User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(205)

205

4 stars

(97)

97

3 stars

(20)

20

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Graphical user interface is very nice and intuitive"

  • "Its fast, its efficient, Its easy to use. All the functions and linked up so well and loads fast. No problems with reporting as well."

  • "Once you get the feel for it, it's easy to use. Also the logging of history is nice!"

  • Cons

  • "Although the product is very efficient customer support is very often unprepared to solve complex problems"

  • "It's not exactly aesthetically pleasing but in the large scheme of things not sure if that really matters. It use to run slow and lag but since the update performs so much faster. "

  • "The cost was a bit on the higher side, including the cost of hiring and maintaining the required expertise. But other than that it is a stable and secure DBMS"

Browse Oracle Database Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 327 results

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Nairoby from CANTV

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

It is considered the database manager par excellence worldwide, however it has its detractors

I have learned a lot using Oracle, it would be great if it were not so expensive, as well as being certified in it. It is important to know that a well-crafted database will work in any database manager, Oracle can not solve faults or problems in a poorly-related database

Pros

- Allows the management of relational databases from very simple to large volumes of data. - Because it is relational, the PL / SQL language is used. - It is agile, consistent and robust. - It has all the functionalities that a DBA would like to have for the management, control and performance of the databases. - A well-configured cluster with Oracle is practically invincible. - Oracle is currently bringing all its products and services to the cloud, that is, based on Internet. - The graphic tools used with Oracle are intuitive and easy to use, practically They do all the work. - The tools also allow you to intone databases, improve performance, give you alerts. - Allows to make backup copies, partitions, manage users to control the security of information.

Cons

- An Oracle license is very expensive, so it is not accessible to everyone. - Staff with knowledge in Oracle is equally expensive, information costs money! - It is difficult to access information related to the driver, its configuration and maintenance. - For DBA without experience, a configuration is complicated by the amount of details that must be consider. - If you do not have a graphical interface to work with Oracle, you should have knowledge in commands to work in consoles or terminals.

October 2019

kalaiselvan from Bahwan cyber tek

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Oracle Database Review

Overall it is a good database for clients whose applications needs to handle the heavy load of data.

Pros

Oracle database supports PL/SQL which allows user to write complex queries in procedures/functions which relatively gives better performance. Oracle database can be better equipped and scaled for heavy load applications. we have lot of documentation in the internet for oracle database usage. Oracle Drivers(API) are available for all the Programming languages which makes easy to connect database from the code. It has reliable security configuration which makes database administrator life easier. This is platform independent and can be installed in any OS(Windows, Linux ). It supports CSV, Excel and Plain Text files for Uploading. It also supports inbuilt AQ (Advanced queue) which can be used for event based applications.

Cons

Licensing cost is not greatly affordable for smaller size companies. Query performance is slow for tables which has millions of rows unless you optimize(tune) the query. Oracle Customer Service response is not that friendly.

Reasons for Choosing Oracle Database

Security Standard is quite impressive and it can handle maximum load of data from the applications.

February 2021

Tina from Numerator

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

User Friendly and Has Cool Tools

Good experience overall. I like how easy it is to search for what I need from this database. This database is pretty convenient once you get used to it. Only problems I have are occasional slowness, but that might be a connection or table design thing.

Pros

It's easy to find all triggers, procs, views, and tables on the left side. There are also great tables like all_tables and all_source that make it easy to search our entire database for the proc or table I'm looking for. There's a super convenient button that changes the case of all code you highlight in the editor, so you can type in the case that's convenient for you and update everything with the button. I also like that you can pin your query results so they don't go away if you re-run the query or run a different one on the same tab. Each set of query results can be named, so you can run, pin, and rename everything you need, and paste your results somewhere when everything is done running.

Cons

There are more slowness problems in this database than in sql server for large tables. I'm not sure if it's due to table design though. I have to be more careful how I write queries here since some of them can run for hours.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Old and Outdated and in need of refurbishing/needs to be replaced by some new Google product

Oracle helped our business use secure filesharing, but wasn't great. We stored a lot of stuff on their database but I am overall not a fan. It was helpful to our company, but I feel like there HAS to be bigger and better and more user-friendly products out there doing a better job.

Pros

Had to use it for work. It was ok for filesharing, but I feel like half the time it didn't work anyway.

Cons

DEFINITELY needs a facelift in terms of its GUI. I thiiiink it needs to be more secure too, I feel like we had issues with security but I could be wrong. Seems old and outdated and like it should have already been replaced and made obsolete by some sexy new Google or startup product.

February 2021

Rachel from Boeing Global Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

A reliable tool to store and access data

Oracle is a powerful tool which allows me to organize my data and run daily and weekly procedures in an efficient and trustworthy manner. The integration with external visualization tools such as Spotfire is a crucial component as well. I would highly recommend this product.

Pros

Oracle provides an easy and powerful way to interact with data. Capabilities such as data dictionaries and indexes make it easy to optimize the performance of existing procedures, and the organization of schemas make finding and editing current stored tables and scripts intuitive. I transitioned to using Oracle from MySQL and it has been an easy transition. It also integrates seamlessly with Spotfire to enable dynamic visualizations and enables insight into business decisions.

Cons

The permissions granted to different departments and the access for different schemas can be confusing to navigate. I know that these permissions are enabled as a safety feature, but it is still frustrating to move through the ranks in order to enable certain accesses. The software also crashes occasionally, which was frustrating. If you are working on an already overtaxed system, be aware and save your work often in case of an unexpected closeout.

March 2020

Sebnem from Vakifbank

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Best Database “Oracle”

I can say that it is the best database when I compare it with other databases.

Pros

To increase the performance, Oracle has some features as partitioning and compression. Also it secure the information with encryption technology.

Cons

Some features have additional license. So if you want to add additional features you pay more.

Reasons for Choosing Oracle Database

It is the best database according to its features.

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

Because of the Adabas old technology, we have to move the best one.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Review for Oracle Database

The overall experience with the Oracle Database was excellent. I did my college semester project with it and my final year project has it in it too.

Pros

1. It did almost everything I wanted to did for my semester project and what it wasn't able to do was always added in the next update. A pleasant surprise. 2. PL/SQL was so difficult for me . But still the documentation made it easy. 3. It's core is a relational database, which is a mathematical model and makes it easier for people from science and mathematics background to understand and use.

Cons

1. Felt a bit overwhelming in the first few days of its use. 2. So many features and syntax are prone to be forgotten. 3. Expensive if you want to use a particular or minority of features.

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

Because it has more features and in my opinion Oracle is a much more trusted organisation than MongoDB.

August 2019

Wesley from Management Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Senior Software Developer - Creating Tables, Triggers and Views

I was having issues getting it to work with Entity Framework as far as retrieving meta data when the database entities were changed.

Pros

The DBMS has many features and they are very efficient.

Cons

The error messages seem a little vague at times and really don't describe the problem.

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

The existing database for the application used Oracle.

July 2019

Majid from IT service Provider

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

The Best choice for Enterprises

It is the best choice if the size of data is too large and above 10 millions record of data.

Pros

What I liked most about this software is selecting tree structure data by just "Connect By" keyword. It provides the most flexibility which you can consider.

Cons

Oracle database best performance can be gained just by installing it on the Linux Distributions. If you install it on the Windows, performance will decrease and some times Listener Service will stop without any specific reason.

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

13 years ago when I switched from SQL Server, SQL Server was too weak in the manipulation of Tree Structure Data and also it was too weak in Memory Management. SQL Server could not release the taken memory after a short time. SQL Server also had a bug in the triggers. Some triggers after high CPU usage processes ended unexceptionally without any error message.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Awais from Style textile

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Oracle database Middleware & Cloud services

By using oracle database, Meterial management and costing is shown on one window.I immediate realize the product cost and price.Handling All productions Operation Due to its middleware services at one place.

Pros

The most important services is middleware, 3-4 madule can connect and generate output as per desired, For Costing point of view, We can connect Meterial Management system & inventory Management system and Billing management system to produce final costing of a product.Secondly its very easy to modify the oracle forms, reports and Formulas.Through multiple languages we can modify Oracle forms.Third its cloud services, for multi-branches organization we can avail its cloud services, from these services we can collect data form every branch at one window. We can cloud partial data for public and complete data for employees based on organization behaviour.

Cons

Complexity is the main issue of oracle data base, Non technical user cannot use it properly.During Development Error Expectation is high due to its Senstivity of character.

May 2018

Eyamir from UDO

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I really think it's the best DBMS I've used, the dream of any database administrator

Really for me it has been very satisfactory to develop applications with this DBMS, because it has made the work more pleasant and simple, besides having the peace of mind that the database is very secure

Pros

Oracle is the object-relational database engine most used worldwide. It can run on all platforms, from a PC to a supercomputer. It is a super complete DBMS, with a high degree of performance, stability and scalability, supports all the functions expected of a server is a very complete database design language (PL / SQL) that allows implementing "active" designs , with triggers and stored procedures, with a fairly powerful declarative referential integrity. It allows to implement the security of the database efficiently and effectively through the management of users, roles and passwords. It allows the use of partitions to improve efficiency, replication and even certain versions support the administration of distributed databases. The server can be run on a multitude of operating systems. The great support that the organization offers its users. It has tools that allow the database administrator to perform its function efficiently and effectively. It has tools that make the backup of the database very simple. Great capacity to restore the database and very fast recovery, in addition to having a wide type of data which facilitates the design of the database

Cons

What I like least is that it is a bit expensive. Another problem is the need for adjustments. A common mistake is to think that it is enough to install Oracle on a server and directly plug in client applications. A misconfigured Oracle can be desperately slow. Misconfigured Oracle can be desperately slow.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Best Enterprise database solution

I have more than 3 years of experience in database industry. In my experience , I can say Oracle database is the best enterprise grade database for any industry. As a service integration company, we always recommend clients to have Oracle databases in their environment. During my career, I have never seen a any data loss incident related to Oracle database. Oracle database has very larger community as well. So it was very easy to troubleshoot issues, even without paid vendor support

Pros

+ Enterprise features such as High availability, Concurrency, Disaster Recovery. + Comprehensive documentation from Oracle. + Best vendor support -paid + Best security features such as encryption, data masking , redaction and auditing + Maximum Availability architecture to provide best protection to our data + Performance monitoring capabilities

Cons

+ Enterprise licence are very costly. + Data Gurad licence sold separately. + Not easy to Install,configure and maintain, need high skilled resources.

Reasons for Choosing Oracle Database

Mainly the feature set of Oracle database

October 2020

Osuavareghe from Delta State Post Primary Education Board

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Best instructional RDBMS

As a Faculty who has made use of and taught Oracle, Ms SQL, MySQL and Ms Access and Excel, I can boldly tell you that Oracle Database Management Software remains the best and to shock you that's why the biggest organizations in the world makes use of it. One other thing you need to know is that it is most secure DBMS you can ever think of when it comes to data management.

Pros

Oracle DBMS is the best when you talk about large data manipulation SQL/PL-SQL runtime is way beyond its counterparts such as MySQL and MS SQL. Another feature is the availability of support (API) for different programming languages. Programmers can easily develop applications using whether it be mobile apps, web based or other server based applications, Oracle is a sure bet. Oracle's availability, recoverability, performance feature is also an added advantage. The new feature that removes human error of patching and upgrading by automating the process is another key benefit.

Cons

Oracle DBMS may not be the right choice for a small organization just starting if they do not have enough money to purchase its license. Oracle license is really expensive. One other thing is that you will need a highly skilled oracle professional to harness all the benefits Oracle truly provides.

Reasons for Choosing Oracle Database

Its security, scalability, availability, recoverability, and easy manipulation though you would need to be trained.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Solianny Antonieta from CARS C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Develop, create, innovate a database quickly and efficiently is achieved with Oracle DataBase.

Oracle Database is a powerful, flexible and enriched tool with unparalleled coding for database creation at different scales.

Pros

There are many advantages of Oracle Database, I can say that its performance and use of resources for me is of a competent efficiency since it is a multiplatform system. Its data dictionary is extensive giving extraordinary support to the programming language, thanks to the fact that 80% of Oracle's internal codes are the same as those established in the operating system platforms, which allows creating data and tables quickly and easily according to the needs you want to achieve in a company or organization. The Forms, SQLFORMS are very simple and effective for the design of screens, the best of all is that, after defining the form you can work on it without generating codes, this at user level is very useful. It can be used both for personal information and for large data stores. is run in high and low range equipment, this is a great advantage. As I said at the beginning there are many advantages of Oracle to create a reliable and secure database.

Cons

Just as it has a simple and adaptable interface, it's necessary to have a broad knowledge of programming and creation of tables to take advantage of the entire box of functionality that Oracle has. It's worth it.

December 2017

Siva from Computer Networking

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Best Database.

Scale, security, easy migration, analytics etc

Pros

Oracle has been investing heavily in its flagship database products and improving it constantly over the years. Oracle Database is available both on premise and on the cloud.Built on the new self-driving database technology, Oracle Autonomous Database Cloud removes complexity, human error, and manual tuning by performing fully automated administration and tuning, including automatic configurations and online recovery to ensure higher availability. Routine but important maintenance tasks, such as upgrade, update, and patching are executed automatically, eliminating costly manual error-prone human processing. Highly Secure. Easy Access. Drawing on nearly four decades of expertise in building data management and data protection for massive enterprise-grade operations, Oracle has engineered in-depth security into all computing layers to ensure data privacy and safety. Oracle supports all data types, from SQL and NoSQL to Hadoop, as well as workloads of any size for everyone, from developers for DevTest to IT for the most mission-critical workloads

Cons

Oracle can work and improve its customer service. Oracle customer service is not that great. However it is changing.

August 2018

Jose from CSI Group (Insurance & IT Solutions)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Why use Oracle Database

My experience with Oracle has been as administrator and developer which gives me an overview of the projects and has allowed me, thanks to the tools it provides, to achieve projects that with other database managers could not have been successfully completed, that is, the multiple tools provided by oracle are very helpful although the examples and the documentation seem scarce

Pros

It is a very powerful database from the point of view of storage and development, I have used oracle in many aspects, as a database engine and for a large amount of data it is perfect because it handles high volume data efficiently, as well It provides the advantage of being able to develop with SQL ansi standard procedures and tasks that automate the management of data, the advantage of being able to run on any platform and with any development tool allows development projects to be carried out in the expected time, compatibility It is your biggest advantage

Cons

As a disadvantage I think that the way to handle the downloads of the connection drivers for the different platforms is a bit tedious since other databases do not require so much protocol to download the drivers. it may be necessary in some cases to document about the new functionalities because the examples provided by the provider are not so clear and / or non-existent

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Best Relational Database Platform in market

I used Oracle database for programming application logics for a technician management applications for a client. I also used Oracle database to support database layer for several of my clients in my career so far.

Pros

I have been using Oracle Database since the version 10g. I have had a chance to work on several other database platforms like Sybase, MS SQL and MySQL. Oracle database comes with tons of features which many of the other databases don't have. I am not sure if i can say that other way round for other databases i have used. It's quite complicated to learn and definitely complicated to master, but it provides you with enough tools to do complicated tasks quite easily. You can also code your application programming languages using it's native PL/SQL language. Oracle Database also let's you make calls to Java programs and embed some Java inside the PL/SQL.

Cons

It's costly! It's quite costly if you are using it for small businesses. Some of the very sophisticated features are only available for enterprise version of Oracle Database which is quite costly. Oracle is very price oriented, so be careful about the budget when you chose Oracle Database.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Narayanaswami from Texas Instruments Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Good product but can be improved

It is definitely a great product to learn and work with. Easy to learn sql and pl\sql in oracle. Anyone can write sql to be honest but anyone to write the best performing sql in a long run takes experience and wish oracle has a clear cut way to say when oracle optimizer would use which plan, which indexes to use/ignore etc. pl\sql features are great for batch processing. File processing features can be improved.

Pros

Writing sql queries are easier to learn for anyone. PL\SQL is pretty good for batch processing. Table partitioning is one of the best features Regex is very powerful It is good for OLTP apps with reasonable amount of data to be queried

Cons

Wish there is more json/xml features available in oracle 12.1. Yet to explore those options in 18c SQL-Plus features can be improved. Oracle sql developer can be improved as well. Always dependent on the toad software to interact with oracle DB Wish there is a clear cut way to say when oracle optimizer would use which plan, which indexes to use/ignore etc. Oracle sql and pl\sql tuning is learnt by experience and not for beginners. OLTP apps querying a loads of data from the backend perform slow which is where no-sql would help better.

February 2018

Yaritza from KENTRON SISTEMAS DE INFORMACIÓN

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Oracle is definitely one of the best implementations of RDBMS

It is our main software work platform that we commercialize. We have been using this tool for more than 15 years.

Pros

Every Oracle job I have worked has had a solid proactive team that is well read on standards and best practices and has many years of experience. Oracle is definitely one of the best implementations of RDBMS. It manages memory very efficiently and can handle complex JOIN operations which easilly cripple MySQL and MsSQL. Oracle has a great Architecture, because it is very easy to organise different applications data very well. I think the best plus for me is the SQL Engine that Oracle possess, it is very advanced, making it the only database to operate a data warehouse! Running complex queries on Oracle is just easy.Other features like Materialized Views, PL/SQL e.t.c. make Oracle have value for money

Cons

Unintuitive performance tuning tools, and finicky optimizer. SQL*Plus with a built-in tabular format output; useful for rows that span across many lines. No, Grid Control SQL Output just doesn't cut it; it's a static output of the entire table. It doesn't have the powerful SQL*Plus commands.

June 2017

Sriram from Techmahindra

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Nice tool

Pros

Perhaps the most well tested relational database for large installations. It can handle a huge amount of data and perform well under load Reliability!!! Without a doubt, the Oracle database series (I think it's up to Oracle 12c now) is the `godfather' of commercial transaction and government RDBMS software. With it's different version releases, the software has been around close to 40 years!!! It's the originsl flagship product of the Oracle corporation.

Cons

It's expensive. So, if you don't need to support a lot of data and transactions per second you should seriously consider a cheaper option like MySQL or a nosql database like MongoDB. Installation Time per individual instance!!! I've automated the whole thing from a fresh install of a Linux Operating system and it still takes at least ~3.5 hours to install it, although I've done it in as little as 2.5 hours, but it depends on where the package repository is, and how version control is being handle! (POINT THE MATTER IS, IT CAN TAKE VERY LONG TIME FOR MERE INSTALLATION) On Windows operating systems it can take up to 8 hours or more, your first time around!

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Sukesh from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Trending database technique with high level data protection,availability,scalability and cloud

I had great experience working on different versions of oracle databases and the technologies like Goldengate,RAC,ASM,OEM,RMAN,DATAPUMP. I highly recommend my friends to learn oracle db administration as it is very useful if chosen as a career.

Pros

Being a oracle database administrator I like to manage and work on unique technologies that are available, like Real application cluster,Golden gate,RMAN, Datapump and its is really challenging at times when we receive performance related issues. It provides high level security on data where we can recover lost data or corrupt data using various technologies like RMAN,DATAPUMP,DATAGUARD,RAC. ASM makes the database maintenance even more simple while adding new disks into storage or adding datafiles. Goldengate can be used to configure data replication between different vender databases and OEM 12C and above can be used to monitor other vendor databases and OS alerts too.The Cloud enviornment makes it look cooler.

Cons

I don't find any cons as such as but the ORACLE-SUPPORT response is slow sometimes even on high priority issues and we need to raise a call to the manager

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Talha from Masood textile Mills

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Oracle Database

its goods for textile sector.different madules data can be arranged at one data base which minimize the data arrange time.

Pros

Oracle database is best manager of the data, PL/SQL used to arrange data which makes possible to arrange data 100% accurate.Huge data can be manage through a simple click.its spread sheets have millions of rows and columns.we can extract spread sheet of oracle database toMS Excle through refreahable files.

Cons

PL/SQL is very senstive language and its resources persons are highly paid.secondly its license is much expensive. We have to refresh exi file while entring any new data.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Marko from NCR Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Probably most powerful database

The whole customer engineer dispatch system that my team use is linked with Oracle database and every work order goes through it. From the dispatch to opening new tasks, ordering parts, escalating to other teams and closing the work orders, everything is being stored in Oracle DB. I also use it to pull data when I need to create reports for the customers or when I simply want to check the status of a specific work order.

Pros

As a Java programmer, for me personally, Oracle database is one of the most important platforms that I use. The overwhelming features of the platform, its history, scalabillity and the overall usability is almost breathtaking. Java and Oracle, connected with Hibernate are a really powerful triumvirate of technology. As a user, I use oracle database every single day for dispatching customer engineers, managing the work orders, pulling data and creating reports.

Cons

So far I can only say good things about Oracle DB.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Oracle DataBase

Very good software, I have been using oracle for 5 years as a database administrator, it gives me security and integrity in the data, the manipulation of the data is safe and easy. It is stable with the systems in which oracle has been implemented

Pros

Integrity and data security Standardized the use of sql It can be run on any operating system and on any machine from PC to high-tech servers Allows database replication in a secure and consistent manner Allows multiple databases (Instances) in the same server The export and backup of the database is done according to the different needs of the user if it is a table excluding certain parameters, etc. It can be monitored by application such as cloud control. It allows to generate reports, statistics, multiple queries.

Cons

Incompatibility with previous versions at the time of restoration High costs

May 2017

Shrish from HCL Technologies

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Excerpt on Oracle Database

Pros

1. Within the Oracle databases, the application can use multiple schemas. 2. Database tables are assigned to table spaces such that their extent size reflects the size of the table 3.Ability to create all functions and procedures inside Packages [No stand Alone Implementation], and those which define the interface of the package to the outside can be declared in the package header 4. By using Dynamic SQL we've replaced bulky queries by input based optimized queries. 5. Using Oracle's 'Advanced Queuing' we implemented Asynchronous calls in the database enabling us to run processes in the background, when a separate process got executed in the foreground.

Cons

These days capabilities like Oracle are being provided by other open source DB's like Postgres etc at a very nominal cost.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great RDBMS product

I have used the Oracle database as an application developer and found the database to be excellent when it comes to using it in an OLTP environment. It allows setting up of the database in a very flexible way allowing normalisation at highest degree. Data modelling of simplest to the most complex systems is enabled allowing for different constraints to be used ensuring data integrity is maintained. I have liked using the database as a developer and as a designer and architect.

Pros

Data retrieval is fast. Data organisation is good... especially in a RDBMS environment Good fit for OLTP systems Lots of great functions out of the box Data management, data integrity, meta data usage is pretty good... Interfaces for SQL creation and PL/SQL development are readily available.... User security and access management is very good

Cons

Licensing cost. Ease of use Hardware compatibility

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Christopher from Almacenes SIMAN

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Oracle Database Review from an Senior Oracle DBA

I have used oracle for Datawarehouse, transactional systems, golden gate replications, among others. It is the core database of the company I currently work for.

Pros

I have been working as a Database Administrator since 2011, Oracle is by far the best relational database I have used. It works better on unix-like systems, it is very fast, has lots of parameters to tune to your specific needs and it also has a lot of features like partinioning, high availability soluctions like RAC and Dataguard that make this the best database on the market for mission critical systems.

Cons

The online documentation needs improvement, sometimes it is incomplete, there are not enough examples for some features. Customer Support is erratic, sometimes it´s great and sometimes not so much, it depends on the support tech.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Jeannette Haydeé from Stefanini Informatica y Tecnologia (Colombia)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I had work with a variety of versions Oracle Database, from 9 to 12c

The options to have only one server installed with one Oracle Database with N containers

Pros

Oracle Database is always a good options. Its very consistent, stable and scalability: It´s 12c version have a new funcionality wich is the container database. We can create one or more container in one same database. In the same instalation we can manage more than one container of database, this is very helpfull for applications databases division.

Cons

The container always is create in a closed state, after the creation of container, is necesary alter the status to change it to open state and even when you create a container with a administrator user (no sys user), is necesary give permissions DBA to that user because it doesn´t inherit that permissions

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Most powerful relational database in market

I have worked with Oracle database since almost a decade now. I have implemented small, medium to very large implementations of Oracle database in my career. i have been extremely satisfied with sophisticated features that Oracle database provides.

Pros

I have been working on database technologies since more than a decade now. Oracle database is the most powerful relational database in market with tonnes of features. If you buy enterprise edition of the software, you get features like data guard, Oracle Enterprise Manager for free.

Cons

Oracle database can be overly complicated for someone who has worked with other database vendors like Microsoft or SAP. Also, Oracle database is costly in terms of license price compared to other database options.

January 2020

Lasha from Mmedi22

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

The best of the best

An absolute beast of a DBMS. It has everything that you may need. And if for some reason it doesn't - it allows you to make it yourself. Oracle is a no-brainer if money is not an issue.

Pros

Oracle is an absolute powerhouse. Currently it is the best database management system on the market and the only paid one. That is for a reason, nd that reason is that it features the best scripting language called PLSQL. It's turing-complete (meaning you can theoretically do literally anything) and makes room for unimaginambly complex calculations and transformations. Oracle DB allows for storing huge amounts of data and have access to it at a moments notice.

Cons

Despite offering more than enough value for money, I do still consider it overpriced. Huge price tags often deter smaller enterprises from using a platform and nobody should miss out on Oracle DB.

May 2018

Keyver from Indra

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

The most stable, the strongest, the safest and most powerful database

One of the clients that has the company I work in is a very large bank which manages millions and millions of transactions per day and had already tried other handlers and none of them worked or failed concurrency or memory but since we used oracle both the customer as the developers are happy

Pros

the best database manager that in my opinion exists, is super robust, super stable, since I never use an application I dropped it, handles millions of records in a matter of seconds which other handlers do if they collapse instead oracle any amount of millions of records the menja and processed as without greater difficulty

Cons

get a point against the truth is that I do not see it because for me the handler is the best of the best ... for something I give 5 stars

July 2017

Jisu from Infosys Ltd

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Best RDBMS in the market

Oracle RDBMS is a very vast topic, and it has been an adventure for me to explore its features and how it can be used to simplify the business needs of my customers.

Pros

The high availability features like RAC, the replication features like GoldenGate, the different reporting capabilities using views and DBA_ views, the manageability using Oracle Enterprise Manager, all these make it the most loved Database flavor among its customers. Other flavors of databases are dwarfed when compared to its functionality.

Cons

Oracle RDBMS gives too much importance to data consistency, and can sometimes look complex when trying to solve simple recovery issues. That is one reason why some customers are afraid to use this otherwise powerful software.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

chandrika from Conduent

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

The best Database available

It's biggest and popular software , overall it's great software with so many tools available and with so many upgradations.

Pros

Well I am Using it from my college days, I have used it for small a project and am using it currently in my organization's project also. Here I am listing pros : it's a very robust database as compared to others. There is a lot of support and documentation available over the internet. Very secure Built in Administraion tools and customizable settings. So many drivers are available as it's one of the oldest database available.

Cons

Cons - The size of the software is quite heavy. Expensive It could be little difficult for a beginner to setup it and go through it.

June 2019

Miguel Alejandro from Cryanet

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Highly commendable, powerful, fully featured database manager

The only problems we ever got where contract problems, never experienced data corruption nor data loss, it's indeed the excellence in database managers.

Pros

This is the structured database manager that set the industry standard Very powerful, fully adjustable. Very fast and capable of handling the most variable loads maintaining data consistency across the database landscape (it can be clustered, distributed, etc). It includes plsql by default, a very powerful tool for specialized reports, or data treatment.

Cons

It's expensive, but if you can pay it, it'll be worth it . Once you're into Oracle SQL, you must remain in it, the contract is quite hard to leave.

September 2019

Alonso from Monex Grupo Financiero

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great RDMS for handling high transactionality and high amount of data

Pros

Performs very well working with high amount of data and high transactionality. PLSQL it's very powerfull as SQL extension Use of packages to group functionality. XE envirnoment makes development easier. Altough a diferent product, ORDS makes it really easy to develop REST based services from querys, functions or profcedures.

Cons

Documentation is not as clear as one may expect. You get easyly lost between docs for different versions the database. It is quite expensive. If you company either doesn't have high transactionality or handles a big amount of data, Its reasonably to use another cheapper DBMS.

May 2019

Pratik from VMware

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Enterprise level Secured RDBMS, with many constraints and features

Pros

Oracle still hold most of the market share for providing enterprise level RDBMS but there was a time when everyone was using Oracle, I learnt about database by using syntax's written in oracle. Easy to use, toad type tools will make your life easier, it will provide you easy graphical interface to write sql codes. sometimes I feel oracle put lots of constraints in their database but that is because you need to maintain a clean and organized database

Cons

length of procedures names has a limitation, it needs to change ,sometimes i try to write descriptive name and it will not allow me

December 2020

Steven from Hsbc

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Mid-Tier database that competes with other technologies in the same space

Great software, a general “supports all” database, but not specialised in any particular element of the database world,

Pros

Easy to deploy, we have high usage varying from standard installs to multi instance, rack, replicated high availability and reporting instances. Good performance and competes with our other standard database options if approved.

Cons

Compared to other similar products the options can be overwhelming, but once understood you can easily integrate this into your organisation. GoldenGate for replication makes high availability easy, backups are configurable and quantifiable which satisfies many regulatory requirements.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Undoubtedly most sophisticated RDBMS product in market

i have been using oracle database since version 10g we have implemented it for web applications , ERP solutions and cloud apps for a A tier organisation. it can handle high transaction volum and lot of features for specific business needs which might not be available in other competitor product in market.

Pros

-oracle database comes in 4 editions: standard,enterprise,personal,express. we have flexibility to use one of the edition on specific needs. -cloud ready architecture -strong user community

Cons

- expensive pricing models - extremely complicated architecture , not easy to acquire complete - separate costs for additional features like partitioning and performance tuning

October 2019

Ramya from Infosys

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Oracle DB review

We have used Oracle database as storage for many of our applications. It is a great software. Once the license requirements are completed, it will provide the needed storage and support for the procured database. I really like Oracle DB.

Pros

It is a great software for storing all the needed data for your application in the database. Once we have obtained the desired licenses, it is a great tool available in the market for DB storage.

Cons

It does crash sometimes. So make sure to commit all of your work at regular intervals if a disaster strikes. If you are used to another DB product, there are few changes in the commands that you are expected to know.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Oracle a must for transnational system

Some application can't live without oracle, but many applications are gradually moving to other databases. I think oracle is needed but we need other new age technological database to also to handle new age petabytes of data.

Pros

ACID property. Relationship enforcement. New features in each release. Oracle replication and goldengate among different system. robust data integrity and enforcement. backup, recovery,

Cons

inability to match the speed of the NoSQL in case million/trillion of transactions. if there are too many changes in applications, oracle is not good. good for normalization, but data today mostly can come at any format.

May 2019

Harshdeep from VMware

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Relational database with enterprise level features,price,security and constraints

Pros

In normal MySQL, there are plenty of features that you will like or you will dislike one of the major thing, was it was free. Oracle is not free, its a enterprise level rdbms , where they have added additional constraints and more value checkings, type constraints so that you can use it effectively and get best out of it. Toad like tools will make your life easier to work with Oracle Databases.

Cons

With too many constraints sometimes you will not be able to work as you want, you have to comply with oracle norms to work around.

December 2019

Daniel from Instrumentation Laboratory, A Werfen Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Oracle Database Review

Overall I find it great for database development, and as I get better I'm sure I will like it even more.

Pros

I find that scalability and database manipulation are two of my favorite features in using oracle database.

Cons

it is very complex and hard to use , and requires lots of training and tutorials to get what you want to do accomplished, wished it came with some canned basic scripts.

Reasons for Switching to Oracle Database

company decision.

April 2018

Rickell from Port Authority of Jamaica

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Oracle Database is very user friendly and performance has increased in the version 12c

Very reliable DR solution with 100% replication, easy to start on DR site. Can be used for read only

Pros

Oracle Database has the full features of PL/SQL which means that we can completely unleash the power of stored procedures, triggers and other various complicated database functionalities. Very good with its rollback mechanism. Oracle Database is very user friendly and performance has increased in the version 12c as compared to previous versions.

Cons

Adding custom defined permissions for custom defined user types would be a really cool feature which can open up a lot of possibilities.

April 2018

Jhampiert from Instituto Universitario de Gerencia y Tecnología (IUGT)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I use it as a database manager of an Administrative Management System

The benefits of the software have been multiple, from the learning of relational databases, to the creation and development of large-scale projects

Pros

What I like most about software is the integration and security of the data, additionally, the new relase (12c) has an endless number of possibilities for business intelligence tools. With Oracle Autonomous Database the possibilities will be endless

Cons

What I like the least about the product is its price, however, there are free versions (XE) that allow you to use the product and live the experience of one of the best databases.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Angel from BerryAtlantic

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Oracle is the premier enterprise database management system and worth the somewhat steep price.

I started using the Oracle RDBMS in 1988 and haven't looked back since. It was the first truly multiplatform relational database back in the day and continues to be a leader.

Pros

Oracle's powerful relational database engine can scale up from a small server to a huge server farm and has famed reliability features. I like its support for multicore and multi-server environments and how well it integrates with just about any enterprise-grade application you can think of.

Cons

It's a bit pricey, though it has a pay-as-you-grow pricing model, so it may not be a problem for you.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

It's the default JDE DB

Been working as a JDE consultant for almost 5 years. As a DSI Infrastructure consultant, I have to integrate OracleDBs to MEP system DB and also when integrating MEP with JDE.

Pros

Oracle SQL syntax is my preferred one. Performance on relational DBs is good. No need to create a separate DB, you can use tablespaces. SQL Developer as OracleDB client is great. TNS names integration for third-party software is awesome.

Cons

Performance for simple solutions could be improved, but of couse it is not what this type of DBs is designed for.

October 2019

Zachary from Securitas

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Company wide used software!! 10,000 plus!

We solve problems of undocumented access badges to the facility I work. We use to to configure access badges prior to printing the actual card. The database automatically logs everything you do. Also if a team member messes up information it will show the last person to edit a profile.

Pros

Once you get the feel for it, it's easy to use. Also the logging of history is nice!

Cons

Very hard to learn the software in its entirety. We use a small portion of a large application. Very complex when trying to learn and use entire application and all its features.

June 2019

Mehmet from Turkcell

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Magnificient Database Solution

Pros

We have been using Oracle Databases more than 10 years in our critical databases. We are using 10, 11 and 12c versions on different projects. If you give Oracle Database lots of physical memory and fast SAN storage, you can get unbelievable performance results compared with other free db solutions. It is easy to manage with EM Console, too. Customer service and metalink support are also magnificent.

Cons

Only negative side is the price policy. It's an expensive solution.

July 2019

Martin from Gobierno de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

much less than I projected

Pros

It is a powerful database engine, which is designed for large volumes of data. It has the classic functionalities of every top database engine.

Cons

It has a very high cost. It is not intended for small projects. incredibly it has a concept of sequences and has no autoincremental fields. It is really unusual to allow a bad programmer to use a sequence for several tables. beyond that that would be a bad development practice the biggest mistake is that the tool invites you to commit it

October 2020

GUMERCINDO VICTOR from Kforce

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Strong data base option with a high support price

As a developer I have the experience to consume and create data models, nowadays you can use a vast of options in the market with less complexity and similar performance, still a good option for big companies.

Pros

One of the most powerful database environments, too many drivers for every programming language, you can access to an open version easily.

Cons

Poor support for the open version, hard to maintain for small companies, the learning curve could be high and complicate to read every detail about custom installations.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 327 reviews