About Horizon

Horizon is home inspection software designed to help organizations streamline home inspection operations. It offers a host of features such as scheduling, report writing, Android and iPhone mobile applications, automated marketing and more. It allows users to generate custom inspection reports to gain insights into inspections and the performance of processes.


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

59 Reviews of Horizon

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.82 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(48)

48

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 59 results

April 2019

Kenny from Platinum Inspection Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Horizon will make you stand out

We operate as a team to do inspections. It allows us to each inspect different systems , it all uploads to the same report. It has helped us to be fast and effiscient. Less time report writing equals more time for Inspections and higher profit for your time spent.

Pros

Horizon produces an easy to understand report that looks great and makes you stand out. You can personalize and add your own items to make report writing much faster.

Cons

It doesn't have the ability for you to use videos unless you upload them to you tube.

Response from Carson, Dunlop & Associates

Replied April 2019

Hi Kenny, Thanks for the great review! We're happy to know that we could help your team save time writing reports and increase your profit earning potential!

October 2020

Mel from Cochran Home Inspection Services, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Great Reports

There are competitors in this market, but dollar for dollar, there is no better software to use for home inspections. And, their customer support and user training is second to none.

Pros

Horizon provides all the software needed to run my business. It is a stable, cloud based system with superior customer support.

Cons

Horizon is so customizable that there is very little not to like.

Reasons for Choosing Horizon

The other software providers and their products are good too, but none are better IMO than Horizon. When I have a question, or a problem, the team at Carson Dunlop is there to help.

Reasons for Switching to Horizon

Too many “technical” issues.

Response from Carson, Dunlop & Associates

Replied October 2020

Thank you for the high rating! We appreciate you choosing Horizon after your due diligence reviewing others in the industry. Thanks again!

March 2021

Tom from Real Estate

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

A well structured format

Great people, great format, fun to use.

Pros

Its completely customizable from keeping sections open you use a lot, adding your default notes, arranging the order your canned comments are in for easy use, pictures are removed and stored at a different location after use so you don't have to sift through them again unless you need them, customers love the systems informational guide at the end of the report. The customer support is the best by far from anything i have ever seen. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is the team that has guided me, a not so computer savvy person with more kind patients that could be expected. With all of the communication along the way I feel like we are friends. Horizon is a team of passionate people that love their jobs as much as we do. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is all meat and potatoes, direct to the point, love it. Great job [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and team.

Cons

The educational videos are easy to understand and there's a ton of continued education in report righting.

Reasons for Switching to Horizon

The sky is the limit on the amount of information you want to provide to your client.

Response from Carson, Dunlop & Associates

Replied April 2021

Thanks again Tom for sharing your experience using Horizon and working with the service team.

March 2017

Doug from Mr Inspector

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Great check list software, but fails to allow for a library of specific narrative

I feel a need to describe specific issues of the inspection with narrative comments, and although 'Horizon' allows you to view the last comment, it has no allowance for reference to a library of past related comments that I have made, which I could reference to a current situation. Horizon refers to a vast theory data base but doesn't allow for me to describe specifically the clients situation in my own words unless I type them in each report....which I feel is necessary in giving them a 'client specific' inspection report. I prefer a narrative based report and being able to refer to my past comments, rather than a checklist report.

Pros

The interactive nature of the reporting, scheduling , billing etc

Cons

I have to type my 'client specific' comments each time they may be required instead of being able to reference each one and tweaking them to my specific report needs. I understand that one can refer to the last comment, but I don't think you can scan a library of comments for quick reference to one that meets ones specific needs.

Response from Carson, Dunlop & Associates

Replied August 2017

Hello Doug, We appreciate your feedback and trial of Horizon Inspection Software. Horizon comes loaded with over 6000 comments ready for Home Inspectors to use out of the box. Horizon lets you easily add custom comments on the fly to build your narrative library. Use our Power Search and SpeedWrite features to save time reporting. We'd be happy to arrange a free demonstration or help with your specific needs at carsondunlop.com or 800 268 7070 ext. 243

September 2020

Jeff from Home Probe

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

In all these years Horizon keeps adapting and has never let us down

My overall experience with horizon over the last 10 years or so has been exceptional. I know what to expect and they never disappoint.

Pros

Horizon has always stayed current with industry changes and trends. They seem to pride themselves of staying ahead of the ever changing demands of the consumer and software world and go to great lengths to make sure they stay competitive in the constant evolution of software while making the sometimes significant changes almost seamless to the existing user base. A very delicate dance I'm sure.

Cons

A little more flexibility in the data capture would be ideal.

Reasons for Switching to Horizon

I wanted office management integration to accompany our home inspection software. Palm-Tech had a good option for office management and stopped supporting it understandably.

Response from Carson, Dunlop & Associates

Replied October 2020

We appreciate hearing your experience and feedback Jeff. It's always great working with you, watching and helping your Team Grow to more than 14 inspectors!