What are MySQL users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using MySQL software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.58

1,803 Reviews

5
1,109
4
597
3
71
2
3
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Extremely simple to use with very robust architecture that makes this 100% reliable. Databases run very smoothly and I am happy with the level of security."
  • icon"Thanks to its popularity, it has great documentation and provides a fairly standard database management experience."
  • icon"Ease of use in installation and administration. Great tools are built for MySQL (MySQL Workbench being a great one)."
  • icon"Some error messages are so weird then the actual problem. It gives sense of insecurity at some points."
  • icon"There is no way to stop a query in the Admin tool. Instead, you have to kill the MySQL process to stop the query."
  • icon"SQL Error messages do not show exactly where an error occurred in a given statement which can be confusing."

Jump to:

Browse all MySQL Reviews

  • Have you used MySQL and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 1,780 reviews

Bruce

Company size: 11 - 50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

October 2021

MySQL

User Profile

Mario Humberto

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Excelente ferramenta para SGBD e criação de serviços web & e-comerce( pdv, crm).

otima ferramenta sempre usei em todos os projetos em serviços e-comerce de loja virtuais, criação de aplicativos para lojas e controle de vendas mercadorias, otimo na integração para serviços em plugins wordpress, consultas em tempo real entre cliente e servidor muito pratico e eficiente

Pros

otima ferramenta para criação de aplicativo sgbd e criar controle e população de dados de clientes, fornecesdores, preços, tabelas de controles de mercadorias e muito pratica, precisa ter conhecimento em mysql para poder trabalhar, tem muitos comandos e regras que precisam ser respeitadas, na programação para ter um otimo desempenho e nao ter erro nas consultas das informações, otimo para sistemas de vendas pdv usado em todos os aplicativos de sistemas de vendas ate web sites que usamos todos os dias.

Cons

o preço da licença poderia ser mais acessivel e ter no idioma portugues otima ferramenta para SGBD mantendo a integridade das informações.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

ja conhecia a ferramenta desde a faculdade em 2014, teste outras versoes como sqlite, postgresql, e vou acompanhando as novas versções assi vejo qual a que mais atende a minha necesidade do meu projeto recomendo otima ferramenta.

Robert

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Mysql software user opinions

-i always use MySQL to store data by connecting its database with other languages to help end users to access data and interact with it. Thought it need to have new option like non- developer option where user with little MySQL knowledge can use it. - To use command line to insert data is not preferred since it is time consuming but if we could have an option to create our statements once and then these statements bring buttons or widgets to continue executing based on the commands wrote on each button then it is easy for many user and enterprise to acquire it

Pros

To insert, select, delete and update they are easy to use with few lines of commands Stetements example "Select * from table_ name" this statement can select all columns from a given table

Cons

Some things are difficult and I don't like such as concept of inner-join, encryption, outer-join and normalization.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

-since MySQL can support an offline storage of data than firebase. -oracle expertise is low. - less expensive

Anil

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Database Collection with MySQL

I used MySQL for my customers website to collect and store our website data, to cover all the data and analyze them with 3 party tools.

Pros

MySQL is really helpful database platform to cover all your website data. You can get and post your data for your website in a smooth way.

Cons

MySQL dashboard seems like old, it should be re-designed again like a new product.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

Easy implementation.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL has easy implemetation compared to MongoDB

Vivek

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Best database management system

My overall experience so far with mysql workbench has been great. The customer support of mysql is very good and there is an abundance of documents available to understand the tool and its concepts

Pros

Mysql workbench has been initiative product which help us to easily maintain our databases. It also offers other features like creating database schemas and ERR diagrams which is very helpful

Cons

Sometimes there is latency in connecting to the database and running queries which returns huge volume of data

Reasons for switching to MySQL

Table plus had less features when compared to Mysql

Wassim

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

MySQL: a professional Open-source RDBMS

I used MySQL in industry and in academia. Both experiences were great.

Pros

It is free in its basic version and very easy to configure and manage. Being an SQL RDBMS, the learning curve is very fast if you know SQL.

Cons

The GUI management programs are still not that user-friendly and advanced.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL is lighter-weight and free in its basic versions.

User Profile

Sergio R

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Stable

Pros

MySQL is a lightweight database server since it consumes low machine resources with great performance.

Cons

Backup and recovery is unstable in very complex environments.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Data storage and MySQL

Overall I am really happy with it

Pros

Most Important feature is queries that can we used to Select, update , Delete the data. Its simple and easy to learn . Need some practice.

Cons

I really don't like Join query. if a simple alternative can be provided it would be really great.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

Based on application demand

Elle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

If mySQL didn't exist - neither would my business

Like the title says, if MySQL didn't exist - neither would my business. It's a complusory element to the working day.

Pros

MySQL has come so far in recent years and is the benchmark against which all others measure themselves. One reason for that - it's the best at what it does!

Cons

It takes a little getting used to at first. But - once you get the hang of the 2 or 3 most used options... the rest will follow anyway.

Diego

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Free to use Database enginge!

I have been working with MySQL long enough, and so far it has exceeeded my expetations

Pros

It's a powerfull database engine, very similar to Oracle or Sql Server, and it is free!!! Very essy to administrate with am user friendly GUI

Cons

It takes a while to get used to some command, which are different to ORACLE Databases

Reasons for choosing MySQL

The main reason was the price, that it was free to use

User Profile

Mando

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

excellent Relational databse

Its a wonderful and very powerful relational database manager for web applications

Pros

The product is easy to use and very robust

Cons

setting up automatic backup is not easy for beginners

User Profile

Ajay

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

MySQL (One of the best database software)

It is the one of the best database management soy I have been used. Since I have use this software I don't to choose any other

Pros

The main thing I like about this software is it's easy to use and it help to manage every database. It's the one of the best database software for me.

Cons

The least thing about this software is it's GUI not that much good/ upgraded.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

MySQL experience

in context, my experience was so great. MySQL is compatible with all php and apache versions, so with my web pages or app is too easy to use, when I've used MySQL with php's frameworks like symfony or laravel I didn't have problems with drivers in Windows or Linux.

Pros

MySQL is perfect to use on traditional web app, it is the easiest database management system. You can make triggers in minutes, When I was working in a project, I needed to use MySQL in Gui and It was so easy, and when I work in my Pc with console is too easy and almost commands are similar to others dms.

Cons

I dislike that When I wanted to use a specific data type like UUID, I couldn't, because It wasn't a native data type. so I needed to use a procedure.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

Because MySQL was the best option for my project, It was compatible with web server .

Chirag

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Great database for an SMB

MySQL served global operations for multiple SMBs I worked with in my career. It powered public websites as well as internal applications. No matter which well-known programming language you use, MySQL support will be fantastic. Backup and restore was very easy. To monitor MySQL, we used Monyog/Webyog. We used Percona MySQL and used XtraBackup for backup and restore. We also set up replication, which was very easy to do. The cost of operation was only a few hundred dollars a year and we got excellent value out of it.

Pros

Speed. MySQL is fast! Now, fast is a relative term which depends on workloads, database design and more. I work in Small and Medium Businesses space where a couple hundred GB of data in database or less is common. MySQL's performance has been blazing fast in majority of the installs with default or with slight change in configuration.

Cons

Confusion of selection is the least favorite. MySQL Community/Enterprise edition from Oracle is the most common for those who know MySQL. If you are new to MySQL and researching it for your small business, you'll inevitably come cross MySQL from Oracle, MySQL from Percona, MariaDB etc., which makes your selection process harder. I recommend installing MySQL downloaded from Percona. If you want support, Percona provides that too at a reasonable cost.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

MySQL won out due to its easy of permission setting, configuration, backup/restore and replication. We needed replication. PostgreSQL is an amazing RDBMS but their replication part wasn't as easy. MongoDB was attractive of a proposition but our workload was faster on MySQL than MongoDB in our parallel testing. SQL Server had served us well in the past, so we were considering to keep it as well. Because all of our current and future needs were very covered by MySQL, we chose MySQL.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

SQL Server was a fantastic database also. The cost of operation with SQL Server for SMB can be much higher. We, first, shifted our workload to MySQL Enterprise and noticed that Oracle sales and support cycles were administratively burdensome to us because we weren't used to that. In a year, we switched to MySQL Percona (free) and used Percona support (low cost, high value). Our customers didn't even notice the switch and we were able to onboard a lot more customers with no increase in our expenses with MySQL Percona.

