User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It is easy to setup and maintain and works mostly without any problems."

  • "Software is easy to use, set up, and administer. Also the cost is so much better than competing localized products"

  • "The best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups."

  • Cons

  • "Somewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good. "

  • "There are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them."

  • "When compared to Veeam or other mature products it is lacking in features. However, direct apples to apples comparisons it does a very good job of file level and database level backups."

Browse SolarWinds Backup Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -26 of 24 results

February 2019

Mike from DataPro International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Simple And Effective Backup

SolarWinds saved the day when disaster struck one of our clients, we were able to restore everything quickly and easily as if nothing had happened. Common backup and rescue media is easy to create. Customer support was easy to deal with. We have experienced no issues using SolarWinds Backup and recommend it to all of our clients.

Pros

SolarWinds Backup is easy and efficient to use. The web interface is easy to use. Just simply install on the devices and you are ready to go. You own your own data. There are no storage limits which is an asset.

Cons

There are a few limits on the scheduling features but we have managed to work around them.

November 2019

Ramon from Business PC Support

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best Backup Software

Overall is being great, a few glitches but support try there best to meet your expectations.

Pros

Baremetal recovery is amazing it just works.

Cons

Recent Updates where it does not tell you what is the issue.

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Backup

There was too much configuration involve in order to get it up and running.

November 2019

Arjan from NDI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Solarwinds backup made my life easier

Pros

It is easy to setup and maintain and works mostly without any problems.

Cons

The portal is sometimes down due to maintenance.

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Backup

We were already a Solarwinds (ncentral) user.

March 2020

Joshua from Celotex

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Useful online backup tool

Pros

Very good customer support, and useful online backup function

Cons

No local only option for backups, and relatively expensive complete product

November 2019

Brian from Atlas IT

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Simplicity and Trust

Solarwinds set a stand and bar for the industry to match at minimal and best if capable.

Pros

Simplicity. It just works. Thats a huge plus.

Cons

Help and how-to sections are a bit flaky to navigate around.

June 2019

Eli from Wolf Consulting, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Very solid, but expensive with some restoration hiccups

Overall, I have been happy with the product. The online backup option has decreased the amount of time spent working with clients to connect local backup drives. Support has been very helpful.

Pros

Overall, Solarwinds Backup just works with little intervention needed. I was skeptical of what was promised by the sales people, but after using it, I was very impressed. The online backup function helps to ensure backups always complete if local hardware is disconnected or failed.

Cons

I have run into some problems that have delayed restores, but in each instance, support has been able to help restore the device successfully. It would be nice if there was a local only option for backups. The price of the product is higher than other options.

November 2019

Andrew from TM Technology Systems

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Solarwinds Backup

Fantastic product

Pros

Easy of install and setup, ease of Use, accuracy, recovery option

Cons

Lack of support SQL Server 2017, Difficult to review backup manage stats vs billed amounts

December 2019

Kelly from TRINUS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

N-Central & SolarWinds Backup

Solid file and database backup feature. Versioning is built into the product with customization of schedules and standardization across customer base is excellent. I've used many different products and consider SolarWinds backup to re reliable and dependable.

Pros

It is fully integrated into N-Central, SolarWinds RMM product. This allows for centralized management from the RMM console and easy templating and monitoring of the backups themselves.

Cons

When compared to Veeam or other mature products it is lacking in features. However, direct apples to apples comparisons it does a very good job of file level and database level backups.

December 2019

Jacob from Red Computing Solutions

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great backup software!

It's been great so far! I've recovered several customer files that were inadvertently deleted with very little trouble.

Pros

It's very reliable, especially the VDR restore tests that you can run on a ESX or HyperV box. I have very little issues with the product after the initial deployment.

Cons

I wish that the RMM version had as many features as the standalone version. Not having the capability to restore to the cloud would be nice.

November 2019

Rick from Karmanos Cancer Institute

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Great backup product

Great product, cost effective solution.

Pros

Software is easy to use, set up, and administer. Also the cost is so much better than competing localized products

Cons

1. Inability to RESTORE to "another location" OTHER than the local C: drive of the computer you are administering from.

Reasons for Choosing SolarWinds Backup

Cost and ease of use

March 2019

Mark from Clark Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Solid and reliable

Pros

The best thing about this solution is that you don't have to babysit it much. 95% of our client backups work without a hitch. Never had any problems restoring from backups.

Cons

The Exchange restore is kind of a challenge, especially if the database is large. No built in tools for granular restore of mailboxes, You have to use powershell.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Simple and Easy Backup Tool for MSP's!

Coming from a backup provider where we continually experienced issues both with the product and support, it was a relief to finally not spent an hour or two a day resolving issues and/or working with support. This was defiantly a great solution to move to!

Pros

We have been using Solarwinds Backup and Recovery for a couple years now. It just works! We like how it is VSS based, very simple to setup and run into very few backup issues. This allows for our backup margins to be high since we simply install it on the devices and sit back and watch it work! The web interface is simple to use and the support has been fantastic.

Cons

One thing we wish it did is truncate the SQL logs while in Full Recovery mode.

November 2018

Bob from Business Software Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Solar Winds Backup reasonable price a the secure backup

Started with the Solarwinds backup and later moved to RMM. Only thing I wish is that I wish it would be easier to move from the Solarwinds backup to the RMM Backup. If you want to move from one ot the other you loos past backups.. so timing is crucial.

Pros

Once installed it just does the job. Often going several months without any issues in backing up the system.

Cons

Somewhat difficult to learn, but is logical and the support is good.

August 2017

Brad from C1 Networx Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Been using the product for over a year now for our MSP customers, works awesome.

Local and remote backup for our clients with easy to use single pain of glass for problems.

Pros

Ease of use is the KEY to this software. Further you can use your OWN offsite dataVol, a lot of products force proprietary dataVols or their cloud storage.

Cons

Some scheduling limitations. Interface could use a couple "tweaks". Can not replicate local to more then ONE remote dataVol.

August 2017

Wayne from Point 2 Point Disaster Recover (Dat Point)

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

It's a great product which is fully supported 24x7 both by email and speaking with a live support.

Pros

It's a great product for client with both large and small amounts of data. Easy to install and configure.

Cons

Not easy to setup if you want passing clients to run a free trial and download the software and create their own account without contacting someone in Administration.

August 2017

Mark from The Data Vault

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

It's a great Hybrid (local/remote) data protection product for SMB clients.

Pros

Cloud Management Console includes great monitoring and alerting capabilities for entire customer base. Very knowledgeable 24/7 support. Proven to have easily recovered clients from Ransomware attacks.

August 2017

Jeff from Newport Solutions, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Fast, professional backup

Hybrid backup. On-site and cloud backup included. Saved the day when disaster struck at a clients site.

Pros

Simple to use, enterprise class features, very fair on the storage limits, no gimmicks. 24/7 support. Above all I saved a clients burning building from this backup service. You can schedule backups nightly, twice a day, or down to every hour if you choose.

May 2018

Solianny Antonieta from Crazy Motors, Ca

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Complete and reliable backups with powerful additional features.

Practical solution that provides a backup and recovery tool to prevent reconfiguration in the event of system failures.

Pros

It is very accurate in the creation of copies of the entire computer including user, application and configuration data, as well as the operating system, it allows the planning of common backups and creates rescue media that are necessary in case of incident with the workstations.

Cons

It has a wide range of configurable options so it is necessary to study your options calmly so that the data backup is reliable and adequate according to each requirement.

June 2018

Robert from Ashut Engineers LtD

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Reliable data archiving and retrieval software

There is worrying and complains over data loss in case of a shuttering cyber attack

Pros

There is a free software available for demo to enable the buyer make an informed decision to buy the product Its easy to install and use the software

Cons

In organizations that do not have secure foolproof mechanisms, an attack on their servers may lead to leakage of crucial and confidential information

March 2019

Oliver from PharmData ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Brilliant backup

Pros

backing up my work is very easy to do. the software is especially good with office 365. which i use a lot.

Cons

backing up takes a very long time. i don't know if it's my computer but it just takes so long.

December 2018

Opeyemi from Blessed Academy, okuokoko

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

solarwinds review

Pros

The installation time take the lead as it is pretty straightforward and less complicated when compared to other softwares have used. Branding of clients is one feature i find intriguing and useful plus the entire process is easy to do.

Cons

I am disgruntled by the fact that solarwinds backup does not allow for multiple backup sets and the inability to choose whether data is to be store locally or in the cloud is also pretty annoying

February 2019

mark from Entertainment

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Simple

Pros

very easy to understand through the use of the dashboard

Cons

it can be a bit cluttered on the dashboard.

July 2018

Fibras y Normas

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


July 2018

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

More than enough

Pros

Backup and Recovery is very intuitive and easy to use, the support is always available to help you in case you face any issue. great set of features.

Cons

there is limitations on the scheduling feature, and while the interface is good it still needs some touches to make it perfect.