What are Dovetail users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Dovetail software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.5

14 Reviews

5
11
4
1
3
1
2
0
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I was initially attracted to Dovetail because it was cloud-based and the idea of not having to maintain my server anymore was really exciting."
  • icon"Very intuitive and easy to learn. It seemed good for a small practice that wants to go paperless."
  • icon"Awesome customer support from onboarding and throughout."
  • icon"The customer service is terrible, we have only heard excuses about addressing the issues and still no fixes after six weeks is very disappointing."

Jump to:

Browse all Dovetail Reviews

  • Have you used Dovetail and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 14 of 14 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

The BEST software out there

The staff members at Dovetail are exceptional, the service is the best!

Pros

- User experience and intuitive software compared to Curve Dental or Dentrix - Mobile on all devices - Fast and responsive

Cons

- Doesn't have custom reporting but this feature will be launched in September 2019.

Reasons for choosing Dovetail

Bottom line, Dovetail's interface is the best, it's the easiest to implement (24 hours max!) and our staff loves it.

Reasons for switching to Dovetail

Dentrix is clunky, it's a bit of this and that glued together to make one software. It's not mobile and is very expensive!!!

Response from Dovetail

Thanks for the review! You are correct, we now have custom reporting now built in.

Replied January 2021

Haytham

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Easy to use, Reliable, Features full, and affordable

coming from another cloud software, dovetail surprised me with the number of fully developed features and their ability to respond to our adoption hiccups immediately. That level of "listening" and "jumping in" to help with our problem continued after we were boarded on.

Pros

awesome customer support from onboarding and throughout.

Cons

Treatment planning/ charting a little different than what I am used to.

Reasons for choosing Dovetail

Features available as part of one solution. not segmented.

Reasons for switching to Dovetail

price, reliability, features

Thinh

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Unable to print statements

Customer service is terrible, would not recommend this software to anyone unless you enjoy having misery for yourself and your staff.

Pros

I was initially attracted to Dovetail because it was cloud-based and the idea of not having to maintain my server anymore was really exciting. The idea of going paperless and abilities to text patients for appointment confirmation all sounded great.

Cons

We have been unable to print statements for months now. We have brought this to Dovetail for over six weeks and still have no solution in sight. The customer service is terrible, we have only heard excuses about addressing the issues and still no fixes after six weeks is very disappointing. Initially, Dovetail said their tech team is really busy, "currently engrossed in other more pressing deadlines", so we'll just have to wait. After another week, Dovetail said, "heavy backlog of tickets that were dealing with just a bit more pressing of matters". After a few more weeks, Dovetail said, "It’s an issue with the large number of patients you have and the system timing out."

Robert

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

I would recommend

This is my daily software that I use to see my patients. Its an amazing software that allows me to be in touch with my patients at my finger tips while Im on the go. When my hygienist told me her dad was feeling some sensitivity on upper right quad I was able to pull up his xrays right there and then to see and review the xrays.

Pros

Cloud based. Easy to access schedule and patients on my phone.

Cons

Minor things that will be fixed in updates if not already.

Reasons for choosing Dovetail

Pricing Ease of use Cloud based

BARRY

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Building a relationship with dovetail

Healthy , growing and useful towards continued partnering towards streamlined revenue generation

Pros

The task of patient rebooking made easier

Cons

Platform matching to our specific cultural niche environment proved challenging

Reasons for choosing Dovetail

Best matched our practice philosophy and needs

Donna

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Chandwani Dental Office Manager.

As the Office Manager at Chandwani Dental LLC, I would like to say how impressed I am with Dovetail. I like how the Apex portal allows me to view the status of a claim in full detail, check patient eligibility, remaining benefits and deductibles all from the patient's file without having to log into another website. These factors are not only a convenience but they help to improve the proficiency of my work. I am also impressed with the media tab and how it allows me to view and/or add attachments such as PDF files, pictures, and CT scans to the patient's file. All of these features are user friendly and easy to navigate. Thanks to Dovetail's improvement and modern technology, the efficiency of our office work at Chandwani Dental is greatly enhanced.

Troy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

The team at Dovetai really l get it!

The business of dentistry and the practice of dentistry is becoming increasingly software driven. Dovetail is a very forward thinking company that offers practical affordable solutions for the modern dental offfice.

Pros

The software is intuitive and so easy to use. It is designed for a mobile platform which is very different from the “you can use it on a tablet” that most of the other available software solutions offer. It seems as though the people at Dovetail thought of everything. Dovetail has crafted a product with the user experience in mind. It’s a great software not just for the doctor and staff but also from the patient perspective. The integration with other technologies makes it not just easy but fun to use.

Cons

With any product there is a learning curve. But having said that I would say there is probably more of a (un)learning curve than an actual learning curve. You can’t carry over old habits formed with previous practice management software.

Ann

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Great system. User friendly

We researched this software while looking to upgrade our software. It had many features that we liked, but lacked too many things we as a small office used regularly.

Pros

I found this system to be very user friendly. Very intuitive and easy to learn. It seemed good for a small practice that wants to go paperless.

Cons

This system could use more on the management end. Unable to track employee time, or vacation/sick days. I also found it a bit lacking in being able to run reports. Although going paperless seems ideal, this software was not very forgiving if you were trying to accomplish this in small steps.

Response from Dovetail

Hi Ann, thanks for your review! Our punch clock feature does allow for employee time tracking! Please reach out to our support team and we would be happy to show you how.

Replied January 2021

Chris

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

True Cloud Based Practice Management

The support team is great! We highly recommend anyone looking for a true Cloud solution to take the time to go through a demo and ask why Dovetail over other PMS!

Pros

The support team is terrific and very willing to take recommendations for improvement and additional feature requests. Best part is their ability to immediately implement in the current version of the software!

Response from Dovetail

Thanks for the review, Chris! We're always happy to help with recommendations and feature requests.

Replied January 2021

emile

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Very impressive EHR / PM solution. I really love this product

The product is really easy to use , from creating clinical exams to the custom progress notes. All of the features are available on any mobile tablet. Looks amazing too.

Pros

The treatment is like no ther i've seen. You just select the procedure and the teeth and insurance codes and fees automatically appear.

Lucas

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Not ready for USA usage. Too many bugs.

Clinical side it great and easy to use. Front office/admin/business side is not very good at all. Need to work out the kinks.

Pros

Simple interface. Able to use on ipads.

Cons

Insurance claims are not fully operational. Lots of bugs and not intuitive and not user friendly on the Front office side.

Bassam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Excellent software

I love it.

Pros

Easy to use, excellent customer service and support, high speed. and their services are excellent very reasonable fees.

Cons

N/A, actually there is nothing to complain about with Dovetail, I recommend it to all my friends. Thumbs up.

Response from Dovetail

Thanks for the review Bassam!

Replied January 2021

Ilan

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Dr. Ilan Hecht DDS

Great tool to digitalise the Medical chart, the learning curve was fast, the software is very intuitive and easy to use. Excellent costumer service with fast responses to doubts and open to feedbacks for improvements.

Richard

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

November 2013

An easy software to use

The software isn't complicated, has the features it promotes and is way cheaper than similar products. I'm still learning all the little features, but overall it's a good software. It can by installed on mobile devices or directly in the browser which is nice too.

Showing 1 - 14 of 14 reviews
Dovetail

Dovetail

4.5/5 out of 14 reviews