User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.63

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Medrio has a lot going for it. From a user's perspective, the software has excellent UX design and is extremely easy to navigate."
  • icon"They present it in an very easy to use interface that sites like to use. The design features allow for rapid setup and deployment which is key for many type of clinical studies."
  • icon"Excellent Multi-Site control. Easy Mid-Study Changes and Reporting."
  • icon"Limited functionality when compared to other systems."
  • icon"I found it difficult to find the printable version of the pages I entered information on."
  • icon"This software can sometimes be limited in its capabilities, at first glance."

All Medrio Reviews

1-25 of 51 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Stephen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Great Value in EDC

We deal with many life science companies that have budget constrained clincal trials. There are 1000's of these studies that need, easy to use, solid EDC at affordable prices. Medrio fits this niche and then some. We have used the product for all phases and size of trials. We have many customers that require Medrio for is capabilities and budget friendly approach to EDC.

Pros

Medrio has all the features necessary to capture data for any clinical trial. They present it in an very easy to use interface that sites like to use. The design features allow for rapid setup and deployment which is key for many type of clinical studies. Make updates and changes along the way is easy and their business model if very transparent and affordable for all budgets.

Cons

The randomization capability is nice but does not handle complex study designs and trial supply management. This is an area that can be expanded.

Reasons for choosing Medrio

Multiple reasons. First the value, the offer the best value on the market. Second the quality and speed to build that we get form Medrio. Finally their business models let's us serve our core customers with the quality and performance they require without costly extra bells and whistles.

Claude

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2019

Medrio for CROs

We use Medrio to capture data enter for Clinical Trials. Medrio has all the tools needed to ensure a successful submission.

Pros

Ease of use. Very easy to learn and pick up.

Cons

Limited functionality when compared to other systems.

Reasons for choosing Medrio

Seemed like a better fit for us and our clients.

Reasons for switching to Medrio

OpenClinica was difficult to work with.

Kruti

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2019

Medrio- Best

Pros

Extremely user friendly... System Navigation, Query resolution or data base build etc...very easy to learn

Cons

Coding Module Would be great if we can have indication/Route populating with the coding term. Will become much efficient while coding avoiding going back and forth

Wesley

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Medrio is easy to use

Medrio is an essential part of the data collection for our studies. It makes the data collection and cleaning (remotely) much more efficient than paper data collection.

Pros

Ease of use. The speed with which a study database can be set up and deployed. Also, the ease of implementing mid-study changes without affecting existing data.

Cons

Some of the configuration modules are still inconsistent in the way they look and function. Laying out case report forms could be easier.

Reasons for choosing Medrio

Customer service, value for the features, no hidden/additional fees for use, and the cleanliness of the data that gets exported.

Alex

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Great Product

Overall our team enjoys the creation of our different databases and eCRFs with Medrio. The ease of use and the appealing concept of the system makes it worth selecting it above its competitors.

Pros

The ease of work. Almost anything you think of its doable within Medrio.

Cons

Sometimes you just need a tip, an advise on how to do or implement a small change and you're required to purchase a whole training session. It would be great if at least basic, guided information would be available through support.

Reasons for choosing Medrio

Medrio was the most appealing and easier to work with since the very first minute. Price was negoatiable.

Christopher

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Medrio: Outstanding EDC software from an amazing company that cares

What impresses me the most about Medrio is their desire to be the best... not to make money, but rather to help people. Keeping within this mission, their ability to listen and react to input from the community not only results in a more capable piece of software, but also provides a sense of ownership in all who use it. The ultimate goal for all of us: to be as fast and efficient as possible in collecting accurate and reliable data that can easily be analyzed in an effort to find treatments for those who often have very little time to wait.

Pros

Medrio has a lot going for it. From a user's perspective, the software has excellent UX design and is extremely easy to navigate. The interface is not overwhelming like some and the data is presented in a very methodical and logical manner. This is a huge reflection on how well Medrio set up the data in the back-end. Medrio has additionally implemented superior skip logic, form rules, and custom edit check management to enhance usability. From a developer's perspective, the software allows for rapid development and efficient handling of mid-development changes. The three-tiered environment enables multiple teams to work concurrently resulting in reduced timelines and cost-savings for the client. On top of this, Medrio adds specialty features such as randomization, electronic signatures, direct data capture, lab reference ranges, and much more. In the hands of a capable developer, Medrio is a significant powerhouse in comparison to competing EDC solutions.

Cons

A good review has a balance of Pros and Cons, but honestly, there is nothing I dislike about this software. As with all systems, there are of course technical limitations here and there, but the number of issues we experience are minuscule. The real issue is that because Medrio is constantly listening to the user and as a result, improving the software and adding value, it makes it almost impossible to list any Cons about the software.

David

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2020

Medrio in Clincal Research Trials

I have been heavily involved in trial development on a variety of different indications for some time now. Medrio can be implemented quickly and get up and functional faster than other data management systems I have supported. Getting a trial up is really just a portion of the challenge - often the real challenge comes from how well the system can be adjusted once the initial study is live and mid-study adjustments are required. Medrio seems to be adjusting to these well without throwing up to many roadblocks and requiring significant re-work.

Pros

Medrio is fairly easy to learn and leverage to advantage. Many of the features are useable and configurable by relatively inexperienced users - like any software once you begin to really dig in a more focused and dedicated setup person in beneficial. That said - it is powerful and allows for a great deal of design and setup flexibility with out advanced coding or programming knowledge.

Cons

There are some interface inconsistencies that require the developer to adjust to a slightly different look and feel as you move from section to section. This is to be expected as a product matures and moves forward adding features and function. I'd like to see the incorporation of a more robust Lab Normal component (this is in development and components are rolling out with each release). I have also run into a few restrictions with Skip Logic that could benefit from a slightly more robust solution. Most of the issues are minor little things like not coming back to the same page when you complete a configuration or not being to dynamically control the number of items on a page - all minor and easily adjusted to.

Michele

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Deploy Studies Quickly With Medrio

I have done about twenty clinical studies with Medrio. It is easy to configure a study, design the forms, and deploy. If mid-study changes are required, they are easy to accomplish in Medrio. The customer service team is first rate. This is one of the few remaining companies where a real and qualified human answers the customer service phone or calls you back in very short order.

Pros

Medrio is feature rich with plenty of tools to configure a clinical study and develop online forms for data capture. Development is quick and intuitive. There are lots of data validation features. Custom Queries allow the developer to flag inconsistent and missing data. All changes to the data are tracked and recorded.

Cons

There are some overall reporting features (e.g. a separate listing of all data changes with the date and name of user making the change) that I would like to see, but the great thing is Medrio is very responsive to customer input. Their regular releases include improvements suggested by the user community that continue to make the product better.

Reasons for choosing Medrio

Several other products were reviewed at the time we decided on Medrio, but none of them gave us, the sponsor company, the same control and ability to make quick deployments and changes. Medrio was also extremely affordable compared to the products we reviewed and is scalable, with add-on products that enhance the electronic data capture process.

Laurie

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

The use of Medrio in the medical device, start-up community

Being able to support small, start-up medical device companies in their clinical trial projects, with an EDC database platform that helps address varying needs, with short timelines, and in a cost-efficient manner is critical. The flexibility of the MEDRIO products enable me to design efficient and scalable databases to accommodate different development phases of projects from early feasibility studies through pivotal trials. I can quickly bring databases on and off-line to suit the needs of my clients, which has been a game-changer in the medical device, start-up community.

Pros

The flexibility to design and implement EDC databases that are tailored to the needs of medical device start-up companies in an efficient and economical manner is the main aspect of Medrio that appeals to me and my clients.

Cons

Does not have some of the features (i.e. dynamic fields) found in other EDC database platforms; however, this is not a must-have feature for me.

Reasons for choosing Medrio

I choose Medrio because I can control the setup, programming, launch, and administration of the database myself. This enables large savings for my clients in both time and cost, and enables me to keep my sanity by no longer having to deal with the large, cumbersome, inefficient, and costly EDC database companies.

Reasons for switching to Medrio

I have used large EDC platforms in the past that required programming and administration by the parent company. The lead-time required for setup and administration, in addition to the poor quality of the programming, was a constant battle, and the cost associated with the delays associated with these issues was frustrating to say the least.

Dina

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2016

Medrio for the Little Guys

I'm a huge fan of Medrio! I have used other EDC systems and have also previewed some but in the end, I have always found Medrio to be the best fit for me. I think the best part about Medrio is that it is extremely user-friendly. Just about anyone can pick up the system and start using it with very little training. Most of the training needed, I think, is on the study building end. But if you are the data entry person (i.e. study sites) you can pretty much much log in and start going. Another plus is that you can get studies going pretty quickly. There is not a lot of programming that needs to be done and what does need to be programmed can be completed by any trained individual. You don't need a computer programmer to do all of the behind the scenes work. This is especially important if you work for a smaller company where you don't have so many different groups of individuals. The only negative thing I would say is that, because it is so user-friendly, it lacks some of the bells and whistles that other EDC systems have. So there are probably some features and functionality that Medrio doesn't have but I have always been able to make it work for me. If you are looking for a simple, user-friendly, high quality system, in my opinion, Medrio is what you need.

Pros

Simple, easy to use.

Cons

Lacks some features and functionality that other EDC systems have

sheelagh

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

Intuitive, easy to use software

Phastar have a close working relationship with Medrio and our feedback on issues is already documented

Pros

Ease of use for database builders and site users. It is intuitive software, well presented which facilitates training and familiarisation for users. The Medrio team are on hand to answer questions and provide support.

Cons

Interrogating data and preparation of bespoke reports. The BYO report facility has improved the situation, but it doesn't run on live data.

Alternatives Considered

iMednet

Reasons for choosing Medrio

Flexibility of set up, PAYG pricing

Switched From

iMednet

Geralyn

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2019

Mad for Medrio!

My experience with Medrio has been positive to date. My calls to Medrio support have been met with great concern for my needs, has been followed up with emails/calls/zooms and even on-site training to ensure that my concerns/training needs were addressed. It is this type of care and professionalism that has given me the privilege to create long and lasting relationships with a few of the Medrio team members. They are a wonderful team!

Pros

Medrio is a software system that is easy to understand, allows for fast setups of studies, provides the tools for simple builds and minimizes design complexity as well as providing full customer support.

Cons

Medrio does have some limitations in functionality. However, the Medrio Community feature can be of great assistance and the team at Medrio allow their customers to submit feature requests to enhance the Medrio products. Medrio is a team that is continuously at work to improve their products while providing ease of use, speed, efficiency and flexibility for their customer base. It is without doubt that they keep their customers in mind at all times.

Adam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Easiest to use, most cost effective well-recognized EDC system on the market

Building and running many, many EDC trials for so much less than any other system and doing so in a very time-effective manner.

Pros

It is very easy to set up and for the end-users to use. Anytime I need the system to do something that is not straightforward their help desk is able to program it and they build the feature into their next upgrade. All users can see data and reports in real-time. It is also so much less expensive than most other systems. Updating and validating the database due to protocol amendments is easy and quick. Their helpdesk is always timely to respond and answers their phone right away.

Cons

There are sometimes limited capabilities for when a trial has a unique data collection requirement, however, there has always been a workaround for when this has occurred.

Reasons for choosing Medrio

Cost effective with ease of use and great customer support which most other systems do not provide.

Brady

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Great, User-friendly System

Overall, I'm very satisfied with the system. I've used it for over 10 years, and I've seen it continually improve each year. I really enjoy how easy and intuitive the system is.

Pros

It is very easy to use for both the end-users (i.e. site data entry people) and the back-end programmers. It is very quick to get a database up and running. Building the database only takes a couple weeks (counting time for review cycles and UAT). Mid-study changes can be completed in as little as a day or two.

Cons

There are still a few features that some of the largest (i.e. most expensive) systems have that Medrio is missing, such as a very robust targeted SDV / Risk Based Monitoring module. In addition, it has a cumbersome re-querying method. That said, we've still used this system successfully for 700+ patient Phase III studies that included Risk-Based Monitoring, so those issues are not too limiting.

Rod

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

Medrio Review

Medrio has been a fantastic tool for us. The ease of use has allowed us to get clinical studies up and running in significantly less time than it would take with its competitors. I can't use it for every study, but I'm glad I can use it for most. Would recommend considering.

Pros

Medrio is an intuitive easy to learn and use EDC system right out of the box. Very customizable to meet most sponsors' needs. The simplicity of the system allows for lower training costs and faster build times. Great EDC choice in most situations.

Cons

Like most EDC solutions, Medrio cannot be all things to all people. Medrio does lack a number of key 'modules' and some of the modules it does have cannot handle more complex studies. What Medrio does, it does well, but as it continues to grow, it needs to continue to add to its package and keep the product at high levels.

Courtnay

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT