User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.65

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The GUI is user friendly and looks quite modern and slick. Generally the configuration is logical and easy to navigate."
  • icon"Web console is great for most of the options, it's fast and easy to use, even if you're not very experienced with networks."
  • icon"We were introduced to Watchguard by a consultant after years with a Cisco PIX/ASA. We love the intuitive user interface and the level of security that has been provided by the appliance."
  • icon"Configuration is a bit difficult. An example of this is connecting to one of the four available ethernet connections."
  • icon"I really don't have any cons for Watchguard other than it can be hard to configure all the features without their support team."

All Watchguard Firebox Reviews

1-23 of 23 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

¿ukasz

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Watchguard - decent UTM for your company.

Overall Watchguard Firebox is a really decent UTM, having all you acually need from such device.Definitly worth testing it out.

Pros

I've been testing Watchguard for 4-5 months. The UTM is working really good. It havn't noticed any lag or data overflow. Configuring it is also pretty intuitive as with most UTM's . VPN service working great too.

Cons

I think 6 months is not enought to tell anything bad about it. If i had to point something it would be some option's that are hard to find, and can be annoying.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

Our company uses the Watchguard UTM Firebox, and it is a beast of a firewall.

I feel very comfortable knowing our network and users are protected. Plus, I can easily modify the UTM with the help of Watchguard's support team should anything be needed.

Pros

Tons of features via its core offering but also through its additional subscription services like Gateway Antivirus, WebBlocker, Botnet Detection, and Intrusion Prevention Services. The traffic monitor is kind of intimidating but real-time and very searchable. I used a similar UTM before Watchguard and it did not have half the feature-set for tracking down issues with outside connectivity. We have had no attack issues since using the UTM. The support is very responsive and willing to take the time to address whatever the issue may be. I like this product a lot and feel very comfortable in its protection of our network.

Cons

I really don't have any cons for Watchguard other than it can be hard to configure all the features without their support team. There is a lot of information out there to do everything with this UTM but it is kind of tough to jump right in if you don't fully know what you're dealing with as far as firewall issues go.

User Profile

Louis

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

Basic UTM with Poor Manufacturers Support & Poor Reliability

WatchGuard is a leading vendor but lags behind its direct competitors, and it's reliability on the smaller range makes it questionable. However the pricing and basic feature set make it attractive to SMB's.

Pros

The GUI is user friendly and looks quite modern and slick. Generally the configuration is logical and easy to navigate. The pricing is generally cheap.

Cons

Reliability on hardware is poor, support isn't very helpful (e.g. they wont do a remote session to help), feature set is weak and generally the appliance lags behind its competitors.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Great small to medium size business firewall

Very good experience managing Watchguard Firebox Firewalls. Easy to set up office to office VPN. VPN client worked well once set up, but could be improved on macOS.

Pros

The GUI interface made it easy to set up and maintain the firewall, its policies, and VPN.

Cons

The VPN client could be improved, but very solid product.

Jason

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Great overall product for many applications

I have experienced relatively trouble free use of all their devices in the small to mid range. They provide great degrees of administration, control, security, and customer service and support.

Pros

Full in depth functionality is excellent. you can get as granular as you like for very deep control or general network use. It has great ability to create any kind of policy you want, and a crazy amount of other features for security and protection.

Cons

Tool tips and basic explanations on settings within the software would be very nice. there are so many options that it can get very complicated without much study and learning on the subject. for anyone who gets paid by time, this can be problematic. I do not care for the web interface and always use the System Manager Application.

Reasons for switching to Watchguard Firebox

lack of free software administration, and not very easy to use.

Jonathan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Excelente Firewall

Excelente experiencia se simplifico mucho la administración de los permisos a nivel de navegación, la administración de los aplicativos permitidos en la red así como la reducción de costos en la implementación de VPN site-to-site con las oficinas remotas.

Pros

Son equipos bastantes robustos y a la vez de fácil administración, el nivel de seguridad que brinda en la red es sorprendente, todos sus servicios son realmente buenos y fáciles de configurar. También su nivel de exposición a CVE es muy bajo con relación a otros dispositivos del mercado.

Cons

Hasta el momento no tengo nada negativo que pueda compartir, no he tenido ninguna complicación con los equipos, solo podría decir que se puede mejorar un poco el system manager y policy manager.

Stephanie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Watchguard Firebox Firewalls provide outstanding quality in an intuitive interface

The firebox provides the ability to establish the right balance of security and accessibility for my company's network. Since going with Watchguard we have had no incursions or viruses get through. No time wasted mitigating things that should have never happened. That's the value.

Pros

I love how easy it is to setup and how easy it is to manage. I love the alerts that help me get on top of things quickly and how the monitoring and reporting help me stay aware of how the network is running.

Cons

The Watchguar/NCP VPN client is a separately purchased item per-user

Reasons for choosing Watchguard Firebox

Watchguard provided the best value, though not the lowest price.

Moisés

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Reseña sobre Watchguard Firebox

Las ventajas que nos ha traído como empresa Watchguard Firebox han sido: que nos permite medir el ancho de banda consumido por los usuarios, visualizar los usuarios que se encuentran conectados mediante Vpn, validar el tráfico consumido por una ip o usuario en particular, entre otros.

Pros

Dentro de las funciones que considero más importante que posee la aplicación es la creación de las conexiones VPN, los Túneles, las diferentes políticas que se pueden crear a los distintos servicios, la reservación de ip.

Cons

La integración con los procesos ha servido de gran utilidad debido a que todos los servidores y las políticas de seguridad de red de la organización están configuradas en el Watchguard Firebox de la empresa.

Reasons for choosing Watchguard Firebox

Porque nos ofrece una amplia variedad de productos, tales como: Watchguard Authpoint, Watchguard Dimension, Watchguard Cloud, Threat Detection & Response - WatchGuard.

Lyle

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

Awesome Product

Helps keep our clients secure Support is great Dedicated experts to help come up with the right setup for more complicated scenarios

Pros

Helps protect our clients from malicious software/viruses. Easy to configure providing you are well versed in how routers work Training available as well as certifications Cloud managed devices The list goes on, great product!

Cons

Is a little pricey for the subscriptions for the security side of things, however there are a few tiers you can choose to cut back on the cost/security

User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2019

This product changed my vision of the firewall.

I have a UTM installed in my company as a main firewall

Pros

Its performance and functions are really amazing, in a single team I have been able to ensure the entire network.

Cons

As all security equipment maintaining active licensing is extremely important for additional functions, although firewall functions are maintained.

Reasons for choosing Watchguard Firebox

It is the best cost-benefit ratio

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Great appliance for SMBs, easy console and awesome support

One thing that needs to be mentioned is the exceptional support WG offers. The engineers are great and answer to the point, or offer remote help. Also their documentation is very well written and detailed. Software is great, console(s) do what they're supposed to and the hardware is pretty good as well. I highly recommend it to small-medium businesses.

Pros

Web console is great for most of the options, it's fast and easy to use, even if you're not very experienced with networks. It doesn't have all the features (or not as clear as through WSM) but it does the job very well. We use it for protection of 3 sites and BOVPN.

Cons

As said, the web console is sometimes leading you to issues, such as faulty firewall rules or endless searching of where the option you're looking for really is. WSM (older/desktop app console) works great, but it's kind of old. Other than that, nothing else wrong!

Cody

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

Great equipment and features for SMB

I have been using Watchguard firewalls for nearly a decade. Started with an x55e and have grown into an M370. Never had a problem with them.

Pros

A single UTM device and security subscriptions to protect your business at a great price.

Cons

You absolutely need a copy of the Log Message Catalog document from the Watchguard website to decipher the logs.

Reasons for choosing Watchguard Firebox

Price, inclusive security subscriptions and years of personal experience.

Simona

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

Ottimo firewall e VPN

Mi permette di lavorare in remoto su macchine dei miei clienti in sicurezza.

Pros

utilizzo giornalmente questo programma per collegarmi ai diversi server dei clienti in remoto. Molto stabile e sicuro.

Cons

L'unica "pecca" è che non permette di salvare o memorizzare diverse connessioni, questo sarebbe molto utile soprattutto se lavoro su diversi profili.

Adam

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

Best Darn Firewall We Have Ever Used

Pros

We were introduced to Watchguard by a consultant after years with a Cisco PIX/ASA. We love the intuitive user interface and the level of security that has been provided by the appliance. The proof is in the traffic monitor!

Cons

The interface may be a bit scary for a first time user of the appliance, however the Wizards can be extremely helpful.

Susan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

The WatchGuard is effective and easy to customize.

We were hit with the Crypto virus twice with our other firewall. This has given us complete protection.

Pros

Great intrusion prevention via IPS, URL filtering, Gateway AV, port restriction and APT blocker. Making entries for exceptions is fast and effective.

Luca

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5