ABELDent Software Reviews

ABELDent Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2022

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.68

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Booking appointments and moving appts, ease of sending insurance claim forms via edi, easy to understand tabs to navigate through the software. The trainer Neetu is outstanding."
  • icon"Being an Office Manager, it's important for me to able to complete my tasks quickly."
  • icon"This product is easy to use and fully integrates with our digital software. The help index is very useful."
  • icon"Some minor charting features are missing. Example would be it did not have the feature of indicating areas of bleeding on an implant (unless this has been updated)."
  • icon"Although it's a rarity, I can't drag an appointment onto reservered time e.g lunch time. I can 'add' an appointment onto reserved time, but would like to just drag and drop it."
  • icon"Updates and changes, thigs you used to be able to do, you can no longer with some updates. Still some kinks in software and some things that take too many steps."

All ABELDent Reviews

1-25 of 74 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kelly

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Abeldent -

I have been working on Abeldent for 30 years. (When it started as a database). They STILL have the same team members since 1989. That tells you something. I have worked in other offices with other software programs, but nothing is compared to Abeldent.

Pros

Abeldent is always ahead of new dental technology. If you want to use the basic fundamentals of the software, it is quite easy and user-friendly. If you want to explore more advanced settings of the software, that is an option as well. It offers so much. I find Abeldent has an easy appointment scheduler to navigate. The financial tab, to me, is so well done. It gives you so many options to view. It is well designed. I think that if team members would enjoy the financial more if they were trained properly on the financial tab. I enjoy the reports menu and contact lists. It's endless

Cons

Since the update, the receipt printing is a little slower. HOWEVER, Abeldent team always listens to their customers and ensures that requests are at the forefront and these requested are usually updated in the next version.

Response from ABELDent

Thanks for being such a loyal user of ABELDent. And yes, you are correct in stating that many of our early employees are still with the company after several decades of service!

Replied October 2018

Julia

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

AbelDent LS+

The benefits... looking on dental care as business -increasing production with staying on the top of the treatment planning and completing the dental work - contacts/ pending appointments, once again- priceless future. The benefits for the patient- improving his dental health!

Pros

-Appointment tab- future which not many dental software have. Easy to follow up with treatment. -New Patient intake- if email address is on file while entering new patient in the system, there is option interactive form to be emailed to patient and be completed prior initial visit.

Cons

A bit slow software, it take time to open, print, etc.; also x-rays are not in the software itself but done through bridge with image software, any way most of dental software are working this way, rare when imaging is incorporated in.

Reasons for choosing ABELDent

Good feedbacks about the product. Also all of the staff was already familiar with the old versions of Abeldent so is quite a popular software.

Reasons for switching to ABELDent

Eaglesoft is no longer supported by Patterson in Canada.

Response from ABELSoft

Thank you for taking the time to make such an in-depth review of our software! We appreciate your honest and comprehensive feedback. As we continuously learn to improve our products to make them better for dental professionals, our ongoing updates improve ABELDent's performance. We are looking forward to continuing to assist you and your team with the best quality practice management solutions!

Replied October 2021

User Profile

Jennifer

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

August 2018

Outdated Dental Software

I used the software for 2 years and 3 months. I am grateful my employer was willing to switch to a modern dental software system and move away from the very antiquated ABELDent.

Pros

Two things I liked about ABELDent was that when you write a note about the appointment, it is date stamped and locked to the appointment. This was helpful. Along with the notes section that was either for that specific day and a section that was carried through every day. Two things that I could live without.

Cons

The software is outdated and "in transition". I have never used a dental software that has been "in between versions". There were certain functions with billing that would only work if you followed through with the second function otherwise you would get errors and the system would crash. The software crashed a lot and was not user friendly. Support calls were never very supportive and they usually didn't have the answer because their software was "in transition" to their next version. The accounting reports were miles long and was a headache for our accountant. They frequently didn't balance and I had to run a "silent report" to then refresh the system and try processing my month end for the second time hoping it would balance as the system confused it's own numbers. It is not user friendly capable of transitioning an office to go paperless with charts. The odontogram and charting is not modern. Appointments would occasionally "disappear" with no trace! Appointments cannot extending by dragging the appointment down, you must click into the appointment and extend the units of time.

Response from ABELDent

Customers only receive fully tested general release versions - "transition versions remain in development until ready for general release unless the customer agrees to beta testing. We now offer two platforms - local server solution with a traditional windows interface and a cloud server solution with a fresh modern user interface. Thousands of customers successfully balance their accounting transactions everyday - no need to do month end reports. We can't speak to the reason for the system crashes as this office remains anonymous and there could be any number of reasons for them. A large percentage of our customers have successfully transitioned to paperless. The ondontogram/ clinical note functionality has been upgraded in both ABELDent platform versions with the cloud version incorporating a bold new look and degree of customization. In summary, we have a documented high level of customer satisfaction however we realize we cannot keep every customer happy all the time.

Replied October 2018

Julie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Abeldent user for almost 30 years

Pros

This product is easy to use and fully integrates with our digital software. The help index is very useful. I would highly recommend Abel-dent to old and new Dental Offices.

Cons

I feel confident in this company and this product without any reservations.

Response from ABELSoft

We appreciate your kind words and glowing review of our dental software! We are thrilled to hear that ABELDent has been meeting your office's needs for nearly 30 years. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review ABELDent.

Replied April 2021

Medina

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Excited to see what's next!

My overall experience with ABELDent has been extremely positive! There's 24 hours support, and knowledgeable customer support reps and trainers who understand the dental field. It makes a big difference when the person on the other end can make sense of what you're asking and WHY you need what you're asking for.

Pros

What I love most about ABELDent is how easy it is to use. I've used several other dental softwares and ABELDent allows the user to navigate through their preferred method. Some may choose to use the icons, some might like the right-click menu and then there are people like myself who LOVE the ability to use shortcut keys. I also enjoy the being able to multitask- I can bill, collect/allocate payments and submit to insurance from the scheduler. Being an Office Manager, it's important for me to able to complete my tasks quickly!

Cons

Although it's a rarity, I can't drag an appointment onto reservered time e.g lunch time. I can 'add' an appointment onto reserved time, but would like to just drag and drop it.

Reasons for choosing ABELDent

I needed a software that would be easy to learn for new staff. I need my team to be efficient and capable of completing their day to day tasks when required with minimal interruption.

Response from ABELDent

Thanks for your positive feedback about ABELDent Support and your review of the software. We are pleased that you find the software easy to use and like the flexibility of having multiple navigation options to complete your tasks. Your suggestion on how to improve the appointment scheduler functionality will certainly be considered for future ABELDent updates.

Replied February 2020

Eileen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Abeldent software user since the late 89’s

Great!

Pros

Been using Abeldent for over 30 years. The product has regularly evolved to meet the market reality. Customer service has always been supportive. (Specially last experience with [SENSITIVE CONTENT])

Cons

The appearance of the interface of the appointment book (would like something lighter)

Reasons for choosing ABELDent

Multiple functionalities Abeldent offered.

Response from ABELSoft

Thank you for reviewing our practice management software. We appreciate your long-time loyalty to our product! We are proud to hear that we have been evolving steadily to provide your team with the best possible solutions for patient care. Our support team is always available to help you with any inquiries or issues you may be facing. Regarding the appearance of the appointment book, you can adjust the colours to your preference. Navigate to File / Update / Scheduler Setup, select the Work To Do tab, then select each item and click the Background Color button to select whatever color you like.

Replied April 2022

Jennifer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Amazing Upgrade!

Pros

The new AbleDent Cloud has been such a wonderful upgrade for our small, growing dental practice! The many new features have allowed us to take our practice to the next level. Our favorite feature is the patient side toolbar that allows you to see all patient information clearly and concisely. (contact information, insurance information, medical alerts, financial status...etc... it's all there!) The automated cloud backup is a huge time saver for us. Also our patients have been absolutely loving the built in text messaging program!

Cons

We haven't experienced any cons that the amazing support team has not been able to address or work on for us!

Reasons for switching to ABELDent

The version we were running was very, very, old and outdated. It was very dull looking. The ability to text patient reminders was a huge factor in the decision to upgrade. The new AbelDent Cloud is so much brighter and easier on the eyes

Response from ABELDent

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that your upgrade to the ABELDent Cloud Server version with its new user interface and workflows is working well for you. We have found that many of our other customers have also enjoyed the benefits of automated cloud backups and the appointments reminders feature that helps improves appointment retention rates. Once again, thanks for your continued support.

Replied January 2020

melissa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

office upgrade

Great customer service. Always available to help and not needing to wait long for response.

Pros

We like the clean look of the new version. Very user friendly. The switching process was easy and stress free. Answered the many questions we had.

Cons

The integration process was not difficult. We have not fully used the new software to give a proper review

Response from ABELDent

Thank you for reviewing our dental software! We are pleased that your team found the switching process so easy. We appreciate the feedback on our clean look in our modern versions. We are continually working to improve our products for dental providers to make practice management easier!

Replied May 2022

dr. susan a.

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

ABLE Abel

Simple and user friendly but also have very advance features for techy Practitioners

Pros

It has been around for so long and keeps updating itself with current practice culture / environment and technology.

Cons

Nothing ! Love everything about it except that one has to expect constant development, updates, upgrades and options.

Reasons for choosing ABELDent

Sales / Trainor was very convincing and experienced in all aspects of Dentistry. Has complete information for decision-maker(s).

Response from ABELDent

Dear Dr. De Guzman: Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide details of your experience using ABELDent. We are glad to see you find the software easy to use and are benefiting from the updates, including the advanced features.

Replied October 2019

Al

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Abeldent Review

I have been using ABELDent since 2004 and I like the software very well. Ms. Apurva Vashisht she is an excellent sales associate explained very clearly about all benefits can be achieved from ABELDent software to improve our dental business scheduling and including other benefits. Excellent ABELDent technical support team, they go beyond to resolve any issues affecting ABELDent software.

Pros

Ease of use software, user friendly it has potential for adding useful features.

Cons

A bit slow software. Sometimes glitches occurs with SQL services (2 out 10 services not running) after restarting the server PC, you have to go manually select not running SQL services to run. The default backup should not be in C drive, if C drive die you lose the backup, it is better to have your backup in a different drive. Does not have Medical/Dental dictation software with speech recognition, it would be the best to have instead of typing.

Response from ABELSoft

Thank you for your review and for being a long-time ABELDent client! Your feedback about adding useful features rings true! Our goal is to be your All in One solution! With our new products ABELDent LS+ (local solution) and ABELDent CS (our cloud solution), we are confident that we will continue to expand our features to support our customers even better. This also includes our voice activated perio charting, which eliminates much of the typing. We are sorry to hear that SQL Server is giving you some problems. Microsoft SQL Server is the most popular and one of the most stable databases globally, and these types of issues are very unusual. Simple actions like reinstalling SQL will typically clear up these types of problems with services and performance. Our technical support team will be happy to look at the specific errors and advise on the resolution. Our SQL backups can easily be directed to any drive. Of course, the local SQL backup does not replace a good regular offsite backup.

Replied May 2022

Janet

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2021

software support

We are starting to implement features we have not been utilizing and requiring support.

Pros

It is fairly easing to use. I like the ability to create a scheduling template.

Cons

It seems like when there is an update often it creates a problem in another area

Response from ABELSoft

Thank you for reviewing our software! We are happy to hear you find ABELDent easy to use and that the scheduling template capabilities have been helpful for you. Our updates are designed to improve your overall experience with our product. We try to be pretty quick about patches and bug fixes to ensure you have the best experience and can remain as productive as possible. It is important to remember that there may be some initial bugs across all types of software when there are updates. If you encounter any bugs, we encourage you to contact our support team so we can work to find a fix for you quickly.

Replied December 2021

Heather

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Abeldent Is The Dental Software of Choice

Experience has been very good. As stated previously, the support available is easily accessible, and the help index is beneficial. The support staff are knowledgeable and provide accurate instructions when needed. Unfortunately, I have experienced other software company's support staff providing incorrect advice. Especially where the A/R is concerned. Consistent staffing, long term staffing.

Pros

Program is easy to use and the support team are fantastic and readily available. Navigating the options and screens is easy, as the the title and headings make sense, supporting the reporting you are seeking. (with the exception of the Procedure Code Report) When hiring staff, most candidates have used Abeldent Software which allows for minimal training.

Cons

Would prefer to be able to run 2 separate corps in the software and not have combined corps data on reporting. (Former owner and new corps) The Procedure Code Report title needs to change as it is currently called a Production Report.

Reasons for choosing ABELDent

Abel is user friendly, the management reporting is easily understood. The adj & w/o are deducted from the collections total which is important, so as not to have to manually adj. on DDS pay. Practice Summary Reports are perfect. Tracking providers individually and or in a "pool," is beneficial.

Response from ABELSoft

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review! We are ecstatic that your team's experience with ABELDent has been great. Our support staff is always available to help your team configure the best way to use our software efficiently. Please reach out to us regarding your preference to run two separate corps in the software. ABELDent CS (Cloud System) has newer reporting capabilities, and we are continually developing new and improved functions for ABELDent users. We also want to thank you for your feedback on the title of our "Production Report" capability. Our software updates are designed with users like you in mind, and we will keep your feedback in mind when upgrading our software. We invite you to reach out to our trainers for anything your office may need. We look forward to continuing to improve our product for your team.

Replied April 2022

Leahann

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Abeldent Dental Software review

Abeldent is a great dental software. I have been using it in our office for 26 years, since it was first installed. It is user friendly. When working, whether is be in the schedule, accounts, contacts, it is straightforward and has a good very good flow. The Abeldent help section has very good explanaition on topics, when needed. The Abeldent Sotware Support is excellent. Abeldent Staff are always wonderful to deal with and always helpful. It is rare that I need to contact the Abeldent Software Support for help. It is a very good dental software.

Pros

Abeldent is a great dental software. It is very user friendly. It allows us to customize our schedule for our office needs. When working, whether is be in the schedule, accounts, contacts, it is straightforward and has a good very good flow. The Abeldent help section has very good explanaition on topics, when needed. The Abeldent Sotware Support is excellent. Abeldent Staff are always wonderful to deal with and always helpful.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't come across anything that I don't like. I guess if there was 1 thing that I like least about this software is that it has limited space for additional description/notes for appointments. It would be nice if these extra notes could show up on the schedule. It is only on occasion that we need it. We are able to work around it.

Reasons for choosing ABELDent

The original owner made the decision, based on reviews from other Dentists and because it was user friendly. Abeldent had great Software Support, which gave great peace of mind.

Response from ABELDent

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to provide feedback on your experience using ABELDent. We are glad that you have been able to easily customize the scheduler to your preferences and that the ABELDent administrative workflows are meeting your needs. With respect to appointment scheduler notes, there are several new features to bring different types of notes to a user's attention while still respecting patient privacy. Please contact us at your convenience to discuss how we might better meet your needs.

Replied October 2019

Seran

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

best product

choosing ABELDent: Brand name, smooth implementation

Pros

Overall- have been implementing ABELDent for 10+ years for our clients now. Excellent team that ensures smooth deployment and implementation by offering round the clock support. The best dental software in the market today. Pros- round the clock support, ease of use, excellent team

Cons

haven't come across any so fa rReasons for choosing ABELDent: Brand name, smooth implementation

Reasons for choosing ABELDent

choosing ABELDent: Brand name, smooth implementation

Response from ABELDent

Thank you for your glowing review of our dental software! We are pleased that you have had such a great experience with ABELDent. Our support team is always happy to help you out whenever you may need it. Thank you for using ABELDent for more than a decade! We are looking forward to providing you with future updates to continually improve your practice management experience.

Replied May 2022

Leslie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

Leslie Myers

Excellent

Pros

That it is for the most part easy to use and to teach new staff

Cons

I wish the financial screen was more clear

Response from ABELSoft

We want to thank you for taking the time to review ABELDent. We are happy to hear that your team enjoys how easy it is to learn and use our software. If you ever need support on optimizing your display for your financial area, please give us a call at 1-800-267-2235. We would be happy to assist you in making the best use of ABELDent in your practice!

Replied March 2022

Janis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE