All eXo Platform Reviews

1-25 of 104 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Khothatso

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

The best solution for Employee Engagement.

PROS

eXo Platform offers everything you need when it comes to optimum team collaboration and communication. I like because it has everything you need in one solution, from document sharing to video and instant messaging, there is absolutely no better way to ensure workplace productivity than by using this platform. I can organize my work and share and exchange them with my team and we work well together using it, it really is amazing when you looking for a solution that offers employee engagement.

CONS

The interface is not exactly beginner friendly so It will help to be patient when first using it. Too many update notifications can be annoying.

User Profile

Ashleigh

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Marvelous software for all sorts of Collaboration.

PROS

Exo Platform is an outstanding software that provides an excellent platform for collaborating for our projects. It consists of powerful and effective tool that helps a lot in our business. It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic. This software gives best solutions for communication problems and provides good opportunity for easier and effective cooperation among the co-workers.

CONS

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible. In order to start video conference, it takes long time to understand the issues.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Simple approach for internal social media

PROS

Users will log on and just immediately know what to do - the look and feel is very similar to other social networks so it's very intuitive

CONS

There's a docker image which is easy to deploy, but if you do decide to go for a standard install, it can be a little tricky for beginners - experience in installing Linux based apps is recommended.

Divyang

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2015

eXo Platform - Suites for Social Collaboration,Crowd and intranet based application

eXo platform provides features that match requirement of social collaboration,intranet and cloud base application.I am working on eXo platform (1+ year) it is easy for portal customization functionality. It is easy for admin to define users with roles,permission and group management.

PROS

eXo platform provides features like calender for defining tasks,events and meetings with reminder functionality, chat application with video confrencing, Blog engine for writing blogs and sharing information, WebDAV support for sharing of documents.

CONS

In Older version of eXo platform some time it distorts UI and UX but after releasing new eXo platform 4.1 version they are fixed and lots of new functionality added.

Vendor Response

Glad we could fix your issues with the new version. Thanks!

Replied January 2015

Hasan

Verified reviewer

Program Development

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed June 2015

Great Social Network Platform

It's a great platform for collaboration and overall well developed application. It's very friendly to use and also easy to develop your own portlets into it. It surely helped our organization to be more productive and effective

User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Military

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Great way to interconnect. Very well put together.

I am able to save time at work

PROS

Love the UI. Big number of add-ons and features. Very reliable. It was very easy to use once I got the hang of it. A little intimidating at first but doesn't take long to get used to.

Jean

Verified reviewer

2-10 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed January 2015

Much more than a social platform

We started using eXo as a substitute for facebook's and Google's Social media platforms. What we ended up with is a much more feature rich way of doing business, interact and get things done. eXo proved to be the way of making people using social media tools to work better. Now we have the best of both worlds!

PROS

Easy to use interface with natural learning. All in one platform, including file sharing.

CONS

No cons, the installation requires a bit of understanding of linux (our preferred system), but otherwise just plain easy.

Vendor Response

No cons, yay! Thank you for the great review

Replied January 2015

√ Andre

Verified reviewer

2-10 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed January 2015

Great Software but hard to start

I tried eXo and it amazed me for all the features and things you can do to better organize you company. In spite of that, I found it very hard to start using it. The amount of things on the page that demand the attention made me open a few tabs just to catch up with everything. Also, I found it hard to understand and how to actually get started.

PROS

Incredible number of add-ons and features. Very good reliability.

CONS

Not fully translated, making some pages bilingual. Hard to get started as it delivers a great deal of its features right away.

Russ

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2015

Awesome!

I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

PROS

Easy to use, easy to install

CONS

Plugins/add-ons are limited and can be confusing.

Fabio

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed December 2014

Amazing Social Platform

Very well integrated social collaboration software. Easy to connect with people and contribute information. Platform is feature rich with wikis, social networking, content management and much more.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your posting of this review and for trying out eXo. looking forward to connect with you on our community site!

Replied December 2014

Òscar

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed November 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Vendor Response

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Replied December 2014

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

A digital collaboration software that builds a social niche

PROS

This platform’s got everything our team needs to build a collaboration and social network niche which can be implemented throughout the enterprise including active streams, authentication, and other features. And this is done without doing a single line of code. The interface portal is very convenient for promoting these functions to all teams and employees an is highly customizable.

CONS

It would great if they started rolling out more tutorials and training programs that could have helped us to understand how easy it was to perform certain functions. The program is easy to use, but customers do appreciate a little hand-holding especially at the start.

Anonymous

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect.

PROS

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect with your colleagues, you can organize and customize your own dashboard, choose existing gadget and add external one: essential when you need an overwall view of your work and colleagues activity!

Lan

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2015

An interesting and useful platform

In my point of view, eXo is a great solution for both social and portal service demand based on its various features. I must say that it just likes a combination of everything from intranet, social network to blog, wiki,... everything in one. Therefore, with eXo, maybe I dont have to think of any other website since it has covered all what I want and all what I need. However, yes, everything has two sides, perhaps due to such a rich diversity, its processing speed gets troubles and makes people feel uncomfortable when using. I thought that, eXo now should focus more on refactoring its platform so that it can serve customers better. Having many functions is not yet good, but a quick response at least never causes people get mad.

Loreto

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Nice software!

PROS

Exo Platform helps us to properly collaborate project or task.With this, the team can have different views to contribute in making project successful.

CONS

None at this time, Exo Platform has many functionalities to use.. its really helpful to us!

André

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2015

Great Software but hard to start

I tried eXo and it amazed me for all the features and things you can do to better organize you company. In spite of that, I found it very hard to start using it. The amount of things on the page that demand the attention made me open a few tabs just to catch up with everything. Also, I found it hard to understand and how to actually get started. Pros: Incredible number of add-ons and features. Very good reliability. Cons: Not fully translated, making some pages bilingual. Hard to get started as it delivers a great deal of its features right away.

Toni

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed November 2014

The only one Enterprise Social Network open source!

We are looking for an enterprise-ready social network for a long time and finally found eXo :) The Pros: It's open sourced so we extend it to our needs. Customer service is the best. The Cons: You will need J2EE experienced developers to customize the software if default features aren't sufficient.

Vendor Response

Hi Toni, We're glad you found what you needed with eXo! Thank you for your review. Cheers, The eXo Team

Replied December 2014

Chris

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Exo platform

PROS

Very easy platform to assist with team meetings

CONS

Does not work well with Apple software platforms

Digambar

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed February 2015

easy to use eXo

Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile.

Devang

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2018

Nice Tool

PROS

A good open source alternative for collaboration, members can use it network and do project management

CONS

it's costly and heavy to load, I tried the open source version on my local server and due to the tools used in development it loaded slowly. Also doing any customization is a pain

Daniel

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2015

The best so far

I have been using for company issues, and it has improved greatly our hability to solve problems and comunication!

PROS

Simple use, simple integration and beautiful looking.

Dietmar

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed December 2014

eXo Platform social business media

eXo is a combination of chat, wiki, document store and other powerful solutions. All in one wonderful platform. Helps you to keep in touch with your team and collegues, regardless where they are located.

Prasad

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed October 2015

Excellent - This is what we are looking for..

eXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation. Better document management facility for organisation with ease of access. Easy integration with real time application using SSO feature.. Really Awesone.

PROS

1. SSO Feature. 2. Chat. 3. Better document management feature.

CONS

Don't see any at my end.

Marco Marcello

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed September 2015

Evaluating alternatives

eXo Platform is really a userfriendly software, you only need a few hours to be familiarized with the different tools. I warmly recommend it for your organization!

PROS

Very Intuitive Good Look and feel Very complete integrated communications platform

CONS

I´d want to see more interactions, integrations, with things like CRM, HRMS, ...

Brian

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed November 2015

Exo Community Platform

Great product! Contains all the features we were looking for in a corporate intranet, and enables us to host internally. The exo communtiy has been incredibly helpful in troubleshooting and implementation advice.

PROS

Ability to host internally, open source code, great community.

CONS

Implementing SSO in the open source version is challenging.

Showing 1 - 25 of 104 Reviews