User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(68)

68

4 stars

(39)

39

3 stars

(20)

20

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Free, open source and it is very easy to find its developers. Support is very friendly and when ever I ask question they answer promptly."

  • "I liked all the things everything was made brilliant and now in 3x marketplace installation easier now to explain to our clients"

  • "Easy to setup, easy to rank, easy to customize. Great feedback from the community, being and active and responsive community. We were able to develop one online shop with easy and great performance"

  • Cons

  • "Free version is a good solution at the initial stage, when you just go through training. But, starting a serious project, it is not even worth considering as an option."

  • "Opencart does not have all the option out of the box, as the big ecommerce software have, but they are really good for niche and hip stores"

  • "Like most software, there is a learning curve. It can be painful all at once, but the more you use OpenCart, the better it gets."

Browse OpenCart Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 129 results

January 2021

Aris from POWERPC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

OpenCart is the easy option for e-commerce solutions

We use OpenCart for retail stores as well as wholesale (B2B) stores. Using the native functionality and OCMOD we can make OpenCart behave like a Swiss Army knife, from Retail store to Wholesale store. This is buying as a lot of time, because choosing another platform or writing a new one for the purpose of a wholesale store would be time consuming, and let's not talk about the time that customers will need to adjust the get trained to use their wholesale store on top of the retail store. So, using the same technology and habits of coding functionality and the same User Experience and User Interface buys us a lot of time of development, training and setting up.

Pros

As a developer, I like the Model-View-Controller design pattern, it's easy to seperate things and understand the code, as well as reuse different controllers or models through the development of new extensions, as a result it's easy to make what it looks like native extensions, without breaking the software functionality if you follow the coding standards already used by the OpenCart developers. I think that the OCMOD system is the most intelligent way to extend OpenCart's functionality and I admire the developer who invented it. As for the UI, it's easy to use because all sections are seperated and grouped on the left column menu. Moving from other platforms to Opencart or moving from older OpenCart versions to newers is very easy especially from v2 to v3. From a user's point of view, OpenCart is like using an app, it's that easy. Labels and hints make it easier for new users to adapt as well as new customers to buy.

Cons

Even though OpenCart is stable since the beginning, I think we need more functionality that other platforms are having and would be nice if we could move them to OpenCart too. Not major functionality, but different minor things that will improve the workflow of an e-commerce owner, such as a summary page that will show products missing images, products with broken images, categories with no products, products with no descriptions or products missing translations etc. I think in the era of Javascript it would be nice if we could convert some pages that the administrator spends a lot of time to AJAX functionality or even Single Page Application so that we can make more and massively in less time. Although, that would break some 3rd party extensions obviously.

Reasons for Switching to OpenCart

Because of the learning curve, the time needed to develop new features and server requirements.

October 2019

Bryan from Crafted Treasurez

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Awesome for Startups, Small Businesses and Medium Size Businesses

Overall, my experience with OpenCart has been very good throughout the years as it is one of the e-commerce software solutions that I can install and maintain without having to worry about it unexpectedly breaking in between periods of maintenance.

Pros

One of the things that I like the most about OpenCart is the multitude of options available for tailoring it towards my business needs. I have found that many of the modules and extensions that other e-commerce software solutions charge for are included out of the box with OpenCart and for free. For the extensions that are not included out of the box, they can usually be found in the OpenCart marketplace either for free or for a nominal price that allows even startups to realize a profit on their business even faster.

Cons

One of the things that I like the least about this software is the filter function for products in the admin area. Rather than allowing for products to be filtered by a single identifying keyword within a title, you have to remember the beginning word of the title and continue to add keywords in order to help filter down to a manageable number of products fitting the criteria you are looking for.

Reasons for Choosing OpenCart

My main motivation for choosing OpenCart over the other solutions was its flexibility and the number of features that it offers out of the box that allow for businesses to quickly gain exposure when those features are used correctly and fully taken advantage of.

March 2021

Nibaruta from Purple Sky Technology Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

For easy deployment of ecommerce website

I managed to achieve what I wanted to do but the support system could be improved specifically on templated developed by freelancers out of open cart. But overall it's a recommendable platform.

Pros

I have used an opencart for my clients and it's one of those platforms that can help you save time and money. if you know what you want specifically on an e-commerce website they have a lot of options that you can just start and be live in no time. Free and premium ready-made templates to choose from and you can do custom work as well.

Cons

Some of the templates are a bit expensive specifically those done by freelancers. Should be looked into and no support for some of the free templates

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Jelena from Novista, Beograd

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

Simple and cheap e-shop system for small e-shops without marketing support.

This product works well for my low and middle class e-shops which offer limited number of products, mostly in the same category, with a smaller budget for running and promotion. For the more advanced needs, this system cannot offer enough functions and there is not enough resources for customers. Free version is too simple. For some results, paid themes and plugins are needed. Then e-shop may generate some income.

Pros

OpenCart is not as demanding as other e-shops in terms of resources. It doesn't use server sources as high as other apps. You can run it on standard on a shared hosting. There is fairly simple interface so it is easy to setup a shop, very simplified. It can be used by beginners. Simple UI on the back-end and fairly descent front-end makes it easy to use. Easy backup.

Cons

Very hard to update or modify. It can just break down and not work even if you roll out backup of the previously working site. SEO is terrible even with paid plugins. To make addresses and descriptions work is so hard. Never made it to work completely as it would on standard shops Magento, or Wordpress. One-page shopping is not working well even with paid plugins. Marketing options are very limited and hard to find, such as follow up emails, up-sell, cross-sell, promo codes, tracking. E-shop are used for selling primarily so one would need to offer as much as possible to clients, similar products, suggested products, to give reward points and to send customized offers. Discounting options are not working well in case client changes anything or finish shopping in a few steps. (75% of shopping carts with free shipping lose their function and have to be edited manually) There are no easy integrations, such as Zappier, MailChimp, login via social network accounts etc.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Petrus from Yookoo Ride

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

OpenCart the way to go

I have had a tremendous experience... I can build my website the way I want, and once I pay for a OpenCart plugin, or theme, I add it to my box of tools that I can permanently use on any of my other sites. The initial setup can be a little daunting, but once you've built your first site, it's fantastic. The plugins and themes are very well priced, and the support is great. OpenCart have addressed previous security flaws in their software, and https://www.tinfoilsecurity.com/ scanned my site and gave it a clean bill of health. I recommend the 'Pavilion - Responsive OpenCart Theme by ThemeBurn | ThemeForest' as you do not need to know how to write a single line of code. It's responsive (re scales automatically) , so you do not have to worry about how it will look on a pc or mobile phone, and you can do almost anything you can think off. Granted that there is a HUGE learning curve, but it gets better as you learn how to work with the theme.

Pros

You control everything, and you can find plugins to add functionality you do not have... It is great if you want full control, and I have never found there is something I want that I cannot do without a plugin or a tweak here and there. Support is great and often the developers who create the plugins will help you install the plugin for free after you buy it. They normally even do small tweaks for free, and add extra functionality at a minimal cost. Yes, there are many ready built eCommerce platforms like shopify and squarspace, but you will have to pay a monthly hosting fee, including monthly plugin rental. If I could buy a plugin once off on shopify, I would perhaps reconsider, but most plugins are rental only. Shopify has a lot of features, but it does not have everything most people need. So you going to end up renting a lot of extra plugins. Take 10 different plugins on shopify, at a monthly cost of approx $20 each, and you 're going to pay $200 on top of your shopify costs. It all adds up. Bottom line, if you do not mind a learning curve, and you want to keep costs down in the long run, along with full control, OpenCart is the way to go!

Cons

Like most software, there is a learning curve. It can be painful all at once, but the more you use OpenCart, the better it gets.

July 2020

User Profile Picture

Lichaa from TRAD ROLLERS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Built your online store using Opencart

It is Perfect

Pros

my website is built using opencart, one of the best ecommerce platform on the net, it is easy to use and implement and plus its Free and opensource. Opencart is build using PHP with tons of free and paid extensions and modules to choose from.

Cons

advanced features need to be purchased from third party developers, some features must be already incorporated into the opencart core.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Daniel from Tarimetrix

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Ease of Use

OpenCart works well for small businesses whose product availability are limited. It can't offer enough resources for customers in large businesses as it should. It has a free version that is too easy to operate, paid plugins are needed to generate some incomes. OpenCart has so many features that are included in it's default set-up, themes and lots of add-ons. I recommend OpenCart for small businesses if they're looking to boost sales.

Pros

It's very flexible and easy to customize' It's easy to understand and operate. Good marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. OpenCart is very affordable for all business sizes. Easy installation and setup. It has a continues upgrade in system features.

Cons

It has a laborious upgrade process. It has limited functionality back-end search and filters. It has limited and hard to find marketing functionalities.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Vikas from The Brihaspati Infotech Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Few things to know about OpenCart

If you are a beginner then you must try OpenCart to bring your business online and generate revenue.

Pros

1. It is an open source ecommerce development platform which allows bringing small scale as well as medium scale businesses online within just few clicks. 2. It provides all the basic features to run and organize an effective online store which can be used easily and doesn't require much of technical expertise.

Cons

1. Being an open source platform it is more likely to be vulnerable from external threats such as code injection and similar. 2. Although it provides all the basic features but sometimes I feel like it lacks a bit of features such as event management application as well as it doesn't provide access to its code files in order to build one.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Danny from Wolfie World Entertainment

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Want to open basic ecommerce platform qucikly?

Pros

If you have even a modicum of coding knowledge and want to launch an ecommerce platform in a short amount of time, Open Cart is a great base for beginners. As a coder I prefer writing custom ecommerce platforms. But, some clients don't want to spend the time or money waiting for a custom platform. Thise customers get Open Cart. Plain and simple, this software is my go to base to help clients launch their store in the most time and cost effective manner.

Cons

Installing updates is a bit of a challenge. I recommend waiting a few months after each software update so their coders can work out any bugs and connectivity issues.

December 2016

Davids from NTG

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Popular, open source and not too complicated - worth a try

Shifted to OpenCart from an aging Prestashop. Gave a try to other software along the way. OpenCart, which is just about right in everything. OpenCart is easy to set up, it is lightning fast (you will see how important this is sooner or later), it has a million extensions which are not too expensive. From my experience, OpenCart is also quite easy to learn and manage on my own. It is definitely not perfect, but better than the immediate competition if looking for cost effective though feature-rich eCommerce solution. Bottom line: Recommended. At least give it a try and place on your shortlist.

Pros

- very fast; - a LOT of extensions, most inexpensive; - easy to learn the basics, not impossible to learn even more.

Cons

- lacks the fancy plugin management of Prestashop; - bulky updates; - some say bad customer support, but no personal experience in this regard.

December 2016

Eivind from Berheim Interiør & Antik

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

For the amateur and the professional

OpenCart is regarded as quite the savior for newcomers to the e-commerce industry - this was (is) at least the case for me. The system gives you a solution that is ready-to-use straight out of the box. Through the admin panel, you can change numerous settings including advanced banner setup, pages setup, payments, categories and the lot. If you are curious on how to change the code and customize it exactly to fit your needs, the files are neatly organized in your FTP program so that a newcomer will intuitively know which files changes what. This also leads me to the real beauty of OpenCart - the community and the extension store. The community is superb. If you have any issues or obstacles on your way learning programming and OpenCart, the forum will answer all your questions and lead you on your way. If you do not want to program or design yourself, you can utilize the extension store which is filled with high-quality solutions that you can easily install through your admin panel. I have used OpenCart for years, and I can't see anything equally easy-to-use-yet-highly-advanced that is going to replace it anytime soon. Amateur or pro - just try it, you'll like it. Did I also mention that it is free(!)?

Pros

The flexibility and the customization while still being easy to use and understand. It is also mobile friendly.

Cons

The extension market - while still providing a whole lot of quality solutions - is still suffering from some low-quality publishers as well as duplicators who are stealing from others. More policing is needed.

December 2019

Sean from 828

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great option for needing customized ecommerce

We needed to be able to bolt on many additional services that were enabling our e-commerce capability. OpenCart has great API functionality that allowed us to do this.

Pros

This was used with my past company and our team really enjoyed some of the "open-source" nature of OpenCart versus other competitors (such as Magento).

Cons

It isn't as robust in an enterprise standpoint as other options. However, I think the pro that I mentioned far outweighs this.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

OpenCart is an amazing software.

I have been using this software for over 6 years to build ecommerce websites for my clients, offering customized solutions, template design, extensions, modules, consulting, maintenance.

Pros

Seo friendly. Easy to install and setup. Continued upgrades. Easy for develop custom solutions. Great community. Great marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. Infinite Payment gateways. Infinite Shipping Gateways. Email Marketing Tools. Insightfully Reports. Users and Role Administrations. Discounts, Sales, Coupons, Rewards Points. Products Reviews. Multi Language. Multi Currency. Mobile Ready. Marketing Tracking Tools. Affiliate Program Tool. And more...

Cons

OpenCart's core upgrade processes are often laborious, but the OpenCart team seems to be working on this, and often offering solutions that allow you to take these weak points to disappear in a short time.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Good open-source cart platform if you have a developer

Pros

It's free, what's not to like about an open-source shopping cart platform. It's extendable with modules, and can be made to be pretty powerful.

Cons

The modules, more particularly, that there are no coding standards or screening processes in which developers must go through before a paid module is put up for sale on the marketplace.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Opencart a great online shopping platform

Since opencart is open source we have found that we have full control as to how pages are deigned and how items are layed outr on our pages. We are not constrained in this regard. Where we have to invest more is on security of teh website as the website grows.

Pros

Opencart is a fairly simple platform to use to set up an online shopping platform. It has not required too much server space so its main advantage is it is lighter on the hosting package requirements compared to its peers with the same functionalities and costs. We have also found that the learning curve for this platform is not as steep as for others as it is made with the developer novice in mind.

Cons

We have been advised that the platform creates copies of pages. For anyone who understands SEO this is a negative as it reduces organic SEO ranking. We found this out when having an SEO audit done. Otherwise we are happy with everything else.

September 2019

Maryann from Jumia Nigeria

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Thumbs up to OpenCart

OpenCart is suppose to be a tryout but I ended up sticking to the platform. I am happy and would strongly recommend to you.

Pros

I heard about OpenCart from a friend and I decided to try it out but I didn't expect it to blow my mind. An open source online store platform that's free and all its functions and features works great. I love the fact that I could control and operate it. Highly customizable has so many add ons. I ended up sticking to OpenCart

Cons

The platforms fine. I am impressed and i do not have any dislike.

October 2017

Stavros from Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

The best e-commerce platform

I gained many things but most important I improved my programming skills

Pros

It's easy to use and really fast. You can easily build a shop with thousands of product without paying a flrtune on hosting. It is SEO promising with built in SEO customization. Its also an independent framework by itself which I found pretty interesting as I am developer as well. Last but not least there is a big community supporting it.

Cons

Sometimes in a hurry on publish new releases which leads to bugs. And forum members (some of them) can be really aggressive .

May 2018

Tajammal from ONLINE ILM KI DUNYA

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Setup your own online store to sell your products.

I used the Open Cart for a long time to run my store online. Saved my time and money to develop self store using coding.

Pros

Open Cart is software to use create store online for sell products. It have approximately all required features which are necessary for a store owner. Open Cart is available in different languages and have a large amount of extensions to customize the store. Themes are also available or you can customize current theme. It gives you all controls over your store.

Cons

Some features hard to understand and handle. like mega menu is not easy to understand and without mega menu store looks not good in my thoughts.

December 2016

Simon from UK Site Builder Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Great, full featured opensource cart with thousands of addons

I have been developing with OpenCart for 5+ years now and a lot of my e-commerce clients are using it and getting great sales because of it. It is easy to use for the non-techie once everything is set-up. It has a large set of features in the default set-up and there are thousands of extensions/add-ons available and thousands of themes, what's not to like.

