About HomeGauge

HomeGauge ONE is a one-stop-shop, providing everything you need to manage, market, and grow your home inspection business, under ONE roof.

No more juggling providers or platforms to manage all your business needs. You'll get:

Web Writer Desktop Writer Scheduler Dashboards (Buyer, Agent, & Inspector) Payments & Agreements Forms & Templates CRL (create request list) Websites, Content, SEO Extra Care (buyer benefits) Training & Support RV Inspections

Try us for $6.90/mo for 3 months!


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

485 Reviews of HomeGauge

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.66 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(346)

346

4 stars

(116)

116

3 stars

(18)

18

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 485 results

January 2021

Sean from A Superior Inspection

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Homegauge ROCKS!

Customer service is outstanding and the company is always updating & with improvements as recommendations are heard.

Pros

Lots of options for customization & software allows a very easy interface with the clients,agents & inspectors. Software is best home inspection Software out today!!!

Cons

Improve the Companion App to allow more cohesiveness between the desktop & tablet. I wish it was easier to navigate the report options to change comments & diagrams easily.

Reasons for Switching to HomeGauge

Changed company's & HomeGauge was SOOOOO MUCH BETTER!

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

My only choice and haven't looked back

It has been a wonderful ride as I've become more comfortable with the mobile application and customizing my systems to compliment the web based service. The web services are an additional cost, but you are absolutely missing our and even causing yourself massive headaches if you aren't integrating the web portal.

Pros

The ability to create a system that integrates everything from scheduling appointments, to the final product being presented to a client all on a web based portal. It makes communicating with the customer seamless and allows the to create repair lists off the report I have created. Ultimately, it make me look more professional because it offers such a clean interface for my customers to interact with my company and their reports.

Cons

Learning the actual reporting software took quite a bit of time. Auto-comments are difficult to figure out without a simple trial and error time. Using their video tutorials I'm sure would have made a world of difference, but I was limited on time when learning the program at the beginning as I was blessed to be busy enough I couldn't take all of them. Of those that I really needed to use to learn something, they were rather informative and usually led me to creating a solution.

Reasons for Choosing HomeGauge

I simply decided that I was going to try HomeGauge based off the recommendation of a very seasoned inspector that was my mentor at the beginning of my home inspection career.

October 2019

John from RV Inspector Pro

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2019

Nothing but a check list and difficult to use

Frustrating. Infuriating. Aggravating. Exasperating. I'm a computer geek. I can usually overcome most any software obstacle, if the software is even remotely functional. But every time I came up with a work-around for some HomeGauge limitation, 2 more would pop up. Their customer support is above average. But good customer support is not enough to overcome the many software limitations of the desktop version and the broken iPhone version. I ended up switching to iAuditor, which is a far superior product that surprisingly, costs much less. Do yourself a favor. Avoid HomeGauge like the plague. It's a time waster.

Pros

Hmmm… I sat here for two minutes, before writing this, just trying to think of something good to say about the HomeGauge software. But despite my best efforts, I can't think of anything I like about the software, itself. That said, I must complement the developer on providing above average technical support. Unfortunately their support is not enough to overcome the many missing or broken features in the HomeGauge software.

Cons

Wow! The list of issues with HomeGauge is long. 1) Windows only - won't run on Mac. 2) iPhone version crashes regularly. 3) It's nothing more than a glorified list - NO LOGIC. 4) Generated reports are hard to follow. 1) The desktop version is only available on the Windows operating system. If you use a Mac, you have to install Windows on your Mac. Surprisingly, I found that the app actually runs faster on my Mac than on a friend's PC. Go figure… But many of the features that Mac users take for granted are not available under windows. So it becomes a pain to use. 2) Although they offer a mobile version, the iPhone version is less than useless. My RV inspections take 6 to 8 hours and the iPhone version of HomeGauge would crash 3 to 8 times during an inspection. I would always lose at least the last question that I answered. But at times, I lost as many as 8 responses. Every time HomeGauge crashed on the iPhone, I would have to spend several minutes going back to figure out which questions I was going to have to answer again and then re-create those answers. Result: I lost any time that HomeGauge saved me. Really less than useless. 3) It's nothing more than a glorified list. There is NO LOGIC. Therefore the user must answer many unnecessary questions. If the RV has only 2 air conditioners, I shouldn't have to answer questions about 5 ACs. 4) The generated reports are difficult to follow (poorly structured) and only in PDF. There is no built-in color coding.

Reasons for Choosing HomeGauge

At the time I purchased HomeGauge, I knew nothing of other products. I chose HomeGauge because it was the software that was used in my certification training. I didn't switch *FROM* another product, but *TO* another product. After using it for a few months, I realized that there must be a better product out there and I began searching. I looked at Spectacular and iAuditor. Both were better than HomeGauge, but iAuditor stood out as being far superior to either HomeGauge or Spectacular. iAuditor actually has basic logic flow. It took me a couple of months to develop a functional 6,000+ line template from scratch, in iAuditor. The iAuditor template editor was easy to learn. I am now presented with only questions appropriate to the RV I'm inspecting, based upon prior answers. My inspections now go much, Much, MUCH faster, with iAuditor than with HomeGauge. Although I have had few reasons to use it, the iAuditor support team is the second best I have ever encountered - right behind AppleCare. Moreover, iAuditor doesn't crash on my iPhone, the way HomeGauge did. It also allows me to color code my reports, which makes them far easier to read and understand, than the confusing HomeGauge reports. I wish I had known about iAuditor, before I bought HomeGauge. It would have save a lot of headaches.

June 2021

Larry from Apollo Home Inspection

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Homegauge is an all in one platform

The reports are very well received by my client and they have complemented me on the detail. A lot of that has to do with how Homegauge will let you go above and beyond just a simple checklist with a few pictures. The other thing I would like to comment on is that I have always found HomeGauge customer service and tech support have always been very helpful when needed.

Pros

The reason I decided on Homegauge from the beginning was that it is set up as a checklist and makes sure that you have not missed an item before you send out the report. It also will let you add video and 360° pictures in the report which my clients really do like and complement me on.

Cons

It does seem the software platform is not as streamlined as some others and consequently report writing may be longer with homegauge. But to be fair this may be more attributed to my style of reporting in detail defects that I feel my clients hired me for.

Reasons for Choosing HomeGauge

I found that HomeGauge would not let you send out a report where you did not report on a system or component as either being inspected, in need of repair, or showing that you were not able to inspect. I note that there are other platforms out there that are more streamlined and certainly less expensive but in the long run you do get what you pay for and good software is important to build credibility and a good reputation in the industry.

February 2020

Robert from High Tech Inspections

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Easy to Use. Spend more time DOING Inspections

5-star experience. Pure and simple. Home Inspectors want support when they need it, but even more than that, they want to spend MORE time doing inspections instead of writing reports! With the Desktop HG app AND my mobile app with dictating capability. I have 90% of my report writing DONE while I am in the field doing the inspection. Bottom line: HG inspection software and their professional reports get me more business and make me more money!

Pros

Easy to use - intuitive. Despite HG's great training in the Asheville area and through videos, I was able to get up and running in minimal time. I love that they are constantly adding new capabilities that impact my business growth - like inspection videos!

Cons

I hated that HG took away the ability to add a Buyers Warranty with an Inspection report. That was another great value-add my clients liked. The integration (similar to the AirChek radon testing) was another differentiator I wish they did not remove.

Reasons for Choosing HomeGauge

Most comprehensive software, best UI, easy to use flexible report options. I could go on and on.

Reasons for Switching to HomeGauge

Two reasons: First, InspectVue required you to create all of your comments/narratives manually. The dynamic comment building capabilities of HG were a game-changer. Second, the ability to include videos in my reports (via web viewing) separated me from my competition. They say pictures are worth a thousand words, but videos of a leak, describing a defect of concern during the inspection (especially if your client cannot be with you DURING the inspection) is PRICELESS.