About Subbly

Subbly is a web-based subscription eCommerce platform designed to help businesses build websites, enhance marketing automation, create coupon and discount codes and manage customers. Key features include order management, email marketing, shopping cart, templates, content management, recurring billing, product catalog, cancellation management, self service portal and subscription plan management.

Teams using Subbly can streamline failed payment recovery, manage e-commerce purchases, charge customers directly from the admin, process payments using various payment gateways such as Stripe, Paypal and Braintree and automatically calculate taxes. With professionally designed templates, managers can design new websites using the drag-and-drop interf...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

102 Reviews of Subbly

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.91 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(87)

87

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 102 results

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Megan from Dare 2 Dream Farms

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Farming

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Perfect for small CSA Farms, affordable & flexible system

I have had a million questions about all the options they've made available in this SAAS, and hiccups getting the payment to go through since it's international and the bank thought it was fraudulent. They've been so helpful and prompt with responding considering our time difference from California to Europe. The even extended the free trial so I could have time to get everything in order before going live!

Pros

Price point is affordable for small businesses and farms. Most favorite features are the customer portal so our subscribers can manage their own subscription, preferences, and billing at their convenience. The check out survey allows you to create add-on products and services billed right into the subscription price, or just as a one time add-on. The checkout flow is beautiful and mobile friendly, and the widget functions perfectly.

Cons

Not much I don't like about it - one thing I wish I could modify is the ability to change the language in the checkout process so it doesn't say "ship to this address", as opposed to just collecting a shipping and billing address, as one of my options in the checkout survey is to collect their subscription box on our farm for free.

Reasons for Choosing Subbly

Pricing, customer portal, customizing add-ons and box preferences during checkout, ability to add the widget into our existing website.

Response from Subbly

Replied January 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we're over the moon that you've had a positive experience!

April 2021

Kim from Mei Li Designs

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

New Subbly customer moving from another sub box platform

Really happy with the responsiveness of tech support, and their willingness to go above and beyond to solve problems. Also, the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is very responsive on the Facebook group, and it is obvious that he wants to continually improve the platform. Phone support and the ability to share a screen while setting up a website would be amazing!

Pros

Excellent customer support, adding products and photos is pretty easy to understand.

Cons

We have been mostly focused on setting up our one time products. We are still trying to learn the website builder. There are lots of great features, and we are still trying to figure out what works best, so we can't comment on this. We are moving from a different platform, and there are some features that are available to us on the other platform that we would love to see on Subbly as far as setting up a shop. 1) It would be great if we could create pages with categories of products. Tech support is helping us to set this up using our tags, but would be great if it was easier to do without tech support. If a list of categories to match the tags was added to the top of the shop, that would be supper helpful. 2) The ability to drag and drop to rearrange one time shop products would be great - we have had our sub box on another platform since Oct 2019. We had a number of Christmas one time products - stickers and shirts, that we wanted to offer as add-ons to the 2nd year's Christmas box. We were able to drag all the Christmas related products to the top of the shop so they would be seen first without having to search. We did the same thing with our previous valentines and summer products. 3) It would also be really helpful if we could duplicate one time products. All of our shirts have the same variables and pricing, but we need to enter the variables for each product. If we could just copy it, change the name and photo and have a different SKU, that would be amazing.

Reasons for Switching to Subbly

1) There are some limitations to their website design templates. Although they are always working on improving the Marketplace, there does not appear to be a lot of attention to making improvements on the website side. 2) Customer support is lacking, especially since COVID. When you do chat or email someone, they are all very nice, but the chat hours are very limited, and often issues need to be escalated, and then it ends up in email instead of chat which can stretch out up to a week without an answer. 3) Custoners can subscribe for 3 or 6 months to get a discount, but they must prepay the full amount.

September 2020

Emily from We Are Here Coffee

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

A good starting place for your subscription business

A great place to quickly and cheaply setup your Subscripton business. A bit glitchy and a bit simplistic but it works to get you off the ground without breaking the bank.

Pros

*Most things you need to get going are in one place and that you don't need to bolt on and pay for apps (you do but less essential compared to Shopify) * Quick responses from customer service * The customer's account for managing their subscription is excellent, much clearer than Bold/Shopify. * Quick and easy to build a site without any coding * Much cheaper than what you'd end up paying for Shopify/Bold * The ability to start subscriptions in the future and have the customer decide how many reoccurrences they want for their gift.

Cons

* Lack of shipping options for customers - proves difficult to have a profitable one price fits all option * Somewhat defensive customer service responses * Glitchy - had to re-save sections 20+ times * No show-cart step * No stock control/variants for non-subscription items * Limits to what you can do on the site, mobile and tablet aren't completely intuitive/customisable/responsive * Customers can't have more than one subscription in their basket

Response from Subbly

Replied October 2020

Thanks for your feedback! We're always looking for ways to improve and in fact lots of the things you have mentioned are already being solved as I write this and we can't wait to deliver those to you.

January 2021

Yva from the bread Ladies

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Best alternative for subscription business

Subbly besides, all the improvements that it needs, is the best option for subscription business. Also the support team is really good and sometimes they work really fast in developing new features of many customers Vote for it

Pros

I used to have squarespace, but the platform was not build around a subscription. in contrary subbly is. It is easier to navigate data, process payments and modify subscriptions.

Cons

There are some functionalities not available like exporting some data from the users. You have to enter profile by profile to check what they did because you can not do a direct download. Also, you can’t duplicate products and edit them. You have to create the product again from 0. Preferences for One time purchase is not available

Reasons for Choosing Subbly

easier to manage subscription products

Reasons for Switching to Subbly

Too many limitation for subscription productS

November 2020

Telia from Sorter's Corner

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Subbly CAN DO IT ALL

I am so excited to have the ability to offer digital products with my subscription boxes. Also, they created a community of subscription box companies in a Facebook group to provide a space for people to find support or bounce ideas off each other.

Pros

So easy to use!! Since I was just starting out they helped me think of things I hadn't thought of yet. Also, the customer service is EXCEPTIONALLY amazing (and super patient) honestly I was messaging them everyday setting up even before I starring paying for my plan.

Cons

I can't really think of anything I would need outside of what Subbly offers.

Reasons for Choosing Subbly

The customer service and the fees are reasonable. I mean I know that everyone need to have their own piece of the pie, but Sublly isn't like the other companies. They understand that you are a new business and every little penny counts, I think this is because they are a "bootstrap company" and remember how it is when you are starting out. It just seems really personal and honest when they talk to you.

Reasons for Switching to Subbly

Cratejoy was just a market place, everything I needed was an add on. Also, setting things up was complicated and confusing to me and they never would email me back for days. I am a mom of two toddlers and I only get to work on things after that are asleep so I usually end up sending 5 or 6 messages to the support team while I am trying to work on things. Even though I am in a different time zone they always message me back within a few hours AND they answer all of the questions, not just the last one.