Pros

Easy to install and set-up Ease of Use Good support community Thousands of add-ons Thousands of themes

Cons

Release cycle is random and not thought out Difficult to upgrade unless you

September 2017

Shikhil from Czar Securities

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Feature rich CMS with alot to do! Security could be better

- Easy to manage products - Setting up a store in no time - Selling products online - Accepting payments online

Pros

- Made for small and medium e-commerce shops - Alot of features - A number plugins available to do almost any tasks - The latest version enables customizations without much loss during updating

Cons

- Security can be proved. OC is often a subject to malware attacks and credit card scammers - Community can be stronger like other CMSs like Magento/WordPress

July 2018

Joanne from LenjeriiBoutique.ro

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

One of the best ecommerce carts

Pros

Easy to setup, easy to rank, easy to customize. Great feedback from the community, being and active and responsive community. We were able to develop one online shop with easy and great performance

Cons

Not being the most developed online cart system it has his drawbacks, many upgrades and modules are not developed for opencart. Depending on your needs and expectation you should consider more options, depending on what you need.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Decent self-hosted e-commerce solution for small shops

For a basic e-commerce website for a small shop, OpenCart can be a decent solution for self-hosted. Clients are always happy with the easy to use administration and find intuitive. As a developer, its been fairly easy to modify code. I typically recommend other software over OpenCart, but overall it's a decent platform to start out with.

Pros

Website administration is easy-to-use and non-technical clients can easily find what they need. Great basic set of features making setup of website fairly easy to get going. And of course the best part of OpenCart, it's free to use as open-source software.

Cons

Extensive customization can get costly with extensions. Some security issues with some of the extensions, so choose wisely. Outdated templates/themes. Not a good choice for larger shops as it will slow down considerably.

November 2019

kalaiselvan from Bahwan cyber tek

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

OpenCart Review

Overall it is good e-commerce application for online shops with very ease effort.

Pros

This is one of the best opensource e-commerce product available in market. we can do lot of customization stuff using the plugins. Administration and Maintenance is pretty painless one. It has good graphical user interface for managing the products. Installing the software is straight forward and easy.

Cons

Few plugins are quite expensive and upgrade is painfull. It requires, lot of learning curve to understand the products.

October 2019

Oren from Terramin Mesh Marketing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Easy to organize small amounts of products

Pros

Very easy to use. You update all page information in the backend. Truly excellent

Cons

It is perfect for what I need. I am aware that OC has it's limitations when dealing with big stocks

April 2019

Rambanani from The Chambe of Mines of Zimbabwe

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Excellent Interface

Pros

OpenCart is very easy to set up and it is user friendly. It has quite a straightforward interface and you can literally do everything without much challenges from creating pages up to adding products. It is easy to integrate with other payment systems and different shipping options. It also has a good catalog functionality and good features features for order processing

Cons

It is very difficult to customize some features on OpenCart and you are forced to use the theme.

November 2017

Rahul from Webx IT Solutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Awesome Experience. I am working with you since 2014

First of all, This is OpenSource Free software and Its helps to set up store within few hours

Pros

I liked all the things everything was made brilliant and now in 3x marketplace installation easier now to explain to our clients

Cons

Control over the Read Write Permission to admin and catalog folders and Restric to the Third-party software control over the certain files to be changed by OCMOD

March 2019

Desmond from Parracombe Packaging

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Packaging and Containers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Open Source all the way!

We were not able to sell our products online, but thanks to OpenCart we are now online.

Pros

What I like most about OpenCart is that it is open source, thereby it has a huge community. I like that OpenCart is easy to use and setup.

Cons

If you are setting up on your own you need some knowledge of web hosting in order to have it up and running.

March 2018

Michael from Pure Diesel Power

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

OpenCart is an eCommerce from the Future

This software is our go-to recommendation for companies that want the most customization without recurring fees impacting their monthly profit margins. Keep in mind it may be a little more pricey to start out with your necessary extensions, but you won't regret your choice (as long as you install extensions as instructed). Maintain your site and your site will maintain your income.

Pros

We absolutely love that it is initially a free platform. Competitors charge for the platform and then charge for features, but OpenCart has a wide range of extensions that perform what you want, the way you want. High-quality platform-wide access to have a large amount of customization and control over your store.

Cons

We do not favor how limited the base platform is on shipping integration, fraudulent order monitoring, or promotional sale control. These are all available as add-ons but are necessary for the majority of businesses, even when they are starting out as a new company.

October 2017

Kashif from First Option

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Easy to use and understand.

My online store growing day by day. Thanks to Opencart. Custom development is not very expensive. And Support is very friendly and when ever I ask question they answer promptly.

Pros

Free, open source and it is very easy to find its developers. Support is very friendly and when ever I ask question they answer promptly.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Dominic from Moreton Bay Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

In opencart this wonderful application that can be use for inventory that can access any one online

Inventory online

Pros

i like this because this is a mysql back end data then with a front end php that easy to understand can be also having a features updates automaticallt

Cons

I think we need more graphical report that can be delivered to each client so they can understand easy

October 2017

Florin from Anghel A. Ion-Florin PFA

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

A very good ecommerce web app with a great comunity.

I get a secure and reliable ecommerce store base for my customers.

Pros

The easy to understand code; The extensibility of the app; It is relatively lighweight; The forum comunity;

Cons

The integrated marketplace in opencart 3.x; The integration of the twig templating system into opecart 3.x;

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Matheus from JMT web solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Virtual store system full of new functions

Pros

A virtual store with lots of integration options, safe and very fast is what we always need. Do not think that all are like this, but many customers who make use of it always look for this. This can handle in a professional manner and with highly accepted language in the PHP market.

Cons

Some payment types have not yet been programmed for the platform, we still depend on programmers to program Brazilian payment solutions, but there are already several that can already be used. I believe time may come more.

March 2018

Anand from ABCOM

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Simple eCommerce Script

Pros

I am running a successful store using opencart from past 5 years, extra modules can be easily installed using vqmod.

Cons

I am on 1.5 and struggling to get my data on 3.0. I wish there could have been a easy way of upgrade from 1.5 to 3.0

September 2019

Hesham from AP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

OpenCart is a great eCommerce platform

Pros

MVC structured and multiple plugins available to download and use.. and it's all FREE!

Cons

Upgrading is not an option at the moment, to upgrade to new versions you have to kind of start from scratch

October 2017

User Profile Picture

Faizan from Inception System

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Working with OpenCart from last 3+ years. Developed many extensions for extend functionality.

Pros

Ready to use e-commerce software. Just install and upload your product information and publish your store to world wide.

Cons

The support from the vendor should be improved. Improve documentation for better way to how to do it.

January 2019

Vesna from A1QA

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Versatile and easy to learn platform

Pros

The platform has a huge number of useful features that we managed to use quite easily after a short study time. The Internet has a huge amount of educational materials.

Cons

After being removed from the site, the pages are still being indexed by search engines for a sufficiently long period of time. A bit complicated folder structure.

April 2019

Vinh from Information Technology

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: International Trade and Development

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

OpenCart review

Pros

It packs with a lot of important features and installation is quite straightforward

Cons

Upgrading from version to version might be a pain sometimes

February 2018

Alex from http://www.heal10.com/

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

A good CMS for an online store

Pros

On this platform, I was making my first online store. Having learned the order of prices, I refused the services of specialists and decided to do everything myself. The project is still working and OpenCart has become my reliable assistant. The main thing that I want to note, the system is easy to learn and free (there is a paid version, but this one will be enough for your eyes to start).

Cons

Over time, the functionality of the free version begins to be missed. As they say, hunger comes with eating.

August 2018

Igor from DB2 Limited

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Convenient creation of an online store

Pros

Manage an online store in this system - a pleasure, because it is just for this case. It is possible to create reports, analyze customer behavior and much more. A strong Russian-speaking community, that is, you can quickly get an answer to any question. Let's just say, although I'm an IT specialist, but I've never dealt with CMS and site configuration before. And then I tried OpenCart and was able to appreciate it.

Cons

The downside of CMS is the impossibility of creating any other sites, except for online stores. And also there are many technical problems: remote pages are poorly indexed, sometimes duplicate files are created, and so on.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Manage OpenCart as per your requirements.

Pros

1. OpenCart provide you complete environment to manage your products. 2. You can customize OpenCart as per your requirement. 3. You can edit OpenCart functionality if you have good web development skills . 4. Product listing , creation of product details , adding captions is easy. 5. Disable product , enable product is great features. 6. It has complete shopping cart features.

Cons

Customization of OpenCart is required web development skills .

February 2018

Aura from http://www.heal10.com/

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

The first online store on the free engine

Pros

This platform simply saved me at a time when I was still a student, I was studying Web technologies and I did not have the money for a paid engine. Having considered the options, I decided to stop at creating an online store. Maximally saving at the start, I soon learned to bring projects to the international level.

Cons

Free version is a good solution at the initial stage, when you just go through training. But, starting a serious project, it is not even worth considering as an option.

April 2019

Ayub from VistaBit LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Opencart for your online business

Pros

Opencart is one the best free CMS in today's era. If someone who wants to make online presence of his/her business one can choose opencart with ease & undoubtedly. It has a huge list of pros but i'll mention few of them which i like the most Its development cost is far less than its competitors Its light weight & super fast. It has user friendly & easy to manage. It has many built in shipping & payment methods. It has live 24/7 support & huge community of developers. It has large list of free modules & themes.

Cons

Even though its very valuable product at 0 cost but it has few of the cons. Its security is quite vulnerable because of free modules over the internet. Not suitable for large scale business Cache management is quite difficult.

February 2017

Jim from shivearchive.com

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great way to have your own store

I used Open Cart for 3 years and have found it great for creating my online store, many of the features are free but there are some small upgrades that have small costs.

Pros

cost

Cons

huge learning curve

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Kyle from Amazon

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

A very good option for a free online store

Pros

Opencart is a very powerfull software that has a lot of users who use it for online shops. You can relly on Opencart for a lot of traffic, being very reliable and with a good design for the administrator. The templates are widely available and not only on the main website, they are developed from third parties.

Cons

Opencart does not have all the option out of the box, as the big ecommerce software have, but they are really good for niche and hip stores

February 2020

Shea from Smart Creative

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

A great alternative

Thoroughly enjoyed working with OpenCart so far, and look forward to seeing continued development on the platform in the future.

Pros

Very user-friendly, and easy to implement – feedback from clients and developers alike has been hugely positive since we added OpenCart to our eCommerce offering.

Cons

Not as fully-featured as some of the other open-source alternatives available in the market, but not as bloated as them either.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Free Comprehensive E-commerce Softwarre

I lie it very much and used it for my websites temporarily

Pros

It is an optimized for only e-commerce so It is so fast in terms of loading time of a website especially when it is compared to wordpress. So it does not need so much ram to upload your website .

Cons

Its moduls or attachments are so restricted. If you wouldlike to make special project, sometimes you cannot find out right attachment or modul.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Open Source CMS

open cart is great as it is free i.e open source and is growing its business more and more with the passage of time and is always highly recommended for the beginners who wish to start their own E-Commerce business.

Pros

Open Cart is an open source content management system. The development of the websites is an easy task using open cart. It is best for the development of E-Commerce websites. These type of organization is best for medium-sized E-commercer sites. It is improving itself more and more and many users are adopting it.

Cons

It is for the medium sized users and hence it is light weight. These does not allow the search engine optimization at the next level. It also does not support full functionality in inventory.

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Khawja from K-WebSol

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best OpenSource Code for e-Commerce

I am running an online shopping website with OpenCart.

Pros

I have been using OpenCart for last 6 yrs or so and I find it very easy to use and also very easy to customize according to your requirements. You can add plenty of free plugins and themes to it and also some paid themes and features also available.

Cons

Some features of plugins are not compatible with new versions of OpenCart which is kind of disappointment.

February 2018

Djohn from www.diamondvita.com

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A solid engine for creating online stores

Pros

This is a great free engine, which you can understand without knowing the programming languages. Convenient, and most importantly clear interface, easy installation, a lot of training materials. Great program for creating an online store.

Cons

Many of my colleagues complain that it is impossible to work with OpenCart without having a programmer on the team. But I do not agree with this!

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Open New business with Open Cart

Very good

Pros

Open cart is a great store management system. It's a open source software and lots of websites are using this software. I am as a software developer got a chance to give support to my client who are using open cart tool for their e-commerce websites. It's a good software essy to implement new themes and customisation according to client need.

Cons

As this is a open source software so some time you may be in a queue to get the customer support , because this is a very popular software.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 129 reviews