Dima

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

MySQL is the best relational database language out there!

In my few years of experience with MySQL I hightly recommend it! It is a very powervul and versatile tool to manage your data on the server.

Pros

Wow where to start! The two main highlights are the ability to create highly customizable indexed data tables and the ability to query them in incredibly flexible ways! When one creates a table in MySQL, one has an option to create a primary key which is unique for every record in that table. That can then be used to easily search and reference the data in that table. One can also mark other data columns as indexed and make them unique, for instance the email column. That will prevent duplicate records. And one can reference other tables' primary keys from one table - this is called a foreign key - allowing for one-to-one, one-to-many and many-to-many relationships. In terms of queries, one of the most powerful tools is the JOIN command. This allows one to append multiple tables to one another, using the foreign key feature. The combinations and the flexibility that this allows is out of this world as you can extract data from any number of tables into a custom table-like result with surgical precision. If you consider using MySQL, do yourself a favour and study JOIN and how to use it with foreign keys.

Cons

I think the biggest downside to MySQL is that there is quite a learning curve. You need to be good with structuring and organising data in theory/planning first before you approach this database language. It is only a tool, it will not do the design and architecture for you. Once you know what you want, you need to work through some tutorials and code examples to understand how to use MySQL. There are good database managers that use MySQL, suchas DBeaver or HeidiSQL, that will greatly assit you in the process - but you still have to understand how to write custom queries, so take some time to learn the language. If you don't have the time, consider maybe MS Excel or MS Access - less flexibility, but also a smaller learning curve.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

MySQL is relational while MongoDB is non-relational. When working with larger and more complex data, the concept of indexing and foreign keys becomes indispensable and this is something that non-relational MongoDB does not offer.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MS Access is a very expensive software and MySQL is free of charge via installation packages, such as WAMP or XAMPP.

Aivar

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Balanced solution for most use cases

It takes some time to become good at properly configuring it and designing data structures, but once you do, it can handle unbelievable and complex loads.

Pros

Large and experienced community. Any question you have - someone has already asked it and received a good answer. Unbeatable stability. Decent performance. Keeps improving over the years without many breaking changes. You can be almost sure that code written 10, 15 years ago will work in the newest versions.

Cons

Misconfiguration can lead to freezes and crashes, default configs aren't a good choice in most cases. Takes a long time to restart. SQL will not perfectly match your project logic - you have to learn to think in SQL if you want to have a data architecture that works well.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

I have considered using MongoDB for Node.js projects, as the native data structure makes the development easier, but in my experience, it was too unstable, and performance in complex loads is not a strong suit of NoSQL.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

MySQL has better performance with mixed loads. Postgres administration tools aren't as good as phpMyAdmin.

User Profile

Emiliano

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

MySQL has always been one of the best relational databases

Many of our relational databases work nowadays with MySQL, we find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL or other alternatives, as well as it's knowledge more broadly distributed due to it being very beginner friendly for web projects, joined with PHP usually.

Pros

First of all there's a free community version, as well as alternative software like MariaDB and Percona Server which have an open-source approach as well. There are multiple services to manage MySQL like Amazon RDS as well as similar products on GCP or Azure, so it's not entirely required to have expert knowledge to use these databases if you are willing to pay for support.

Cons

The upgrade process for MySQL requires downtime and it's not easy to perform a rollback either (on some cases it's entirely impossible unless you restore a backup). Managed services don't provide a zero-downtime upgrade process either, except for migration all your info and deltas into a new database (which sometimes is not entirely available)

Reasons for choosing MySQL

We find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL and also more teammates felt comfortable with this software since they were quite familiar with it and possible debugging on the future.

Aleksandr

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Great overall but has some very important caveats.

Mysql as any other tools has it's advantages and downsides. It may be fast, ACID-compatible, it may serve as memory cache. It has some dark corners and sometimes may hang on complex queries, or even corrupt the data (this is really rare case, but I faced it more than 10 times during my experience). Consider your scenario carefully. And always, always, ALWAYS make backups.

Pros

There a whole world of documentation, best practice, books on mysql. It can be found on nearly any cloud, system, paas. It is really fast (on MyISAM), support transactions (InnoDB), may perform as in-memory cache (memory), or even CSV (never use this one except for testing or reports). Deploy and set up takes next to no time, it consumes very little resources. Actually I feel it is hard to write a review on MySql because over decades of extensive usage it become the standard de-facto, even LAMP has (M) for MySQL. It is a mature if, well known RDBMS with tons of extensions and forks (not sure I may name them here). It is worth to mention though that MySQL is a default backend storage for a whole number of software. MySQL is compliant to SQL standard though with some differences. It may require some changes to your codebase but still, they should not be critical. What will really surprise you is that ORDER by lacks "nulls first/last" clause and that collates may surprise you. In a somewhat unpleasant way. Window functions, virtual tables, temporary tables are here as well and trust me - this is quite important matter, something that is a vital part of any DB. You will find a lot of web and standalone management tools to work both with server and data, some of them are free, others are not, chose yours.

Cons

First and biggest cons is that MySQL is not suitable for big amount of data. It always had and still have troubles performing complex joins. Database may get corrupted under some scenarios when significant selections is performed same time as other clients perform batches of inserts/updates (basically, there is a long lasting bug in memory management). Transactions are available in a single engine InnoDB and it is much slower than MyISAM. Worst thing is that in scenarios with multitenant databases with somewhat mediocre load MySQL starts to leak memory. This i a known well-issue, and there is no cure at this moment, you have to reboot the database instance. This is simply a disaster. Performance insight is something that could enjoy some more love. While Mysql is compatible with most of standard SQL, there are still some hard to explain differences.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

Mysql is still used in some of our projects, but we are on our way to switch to another RDBMS for the reasons I described above.

Mohammad Iqbal

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

MySQL is lighter and fast database

Our application has 2-way interface, data-entry and user / customer interfaces. On one hand it is being used with .Net for data-entry part of application and on other hand being used with PHP for user / customer interface. The .Net part is deployed locally while user / customer interface is deployed on Azure. A in-house developed desktop utility is also being used to transport data from local MySQL server to Azure MySQL database. We are having almost 2M+ transactions in few tables, working well. It helps us to save the licensing cost. It is also being used in our other websites in backend for data storage and retrieval.

Pros

The thing I like most about MySQL is, It is available for multiple operating systems like Windows, Linux, etc. It is free and open-source. It is very lighter in comparison to MsSQL and very fast. It is very easy to learn and use. It is very easy to install, configure and manage. The syntax is very identical to the same we use sentences in English. It is capable to hold large data in tables. It is best free database with enterprise level features. It is supported by almost all popular programming languages. There are numerous 3rd party custom tools available for it.

Cons

With huge data, I had faced data loss and improper data retrieval but it is very rare and manageable. Some of the error messages are so general and unable represent the actual problem. Some error messages are so weird then the actual problem. It gives sense of insecurity at some points.

Reasons for switching to MySQL

For advanced functionality in saving, retrieving and accessing the data and use it webpages.

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

The well balanced

I use MySQL in many personal projects, like my automated house project. It was a very good choice, I'm happy with this. Also, in the past, I have worked with MySQL and PHP in my company's intranet page. It was a good tool, but as the company grows, we need to migrate to another platform. Also, it is important to say that if you use the correct database engine with MySQL, you can have foreign keys and other types of constraints so it is very flexible.

Pros

MySQL is a well balanced product, while it is free to use, it also has many features you can find in corporative solutions, like SQL Server and Oracle. If you ever need help, you will find answers almost everywhere, from their own documentation to stackoverflow and other forums, easily. You will have a very short learning curve with MySQL.

Cons

When you need to deal with great amount of data, like some kind of data warehouse structure or huge amount of measures to analyze, you better go other choices. It starts getting too slow with the same hardware other products will work smoothly. But I guess that is not the purpose for MySQL. In the other hand, if you want it to build a transactional system like an e-commerce platform or even a Blog page, it is a very good choice!

Reasons for choosing MySQL

I chose it instead of PostgreSQL because the ease of use and plenty of documentation around the internet, with many forums and examples. Both tools have a great community support, but I felt MySQL has more.

Pete

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Scalable software for simple to complex applications

I have had a generally good experience with MySQL. The MySQL RDBMS overall is an excellent software platform. I use it for an auction website that I designed. It takes quite a bit of study to learn about things like the column types and proper table structuring but as a layperson (i.e. not a professional programmer) you can learn the software well enough to make proper use of the program.

Pros

MySQL integrated really well with the PHP scripting language. MySQL is what is called a Relational Database Management System (RDBMS). It is a software system that uses the SQL database query language to manipulate data in a database. MySQL provides for data handling, storing, modifying, and deleting in a tabular format. You can design your database so that each table has a key to at least one other table and that each table can access data in every one of the other tables in the database (hence the word "relational"). With a properly designed MySQL database you won't have any orphaned rows or tables. The database queries that use SELECT, UPDATE, or DELETE are simple and straightforward to use with the PHP scripting language. As an end user, like myself, you don't have to install and maintain this software. The MySQL software comes preinstalled on most server hosting plans meaning the server hosting provider does the installation and maintenance for the software.

Cons

The MySQL reference manual is not clear enough in describing how to utilize many of the features for MySQL. The manual is too technical and apparently is designed for persons with a high level of computer programming or technical knowledge. The manual is sometimes confusing when seeking to find the proper column type to use (i.e. TEXT, CHAR, VARCHAR, etc.). The Date and Time functions for MySQL like DATE and DATETIME are hard to understand and difficult to implement. The table join features are difficult to understand and use.

Reasons for choosing MySQL

I use the PHP scripting language for file storage on the server hosting directory tree folder system. MySQL has a greater set of data manipulation features than the file folder storage. For me MySQL is easier to use than server file folder storage. That may be due to the flexibility of the MySQL database storage as opposed to the file folder storage.

Carlos

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

MySQL: free relational database manager

MySQL is a free relational database manager. I use it daily to manage data for several web applications (most commonly, by pairing it with PHP). It's fast and versatile enough to meet all my needs in different scenarios and for different types of data (e.g. client databases and many others).

Pros

In my opinion, MySQL has the following main advantages: 1. It's versatile and adapts to different use cases. Although MySQL is most commonly used to manage data for web applications (in what's called LAMP: Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP), it's really a jack-of-all-trades that one can use in different scenarios. 2. It's rock-solid. MySQL and its featured stability have both passed the test of time; the software was created 25 years ago and it's already in its 8th version. 3. It makes use of current technologies. Although it's "old", MySQL uses current database technologies, like multi-byte characters and different data-handling engines. 4. It's popular. MySQL is in the default repositories of most Linux-based operating systems, and there's plenty of documentation about it. 5. It's free. MySQL offers a fully-functional, free "community" version.

Cons

The way I see it, MySQL has two disadvantages: 1. Depending on the amount of data it handles and on how many clients connect to it, MySQL can use a lot of resources, effectively becoming a server hog and therefore requiring a powerful computer/server. 2. MySQL isn't exactly the easiest software to install and manage; it requires quite some technical knowledge.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for choosing MySQL

Familiarity with the software.

Ayesh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

MySQL for Software Developer

Overall MySQL is very good data base platform for any one who getting start with programing database software specialy for beginners to get familiar with data base software.Good service and worth for every money you spent on it.Highly Recommended

Pros

MySQL is very fameous data base software.It is a first data base software which I use to develop my first POS system program.It was recommend by my friend and he said that it is very fast and reliable data base program but also it is very simple to understand and work with it.There for I choosed it and he said true.It is very easy to learn and work with it and I simply got familiar with it in a small time.I very like it simplicity and can highly recommend for any one who looking for a data base software to do their software developments.And also MySQL can operate within from many programing languages and I used JAVA to program my software so it need small library to import to the JAVA program and with that it can operate very fastly from using simple codes.MySQL also can operate from many coding IDEA l platforms like Visual Code , NetBeans or InteliJ and it become very helpful feature to make working easy with MySQL.MySQL is the very fast and reliable data base software I ever used and it get well fitted with my programs. There for it helps to work fast your software and there for I think using MYSQL is a good investment for developing a software.

Cons

Mainly MuSQL is my favorite data base software and I havent many drawbacks of it.I think it is better to replace more user ffriendly commands in MySQL library for JAVA.Some times it get tricky to some commands in MySQL from JAVA by using the library.But it is not a big deal.Many Programing softwares are suggest many programing key words ttherefore coding is getting very easy.But when getting to code MySQL commands , some programing platforms were unable to suggest key words and cods ththerefore I think that must be improve more.Considering security I heard that there are many more secured data base software in the feild.So I suggest to improve the security of MySQL data base.

Adonay Andres

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Still good after lots of years

I've been using MySQL for 12+ years. It was great then and it's great now. Lots of features have been added and query speed has been improved by a lot. Since it's a software that has been around us for many years, I insist, the backwards compatibility isn't the desired one, all the needed adjustments to datasets generated in old versions (that are still running in production environments) rely on the dba. Would be great if there could be a utility that handles that.

Pros

I like that it has a community edition which allows to get the software for free with community support. In the case of red hat/CEntOS host, a repository settings can be added and the installation is pretty straightforward. As long as it is correctly setup according to the server resources and expected demand, it runs pretty fast, it is stable and supports lots of connections.

Cons

I feel that it has been starting to loose its backwards compatibility. If you need to use a previous feature, for example, if you want to use the mysql native password, now you need to specify it when creating a user, otherwise, it won't work straightforward with most CMS software. Also, as some datatypes are being improved (which should be a nice to have feature), when migrating to a newer version, restoring a dump can turn into a headache. The users model have also changed, so, if you had a very large users set, you have to do some work to make it work again in newer versions.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for choosing MySQL

Because the ease in the installation and setup process. Also at some point, MySQL integrated spatial support which was the only reason for us to keep PostgresSQL instances.

User Profile

Monish

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Will Developed Relational Database System which supports Transactions

Had a great experience with Mysql, since it has been the core of transaction systems

Pros

Mysql is Transactional, you can commit or revert a set of actions in a transaction, it has well implemented all the Transactional feature such as primary key, foreign keys, indexing etc ... so we mainly use mysql for data collection from realtime interactions with the end user, Its Hibernate support gives a edge on realtime interactions, Mysql provides many type of JDBC/ODBC jars, using which it can be integrated to any type of tools and languages, Mysql has a desktop application called Mysql Workbench for performing all the operations on mysql, it comes in handy if you don't remember some of the commands (like migrations , dumping, updating row etc ..), also it provides schema visualisations, tables and its columns are listed which can be dragged into the editor, which makes the mysql to be easily used and reduces the developers time involved in operational work and improves development efficiency, There are lot of other friendly tools such as WAMP/XAMP etc, which can be used for learning purposes, and Mysql has a huge community support

Cons

Mysql dose not support data transfer between DB and Distributed file system such as AWS S3, which most of the other databases dose, We had to use different PSQL database for large non relational data storage, since it is not the intended purpose of Mysql, so we have to maintain two database systems, it wold be better if mysql can give non transactional support as well for large data storage and analytical use case , so that it can be one stop DBS solution for all data actions.

Showing 1 - 25 of 1,780 reviews
MySQL

MySQL

4.58/5 out of 1,803 reviews
Learn More