User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(827)

827

4 stars

(800)

800

3 stars

(214)

214

2 stars

(30)

30

1 stars

(11)

11

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse Autodesk Construction Cloud Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 1882 results

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Theron from Syblon Reid

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Plan Grid for the Field

Been using it for a while and really like it. We use HCSS Heavy Job, and also HCSS Safety, and the showed us their HCSS Plans, and we told them from the start that we use Plan Grid, and to try and sell us on their Plans APP. They could not sell us on the APP. They at the time only had one thing they can do better and that was area volume measurements, on radius. It gave you more links you can click on to accurately move the radius around. That was about it, other than that it did all the basics of Plan Grid, but i think Plan grid still has other option for Managers like creating RFI's and stuff, but we don't really use those functions.

Pros

I like the fact that you can scale the drawings in the field after the job is downloaded, even if you are off line. you can then use it to do your own on the fly take offs, to see if there is a bust anywhere in the estimate. I also like the collaboration that you can do. If you find an issue on the job, you can take a picture of the issue and attach it to the related plan sheet, and describe what is wrong and send, then others can see the issue, and work on getting it corrected. Also i like that you can create links on plan sheets, going from one to the other. You can see on one sheet it calls for a certain detail and you can tie that sheet to a different sheet with the detail. I also make a link on the detail sheet that will take you back to the original sheet for easy access back. Just the way i do it on my own sheets.

Cons

I think the ruler should be a little more detailed, basically so you can zoom in a little more and have finer adjustments. Also need to be able to scale down the ruler size as when you are measuring small measurements like under 1' you cant really see the measurement after you make it, and it is hard to get it lined up with what you are trying to measure. Also if you create link from one sheet to another, it would be nice to have the option to automatically have the sheet link you back to the original, so you can go back and forth between the plan set and detail section. Just my thoughts.

December 2019

Patrick from Simba Investments LTD

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Best Overall Solution I've seen in the Construction industry

Communication and organization of real time information from multiple job sites Punch list tracking Safety issues reporting improved record keeping Better real time redline recording

Pros

Easy to use and to implement. Workers found it easy to understand and use, immediate buy in Keeps your project tasks in order Assigning tasks to works and superintendents easily real time information from projects without the need for constant visits safety issues recorded and documented newly improved field reports and check list creator WAY easiler to adopt than Procore

Cons

Terrible user based subscription system, not construction friendly for GCs with many subcontractors Would like to see built in actual budgeting and POs High price for upgraded features (submittals and RFI advanced) that is not rolled out with complete workflow tracking and multiple reviewers User based subscription may actually make this more ex[pensive than Procore with far less functionality

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud

Builder trend seems to be better suited for Single Family Residential Builders. But more importantly did not offer a free trial period. this was a major sticking point for my technology limited boss. they do offer a trial/refund period. Raken is a good field reporting solution and could improve safety and some in field visibility but has a long way to go to get to the level that the competition is at as far as the construction industry. their pricing is realistic for what they offer, or even a little high

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud

Price of product and complexity of implementation

September 2021

User Profile Picture

Valarie from Multiworks

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Flexible Simple Construction Management Tool.

Excellent construction project budgeting and easy planning of various construction projects and project documentation.

Pros

Cloud easy management of any type of construction project and effective for the complex construction and Engineering project management and easy project planning. Collaboration via Cloud services and the project documents accessibility is effective.

Cons

No anything to say has been an issue from the solution or the tool features, easy to start using the product.

August 2019

Alex from BESI

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2019

Don't waste your time

Pros

cheap to get into need to fill the space for minimum number of characters

Cons

lack of functionality OCR is not upto par can't search text within reports

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud

One of our major clients subscribed to Plangrid and we wanted to be on the same system. Over a year later they still haven't used it on any of the projects, and I doubt they ever will. Plangrid is one of the cheapest software to get into, however, once you start adding users and pages/sheets the cost becomes on par or higher than other services while the functionality is very much lacking. so the overall value is very low compared to Procore. Even the one thing they are supposed to be good - drawing management, it is far from ideal. OCR doesn't recognize a lot of the links, in some cases entire PDFs are not workable in Plangrid. Support says it has to do with how the PDF was created, but since we don't create the drawings we have no control of it and therefore have no way of using them in Plangrid. Other services like Procore have no issue reading the same files, so that tells me the problem is with Plangrid not the file. Another issue with the drawings tool is the inability to separate the drawings by areas. Tech support suggested that we create separate projects for each separate area, which defeats the entire purpose of this service.

December 2019

Leonardo from Self Employed

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

The new way to model

For a designer or a builder is like a never getting old toy.

Pros

When I had to tenderized before BIM, it was a whole journey, design on Cad, transfer and convert to sketchup, rhino and Revit, with BIM just attach your planes, and you're good to go and take to virtual reality, what you are imagine as it is.

Cons

It will keep improving, don't change the platform with each software update.

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud

Had to give it a try, if you don't risk you don't win

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud

Easier and faster way to renderize in good quality.

September 2019

Georgia from Harvard

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Go to software for coordination

Pros

It is the universal software for coordinating across MEP/Structural/landscape/lighting reps, etc. The fact that you can export such a variety of file types makes it so much easier to communicate with consultants.

Cons

Tries to bight off more than it can chew, which can overcomplicate the coordination process. The price is steep but since they have a monopoly, the price also makes sense.

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud

Revit has become the mainstream software of choice. ArchiCAD internally made sense but Revit was too widely used outside of our walls - it was time to make the switch.

June 2020

Billie from Alvin ISD

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

Not customer friendly!

PlanGrid is an arrogant, self centered company that refuses to be of help when asked. I have recorded complaints with the California BBB and the FTC. They have a tactic of "BAIT AND SWITCH" when it comes to pricing. Sales rep will tell you one thing....and account mgrs. will tell you another. STAY AWAY FROM THESE FOLKS, HORRIBLE BUSINESS!!!

Pros

That you can use it without contact with RUDE customer services reps!!

Cons

Customer service is unable to provide support and is RUDE when you do get a hold of someone!!

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud

Because we fell for the sales pitch......which was a LIE!!!

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud

PlanGrid is an arrogant, self centered company that refuses to be of help when asked. I have recorded complaints with the California BBB and the FTC. They have a tactic of "BAIT AND SWITCH" when it comes to pricing. Sales rep will tell you one thing....and account mgrs. will tell you another. STAY AWAY FROM THESE FOLKS, HORRIBLE BUSINESS!!

January 2021

Simon from Groupe Beaubois

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Plangrid is your next new best friend

One of our best discovery over the time. We have try and tested some but without a doubt that’s the best in his category

Pros

Before knowing Plangrid we were comparing and managing file single handily and we have to create multiple packages for onsite use ... which often end up outdated. With plangrid, you have all you architectural drawing located a one single place and can be accessible without internet connection. You can easily compare the various version and finally, you can easily connect the team onsite with the office. This software have changed our way of working thru the time and we are now using it on a daily basic. Ohhh yes, you have to try the customer service, probably the best one that I have ever add. Always available and always knowledgeable and give up real follow up when needed. You can also provide feedback which sometime result in newest features which is awesome!

Cons

Each user have to possess a different account to work properly. See that like an additional fee just like a cellphone line. It’s about the same price and also as much useful.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Lap from Turner Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Autodesk cloud

It has been a bit rough but then again I am not a design professional. I am sure that design professionals find it very good.

Pros

It is geared towards the design professional and not the construction professional. It does track design changes well and shows you the evolution of a design and the contract documents.

Cons

As stated above, it is more for the design professional and does not translate well into the project management software such as Procore. We sometimes have to double enter information into our PM software.

November 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Big Mining user with not success

It was very hard to implement with all our offices around the world and clients. The softwares and tools are amazing but my experiencie with our client was very hard to implement.

Pros

Is very easy to use, i can be very helpfull for medium project especific for buldings etc. You can track problem in all the stage of the engineering

Cons

Is very expensive and for general managment or project engineer in the mining sector is very difficult to work with, because of the lack knowledge and is not very common in the sector. And in order to use in the full potencial all stakeholder most know and have the software not only the viewers.

Reasons for Switching to Autodesk Construction Cloud

We couldnt work with bim full potencial so we had to use basic autocad software (Autocad, Civil, Plant and Naviswork)

August 2017

Lance from DPR Construction

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2017

I like the general structure of BIM 360 Field, but I have problems with specific functions.

It is great to track your punchlist and rolling completion issues. We did not use it for commissioning, but I would have liked to try it so we could link it to our 360 Glue Revit models. This looks like a very helpful option.

Pros

1). In the field, the iPad app is very easy to use, with the exceptions of a few small things. 2). It is especially easy for contractors to walk their Issues, take pictures, make comments, etc. 3). The print reports and schedule reports module is really helpful. There are many different report types and layout options, which is repeatedly useful. 4). It is easy to see any pertinent info in Issue list view, and print quickly from that page. 5). Customizing the different types of drop down Issue Filters for different users is very handy, and necessary. And it is very easy to sort and search for Issues using the filter module in Issue List view. 6). After I figured out how to contact tech support, it was certain that I would get a diligent response. I would say response time was always within 24 hours, unless I said it was urgent, and very through.

Cons

Here are common Problems our large team and I run into often: 1). The website commonly has a huge latency when loading new pages. And I mean typically 3-10 seconds, and occasionally 10-20 seconds to load a page. 2). More often than I would like, the Issue List column sorting feature at the top of each column on the website version just will not work. 3). Pinning an issue from the website version is not very intuitive, and takes you a completely different pathway to find the maps. This should be something that is easy to get to from the window of an open issue, just like the iPad app version. 4). Sometimes the syncing function has an error and you need to re-sync. 5). Not frequently, but few times more than I would have liked, the site would just not let people do things like change statuses, or on a couple of occasions even just open the site. 6). After walking in the field adding issues for a while, the iPad app will stop letting you load photos. You have to close and restart the app and you're good to go again.

April 2017

Gert-Jan from Dura Vermeer Group NV

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Integration of software

Experience is good with BIM360 if you use the total cycle of BIM360. Great workflow for design partners (A/C/MEP). I'm a General Contractor and also have to deal with subcontractors, suppliers and partners. they deliver other formats such as IFC files. that's lacking in BIM360 and Navisworks right now. there is no good workflow to engage the partners to the platform. Even so is Issue Management missing. in Design stage it is difficult to track an Issue. then we miss the integration with planning/scheduling software there is no development on: BIM360 Plan BIM360 Schedule the same with: Quantity Take Off BIM Model check on standards / BIM execution plan Rule based checking in the model for example: clash on: swing of the door hits anything in his way. integration with planning /scheduling to make 4D still images and animations. there is one in Navisworks I know but it would be great to have that integration with: Revit model + Partner Models -> Glue -> planning connection with geometrie -> make animations or images/bookwork for realisation stage. Then data -> cross project data pull out for Quality / Safety advisors and board. visualisation of that data And the biggest miss is one single platform login. now its scatered all around single point solutions. Still waiting for BIM360 Docs to be more mature. Our current document management system is still better than Docs so I can't start implementation of BIM360 Docs if there are some key functionality missing right now. I'm sorry for the critical notes I made above but I think it's good to be critical and hopefully you can get the benefits of it. And as you might know we love BIM360 and are heavily using it on our projects! keep up the good work and great vision for the future of BIM360! Greetings, Gert-Jan Ditsel - Dura Vermeer

Pros

Design stage integration and workflow Revit -> Glue -> Navisworks (clash +Model Coordination) -> Field

Cons

no single sign on, no mature Document management

January 2017

Bruce from HB Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

HB Construction - "Built Different!" with Autodesk BIM 360

Recently HB Construction in Albuquerque, New Mexico, is offering our design teams and owners new tools to help facilitate our commitment to providing quality buildings. Autodesk BIM 360 products, Glue and Field with Autodesk Building Ops are cloud based mobile platforms used for coordination, collaboration, QA/QC management, asset and finally preventative maintenance. Autodesk's BIM tools are transforming HB's handover experience to our owners and building operators giving them access on day one of operations to the information they need. Gathering of building data starts in the early stages of pre-construction. HB creates construction models either from the design models or from 2D construction sets. Using Autodesk BIM 360 Glue, models are used to coordinate location of trade's elements virtually before placement in the field. We work with all our sub-contractors to sign-off on a fully coordinated model before field work begins. While working on coordinating element locations in BIM 360 Glue, HB and its subs also use Autodesk BIM 360 Field to provide asset data important to the building elements warranty, preventative maintenance and operation management. BIM 360 Field also supports our field management allowing HB to track issues for quality assurance, safety, and commissioning. As the project nears completion, Building Ops connects to BIM 360 Field allowing all the relevant documents, models, photographs and videos associated with the building components and asset data to be migrated and conveniently available in Building Ops. Using the available data and information in Building Ops the HB warranty team continually updates and manages asset information such as location, operation, maintenance, repairs and service requests for two years after substantial completion. Those in charge of operating and maintaining the building are invited and can use the mobile or web interface of the application also. In fact, we encourage this. HB is proud to offer Autodesk BIM 360 Glue and Field and Autodesk Building Ops as added value services to our clients as they enable HB to save time, money and resources with a fully coordinated data-centric model used to manage field quality and safety during construction passing on to owners and operators, true real-time asset information reflective of the building design and construction that they may trust and access on day one of the handover experience.

Pros

The ability to access real data from the cloud. The ease at learning and getting started quickly with really world results. Ability to show subs the ease and capabilities so that they feel part of the team.

Cons

I do wish the BIM 360 products were more integrated. Each of the Autodesk BIM 360 tools offer such needed benefits that if they were able to interact with each other our teams would use them even more. When a team member on the site has to go to 3 or 4 different tools to access the same data it can get tiring.

January 2017

Alan from Jacobs Engineering

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Invaluable for BIM Coordination during the Construction and Design Processes

Typically BIM Coordination occurs at the design level and involves long periods of methodical planning and QAQC activities. My experience is that, while important, it doesn't matter what A/E designs when subcontractors are given means & methods in their contract and have their own layouts to design, submit, fabricate, and install. Using BIM 360 Glue for construction activities has been amazing. The ability my subs have to constantly update their models within BIM 360 has allowed us to run continuous clash reports on the merged coordination model. In the fast-paced construction phase, it has been crucial to ensure that all trades are coordinated before they send their parts to shop in order to facilitate a smooth installation with minimal field changes. Limiting field changes helps us save money and time; that being said, BIM 360 Glue has already paid for itself. Overall Quality: 5 stars due to its reputation and integration with Autodesk's line of products (Revit/CAD on the design-side, and Navis/BIM 360 Field on the construction side). Ease of Use: 4 stars due to Friendy GUI, and familiar functionality from desktop to iPad. However, it's annoying to have to manually run clashes every time the merged model is updated (which can be daily). This is VERY time-consuming if you have multiple clash sets between disciplines. Features and Functionality: 4 stars due to clunky clash detection (it's easier and more helpful to run clash detection with Navisworks). Everybody in the field is in LOVE with the iPad app, though. The 3D walkthroughs of the model with accelerometer and gyroscope sensor input are amazing. It's great walking through a site-in-progress with the client, and pull up BIM360 Glue on the iPad, drop a pin on your location in the floor plan, and give them a live 3D view of what space will look like. Customer support: 5 stars Autodesk forums are the best. Value: 5 stars, we pay our license fee and can add as many subcontractor users as needed. The saving in reduced field changes/mistakes has paid for the license ten-fold.

Pros

-iPad functionality -Ease of model updating -Ability to share with the client in an easy-to-grasp way

Cons

-Clunky clash detection -Slow performance on legacy hardware -Inability to auto-run clash detection

December 2016

Robert from Yorke and Curtis

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Plan Grid Review

Plan grid has been useful for our team to be one step ahead of the game in document control. I am currently working on a larger project with multiple files, especially ASIs. As a result, the overlay capabilities makes it easier to keep up with drawings that have been superseded and have the most current jobs in the field. I like the ability to tag drawings by discipline and in my case phases. The ability to hyperlink drawings to compile an as-built set or update current drawings with referenced RFIs, ASIs or SK drawings is extremely useful. I wish that plan grid would allow users that admins share files (i.e. subcontractors) have the ability not to pay. I think the GC should be responsible for payment , management, and distribution of files. Plan grid should sell perhaps licenses to the GC company and not charge individual subs a monthly fee just to review drawings. As a result, after the trial period ended none of the subs for my job signed up to use Plan Grid. Consequently, I've been using Bluebeam Revu Studio which has similar capabilities and users download a free software through Bluebeam that allows access to all the project folder and files. What Plan Grid has over Bluebeam currently is the OCR to recognize sheet names through the plan index and this is a standard feature; however, in order for Bluebeam to mimic Plan Grids basic principle, it seems like an added cost. Overall I like the software for in-house management but as far as the sharing it with the subs and getting them to use it for a project entirety it has been a struggle. Therefore I think they should either consider lowering the rates for additional users.

Pros

Intuitive and ergonomic functionality. It keeps files up to date and automatically supersedes old files.

Cons

The cost to share with other team members. If I have a project that has multiple subs that have a Project Manager, Asst Project Manager, Field Superintendent and Foreman who need to have the most updated drawings and each has to pay the fee then it gets pricey on their end. So I think Plan Grid should sell package/licenses s to subcontractor teams so they can distribute to their team in-house which you screen through their email address.

February 2017

Bente from Mensching GmbH

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

It's allready good, but it has to get better

Great tools. Some are very usefull (BIM360Team) and in the perfekt pricing. Some should get more funktions to be helpfull (BIM360Docs) or only should learn from the other BIM Tools. So it's not possible to view Office-Files on BIM Docs and it allready works in BIM360Team. Allso I miss the upload and update funktion of complet folders. This was possible in the old version of Team. In BIMDocs there is only the oppotunity to upload files (no folder!). So it's hard to keep the lokal and cloud area on the same database. To share files between different Cloud Tools isn't working. Therefore the BIM Docs area is made for. I know it, but at this time it's hard to handle it. In the end I will thank you for all the help I get from support team. You do a great job. Also, you should know, that I like the cloud-products. It's the only way to work in future and your products, with all of their mistakes, bugs and missing funktions, are the the top 5 in the world. Thanks for your innovations!

Pros

Many, but the most importants are: View all Data online without download them, communication, easy to use

Cons

Still too much missing features!!! Data lokal are not automaticly compare to the cloud and the pricing is not attraktiv for start working with the cloud. The first step should be cheap. When you place your data in the cloud, found out, that it's working fine, you mostly will not exit the system. But meanwhile you start use the system and try to invite some more, a high pricing will avoide to get the first step in the cloud. It will be helpfull that a small admin-team should be allowed to use it for free. Comercial users like worker, industrie, snd so on have to pay for it, after the admins arranged everything.

August 2017

Michael from GRAHAM Construction

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

BIM360 FIELD has been highly useful and has impressed our client with ease of record production.

Collation of data at project completion was the major benefit of the FIELD software which was backed up by the ability to attach evidence at checklist creation.

Pros

The ease of collating records on completion of a project has been huge as has day to day monitoring of checks and issues. Supporting evidence attached immediately to a checklist has also been of great benefit reducing the risk of losing information. The availability of analyzing issues has improved the approach to recording of such information and encouraged the Health & Safety triangle approach to recording minor issues and the hope of decreasing the occurrence of more major Non-Conformances.

Cons

An ability to sign off particular queries within a checklist would be a great improvement allowing the monitoring of HOLD points within works which can only be done by splitting Checklists up under the current system. Digital signatures through iPads are not accurate and become less so when pads are holding a lot of data. We cannot issue iPads to everyone within a project and thus cannot sign off through individual log-ins but a system to sign in as a signatory and have that recognized within the checklist history would be of great benefit. Functionality on browsers for the desktop access varies and does not allow certain actions on certain browsers. Our client does not have the freedom to download browsers and are locked out by the network administration so a more uniform performance on these platforms would be beneficial.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Time Saving & Easy to Use

Overall, our experience with PlanGrid has been positive and we have more users on the tool than we originally anticipated because of the value it brings. The support and partnership both from our account reps and customer service is great - getting answers to our questions quickly. We also appreciate that they are open to product recommendations and ask us to participate in testing of the new functionality.

Pros

PlanGrid is simple and easy to use. Even our non-tech savvy people have easily transitioned to using the tool. The ability to pull up drawings and mark them up in the field saves our team time, and being able to submit field reports has increased report submission and speed (everything from dailies, safety reports, to cut sheets and more). The field report functionality was a game changer for us and adoption of the tool. Our field team likes that they can do all of these things in one place without the hassle of using multiple platforms or tools. On average, our team is saving two hours a week in time, some as many as 10-15 hours per week.

Cons

As a subcontractor, there is some functionality that we'd like to see changed or added to make the tool even more helpful that doesn't quite work for us right now. The RFI functionality doesn't let us use our own templates, but is in the process of being overhauled, which may help. Our field team would love to be able to make edits to documents and re-save them as documents rather than downloading, saving, and re-uploading them. Some of our team would also like better markup tools that match Bluebeam's functionality. PlanGrid isn't necessarily a project management tool, and they've shared it won't be. At some point we may look into a PM software integration to make managing projects more streamlined. For now, we're not able to complete all activities in the tool and have work arounds from the PM side.

September 2015

Morgan from TDIndustries, Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2015

PlanGrid is helping us change the way we do business - every day!

Pros

The application is easy to use so our people want to use it! It helps us be faster and more efficient. We constantly have the information we need at our fingertips. We enjoy being able to quickly and easily scroll through our project information and be able to link information together so you don't miss important information. We enjoy working with the people over at PlanGrid because they make it feel like they are in whatever situation you are having, whether it is good or bad. They want you to succeed, they want to help you fix any issues that arise - they're part of our team and we appreciate their excellent customer and technical support.

Cons

PlanGrid works really hard to develop new features and push them out to their users. We know that they make a dedicated effort and are constantly exploring new options and ideas. With that being said, we'd like to see them come out even faster and more frequently.

January 2017

Craig from Southland Industries

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

BIM 360 Works well and continues to improve.

I have been using the BIM 360 software on my large construction site (1+ B) for the last 9 months. We use it for our own punchlist tracking as well as tracking completion lists and punch lists created for us by others. We chose it over other options due to the ability to import out of other software programs directly into BIM 360 to add their reports into 1 location and then distribute to subcontractors and internally from there to fix deficiencies. It does the tracking, importing, markups of pictures and document viewing well and it suites our needs. My biggest concern with the software is the interface needs improvement to be closer to a cell phone / icon based when using iPads in the field. The interface is not bad, but when working with skilled tradesmen who don't often utilize technology I find some of the software is confusing to some of them. A more icon-driven interface I believe would help that problem and allow some of these users to get more out of the software, and not be quite so intimidated. One of our biggest hurdles was simply getting them to use it as they were afraid they would "mess up the job". Once they understood where to go and how to use it they quickly became comfortable but I can understand that maybe not every company would spend the time. We ended up getting a class going for these users and writing a visual guide for the users to follow along with. After a few days, the guides were no longer needed.

Pros

Able to easily punch list and review all areas of our job site. Tracking and time stamping is fantastic for documenting the job site conditions and tracking days to close.

Cons

Software interface could use some work so that less tech savvy people can pick up the software faster and cut down on training time.

November 2018

Charlie from The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

PlanGrid Review-

Overall the software is an amazing tool for Construction projects. The ability to manage one project in one space is unmatched.

Pros

The best things about the software are: 1) The ability to have unlimited sheets 2) The easy upload of new sheets and the accessibility of Revs 1/ 2/ 3, etc. with a simple swipe 3) Support team always fast and helpful 4) The ability to create issues and tag multiple linked accounts to the same issue 5) The ability to create reports from RFIs, Issues, logo upload etc. to PDF, Excel documents and how immersive the reports are, from the organization of the issues and photos (very professional) 6) The ability to upload documents and attach them where needed for example RFI's 7) All the editing tools for Mark-ups within sheets. 8) How easy to publish and unpublish content as Admin

Cons

The least favorite things about the software are: 1) All though the cross platform from Web/Mac/ Windows/ Mobile options are great, the experience of cross platforms are not consistent throughout. Some features are available on some platforms and not in others 2) Constant out of sync updating on Mobile/ Desktop versions 3) Different software bugs across platforms (but its understandable)

November 2018

Regie from M.B. Kahn Construction Co.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

A Great Tool that saves me tremendous time......

When we start a construction project now we invite the entire team. Designers, Owners, subcontractors, and vendors to our project folder. Now we can rest easy knowing that everyone is using the most current documents as the project is constructed. Our superintendents keep their daily reports on PlanGrid. Our safety inspections and meetings are kept on PlanGrid. Submittals, RFIs, project photos, drawings, and finally our Punchlist. It save a ton of time and money having this as a single source to keep all this project information in one place.

Pros

PlanGrid allows me to keep all my construction contract documents all in one place. In the past various versions of drawings, specs, submittals, RFI's, etc would be stored in various places and you could never be sure if you were in fact looking at the latest versions. PlanGrid takes that problem away and when collaborating with your team you can be sure that everyone is operating from the same sheet of music.

Cons

There are a few minor quirks that I have asked PlanGrid's support folks to look into correcting. Over the past few years I have shared many items with them that I would like to see changed or updated. They have most definitely listened and the product continuously gets better. Thanks PlanGrid!

January 2020

Paul from Kahler Slater

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Architecture's Gold Standard for Collaboration

The most important aspect of the program, collaborating models between far-flung users, works solidly. You'd expect a higher quality user interface from a company as established as Autodesk, but that's a minor complaint. Autodesk's customer service is responsive and they support their programs well.

Pros

This program is the default collaboration software for the architectural industry. As such, it is almost impossible to work on a large project and not need it. Sharing models between architects and consultants is a breeze, and even allows live linking (but still allows incremental updates as well). However, Autodesk doesn't just sit on their monopoly; they push updates consistently and listen to users' requests.

Cons

While it is improving with each update from Autodesk, the web interface still has much to be desired. It doesn't have the most intuitive layout (for example: I'm still unsure why the global "Account Admin" settings are found in a project-specific tab) and can be laggy when switching between tabs. I would like a desktop client as well since my browser typically has many tabs open at once and the BIM 360 tab can get lost.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Ricardo from Estructuras Nabla4 S.A.S

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

A specialized cloud for BIM projects

BIM 360 is a much needed centralized information platform where you can share all the information regarding a Civil Engineering and Architecture project with all the team, or teams, that are participating in such project. I find this tool entirely useful for my projects, because I can share all the information about a project with my team, involving different disciplines such as Structural Engineering, Architecture, Plumbing Engineering, Interior Designers, and, most importantly, the Client Team. The main difference about BIM 360 and other cloud services is that it allow us to review Autodesk files. Personally, in the projects I've participated, I've used it for reviewing, markups, and comment files from AutoCAD, Revit, and 3DS max. This is very useful because you don't have to install an app for using this service, all you have to do is access to the BIM 360 page from any smartphone, tablet, or pc, and you can view the model from that page.

Pros

1) Access to the Autodesk files for Reviewing. 2) Saving all the information regarding a Civil Engineering Project. 3) Access to the Autodesk files from any smartphone, tablet, or pc. 4) Interaction with the models without the need of an app, just by accessing from any browser. 5) Markups and comment sharing.

Cons

The only con that I can think about is that you cannot edit files in this software. But, since its purpose is just to share information, I don't think that is necessarily a con.

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Errol from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

BIM 360 DOCS - Is it worth it

Overall, i love it. It can take your whole office filing and model drawing to the cloud allowing you to work remotely. To me cloud based modelling is perfect, and I don't even pick up hassles working on a 350mb model from home with only a 5mb line. It handles it effortlessly.

Pros

There is a definite ease of use in comparison to BIM 360 Team that we may be familiar with for those who started working in a cloud based environment with the interface having more of a "Windows Explorer"feel that is fully customisable and with it running off Autodesks Skyscraper Server I find it faster than when running off BIM 360 Team, prbably explains why from Revit v 2019 Team is no longer avaialble. The added benefit of Autodesk constantly improving and adapting the software based on end users feedback and criticisms will keep you constantly impressed with what they are doing.

Cons

This can also bring it to a Con....because Autodesk is always finely tuning the software i wouldn't recommend activating a new addon that they provide immediately after it comes out of "Preview"phase. I have found it to still be buggy and has caused me embarrassment when the end-user takes it as my fault it is not doing what it was supposed to do. 6 months later and now it appears to be working well.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Christopher from Bonneville Builders

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

PlanGrid 2018

Overall it is a great software. The sales team and training team are great and professional. The software engineers (Coders) don't follow up and it takes them forever to correct any issues with the software. It almost seems like my voice is not being heard as many of my suggestions are to fix glitches in their software.

Pros

PlanGrid is a great software to keep your Plans and Documents organized. Since implementing PlanGrid, we have had more clarity as to which set of plans are current, where we are with Submittals and RFI's, as well as many other items. It is an amazing tool for field use and our superintendents have been able to learn quickly.

Cons

Many of the features are new, like RFI's, Daily Reports, Photos, and Submittals. Because they are so new, there are a number of glitches. When adding Pictures through the Photos tab or even in Daily Reports, they automatically re-orient themselves to end up sideways or upside down. Unfortunately once they are in, you cannot re-orient them properly. Submittals could use a little work on organization. We have had some complications on syncing when using tablets in the field, causing a loss of Daily Reports. There seems to be a lack of consistency between the iOS, Android App, Windows App, and Web Based Version that should be addressed. Workspaces has a lot of glitches, like you cannot delete or edit a file in documents, unless you are in the Windows App, then you can delete but not edit.

April 2017

Jared from Kruse Corporation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Good Stuff

Pros: Easy to use for those that don't use BIM Software everyday. Cross Platform Use Easy for upload/download across many machines/users (Vs regular cloud) Can use many filetypes. Same data is there across all platforms. Cons: UI for those of us that use Navis on the regular. Won't let you glue out of AutoCAD always. Causes crashes. Must have the AutoCAD file closed if you are trying to glue off the desktop app. Navigation on iPads is a bit hard to learn at first for field staff. iPad model updates are spotty. I field many phone calls from field staff in regards to models not being available. Overall Great Product though! Has greatly improved our workflow over the past 2/3 years.

Pros

Cross Platform Use, Easy to use for non computer users. Same data across platforms. We use as a cloud storage for files across offices and detailers.

Cons

UI for those of us that use Navis on the regular. Won't let you glue out of AutoCAD always. Causes crashes. Must have the AutoCAD file closed if you are trying to glue off the desktop app. Navigation on iPads is a bit hard to learn at first for field staff. iPad model updates are spotty. I field many phone calls from field staff in regards to models not being available.

May 2018

Aaron from Balfour Beatty Engineering Services

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Great for keeping track of project quality and snags

good in aiding the recalling closed or in progress issues for resolution is very easy, especially compaired to trawling through paper docments

Pros

easy to recall checklists, issues (snags clean up notices etc.) and using barcodes for relating those issues and checklists to a specific area keeps everything a lot more relevant. We have over 7000 rooms on our project and using the QR codes has let us relate issues very accurately so that anyone can follow up on issues. Being able to compartmentalise the information by using the user profiles is also very useful as it means our subcontractors can focus on their own issues and it eally helps decltter the information that is presented to them while we can still keep track of the bigger picture.

Cons

the larger the project the setup seems to exponentially increase (allocating locations, equipment, checklists and qr codes) the use of the excel spreadsheets to import information definitely reduces this somewhat but adding locations for a larger construction project will take a lot of time (on the project I am working on there are over 7700 individual rooms) and then associating those locations with a piece of equipment in order to create a scannable QR code doubles the time with something that is largely replicated work but you have to do so in order to assign a relevant checksheet template to a location.

January 2019

Hélvio Henrique de C from Associacao Brasileira D A Igreja De Jesus Cristo Dos Santos Dos Ultimos Dias

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Collaboration on the cloud BIM360 Design

We minimize the issues caused by different versions of the project. Now each of us is responsible to find solutions to solve the interferences in the project at the same time that we are developing the project. we can't use the excuse that I was working in a different version and I didn't see the interference. It was great!

Pros

It has been great to work simultaneously with our consultants for complement projects. It is amazing to see project development and to check the interferences between the disciplines and to have a better vision of the project to make decisions.

Cons

1 - We decided to work simultaneously just a single file on cloud and we had problems with objects been removed accidentally by other consultants. It would be awesome to have an option to don't allow that another discipline to erase objects in another workset. 2 - We had problems with software support from our provider, but we found another vendor who gave us wonderful support even though we had purchased the software with another provider. But because of this great treatment, when my consultants were looking for to buy the BIM360, I indicated to them this other provider and in our renewal of licenses, we will migrate to that provider who also gave us support and attention.

January 2017

Benno from CAD & Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Great tool for the whole design phase

Easy to use and to start a project. Great tool for the whole design phase in building construction or R&D projects. Also a very fast and on point support. Idea station listens great to their users. Would only like to see more integration with FormIt and other BIM 360 tools. Then it would be perfect.

Pros

That its a very cheap solution for building design collaboration. Which makes it a great option before winning a project. Also because of the easy to use viewer with sectioning and walk-through everyone can use w/o design skills.

Cons

Frequently buggy with C4R w/o fail save for the design team who are currently working. Account management isn't easy because you can't filter contributors and team members. Also you can't see who is in which project from the admin page. And you can edit MS Office files directly from BIM 360 Team, but can't save them back instantly.

February 2020

Abdel from APMA LLC.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great for putting everything all together

As a company that provides engineering services to construction contractor, we were able to run our clients' projects, monitor them closely, and provide top notch engineering services from one place.

Pros

+ Combines all design aspects. + Great for managing the engineering tasks from one place. + Provides a dashboard platform to run and supervise construction.

Cons

+ Requires a while to get used to (approximately 200 working hours). + Must have knowledge with other software (AutoCAD, Civil 3d, Steel).

Reasons for Choosing Autodesk Construction Cloud

Compatibility with Autodesk products.

March 2019

Gary from Arriva Rail North

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Best site software I've used in 30 years

Great product which just keeps getting better I would recommend the product and support to anyone. It will improve workflow and efficiency on any multi-disciplinary project. As a freelance consultant the first thing I recommend on any new project is PlanGrid.

Pros

It covers pretty much all aspects of what you want to use reports, data and drawings on site. It's also been extremely useful in the design process as well as helping close out on snagging issues.

Cons

It's not a document management system in it's trueset form though the document handling is very useful especially through the RFI process. I think the access approval system could still do with a tweak but we have found a workaround for AFC production drawings. Also if you are looking for mass rollout then the price can be on the high side. I honestly think a reduction in price would see a massive uptake in licences. I'd love every supervisor on my site to have a licence but the cost is just too much. We've purchased ten licences where I'd really would have purchased 40-50.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

BIM 360 is the Cooridination you are looking for.

We often worked with other firms on large products and were not able to coordinate in real time with there models, this caused us to sometimes reference old designs to try and eliminate tons of hours exchanging the design files. With this web interface even if they don't work on the cloud we can have them drag and drop files to the web and then when we open our model we will see the new version of the file as our reference even if they don't have BIM 360.

Pros

The ability to publish the Sheets in a model to the web interface with no computer resources needed from the users/designers. Also allowing the permissioning of folders and files so certain users cant accidently effect your design. Ability to compare versions of models. There are so many ways this allows nonrevit users to understand where in the Design your project is.

Cons

There is a slight upcharge for the product and there are pieces you can buy on top of that, instead of making it one package and price point I have to convince management to purchase extra parts to get all the benefits.

January 2019

Justin from Pattillo Construction Corporation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Plangrid is an exceptional field management asset

The fact that I do not have to carry around physical plans is fantastic. The ease of project task documentation is fast and simple. Customer service is the best that I have received, from any company in any industry.

Pros

The interface of the software is exceptional. Viewing everything from plans to specifications is simple and fast. The ability to integrate the plans with the submittals is very useful as flipping through multiple documents, files or folders is removed. Plan markups are simple, photo documentation of everything from deficiencies to just having documentation that things were performed correctly is incredibly useful and beneficial. Being able to see where and when a photo was taken is fantastic.

Cons

There really aren't any items that I can think of that I dislike. Perhaps the fact that administrators cannot modify reports. It would be nice to be able to continue reports that another team member has started, for instance during overnight concrete pours would be useful. It would also be beneficial as sometimes one team member may have forgotten something and editing prior to saving would be nice.

April 2017

David from Lemay architectes

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Glue and Field 360 are very useful tools for architects!

I have performed the construction administration phase using Glue and Field360 for multifunctional sports complex in Laval, Quebec. I was introduced to Glue and Filed360 applications by our Firm and applied it on a construction site with the general contractor. Training was short and effective. Glue has allowed me to review the specific aspects of the project in a timely fashion. The interface is user friendly and intuitive. It has been very useful for shop drawing reviews. The visual and easy to handle features allowed me and my team to express concepts, ideas and resolve problems during construction. I was in charge of the site supervision for the architect of record firm. I have used the Field360 application for the quality control aspects during site supervision. We were able to review and monitor the progress of the work in a real time manner, in a mostly paper-free environment. I have used the Field on site with an IPad during site visits. I was in the loop of all the communications between the contractor and the sub-trades from the creation of a pin to the acceptance of the corrective measures. I enjoyed using the Glue and Field tools. Both applications are easy to learn, easy to use, adapted to our work and suitable for the speed of a construction site.

Pros

User friendly interfaces.

Cons

Some of the users in the team did not have access to the Field and needed old-fashion paper reports to review and witness construction progress. They needed assistance to handle their comments to suit the Field on line format.

January 2019

Andy from PARIC Corp.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Single Source of Truth

With BIM360 we are connecting our teams in real-time, leveraging data and converting it into actionable information. We are taking BIM to a whole new level and truly levaraging the power of a model-based workflow. Furthermore, we are focused on the data, and with BIM360 we have far better tools to enable data governance so that we can glean actioble information.

Pros

What we like most about BIM360 is that it provides a foundation for supporting the entire design/build/manage lifecycle of a building or campus project. Leveraging this single source of truth, we connect the entire project team so that everyone is kept up-to-date on the latest information available to manage the project and their role in daily activities. Furthermore, BIM360 is the only truly BIM-based system that enables model content to be leveraged throughout the project and throughout the iterative design and build processes.

Cons

The only con to BIM360 is that it wasn't available 20 years ago.

May 2018

Denes from AECOM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

BIM 360 works great as a cross-discipline, cross-company collaboration tool.

Time and money.

Pros

The ability to post multiple models, document sets. It makes it streamlined how we communicate within our own and with other disciplines, as well as to clients by views, markups, diagrams, etc. It offers a very efficient and precise way to collaborate. Being direct and concise leads to less miscommunication and maximization of profits.

Cons

The missing feature of being able to sort file by file type. "Sorting by file type" is a built-in functionality in even the least sophisticated document management software packages. It is just a basic standard functionality which is provided across the board, something that design and construction professionals are used to. BIM 360 is advertised as "easily share plans, punchlists, submittals, take-offs, etc..." Those all come in different file format. The formats can be anything from .rvt's, .rfa's, .rte's, .dwg's, .dxf's, .xlsx's, .xlsm's, .docx's, .docm's, and the list goes on including different Adobe and Microsoft file formats. For large scale projects it is inevitable that all these file types get mixed up in a folder or folders. I think "sorting by file type" would be a valuable addition to this otherwise extremely helpful tool.

January 2017

Bryan from Gilbane Building Company

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Using BIM 360 app for iPad in the field

I used BIM 360 field quite extensively on my last project using the iPad. While working closely with Gilbane's in-house BIM team we were able to find many trade clashes before construction even began. I believe the BIM team used Revit to generate the original model but would then upload the most recent model into BIM 360 field. We chose BIM 360 Field simply for the user friendliness with the iPad. The tool that I used most often in the field was the dimensioning tool. This feature was used to confirm layout for various elements of the project since the trades shop drawings were generated from the original model. There were scenarios when, for example, a light was either touching or in extremely close proximity to a duct/ diffuser. In order to direct the correct trade to fix their layout mistake I would dimension from known measurements (Column or Gridline) to the element in question. If there was still uncertainty with the measurement we would use a tape measure to confirm measurements gathered from the model and shop drawings. I could then determine whether the location of the light or diffuser needed to be modified. After confirming layout using BIM 360 and the shop drawings an RCL (Rolling Completion List) item would be uploaded to Plangrid and the correct subcontractor assigned to repair the installation mistake. Really cool stuff! I also used BIM 360 to visualize certain elements or entire rooms of my project before trade contractors were even on site. This helped me be able to "build the project in my head" after studying the Construction 2-d drawings for many hours.

Pros

Ease of use and intuitive nature of the software.

Cons

Navigation through the model was tricky to learn but with some practice anyone can do it.

July 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Construction and Design Team Cloud Integration

BIM 360 allowed our team to have up to date structural, mechanical, electrical, and architectural Revit models all accessible from the cloud at any time. Uploading models can be done simply from your local Revit session. Non Revit users can see a preview of the model. Non-current models that have been uploaded remain on the cloud with the date they were uploaded, allowing for easy recovery in the event of model corruption. Overall, BIM 360 simplifies processes we were doing manually and simplifies project coordination.

Pros

BIM 360 simplifies the Revit model sharing process to the click of a button, allowing the internal design team, as well as consultants and client, to be sure they are looking at the most current building information at any given time.

Cons

It takes some buy in from the entire team to fully utilize the inherent features (similar to choosing to use Revit as a team) but once it's set in motion it provides some cool benefits.

April 2019

Simon from Beaubois

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Plangrid IS THE TOOL to coordinate jobsite and office

I don't even have paper copies of my project now ! All digital and functionnal for all parties within the company, from the jobsite to the office. All working with the same documents sharing information and feedback from both end. Jobsite to the office AND office to the jobsite. Way much easier to works now than it was 10 years ago ! ... at least for the drawings and communication aspect !

Pros

The unbelivable support provided by Plangrid. Easy to access and convenient and knowledgeable. The possibility of keeping the whole copy of project at one specific place allowing to review difference between multiple version easy and quick.

Cons

We would like to use more Plangrid regarding the custom made graph and template. We find it hard sometime to customized it. We normally end doing our own on the side. We would like to be able to use Plangrid at it fullpotential by having custom template (document to fill) easier to complete

July 2016

Brian from Carpenter Associates

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

My most used construction app.

For those familiar with standard user interfaces PlanGrid is very easy to pick up. It was recommended to me by the lead architect on our project and I'm very happy she did so. It was made immediately useful by allowing me to quickly upload my drawing set and begin making punch lists for the construction project I was overseeing.

Pros

One of my biggest time sinks is formatting reports so once I found out that this app formats them for you I was immediately hooked. The default format is very logical and simple to read and for that I am eternally grateful. No more messing with strange Word formatting procedure for this guy. The collection of photos and being able to mark them up instantly is wonderful. It is great for punch lists as well as cataloging existing conditions. Simply being able to note where the photo is taken is excellent. The myriad of additional mark up tools is fairly standard but very necessary and also well done. Without them this tool would not feel complete or flexible.

Cons

Initially it was difficult for me to find out how to download the remainder of my photos. They are kept in a folder on your device that I haven't found a quick way to get out without another app like Astro File Manager (another great app for those of you looking for better folder access). If there was an option to include a list of photos and there locations on the reports that would be very helpful for existing conditions. It's just slightly quicker that making punch list items for each photo taken. I haven't used the app for a few months since I've been on other projects so I apologize if this has been added.

January 2017

Dan from Clark Construction.com

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Progressive Design/Build

We have been using BIM360 Glue to review and collaborate as we work through design iterations. There have been multiple times where a design model is posted on BIM360 with content that is obsolete and needs to be removed. Since someone added the model(s) in question to a merged model, they cannot be deleted. It would be really nice to have an option to select the model and see a list of the merged model that that model is connected to.

Pros

The ability to use both Navisworks Manage tools as well as the BIM360 tools to review, share and collaborate on resolution options.

Cons

When we zoom out to see the entire project and the gridlines are turned on, it is hard to see the model.

August 2017

Mark from AECOM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Rich feature set & collaborative functionality makes this an excellent construction management tool.

I use it on all my job sites. It is a required tool for all construction projects in our division. I it allows me to quickly document field activities and issues as they come up and then have them automatically sent, along with photos and drawings, to the subcontractor who is responsible. This saves a tremendous amount of time each day and assures that the issue will not fall through the cracks. Having current documents in the field is a great time saver and often resolves questions without having to go back to the office to research a solution.

Pros

Gets owner, designer, construction team and subcontractors to share information and solve problems together quickly. Drawings are available and can be marked up and hyperlinked for quick access in the field. Daily site photos and issues can be tracked to closure with everyone "in the loop". All team members can see what is happening quickly using automatically generated daily and weekly reports.

Cons

Initial Location and equipment setup can take some time and requires some careful planning to make the program work its best. Ongoing drawing version maintenance requires a dedicated on-site administrator. Training of personnel must be done before day to day activities become overwealming or it will not be used effectively.

April 2019

Tim from Bouma

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Must have tool for Construction

Pros

I have used PlanGrid for the last five years. I started out as just a collaborator in the field, and now I am setting up and assisting with managing the projects that our company has on PlanGrid. PlanGrid continues to flow and keep up to date with the latest trends in the construction industry. Being able to house all construction documents needed to build a building is key and makes for much a much smoother run project. Overall, PlanGrid is a must for construction projects.

Cons

I have noticed that the older workers take longer to get used to the software and some will not use it because they really like being able to fold open the prints and look at them that way. I have been privileged to assist some of them with understanding how PlanGrid works and after some time they catch on.

January 2019

William from CESE Consulting

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

No Time to Access Files.

The product itself was desirable. But your communication and treatment of expiration was unacceptable.

Pros

It was an Autodesk based product. I could open deg files online with just a browser.

Cons

I signed up and assumed my subscription was good for a year. But because I had signed up in the middle of my Auto Cad subscription cycle, the BIM subscription ended earlier than one year. I had no way of knowing what was going on. When signing in, there was no warning that it was about to expire. Signing in afterwards didn't tell me it had expired. It just wouldn't let me access anything. If the expiration date happened to coincide with a vital client meeting, your hard line policy would have cost me a lot of money. No notice. No grace period. No explanation. No 30 to 90 day period of "read only" access (which is fairly common for cloud accounts--everyone but you). Nothing. A brief period of read only would have allowed me to sort out my unusual billing cycle and pay my bill. But you gave me nothing. Email is not enough. You send so much SPAM that I just sent all your emails to my spam folder. Then you're surprised that I didn't read it.

February 2017

Brian from Symmes Maini and McKee Associates

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

BIM360 Field Product Review by Brian Kendall

I use BIM360 for my commissioning projects and have found it to be very useful. For me, the best part of BIM360 is that its a project that contractors are already familiar with so it cuts down on the time typically spent explaining how to use our in house FTP site. Typically we take advantage of using the internal library where we are able to set up the folder structure to resemble our final report structure. This helps during the project closeout phase as all of the documentation we are required to assemble is located in the same place. We also use it for logging and tracking deficiencies discovered in the field during field observations and functional performance testing. We've been able to work with customer support to set up the proper structure setting up our corrective actuion report's. From the issue's page, contractors are able to log in and provide photo's & reponses to there noted item's making it quick and easy to verify the completion of each item.

Pros

I enjoy the file management section of the software as we structure our folder's to make the project closeout process more simple. Also the issues log has been more than helpful for tracking project deficiencies.

Cons

Unable to change the size of the company logo we added to input into the header of our corrective action logs, and sometimes when generating a report it cuts out some of the description text.

November 2018

Nate from The Christman Company

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

PlanGrid a True Companion of the Modern Builder

PlanGrid has transformed the organization of construction documents into an overall enjoyable experience. I cannot express how much I appreciate the ease of use and the ability to ensure that current documents are being utilized in the field to build from. In addition to the many available feature, the capacity to store multiple projects on my account is priceless. I cannot count how many times I have been able to respond to the requests of past clients in minutes no matter where I am. Finally the overlay feature, which I refer to as the "Equalizer" takes away the guessing game when it comes to seeing what really changed as drawing revisions are issued.

Pros

Functionality and ease of use. Having drawings at our fingertips and being able to quickly navigate a plan set via hyperlinks. Ability to annotate, post RFI's and submittal information.

Cons

Honestly, there is nothing that I don't like about this sofware.

January 2017

devin from Paric

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Powerful program, has room for improvement.

I'm using BIM 360 field and glue for the first time with a new employer after using a competitor for years. I have no complaints about 360 glue, it has been extremely beneficial to my project. I have the following comments for BIM 360 field for document control. With the competitors software I could do the following that I have not been able to do with BIM 360 - drag and drop one large file and the software automatically split up the pages. I have to spend an enormous amount of time manually separating each file, cross checking the file names, and uploading with each revision. - the previous software automatically hyperlinked each cut section, this was EXTREMELY beneficial - the previous software would "overlay" new versions of drawings so that we could flip back and forth from previous versions of drawings from an ipad in the field. - the previous software had a "drag and drop" option of inserting and hyperlinking RFIs and supplemental information in each drawing sheet, it would also auto transfer these links to revised versions of the drawing.

Pros

Convenient access to drawings in the field.

Cons

much more time consuming, does not auto-separate drawings, does not auto-hyperlink

August 2017

Jason from Smith Brothers Plumbing

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Have been using 360 Team and Collaborate and found it to be a great tool.

Pros

Flexibility to use wherever you are and the ability to share with others is a great benefit as it provides accessibility to others without the need to purchase software which they may not need or use every day.

Cons

1. BIM360 team does not have measure tool in 3D view. 2. Sheet views have text issues and also the pipework shown also in sheet view is blurry. 3. We have been useing glue but since autodesk have changed structure as to now being costed per used in lieu of previous project structure makes it inefficient as we have had priced at 10K for 2-20 users. Would like to use glue moving forward but see price increase is due to clash detection now being added to the cloud based glue features. We do our clash detection using navis manage and therefore do not need the clash detect within glue.

January 2017

Michael from Linbeck

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

From a Chevy to a Cadillac

I am currently on my second project as an Assistant Superintendent for a large general contractor. MY first project was very QAQC and inspection driven. On this first project, I used a rival program for the implementation of QAQC and owner punch lists. It quickly fell short to my needs in regard to ease of use, detail, and functionality. Now that project was finished and I have moved across the street to another large project on the same campus where BIM 360 was implemented for the beginning. It is like night and day. Even while having never used a program of this fashion before, I was able to immediately acclimate to its functions and navigation. The in depth detail and customization on the fly has made our pre inspections a breeze. The inclusion of pictures and the ability to provide notes from the sub contractors has eliminated both the need to track someone down and physically show them the issue and any confusion as to what the issue actually entails. Our team and subcontractors alike have bought in to the efficiency and value this program has brought to our project.

Pros

the versatility and customization

Cons

the need for the constant syncing back and forth between us and the subs.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 1,882 reviews