All Club Automation Reviews

1-25 of 30 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Beth

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

The staff at Club Automation is second to none!

PROS

Club Automation has helped us advance in so many ways. Our fitness facility has nearly 10,000 members and this provides a fast, effective way to not only sign-up new members, but create a good environment for current members to utilize. We enjoy many features such as online sign-ups, electronic guest passes, automatic billing, and certain tracking features/reliable reports. This has helped our staff tremendously by helping them to cut their time spent on projects down. It allows them too have more time to spend on other areas of their work duties. Another huge benefit is the fact we can log in from any computer any time, any where without having to install actual software only available on a certain number of computers! I just asked some of my staff to tell me their favorite feature in five seconds. Here were their responses: 1. Capabilities of reports for many different circumstances whether it be corporate partners, payroll deductions, retention etc. 2. Ease of sign-ups for new members. 3. Family check ins. (When one family member scans his/her card, the rest of the family pops up on the screen and all you have to do is check the box next to their names to sign them all in!) Members love being able to log into their account online and update their billing information, sign up for classes, swim lessons etc. and print out payment history for work reimbursement plans. Club Automation has truly helped us take a step into the modern world of fitness software!

CONS

Club Automation is working on ways to incorporate certain features and making more customizable forms, such as additional required fields like t-shirt sizes and expediting certain updates such as reoccurring transaction features and showing certain details at check-in. Pro Rating billing is not optional with Club Automation, so that was new to us. Certain reports have great sorting features where others do not have the same capabilities. We are looking forward to these improvements being made and have confidence Club Automation will only continue to provide great service and excel in all of these areas just like they do in ALL other aspects of the software program.

Megan

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Thankful for Club Automation

PROS

Truly an all in one club management system that is easy for members and staff to use. I love that it automatically bills and withdraws payments and the booking feature for members is very helpful.

CONS

I wish there was online camp registration where we can choose what information we want to collect, what questions to ask and have parents complete it online while registration for a program (special needs, medications, allergies, ect)

Reason for choosing Club Automation

Club Automation was a full club management system, not just for camps.

Parker

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2024

DO NOT USE

Terrible, so so terrible. Nothing ever works. I have to call customer service every other day to fix an error with the software. Constant billing issues.

PROS

This one customer service rep was helpful one time

CONS

Everything. Super buggy software. Constant maintenance that takes days. Honestly my biggest life regret is using Club Automation

Reason for choosing Club Automation

Their sales representative, [sensitive content hidden] (who I can now recognize as a liar and scammer) was very good at his job and convinced us to use Club Automation.

Lauren

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

More Pros than Cons

Overall CA has been a good change at our business. We are still getting used to it here and we definitely have some suggestions on how to make it better, but we really loving the look of it and the user friendly aspect. I would recommend checking it out if you are looking to switch software's.

PROS

First of all, the look of it caught my eye and the fact that it is very user friendly! Our old system was outdated and was not very easy on the eyes. We also love that there is a CRM system built into the software that connects to the actual Club side. That makes it very appealing to us as a business. It is also great to be able to generate PDFs super easily!

CONS

This software could use some updates on a few things that we have had a hard time working through. CA would benefit from a texting feature for the CRM, better view of the schedule of each employee for the CRM, notifications when a new online form submission comes through for a new membership, way better ease of changing forms within the system (ex: Emailing Membership Link) , Being able to add a credit that does not just apply to dues, Better ease of sending mass emails to leads who have not yet joined for the CRM, Being able to easily separate and organize non-members / guests from current members. The CRM is not the best, so we would recommend ease of connecting an outside CRM system with CA.

Michael

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

Club Automation and Bass River Tennis Club - A great partnership

If a half star was available, I've give 4.5 to quality, ease and functionality. We have looked at a lot of platforms and Club Automation is clearly the best available. No question! Even in the places that I would like to see improvement, the customer service and support more than overcomes. They are fast to respond, work diligently to solve problems and don't just pay lip service to get back with answer. They do it!

PROS

It's a seamless product. From first check-in to billing and accounting, it's all right there. The customer service is above any vendor I've ever dealt with. The people behind Club Automation are what make the company so great!

CONS

The Communications Center is still a place that could be better. At least in the way we wish to use it. It is so close to being a total game changer in our business, but it is getting better. There have been some enhancements over the years and it's improving all the time.

Lynn

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Our Conversion to CA

We have decided to convert all 9 of our clubs because we like the software.

PROS

How user friendly it is. In our old software you had multiple steps for on function which made it very inefficient. Also, when we have contract changes, we can do it ourselves. Our old software required us to submit changes to them and it took months to get the changes made in the software. If we have recommended changes to CA they really listen to us and send to their back office team for consideration. They are very reactive to our industry. Our team finds most processes have saved them time.

CONS

It would be very helpful if other types of forms such as address changes, terminations, change of payment forms could be automated. Currently we have paper forms that are filled out and we have to upload. If CA had a way for these forms to be part of the system so the information can be within the system and signed online by the member.

John

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2021

Stay away from Club Automation at all costs. Pen and paper is a more reliable solution.

It took 6 month to on-board (which compared to Shapenet or ABC or Mind body is 3 x's as long) with several team re-shuffles. I spent 1000's of dollars having my team sit through redundant trainings only to run into obvious software break downs while the presenter was demonstrating how to use it. If you are even considering this software please give me a call and let me go into greater detail [SENSITIVE CONTENT]

PROS

They present a well rounded package with fluid tools and robust reporting. The exact opposite is true; the software is challenging to use, the reporting is confusing and incomplete with misleading data. the customer support is lost half the time and don't answer the phone the other half. Please don't use this software.

CONS

They lock you in to a 5 year contract so no matter how bad they perform you are on the hook. They have dozens of "known bugs" that you just have to deal with. thier PT and membership contracts are inflexible, they will randomly bill your members the wrong amount for no apparent reason. They will bill historically cancelled members that were dormant in your previous data but for some reason were reactivated by CA. DO NOT USE THIS SOFTWARE

Reason for choosing Club Automation

The presentation was better, I got swindled. Don't trust them

Reasons for switching to Club Automation

Because ABC decided to stop billing our members during Covid without our consent. We continued billing our (very well informed) members who were happy to pay if it meant keeping us in business. ABC decided that they knew better than us and halted billing. We had to jump through several hoops to get it turned back on.

Doug

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2022

CA was purchased by Daxko and many unresolved problems after the transition.

PROS

We use online court reservations, resources management and POS. We have been a user since 2013 and have been very happy with the services up until late 2021.

CONS

I did not like that our permissions have been changed substantially under the new [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and working on the third trouble ticket to hopefully get resolved. They keep closing the ticket saying resolved, but they must not test as the issues are still there. We cannot change a court reservation in the past. Building up a backlog of reservations adjustments and refunds that customers have been waiting for. Making us look sloppy to our customers.

User Profile

Bryan

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Pleasingly Professional

Very professional, very knowledgeable about the health club industry and the needs of operators.

PROS

Club Automation has lots of resources and options for tracking the cadence of your business. All of this would be useless if it weren't for the implementation team guiding us through the software's full potential. Top-class onboarding. We had a group of four Club Automation professionals guiding us through the process over a 3-month period. Very thorough!

CONS

I have not found any cons yet. Be aware that this is not a plug-and-play system that is just handed over to anyone willing to pay the price. Be ready for a group of professionals on task and on point to help you stick to your timeline. Clear some schedules and create some mental bandwidth within your organization.

Reason for choosing Club Automation

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] and his sales team gave some exceptional presentations and solutions that would help us achieve our long and short-term goals. It made the decision very easy for us if you are a health club operator I highly recommend ClubAutomation. Great partners!

Reasons for switching to Club Automation

We outgrew the system and needed a more hands-on partner that could help take our business to the next level.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words, Bryan!

Replied November 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Pretty Happy

No software does all things for all clubs and overall I am happy with our choice of Club Automation as it does many of the things we need.

PROS

Initially the customer service felt very personal and the process of switching from our old software was handled very well. I appreciate the regular updates to fix bugs and add features.

CONS

After switching customer service reps multiple times through our 18 months we’ve lost the feel that our rep really knows and understands us. I was looking forward to the customizable reports but it’s not always intuitive which one you should start with to get the report you need.

Mitch

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Perhaps the most frustrating software and customer support I've ever used.

There are several days when I would rather go back to a pencil-and-paper accounting system than use Club Automation.

PROS

The software has a good concept: that it can be used via the web from anywhere, automatically takes care of many processes that should make running a club easier.

CONS

The software is -extremely- buggy. This causes a lot of frustration for our members and reflects poorly on the club. Support is sub-par. Wait times when contacting support via the phone can be 30 minutes or more. Submitting tickets by e-mail is pretty useless--it takes weeks to get a response. The system appears to be a tennis court reservation system that kept experiencing feature bloat, and has now gone beyond it's designed capabilities. I have a degree in computer engineering and ran my own software company so I recognize many of the challenges they are going through, but it is an unacceptable customer experience.

Reason for choosing Club Automation

We didn't consider other products at the time. After 3 years of trying to make it work effectively, we are now considering other solutions.

Reasons for switching to Club Automation

They talked us into making the switch when CSI bought club automation.

Steve

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Implementation Disaster

I have been in hundreds of software, SaaS, and cloud services in corporate America. I can truly say this has been the most stressful and troubling implementation EVER! six months of poor customer service, unexpected charges, access issues

PROS

THe only good thing compared to ABC FInancial is it is truly web based. Other than that i would go back to ABC tomorrow

CONS

The data conversion the implementation the first billing the partners they use for CC processing and door access the ability to get local help for door access their customer support

Reason for choosing Club Automation

I was sold on the sales and marketing tactics of [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], which failed to deliver the results he promised in both oral and written presentations.

Reasons for switching to Club Automation

A supposedly better web based solution with slight cost savings

Sarah

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2024

Owners Beware!!!

It was terrible from the beginning and just continues to get worse every month. The fees they charge a small is terrible. We switched from ABC to CA thinking it was less expensive…. Boy were we wrong!!! Our fees literally doubled!!! We are pay over 10% of our income in CA fees!!!!!

PROS

This is the worst company. The Fees are Unbelievably High!!! They charge you $13 every time a members card is declined. They have a terrible Frankenstein product with terrible customer service.

CONS

The billing department for collecting your dues and through 3 different portals. Good luck trying to figure out delinquent accounts and over due payments. Kiss your profits goodbye

Reason for choosing Club Automation

They told us we would save money but unfortunately our fees were double

Reasons for switching to Club Automation

Save money and have an online sign up . We were swindled into believing it would be cheaper and save our company money

Jessica

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2021

Beware

PROS

Nothing. There have been no pros to using this software. We previously used ABC, which was by far a better solution.

CONS

Club Automation is denying our gym to transfer service away from their software company based on a contract we signed that was falsely presented. We were told we would have online gym sign up, management of our member charges and accurate information storage and billing. They have not followed through with any of this. In addition, they are unable to provide support for us when needed via the helpline, seemingly due to lack of staffing. Our gym has lost many members due to billing issues with Club Automation. Members have been charged inaccurate prices and the company replies that they have no idea why it’s happening. Members are also not charged at all. We’ve had to audit the entire member list multiple times and inaccurate billing continues. Additionally, we have lost hundreds of hours of our (gym owner) lives and our staff time trying to resolve software glitch issues with our member information storage, management, payroll and billing. We have respectfully requested to transfer our member management and billing software to another company that can provide us with what we need, and Club Automation is refusing this reasonable request. Buyer beware.

Annie

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Excellent software program!

We have been using CA since January 2013. It has grown with our needs. As any software, there are some things it does not do yet, such as P/L's but otherwise it is a great system. We are able to keep track of everything when it comes to my pros and to our clients! Customer Service is above and beyond and makes dealing with any issues that do happen to come up - easy to deal with!

PROS

The ease of keeping track of client's accounts and the ease of payroll.

CONS

There is still no report for p/l's for each class - I have to do that manually which takes quite a bit of time.

Rachel

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Still learning how to best use

We recently transitioned to Club Automation after using an outdated system for years. Overall the transition has been positive, but not without a fair share of step backs. We are learning as we go!

PROS

Love that you can do everything in one place: sign up for a group exercise class, register for programs, sell merchandise, book tennis lessons, etc.

CONS

We use Club Automation in conjunction with HubSpot. With the way things are set up, there is a slight delay in connecting accounts between the two softwares. This can be a bit confusing.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback, Rachel! We're happy to hear the transition has been positive.

Replied April 2019

Robin

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Club Automation

PROS

I love the ease of use and the capability that we have to go paper free. We are able to track everything in the system from camp registration, programs, membership, personal training, etc. I love the visibility that we have to track and stay on top of all scheduling for our trainers and massage therapy staff.

CONS

The only thing negative drawback about the software is that when you have multiple facilities on the software, you are only able to have one logo for all facilities and one address / name for all facilities, which makes it difficult for invoicing and contracts.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: