All Amazon SES Reviews

1-25 of 97 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ari Eko

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

robust and cheapest email delivery on the world

i am avid user of amazon ses and this i very good software

PROS

Amozen ses is cheapest and very good for deliverity in email space. their free tier is also generous and their pricing is very pocket friendly.

CONS

setup is complicated especially for newbie, but there are tons of guide on the internet to setting amazon ses.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

A Cost-Effective Solution for High-Volume Email Sending

One of the primary advantages of Amazon SES is its low cost, making it an attractive option for businesses and individuals who need to send large volumes of emails without breaking the bank. The service offers flexible pricing plans based on the number of emails sent, allowing users to scale up or down as needed.

PROS

Amazon SES uses various technologies and protocols to help ensure that emails are delivered to recipients' inboxes and not marked as spam. This can be particularly important for businesses that rely on email marketing campaigns to reach customers.

CONS

the complexity of setting up and configuring Amazon SES, particularly for those who are not experienced with AWS. This could result in a steep learning curve for users who are not familiar with AWS and its various services. Overall it is a good service.

Neil

Environmental Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2021

Newbie starting out

So far there is nothing truly bad that I can state.

PROS

The pros are that there are a number of people that one can contact if they run into any issues. I appreciated the system that is built within AMAZON. If one person can not assist they have an immediate person to contact

CONS

The cons - that not just one person can assist you, if you get the wrong person you will be bouncing around till you do.

User Profile

Wale

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great value for monet

Amazon SES has helped us cut a lot of costs. As someone who moved from Mailchimp, I can appreciate this pay-as-you-use model. Although you might miss the fancy insights provided by standard email marketing services, integrating Amazon SES into a capable program bridges this gap.

PROS

The best thing about Amazon SES is the price. You only pay for what you use, and even with this, it's possible the cheapest solution for bulk emails. The delivery rate is good, and it integrates with most bulk email platforms and programs.

CONS

Amazon SES is not exactly easy to set up unless you're a bit tech-savvy. Also, the support is a bit slow when responding to limitation issues. However, once you overcome these hurdles and get it running, the rest is just a piece of cake.

Reasons for switching to Amazon SES

Amazon SES is a lot cheaper.

User Profile

johan

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Very cheap but hard to set up

Frustrating at first after buying a course to be able to do the configurations it was excellent to be able to get the potential out of the tool

PROS

Very profitable. deliverability is excellent from very efficient smtp. the ability to send emails per minute is super goodthe economics of the service.

CONS

technical support is very poor. the documentation sometimes doesn't help.the desktop board is very unfriendly. Configuring the smtp and getting it to production is a big challenge

User Profile

Nitya

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

Using Amazon SES for transactional email is great, reliable and inexpensive

PROS

The email notification are sent using Amazon Simple Email Service, which is a cloud based email service. The cost of this solution is much lower that that of the most other solutions in the market. Due to the fact that it provides good reputed IP addresses, our emails do not end up in SPAM folders.

CONS

It would be very useful if there were a way to track the delivery of emails are sent by Amazon Simple email services.

User Profile

Darshan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Serverless way to maintain Mail server on cloud

We have migrated all our on-prem solutions from local mail server to AWS SES which also helps us to keep a track on who is doing what and stop any unwanted activities

PROS

One of the best revolution in the history of cloud solution is Simple email service, It removes overhead of maintaining mail server on your datacenter

CONS

AWS SES has a limitation of sending 200 emails in 24 hours which is pretty low when iam running a campaign Though you can call support and increase it by giving justification

User Profile

Angelica

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

Worth it but be careful

I have used this for a long time, but I kept being asked why and how I was using my account. I understand its policies, but it comes a point where this is just not usable at all.

PROS

The price is just the best feature along with its deliverability. You can authenticate your domains and email in a simple way.

CONS

The support is as slow as it can be. It's really annoying to have to ask permission for everything and be under investigation for every email blast you send.

User Profile

Giuseppe

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Best in class service

PROS

I’ve tried other competitor service, but Amazon SES is best in class. Is easy to configure and verify domains, and create identity to send email. Pricing is very negligible.

CONS

There is no issue regarding this service, it's all good.

Bhagya

Publishing, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Worst customer service

PROS

I have used the service earlier around 4 to 5 years, it was profitable to small business, due to cheap marketing plan and all the IPs are very effective

CONS

The worst part is the customer service of amazon ses, once they blocked from sending campaign for any reason but when you asked for appropriate reason for blocking account, they just simply used canned response some time you feel that robot are working there instead of human

Isak

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Great tool for sending emails at scale

I am very happy with Amazon SES. It has been a reliable and cost-effective solution for sending emails at scale. While it may not have all the bells and whistles of other email marketing platforms, it gets the job done and is a great choice for businesses looking for a simple solution for sending transactional or bulk emails.

PROS

Setting up Amazon SES is straightforward and the interface is user-friendly. I've found that emails sent through SES have a high delivery rate and have not had any issues with emails going to spam. Affordable compared to other email sending services, especially when sending a large volume of emails.

CONS

SES does not have a built-in template system, so you will need to design and code your own email templates.

Anant

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

The go to choice for Email Marketing and Transactional Mailing

SES was our first choice as the word of mouth was very good. We use it for transactional emails only and so far the lightning fast services at extremely economical price has blown our minds.

PROS

SES is basically the best email service out there. We find it the most used service out of all of the Amazon Web Services suite. - Extremely cheap, $0.10 for 1000 emails is the cheapest in the industry. - Reliability is top notch. - Unlike other services, our emails don't end up in spam. SES has a great reputation. - Limit increase has to be applied for by support tickets, though the service is very fast. - Emails can base send from servers across the world . - The free quota for EC2 sent emails is great for startups and testing.

CONS

It can be a little complicated for non-IT professionals to set up. There is a manual support ticket opening process involved to gain production access, this can lengthen the process to start the email services.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Simple Email Service is Actually Simple

We use SES to provide a single point of e-mail delivery for out application servers, that allows us to have a stable delivery platform for all of our application needs.

PROS

Simple Email Service (SES) is a great solution that takes a lot of the hard work out of mail delivery.

CONS

There are silent limits to SES that need to be lifted by reaching out to support. This is both a reasonable step to combat spam, and a frustrating discovery for those with legitimate intentions.

Jose

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Easy Transactional Emails

If you don't need to track anything with the emails but just have the need to send emails out, this is by far your best choice.

PROS

The ability to send emails via SMTP protocol and an API. With the API they can achieve millisecond speeds to send emails. It's very affordable.

CONS

Some of the configuration options are a bit complicated and require purchasing other products from AWS.

Stuart

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

The best Email Service from AWS, it's cheap and easy to send emails

It's definitely a great business email solution and I would recommend this to others. This is well suited for marketing emails and is simple to use after just setting it up once and off you go.

PROS

I have found it's very effective and being able to monitor your mailing activities. I enjoy that it sends out email notifications and you only pay for what you use. Amazon SES is much cheaper than other solutions. It has an easy setup and only costs a few dollars per month.

CONS

I found that it's not so easy to navigate around the menus, I wish they were more intuitive. There are initial sandbox limits are too low for a production application

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Reliable SMTP server

PROS

Reliable Email sending service A very low-cost SMTP server

CONS

Need to write our own custom code to track bounces, unsubscribes and spam complaints.

Bryan

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

The only right way to run databased on AWS

SES is vital to our cloud operations and won't be going anywhere as long as we're running databases.

PROS

A managed environment for data is, in my opinion, a must. Turn-key log-based backups and recovery with all necessary features. A good number of database options.

CONS

Lacks direct access to the machine so this is limiting as to what can be set on each database. While most things are possible, there's a learning curve to accomplish some more advanced configuration.

Joe

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Highly Reliable and Robust

If you need reliable programmatic emailing this is the best. Costs pennies for my use cases.

PROS

I've used SES since it was first launched. Several websites have been using it for years and I've never had a problem. Extremely reliable.

CONS

Like most AWS services, make sure you set it up right in the beginning. I once had to make a change for security reasons and it was a pain updating my live apps that use SES.

Pavel

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY