About TaxCloud

TaxCloud is a cloud-based tax solution that helps small and midsize businesses calculate sales taxes based on product and service taxability. The platform enables organizations to streamline tax filing, registration, remittance tracking and audit management operations via a unified platform.

TaxCloud allows online retailers to configure workflows, generate custom reports and ensure compliance with industry regulations. It offers a host of features such as automated notifications, audit trail, data import/export, returns management, email marketing and more.

Pricing is available on request and support is extended via phone, email and other online measures.


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

40 Reviews of TaxCloud

Average User Ratings

Overall

2.73 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.5

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(6)

6

1 stars

(13)

13

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 40 results

June 2018

CL from Finnsheep.net

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Supper easy integration and amazing product compared to other services.

Extremely cost efficient scalable sales tax processing and reporting that eliminated all burdensome sales tax matters. Sales tax is now easy. By voluntarily signing up to remit sales taxes in SSUTA states my business is indemnified against audit risks in those states.

Pros

All sales tax functionality is simplified, and now is much more cost effective. The service has been completely re-engineered and is much improved. The new reporting and customer interface are superior to anything else on the market. I love not having to buy an expensive enterprise software solution. TaxCloud works seamlessly across multiple platforms and is designed to scale with my business needs. TaxCloud is a true very powerful cloud based system providing my business with a tremendous service that frees up valuable time and resources.

Cons

No real cons..at first customer service seems a concern. However, this is short lived once the immediate anxiety of employing a new service is overcome. I quickly realized that this is an efficient customer friendly self service platform, and after integrating the service most all customer service issues were unwarranted. Therefore, there was little need for me to actually request customer service. That said, this product is a tremendous value. I could pay more for a competing service with more immediate customer service, however there does not seem to be any advantage in doing so. Once up and running TaxCloud is seamless and needs no additional handholding, and their scalability, reporting and functionality is the best value out there.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Daniel from LifeWay Christian Resources

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Solid plugin with woocommerce

Pros

It was a bit difficult to setup, but once I got it going, it provides me with solid reporting every month.

Cons

It's a straightforward plugin as I use it with wordpress and woocommerce. Honestly, the biggest con is that the setup process wasn't easy. I also wish that I could download past invoices from the website, but currently it's only being emailed to me.

Response from FedTax

Replied April 2018

Hi Daniel - Thanks for the review! We just released our new user interface to our website. Hopefully, the set-up process is easier to navigate now.

May 2021

Brent from B&H Sound Design

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2021

Shady and Unsupportive Operation - Avoid

While the actual software works fine, I absolutely cannot recommend a company that treats their customers like this. I feel like we got the bait and switch treatment and their staff was not entirely forthcoming about the pricing changes, and instead of treating my company like a valued customer they coldly shut us down for the sake of two months worth of charges with a single sentence: "We can not issue refunds for services rendered." When our business picks up again after COVID eases up, we'll be using a different service, even if it costs more. Support and customer service really matters, and TaxCloud severely lacks it. This entire experience shows me that they care more about their monthly charges than keeping satisfied customers.

Pros

Before their pricing model changed, it was a perfect solution for small companies who needed just the basics of sales tax support. It was fairly easy to integrate, and reported accurately.

Cons

I have no cons about the software itself, just the company. Their pricing model changed in January 2021 from a free model under one of their plans to a paid model. They notified clients in December that would be happening. However, I called and spoke with one of their support agents (when you actually COULD call someone) and asked if my plan would also be changing to a charged model. He told me "I don't believe your plan will be changing, but I'll ask about it and get back to you through email if it is." I never heard back. Then in March I got hit for a bill. I immediately contacted support and was told that yes, my plan was now charged a monthly fee. I immediately closed the account. Then, I got hit with another monthly charge in April because my site had 7 (SEVEN) API calls towards the end of March before the account was closed. After writing support for a refund, the exact reply from their finance department was, "We can not issue refunds for services rendered."

Response from FedTax

Replied July 2021

Hi Brent - Thanks for the review. A few comments on your post. First, we apologize if your service experience was poor. Regarding pricing, yes, we did make a change in January 2021 the basis of which were changes that no longer allowed us to offer fully free services in our member states, they are now subsidized but not free. So yes, your invoice went from $0/month to $33/month. Still seems like a pretty fair deal to get rates and have us file for you in 25 states. Regarding your termination, our billing runs one month in arrears, so if you cancel in March, activity from March will be billed to you in April. I hope you would agree that we shouldn't eat the costs for your legitimate account activity if you cancel. Best of luck with your business.

November 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2021

stay away from this company

Pros

nothing positive to say. they are the biggest mistake I've ever made for my small business startup.

Cons

they've had technical issues from their end, and despite admitting to it, its been over 1 year and i am still chasing after my refund. They charged over $300 within my first two months into launching my own business as a "late payment fee" eventhough there is nothing wrong with the credit card I've had on file...which suddenly they started charging $10 to this year without me signing off and agreeing to such thing. They are NOT free. I didn't pay a monthly fee last year and suddenly they claim "we sent communication about our policy changes, we now charge $10 a month". An email that most likely landed in junk email because i was complete unaware. I never approved or agreed. and i've barely made any sales due to covid to begin with! This company has been nothing but a HUGE headache, i am so full of regret for ever signing up with them. Waiting on a close to $400 refund...STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

Reasons for Switching to TaxCloud

Terrible. Just terrible. They kept slapping me fees left and right even though I've barely made any sales at all. I've been waiting for a refund for over 1 year despite constantly following up.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2019

Stay Away - better options available

overcharged by $1k over the course of 2 months and refuse to talk to me, answer the phone or resolve the issues. They will change your subscription and there is no way to revert. Waited on hold twice for over 15 mins The website portal does not work and often results in just a blank screen

Pros

the tax rates calculate accurately that is the only good thing

Cons

customer service is non-existent and unresponsive

Reasons for Choosing TaxCloud

taxcloud was the only system that our ecomm platform supported. Not sure why they wouldn't work with one of the mainstream providers but I was stuck with this POS system

Response from FedTax

Replied September 2019

It's challenging to respond to an anonymous review as we have no ability to investigate the claims. If the reviewer has unresolved issues I urge them to contact us. Our support team is available M - F 9AM to 6PM ET.