved our cost issues. It has the best community. We resolved our all issues very easily. Queries are very easy, Therefore we saved over time. If we think to use relational database MySQL is the best. We can recommend for anyone. Drivers are there for any programming language.

PROS

MySQL is a powerful database management system. It is free. Easy to learn and use. I someone new to DBMS. We can recommend that person to MySQL without any trouble. It is supported to any environment. If your server/PC windows, Linux or Mac. It doesn't matter. MySQL support for all Operation systems and very easy to set up in any environment. We can tall like this if we think about the setup and configuration process "MySQL is the most easiest DBMS system to set up and configure". We can create databases and tables very easily. As well as It is a relational database. We can keep up table relations. It supports many data types. Int, Double, Flote, Varchar, Text, Date,Timestamp...etc.We can create table, views,functions,procedure,trigger..etc. It support many character sets. We vey easy to take backups. We can use text files, CSV file, excel files to data upload. bulk data upload support. MySQL queries are very easy. It supports joins, subqueries,union,group,order and so many things are there. Many free client applications are there for MySQL like MySQL workbench, sqlyog, phpadmin. We can run mysql in custom port. We can limit privileges by user roles. Best thing is support. And also MySQl drivers are there for any programming language. If It is Java, PHP, Node...etc doesn't matter. There are many resources for MySQL. MySQL is a world most popular, powerful, easy, wonderful DBMS.

CONS

Actually, It is a relational database. Therefore before the database creation, You want to create ER-Diagram otherwise you are in trouble. When the relationships are increasing. Hard to insert data. As well as. MySQL is not good for large databases. If relations go very hight. data retrieving speed is going down. If table storage is hight, data retrieving speed is going down. If connections are going hights. It returns too many connection errors and MySQL down. We want to restart.

Reason for choosing MySQL

It is free. Easy to use. Easy to setup. Have a big community.

James

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Stellar platform. A bit of a learning curve when downloading to get the right tools.

Compared with 20 years of Microsoft SQL database work, the switch to MySQL was far superior. Code level language . Remote administration is vastly superior to Microsoft SQL.

PROS

The platform is stable - always working. Documentation is consistent. Updates are coherent and stable. We use it in 95% of all our projects, and it has been a life saver for our bottom line.

CONS

Choosing the right tool to download was confusing. Obviously written by developers instead of management. I'd suggest a 2-4 step process to help in choosing the right packages. The setup process could use a bit more explanation and be more lucid.

Reason for choosing MySQL

The two primary reasons were: Cost and workflow speed

Reasons for switching to MySQL

Workflow speed, cost, support, quick learning curve. Support by ISP's is better, cheaper. Online resources are plentiful and free.

Aivar

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Balanced solution for most use cases

It takes some time to become good at properly configuring it and designing data structures, but once you do, it can handle unbelievable and complex loads.

PROS

Large and experienced community. Any question you have - someone has already asked it and received a good answer. Unbeatable stability. Decent performance. Keeps improving over the years without many breaking changes. You can be almost sure that code written 10, 15 years ago will work in the newest versions.

CONS

Misconfiguration can lead to freezes and crashes, default configs aren't a good choice in most cases. Takes a long time to restart. SQL will not perfectly match your project logic - you have to learn to think in SQL if you want to have a data architecture that works well.

Reason for choosing MySQL

I have considered using MongoDB for Node.js projects, as the native data structure makes the development easier, but in my experience, it was too unstable, and performance in complex loads is not a strong suit of NoSQL.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL has better performance with mixed loads. Postgres administration tools aren't as good as phpMyAdmin.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Free high-performance relational database

I started working with MySQL around 2002. I was looking for some low cost database to use and let old DBF structures in the past. Found MySQL and have never quit working with it since then, not even when I started working with other databases like Oracle and MS SQL Server

PROS

It is free to use and have a large known community of users all over the planet.

CONS

It is free to use, as long as you don't develop the applications using some strict and exclusive commands. I don't know if this have changes and by and large people don't seems to care about it, not even the owner for I have never seen or heard of anybody charged or asked about it.

Reason for choosing MySQL

Little cost at all necessary actions (install, configure and maintain), quite bigger community and simplicity

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL enabled me to have a significant upgrade in my security and data integrity and could handle a lot more payload at a single time with little cost.

Oussama

Computer Games, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

MySQL: A Comprehensive Review

MySQL is an incredibly powerful and versatile database management system that is suitable for businesses of all sizes. Its features are comprehensive and allow users to customize the system to their needs. However, it can be difficult to understand and use for those who are not experienced with databases.

PROS

MySQL is an incredibly powerful and versatile open-source relational database management system. It is easy to setup and use, and it is highly customizable, allowing users to tailor the system to their specific needs. The sheer number of features and capabilities available makes MySQL an ideal choice for businesses of all sizes.

CONS

MySQL can be quite difficult to understand and use for those who are not experienced with databases. The complex nature of the software can make it difficult to troubleshoot and maintain. Also, some of the features are not always as intuitive as they could be, which can make it difficult for novice users to understand.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL is a great choice for businesses of all sizes because of its features, scalability, and reliability. It is open-source, which makes it much cheaper than some of its alternatives. In addition, MySQL provides excellent security, performance, and scalability, making it one of the most popular database management systems available.

Mohammad Iqbal

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

MySQL is lighter and fast database

Our application has 2-way interface, data-entry and user / customer interfaces. On one hand it is being used with .Net for data-entry part of application and on other hand being used with PHP for user / customer interface. The .Net part is deployed locally while user / customer interface is deployed on Azure. A in-house developed desktop utility is also being used to transport data from local MySQL server to Azure MySQL database. We are having almost 2M+ transactions in few tables, working well. It helps us to save the licensing cost. It is also being used in our other websites in backend for data storage and retrieval.

PROS

The thing I like most about MySQL is, It is available for multiple operating systems like Windows, Linux, etc. It is free and open-source. It is very lighter in comparison to MsSQL and very fast. It is very easy to learn and use. It is very easy to install, configure and manage. The syntax is very identical to the same we use sentences in English. It is capable to hold large data in tables. It is best free database with enterprise level features. It is supported by almost all popular programming languages. There are numerous 3rd party custom tools available for it.

CONS

With huge data, I had faced data loss and improper data retrieval but it is very rare and manageable. Some of the error messages are so general and unable represent the actual problem. Some error messages are so weird then the actual problem. It gives sense of insecurity at some points.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

For advanced functionality in saving, retrieving and accessing the data and use it webpages.

Viktoria

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Simple and well tested

MySQL has been around for a long time and I have been using it as my go-to database for as long as I'm working with websites. With its incredible stability, all of my websites databases are in safe hands. With recent updates it actually became even faster and more stable. I can only recommend it as the best and fastest database for small and medium size projects.

PROS

The thing I like most about MySQL is that it is free, open source, and fast. It is extremely stable, and I don't remember the time it crashed for whatever reason. Another additional benefit is that it supports multiple operating systems.

CONS

Really large databases become slow and need a lot of maintenance. Error messages are often vague and unhelpful so finding what went wrong requires a lot of work.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL has more overall support. There are more people using it and more people sharing their experiences on forums and tutorials. MySQL is also much easier to set up so it was very easy to make this decision.

Caleb

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE