info:HR

info:HR Reviews

RATING:

4.06

(36)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.06

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"I like the self-service module. The employees like it and it has saved administrative time and effort."
  • icon"I like the ease of use with its logical/intuitive navigation. Additionally, HR System Strategies provides great Customer service."
  • icon"I love that I can call the customer rep if I have a question/issue and she is always there to support me. This program was so easy when we had a Ministry of Labour Health and Safety inspection."
  • icon"ESS module sometimes suffers with adequate communication and while the information still submits it could be more timely."
  • icon"The physical appearance and some of the functions are outdated. The customization to suit our organization would be costly."
  • icon"Sometimes we run into problems when we are trying to make the software work for our unique workplace."

Have you used info:HR and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All info:HR Reviews

1-25 of 36 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kimberley

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2017

Excellent software, tech support and client support. Great training.

Pros

Cost-effective for not-for-profit organizations; easy to use; tech and training support are excellent

Cons

Always have to log out and log back in to change from module to module (i.e staff have to log in to ESS to enter time off requests then log out of ESS and log in to Timesheet module to process timesheets) No option to set up employees on teams with the ability to view a team calendar that shows time off requests submitted, in progress and approved - this feature would make vacation and other time off planning much easier for departments.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for your review. We are looking into the feasibility of combining all navigation options under a single login to avoid what you describe. It won't make it into the next release, but maybe later in '18. There is a good workaround for the team calendar situation you mention - we'll contact you to discuss it further.

Replied February 2018

Sandra

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

We have been using Info:HR for over 12 years. It does everything we need it to do and is easy to use

Pros

Everything I need in an HRIS system. Easy to use. Excellent attendance management features, allows you to create accurate accruals. Excellent support from service representative. Walked me through my year end to ensure all accruals were zeroed out and new ones created properly and accurately

Cons

Can't create your own reports. The continuing education section can be improved. Our reports are very messy and hard to pull up accurate information due to way too many options. Probably our fault, as each user enters information differently. CSV reports aren't always very clean.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for your comments. If you log in to the client section of our web site, you can download the data dictionary and then, with the help of your IT group, you can create your own reports by extracting data directly from the info:HR database. Most clients feel our continuing education section is one of our strongest; we'll contact you separately to discuss the functionality you're looking for.

Replied January 2018

Helen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2017

After comprehensive training, we are independently using software with occasional help.

Ability to pull reports Ability to keep our HR information electronically Ability to look at our organization's HR in a systematic way Ability to complete and approve of electronic timesheets

Pros

I like that it gives us an organizational snapshot of our HR, and that we can print reports when we need them. There are other capabilities that this software allows us to perform, such as electronic timesheets. This way, we can keep all of our attendance records in one place and cull reports if needed, on what would have been an impossible task.

Cons

Unfortunately, after getting this software and our comprehensive training sessions, for the most part, we are left to navigate the murky waters of updates and errors on our own. There are times wherein a call to support would lead to a roundabout of being pass around from support person to support person, but then there are times when we would get pretty direct help as well, so the customer support is a hit or miss. Usually the misses involve more IT-related issues. I wish there were more notifications about new features and how to use them instead of relying the customer to read the update documentation (which we have to find ourselves, I guess)? Furthermore, because the headquarters is in Toronto, we can't get support after 3PM or so, even though we may have problems later than that. That is quite frustrating. The software is also not very intuitive at times. The language used to describe things can be confusing, and on the web version, you have to sign out to use each module. I wish there was a way you could just navigate from one module to another.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for your review. When you call in to our support line you are connected with someone who is well-versed in the functioning of info:HR. If the discussion leads to a more technical topic (e.g. some issue with the operation of the system or its interaction with your IT environment), then you'll typically get transferred to our 2nd-level support group, who have a more technical background. So, you may end up dealing with more than one person, depending on the question you have. If you log in to the client page of our web site you'll find a Current Release document, which details the changes of the most recent release. We also hold a free "new features" webinar shortly after each new release, which all clients are welcome to attend.

Replied February 2018

Heather

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

I use this system every day & it is easy to use. It is also easy to explain to other how to use it

Human Resources & Managers in other sites have access to the same information in one location. Easy to use and find information.

Pros

The things I like most about this software are that it is: easy to use, understand, show people how to use, and import documents. The import documents feature eliminated managers in other site from keeping duplicate paper copies.

Cons

The Employee Demographic screen is not split into tabs (Personal, Organizational, Misc.). I wish all of this information was on one screen but understand why you could have made this change.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for posting. We used to display all the demographic information on one screen, but it just became too cluttered, so we felt it would be much more readable if we split it across three tabs.

Replied January 2018

Dorrie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

the software has alot to offer and we've only scratched the surface on some of the components

Level amount of employee detail that can be stored in the software. The ability to export employee data to microsoft excel & word. Interfaces with our payroll system

Pros

it interfaces with our payroll software not only employee data but attendance also (once we get through the testing of the mapped information)

Cons

not being able to customize and create our own reports; picking and choosing different components of the software to reflect in one report. Restricted to what is offered by the software

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for commenting. We have created data dictionaries to make it easier for anyone familiar with off-the-shelf query/reporting tools to navigate our database. You can download the dictionaries from the client portion of our web site.

Replied February 2018

Robin

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Software great for our purposes, staff friendly and available when needed.

Biggest benefit = employee self service. Saves a TON of time and aggravation to our human resources team.

Pros

ESS - user friendly. Staff consider making changes to software based on input from users. Any glitches with the system are dealt with quickly.

Cons

Reports could be more flexible, allowing for longer periods of time for data capture. More reports available to staff in ESS.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for commenting. We will be releasing one or two new versions of ESS in '18, the first in late winter / early spring (there's a brief description of the next release in the December newsletter) with more to come after that. Don't forget the mobile version of ESS, it ships automatically with the standard version.

Replied February 2018

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2018

Review INFO:hr

We use this to track several HR statistics. I use the reporting continuously, specifically 3 times per year for reports to our Board members. Administratively, it is a fairly easy system. However, it is a simple system therefore, not having a tonne of options. Maybe we are growing and are growing out of INFO:hr.

Pros

Simple to use - Self serve functions - The reporting works fairly well.

Cons

Limited functions - Limited reporting When uploading reports from INFO:hr to Excel for instance, we must always modify the formating. The column headings, and rows do not allign.

Rosemary

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

I've seen many HRIS products but nothing compares to INFO:HR. Have been using it since 1995

Pros

The ease of use and the numerous reports that are available. Also, the support-line at HR Strategies is superb.

Cons

Wish it had an integrated scheduling and payroll product. We have a separate Scheduling and separate in-house Payroll product so too much double/triple entries.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for commenting. We have implemented integrations for many different payroll and scheduling systems,so there is a very good possibility that we can reduce that extra data entry you refer to. We'll be in touch with you separately to discuss the feasibility.

Replied January 2018

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2018

Good HRIS for The Money

Pros

- cost effective - comprehensive offerings - some ability to customize - Canadian - the people you are talking to get what Canadian based HR professionals and companies need to track and report on

Cons

- their customer service and technical support staff seem to have too much on the go. While they are still responsive it is not as timely in some cases as it was years ago - ESS module sometimes suffers with adequate communication and while the information still submits it could be more timely - the look and feel of the software isn't as modern as some others available on the market and this can be a challenge with employees who are encouraged to use the software

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

October 2017

I haven't found the software overly comprehensive, although have been able to figure it out.

Pros

The ESS (Employee Self Service) module is very helpful. This allows all staff to have access to their own information, they can update their information and submit time off requests.

Cons

Finding information and running specific reports in InfoHR hasn't been overly comprehensive. I have struggled to run the specific reports that I need, when I need them. I normally figure it out, although it just doesn't seem very straight forward in comparison to systems I've used in the past.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for taking the time to post. Don't hesitate to call our support line to ask about any reports you need to produce; there are about 250 templates so our support group can point you to the ones that will do the best job for you. And, we run monthly seminars for clients on a variety of topics within the system. Attendance is free, and they may give you ideas of using parts of the system you haven't been exposed to yet.

Replied February 2018

Katelyn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Excellent support and good working product.

For what it is - a complex employee database - it does an excellent job for us without a lot of expensive froo-froo. It has a basic look to it but that doesn't hinder its usefulness or logical flow of modules. I am always learning new features to use and trying to implement what I can to make our lives easier. I like that they are open to suggestions when we have them and are always progressing.

Pros

I like the logical flow of the software when using it. It just makes sense to me and this helps a lot for every day use. I also like that updates are ongoing and they are constantly looking for and making improvements.

Cons

There are many features that we don't use... there are a couple things that I still haven't quite mastered yet but that will come with time. Sometimes we run into problems when we are trying to make the software work for our unique workplace. However, we always get excellent help figuring out a solution (if available).

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for reviewing. There will be a new version of the software out in early '18 with a number of new functions - there's an article about that in the December '17 newsletter.

Replied January 2018

Lorena

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

I have used InfoHR for over 10 years now and my experience has always been very positive.

Very easy to use, ability to track information well for our corporate needs and able to grow with our needs as well.

Pros

The software provides features that are simple to use and maintain, as it pertains to employee information, tracking attendance managing timesheets. Customer service is always knowledgeable and ready to provide resolution to issues.

Cons

I wish the integration with our payroll software would be smoother but we are in the implementation phase so it may take some time to adjust to this new process.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for taking the time to post. Every payroll integration module we implement requires configuration to ensure that the correct data selections and transformations take place so as to conform to exactly what you want transferred from info:HR to your particular payroll system - that adds a bit more time to the implementation process but, once completed, results in the greatest degree of automation.

Replied January 2018

Suzette

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2017

The training is great and in depth and this program is very detailed.

This program has many more capabilities than our former program, which means less programs to track all of the various information that Info HR tracks.

Pros

I like that there are many reporting options for the various data that we enter into the Info HR program and it fairly user friendly.

Cons

I find that entering in different training events takes more time than our former program but the ability to run more types of reports within this data makes it better in the long run.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for reviewing. Our Continuing Education section is quite comprehensive with the level of detail you can collect, with the upside that you then have a great deal of flexibility in what you can report on. We have quite a few clients that need that level of detail to satisfy their regulatory reporting requirements.

Replied February 2018

Susan

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

We have been pleased with infoHR and its functionality. Very cost effective.

Ability to customize and run reports. Being able to view attachments.

Pros

Ease of use. We have rolled out to our management group and they are using the system regularly as well.

Cons

Difficult to get point in time snapshots. Security module is complicated, even though we have implemented role based security. InfoHR could improve their on-site training support and promote this as an opportunity.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for your comments. Almost all reports offer date range selection, and there is a new employee roster point-in-time report coming out in the next release that might provide the functionality you are looking for. As for on-site training, we are always available, subject to scheduling.

Replied February 2018

Donna

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Customer Service is exceptional!!!

Reduced duplication and increased efficiency.

Pros

Ease of use. Just the right amount of product, not too showy or overwhelming.

Cons

Some compatibility issues at first but customer service to make this work overshadowed any challenges.

Response from HR Systems Strategies

Thanks for taking the time to post. We appreciate the comments about our support group; we make it a priority to be available and accessible to our clients.

Replied January 2018

Olga

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE