OpenCart Software Reviews

OpenCart Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2021

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.29

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"These type of organization is best for medium-sized E-commercer sites. It is improving itself more and more and many users are adopting it."
  • icon"Good marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. OpenCart is very affordable for all business sizes."
  • icon"It is best for the development of E-Commerce websites."
  • icon"It has limited functionality back-end search and filters. It has limited and hard to find marketing functionalities."
  • icon"If an order is improperly labeled by anyone in the team, it can be hard to track down."
  • icon"Installation of modules and extensions are difficult."

All OpenCart Reviews

1-25 of 136 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mattress Mike

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Unspecified

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

November 2021

Open Cart User Review

User Profile

Petrus

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

OpenCart the way to go

I have had a tremendous experience... I can build my website the way I want, and once I pay for a OpenCart plugin, or theme, I add it to my box of tools that I can permanently use on any of my other sites. The initial setup can be a little daunting, but once you've built your first site, it's fantastic. The plugins and themes are very well priced, and the support is great. OpenCart have addressed previous security flaws in their software, and https://www.tinfoilsecurity.com/ scanned my site and gave it a clean bill of health. I recommend the 'Pavilion - Responsive OpenCart Theme by ThemeBurn | ThemeForest' as you do not need to know how to write a single line of code. It's responsive (re scales automatically) , so you do not have to worry about how it will look on a pc or mobile phone, and you can do almost anything you can think off. Granted that there is a HUGE learning curve, but it gets better as you learn how to work with the theme.

Pros

You control everything, and you can find plugins to add functionality you do not have... It is great if you want full control, and I have never found there is something I want that I cannot do without a plugin or a tweak here and there. Support is great and often the developers who create the plugins will help you install the plugin for free after you buy it. They normally even do small tweaks for free, and add extra functionality at a minimal cost. Yes, there are many ready built eCommerce platforms like shopify and squarspace, but you will have to pay a monthly hosting fee, including monthly plugin rental. If I could buy a plugin once off on shopify, I would perhaps reconsider, but most plugins are rental only. Shopify has a lot of features, but it does not have everything most people need. So you going to end up renting a lot of extra plugins. Take 10 different plugins on shopify, at a monthly cost of approx $20 each, and you 're going to pay $200 on top of your shopify costs. It all adds up. Bottom line, if you do not mind a learning curve, and you want to keep costs down in the long run, along with full control, OpenCart is the way to go!

Cons

Like most software, there is a learning curve. It can be painful all at once, but the more you use OpenCart, the better it gets.

Aris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

OpenCart is the easy option for e-commerce solutions

We use OpenCart for retail stores as well as wholesale (B2B) stores. Using the native functionality and OCMOD we can make OpenCart behave like a Swiss Army knife, from Retail store to Wholesale store. This is buying as a lot of time, because choosing another platform or writing a new one for the purpose of a wholesale store would be time consuming, and let's not talk about the time that customers will need to adjust the get trained to use their wholesale store on top of the retail store. So, using the same technology and habits of coding functionality and the same User Experience and User Interface buys us a lot of time of development, training and setting up.

Pros

As a developer, I like the Model-View-Controller design pattern, it's easy to seperate things and understand the code, as well as reuse different controllers or models through the development of new extensions, as a result it's easy to make what it looks like native extensions, without breaking the software functionality if you follow the coding standards already used by the OpenCart developers. I think that the OCMOD system is the most intelligent way to extend OpenCart's functionality and I admire the developer who invented it. As for the UI, it's easy to use because all sections are seperated and grouped on the left column menu. Moving from other platforms to Opencart or moving from older OpenCart versions to newers is very easy especially from v2 to v3. From a user's point of view, OpenCart is like using an app, it's that easy. Labels and hints make it easier for new users to adapt as well as new customers to buy.

Cons

Even though OpenCart is stable since the beginning, I think we need more functionality that other platforms are having and would be nice if we could move them to OpenCart too. Not major functionality, but different minor things that will improve the workflow of an e-commerce owner, such as a summary page that will show products missing images, products with broken images, categories with no products, products with no descriptions or products missing translations etc. I think in the era of Javascript it would be nice if we could convert some pages that the administrator spends a lot of time to AJAX functionality or even Single Page Application so that we can make more and massively in less time. Although, that would break some 3rd party extensions obviously.

Reasons for switching to OpenCart

Because of the learning curve, the time needed to develop new features and server requirements.

Megha

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Excellent MCV framework

Pros

It is very easy to understand admin panel even for non-developer person

Cons

Opencart 3 Is little bit slow. Otherwise it is very good

Reasons for choosing OpenCart

It is very easy to implement as well as faster than magento 2

Clive

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2022

A perfect solution for ecommerce

It covered most of my ecommerce requisites and is by far the best ecommerce platform.

Pros

The themes are good and the functionality is great.Their Model-View-Controller(MVC) makes development way cooler as one can analyze and edit code easily. Upgrades are easy to implement. It is not also resource hungry as other e-shops.It is also easy to backup.Built in extensions are also easy to implement and help in making a powerful e-store.

Cons

It is a bit difficult to use if you are a beginner. Fewer plugins as compared to other systems.The bugs are a bit difficult to work on.The filtering of products is a problem

Reasons for choosing OpenCart

It is a great ecommerce platform

Reasons for switching to OpenCart

Opencart is perfectly made for ecommerce and it is by far better

Bryan

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Awesome for Startups, Small Businesses and Medium Size Businesses

Overall, my experience with OpenCart has been very good throughout the years as it is one of the e-commerce software solutions that I can install and maintain without having to worry about it unexpectedly breaking in between periods of maintenance.

Pros

One of the things that I like the most about OpenCart is the multitude of options available for tailoring it towards my business needs. I have found that many of the modules and extensions that other e-commerce software solutions charge for are included out of the box with OpenCart and for free. For the extensions that are not included out of the box, they can usually be found in the OpenCart marketplace either for free or for a nominal price that allows even startups to realize a profit on their business even faster.

Cons

One of the things that I like the least about this software is the filter function for products in the admin area. Rather than allowing for products to be filtered by a single identifying keyword within a title, you have to remember the beginning word of the title and continue to add keywords in order to help filter down to a manageable number of products fitting the criteria you are looking for.

Reasons for choosing OpenCart

My main motivation for choosing OpenCart over the other solutions was its flexibility and the number of features that it offers out of the box that allow for businesses to quickly gain exposure when those features are used correctly and fully taken advantage of.

Ben

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

The best free / open source shopping cart for pure e-commerce

Pros

Free, integrates with many other platforms, choice of hosting providers

Cons

There isn't really a fully featured option for subscriptions. CMS / block / page editing would also be a nice addition.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Ease of Use

OpenCart works well for small businesses whose product availability are limited. It can't offer enough resources for customers in large businesses as it should. It has a free version that is too easy to operate, paid plugins are needed to generate some incomes. OpenCart has so many features that are included in it's default set-up, themes and lots of add-ons. I recommend OpenCart for small businesses if they're looking to boost sales.

Pros

It's very flexible and easy to customize' It's easy to understand and operate. Good marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. OpenCart is very affordable for all business sizes. Easy installation and setup. It has a continues upgrade in system features.

Cons

It has a laborious upgrade process. It has limited functionality back-end search and filters. It has limited and hard to find marketing functionalities.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Ha quedado anticuada

Pros

Usamos opencart para un ecommerce hace 4 años. Sencillo CMS para el desarrollo de tiendas online.

Cons

Hoy en día hay soluciones más potentes, opencart no ha sabido evolucionar al ritmo al que evoluciona el sector ecommerce. Hoy en día no consideraría opencart para ningún proyecto ecommerce.

User Profile

Md Jahan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

"A comprehensive and scalable eCommerce solution"

Pros

OpenCart is a great CMS for creating eCommerce stores. It's really easy to use, includes multiple payment integration tools, and has a multitude of features that makes your store more user-friendly. It is very simple to deploy both domestically and on servers, and it is quick and simple for both administrators and consumers.

Cons

Not found any complicated issues, it's a wonderful CMS tool.

User Profile

ZAiN

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

Free Shopping Cart

It's free, easily implemented.

Pros

Nothing beats free. Easily integrated. Popular.

Cons

Could have better template support. Competitors have a wider range of plugin support and better, more comprehensive page builders.

Reasons for choosing OpenCart

I didn't. Woocommerce is more comprehensive.

Eivind

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2016

For the amateur and the professional

OpenCart is regarded as quite the savior for newcomers to the e-commerce industry - this was (is) at least the case for me. The system gives you a solution that is ready-to-use straight out of the box. Through the admin panel, you can change numerous settings including advanced banner setup, pages setup, payments, categories and the lot. If you are curious on how to change the code and customize it exactly to fit your needs, the files are neatly organized in your FTP program so that a newcomer will intuitively know which files changes what. This also leads me to the real beauty of OpenCart - the community and the extension store. The community is superb. If you have any issues or obstacles on your way learning programming and OpenCart, the forum will answer all your questions and lead you on your way. If you do not want to program or design yourself, you can utilize the extension store which is filled with high-quality solutions that you can easily install through your admin panel. I have used OpenCart for years, and I can't see anything equally easy-to-use-yet-highly-advanced that is going to replace it anytime soon. Amateur or pro - just try it, you'll like it. Did I also mention that it is free(!)?

Pros

The flexibility and the customization while still being easy to use and understand. It is also mobile friendly.

Cons

The extension market - while still providing a whole lot of quality solutions - is still suffering from some low-quality publishers as well as duplicators who are stealing from others. More policing is needed.

Sean

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Great option for needing customized ecommerce

We needed to be able to bolt on many additional services that were enabling our e-commerce capability. OpenCart has great API functionality that allowed us to do this.

Pros

This was used with my past company and our team really enjoyed some of the "open-source" nature of OpenCart versus other competitors (such as Magento).

Cons

It isn't as robust in an enterprise standpoint as other options. However, I think the pro that I mentioned far outweighs this.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

OpenCart is an amazing software.

I have been using this software for over 6 years to build ecommerce websites for my clients, offering customized solutions, template design, extensions, modules, consulting, maintenance.

Pros

Seo friendly. Easy to install and setup. Continued upgrades. Easy for develop custom solutions. Great community. Great marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. Infinite Payment gateways. Infinite Shipping Gateways. Email Marketing Tools. Insightfully Reports. Users and Role Administrations. Discounts, Sales, Coupons, Rewards Points. Products Reviews. Multi Language. Multi Currency. Mobile Ready. Marketing Tracking Tools. Affiliate Program Tool. And more...

Cons

OpenCart's core upgrade processes are often laborious, but the OpenCart team seems to be working on this, and often offering solutions that allow you to take these weak points to disappear in a short time.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Good open-source cart platform if you have a developer

Pros

It's free, what's not to like about an open-source shopping cart platform. It's extendable with modules, and can be made to be pretty powerful.

Cons

The modules, more particularly, that there are no coding standards or screening processes in which developers must go through before a paid module is put up for sale on the marketplace.

Switched From

BigCommerce

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2021

Use it if you love open source

Very Good, where extreme customisation is required.

Pros

It is open source Easy to customize Huge developer community Easy to setup Full control over data

Cons

Doesn't have a huge plugin marketplace like shopify Non-tech person can't customise this platform Quite outdated in few features.

Reasons for choosing OpenCart

Provides better flexiblity.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Great for teamwork!

I am self-employed, dealing with only one aspect of the company that I am contracted with, but this application streamlines all of the work neatly into order if used properly. It could be really overwhelming to a single person, but learning a few steps at a time is completely doable. The application itself has always worked reliably.

Pros

Opencart is great for teamwork and order processing/organization. You can customize this application to your needs.

Cons

I do a lot of job submissions, and copy-pasting all the details out of OpenCart slows me down, especially when it comes to transferring customer shipping details. If an order is improperly labeled by anyone in the team, it can be hard to track down. I would love to see a tab that shows most recent job changes in order to find things recently mis-labeled.

<