What are SmartSearch users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using SmartSearch software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.63

46 Reviews

5
32
4
11
3
3
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Easy to use, lots of functionalities and the SmartSearch team has been great about customizing features for us."
  • icon"The customer service, from sales to tech support has been terrific; especially when it came to dealing with customization issues."
  • icon"Easy to learn, super inclusive functionality, fast pager turns, easy to configure - very strong website integration / highly functional Career Center."
  • icon"If using SmartSearch as the company's Career Page be advised it is very ugly. The font of the req job fields are in Times Roman, size 14."
  • icon"It is very hard to navigate back and forth throughout the application and it is impossible to open anything in a new tab for side by side windows."
  • icon"In recent releases, SmartSearch has addresses their known weaknesses."

Jump to:

Browse all SmartSearch Reviews

  • Have you used SmartSearch and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 46 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 46 reviews

Dan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

SmartSearch - the right choice for us

Very good.

Pros

Process oriented. Can be customized. The reporting. Easy to upload attached documents with ability to upload multiple docs to a record at the same time. Email forms.

Cons

Long learning curve. Everything else is OK.

Reasons for choosing SmartSearch

I don't recall all the systems, but my team compared 17. It came down to Bullhorn and SmartSearch. SmartSearch had 90% of the benefits for half the price. No brainer!

Reasons for switching to SmartSearch

We wanted a state-of-the-art ATS without spending a fortune. We compared SEVENTEEN comparable products in 2018. It took months! We found a complete package that is a great value for the investment.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thank you for the review, Dan. Wow, 17 comparisons! We're so glad we see the benefits of the SmartSearch software.

Replied November 2020

Scott

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Customer Since 1986

SmartSearch is a good tool that has become a critical element of our operation. They have been responsive to our requests for improvements and additional features. The software is good in managing many of our most significant business functions. Over the years we've been doing business, I've found the people at SmartSearch to be good people who genuinely want to help their customers thrive. This customer focus shows up in their software.

Pros

This software is the backbone of our customer fulfillment and customer management efforts. As a key tool in our daily work, SmartSearch is invaluable in the work we do. SmartSearch is flexible in its configuration. There are many qualities, many features that make SmartSearch a valuable tool for us. At the macro level, I believe what SmartSearch brings to our operation is efficiency.

Cons

No product exists that cannot be improved. So this is about improving on the foundation of an excellent tool. This is true with SmartSearch. I believe the CRM function could be improved. Additional integration with sourcing tools, and better integration with VMS tools/platforms.

Reasons for choosing SmartSearch

Features, price, and support. They have excellent support.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thank you, Scott! As a long-standing client, your opinion of SmartSearch is very important to us.

Replied November 2020

Dannielle

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

SmartSearch Review June 2017

SmartSearch is a decent product but is expensive.

Pros

1) Good customer service 2) Decent reporting tools 3) Auto posts to free and paid Job Boards - which is a great time saver. We post to Indeed, Glassdoor, Monster and Dice with just a one click for each job board. 4) BPM (Business Process Management) = automated req approval emails to the the approval chain. We have the approval chain set-up as Recruiting Department - Compensation Analysis - CEO. Once the hiring manager opens the Req - SmartSearch emails Recruiting for approval with a link to the job. Recruiting reviews the job and hits the "Approved" button. The process is then repeated unto CEO approves. Once the CEO approves, then the job auto-posts itself to free and paid sites. 5) Easy to use and customize reports and Req Fields. 6) Can build data pipes and integrate with ADP so candidate information flows in to ADP Workforce 7) SmartSearch can integrate with a company's web-site and be the back-end of the "Career" page. 8) Nice WIP (Work in Progress) side ribbon where at a glance shows #open reqs, pending approval, submittals & interviews that are taking place.

Cons

1) SmartSearch is expensive. 2) If using SmartSearch as the company's Career Page be advised it is very ugly. The font of the req job fields are in Times Roman, size 14. 3) No auto capture of emails to candidates. Everything requires a manual copy and paste.

Amy

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Best ATS on market

I've used SS for several years--and every couple of years we go out searching and do demos for other ATS and none can ever compare in the the three major categories: Function, Features and Price. The customer service and training is spectacular.

Pros

Ability to search across all job boards from single screen Ability to post across multiple job boards from single entry quick look ups for linked in profiles ability to schedule posts and notices to social networks fast and accurate parsing of search results

Cons

A little clunky on user interface so new users have some challenges but overall very simple

Reasons for choosing SmartSearch

none of the others offered ability to search across all job boards from one screen none of the others offered ability to separate modules needed (we don't use the onboarding piece) none of the others could match pricing i have a spread sheet if you want to see it...

Reasons for switching to SmartSearch

Pricing and functionality for our needs

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thank you for the kind review, Amy. We appreciate your partnership.

Replied October 2020

Garrett

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

10+ years I have used SmartSearch

If you need a great applicant tracking system that was built for applicant tracking and candidate rating/search, plus some limited accounting capabilities and online timecards that upload to accounting software, this is a great system. If you need a full GL accounting system and not so much an applicant tracking system, this isn't for you.

Pros

Highly customize-able, versatile, EEOC compliance built in, job portal, some limited accounting capabilities too. Personable staff, most with long-tenure. Responsive to needs and even suggestions to incorporate into their core product at no cost. One of the largest 2 staffing firms in the world wanted to buy them multiple times. You can easily set up automated tasks at any step of the hiring process, which is awesome to help control how your staff uses the system and to ensure that they don't forget important things for their customers. I've used their system for over 10 years and I've never even thought of leaving due to need for something they don't have. And I'm a bit of a perfectionist.

Cons

Some reporting needs are difficult to achieve on your own with their built in reports. It's almost like both too many options and some important options aren't there. But they are generally willing to help pull the information for you from the back-end.

Renee

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Excellent ATS/CRM and service provided!

Rail Personnel has been using Smartsearch since 2006 and we have always been happy with the system and service provided.

Pros

Smartsearch as an ATS/CRM has always been a powerful and fast system for conducting candidate searches, managing our recruitment activities and allowing candidates to update their own information via the Candidate Career Centre. The Smartsearch Support Team make every endeavor to assist their customers by responding promptly to any emails sent to support@aps2k.com to confirm receipt of the request, ask any follow up questions and ultimately resolve the issues. Also, for urgent requests, they make every effort to assist after hours and have been available to conduct Skype Calls and Goto Meetings to resolve any issues.

Cons

We have been using Smartsearch for 10+ years and we cannot list any cons at this time.

DAVID

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Solid ATS Package

We have used SmartSearch since 1996, and have used some form of the product ever since. Technical support has always been outstanding. Training has been great. We really could not have asked for a better business partner. We have been approached by numerous vendors for years with different ATS packages and none made us consider moving away from SmartSearch.

Pros

Solid reliable product. Company is always working to add features and update the product to keep up with the changing requirements of the staffing world. Like the overall interface. The dashboard is customizable and really let's you look at the key indicators you want to see. The search capabilities are second to none. The basic system is fairly intuitive so bringing on new recruiters and getting them up to speed is not a big issue.

Cons

Some of the features and reporting are not what we need and the report designer is not user friendly.

Jack

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Owner ITech Recruiting LLC

I've used several other talent/recruiting systems, both vendor supplied and custom built and this is the best one I've seen.

Pros

Very easy to learn; functions are intuitive; excellent support; easy to get tech support people on the phone, including the CTO; very responsive to suggestions for enhancements and tweaks; good problem tracking capability; always enhancing and improving.

Cons

Could do a better job of communicating functional changes. Also, I use a very small percentage of the functionality so a mini version with less on the screens would probably work for me. And since it has a lot of formatting and customizing features, perhaps that is even currently possible but I haven't brought up the issue, but now that I thought of it i will do so.

Thomas

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

The Daily User

Applicant tracking, job order entry and tracking, client management, CRM functionality, database management of the business.

Pros

SmartSearch enables us to track all applicants and clients for daily use. We use the fax and document signing functions as well. Has CRM functionality and VMS/RPO functionality as well.

Cons

User interface is old and when presenting on a screen the user interface is so small it is difficult to see without navigating to a particular place in the user interface and manually enlarge the screen.

Reasons for choosing SmartSearch

Better value for the investment at that time.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thanks for the review Tom! We upgraded the UI in August of 2020 to make the system faster and easier to use than ever.

Replied February 2020

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Easy to use!

Pros

The text messaging feature is great! It makes it easier to get a hold of candidates, seeing how most people prefer to text these days.

Cons

It needs an easier way to find "duplicate" records in the system. When searching for a common name in the system, it could come up with hundreds of records. If I only have a name and no other information, this system makes it hard to identify the right one.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thanks for your review. Enhancements have been made to the system to improve the intuitive functionality of the software making it easier to eliminate duplicate records.

Replied April 2018

Kristi

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

20 Years With SmartSearch

We have been SmartSearch customers for 20 years. We have built our business around this software and we use it to manage almost everything. Approximately a year ago, we decided to leave and try another ATS. We were back with SmartSearch in less than a month! This product does everything you need to manage candidates, clients, job orders, and marketing. We highly recommend it!

Pros

It is very user friendly. It does everything we need it to do and then some. The SmartSearch support team is fantastic! They have met almost every need we have ever had.

Cons

I don't have complaints about the software. It is capable of doing so much, that the only downside is I don't know how to fully use everything it offers.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thank you, Kristi. We appreciate the review!

Replied October 2020

Jesse

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Best Customer Service in the Industry

SmartSearch is designed with the recruiter in mind. While reporting and process compliance are important (and the tool does this very well) in my mind the most important function is to help you find more candidates faster and manage your relationships, which SmartSearch does wonderfully. And the customer service is hands-down the best I have experienced across all the ATS/CRM platforms I have worked with.

Pros

Very flexible and customizable Excellent customer service Designed around how a recruiter thinks and needs to use the tool

Cons

Really the only negative for me is that the tool is so flexible it can become overwhelming on what you can do with it. This is ultimately a good thing, but you need to invest your time to understand the capabilities and how you can use them all.

Leigh

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

November 2008

SmartSearch receives my highest recommendation. It is, quite simply, the best tool on the market.

SmartSearch receives my highest recommendation. It is, quite simply, the best tool on the market. It assists us in every area of our business, from applicant and job order tracking to customer relationship management to online time and subvendor management. The APS team and their SmartSearch product have earned our loyalty.

Pros

SmartSearch has a great "out of the box" product and provides enough customization capabilities to keep our users and customers happy. It's easy to use and our team members love it. The search speed is unsurpassed. We use it for both technical resume word searches and clerical and light industrial application searches, and it provides us with information very quickly. The only limitation to its speed is the traffic on the Internet. SmartSearch is reliable. The system is always "up," and our data is secure. We have brough multiple divisions on the system, and the data migrations have gone off without a proverbial hitch. When I email or call the support team, they find answers. In addition, they listen when we request improvements and incorporate our needs into future releases. In addition, we appreciate that SmartSearch has maintained their focus on the staffing industry. Many competitive products have come and gone, but SmartSearch is still here doing a great job.

Cons

In recent releases, SmartSearch has addresses their known weaknesses. They have provided an ad-hoc reporting function which has assisted us in generating customized customer-specific reports in a timely manner. They also now provided training content which was not available in previous releases.

Mary Ellen

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

June 2012

Smartsearch, the logical choice--again and again.

I've been in the position several times at different companies where I've had to select applicant tracking software, based on fit. Each time, I review the marketplace to see what is available, investigate the top contenders, match features to cost and every single time, Smartsearch has been the choice. I've been the implementation project sponsor and managed the adoption process. Note: It is ALWAYS easier to manage change among professionals if there is a quality solution that positively impacts efficiency attached. Smartsearch is that solution. I'm excited to recommend the software and the team behind/beside it. Feel free to reach out to me personally at Mary Ellen Mesi on linkedin with any specific questions you may have or detail you'd like. I am a raving fan, for sure.

Pros

Reasons I keep coming back to Smartsearch include excellent support from the top down, quick response when there is a question, capabilities that far exceed any other tool in its class, cost that is reasonable and the ability to customize easily--increasing the user's reach and effectiveness while maintaining a personal touch. The staff is quick to respond to helpdesk tickets, the programmers are open to suggestions and the upgrade schedule is quite aggressive--they are always adding new features, the latest including social network tie-ins.

Cons

The new apps for iPhone and Droid are lacking slightly in the Smartsearch 'sizzle' that comes with the standard on-line version, but I'm certain that improvements will be on the way. Also, the Outlook toolbar, which is a solid add-in was designed specifically for PC's, so Mac users are out of luck with that one feature.

Tom

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

I have used SnartSearch for more thsnn10 years

As CEO of a division of a large staffing company I have seen everything available at one time or another. SmartSearch out performs them all at a very reasonable price without months, or years, of extensive installation processes, training issues, inflexible demands and delays.

Pros

I have used SmartSearch in over 100 locations with minimal training requirements and ease of use. The staff and principals are accessabke and willing to deliver solutions. The updates are always timely and keeps the program state of the art. I have investigated more costly competitors and found all unsatisfactory and less capable.

Katie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Great overall applicant tracking system

Overall it has been a pleasure working with this product and the team behind it.

Pros

Easy to customize and use with tons of options. Really love the drag and drop features in the main tool. The onboarding and hire tracks help drive consistency and quality without our teams, and make it easy to never miss a step. Plus the customer support team is always willing to help!

Cons

Creating reports from scratch - would love easier functionality like drag and drop.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thank you, Katie. We appreciate the review!

Replied October 2020

Lisa

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

SmartSearch is definitey user friendly!

Pros

Ease of use and functionality. SmartSearch can be tailored to the user needs and allows for the creation of unique fields required by a client.

Cons

The most challenging things about SmartSearch is the creation of ad hoc reports that are not found in the reporting area of the platform. The frequency for the need for such unique reports is minimal and contacting SmartSearch tech support for assistance has produced excellent results!

Nicholas

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Completely satisfied with all phases from integration to customization

Truly appreciate the SmartSEarch team, from CIO to help desk to report building specialists. Everyone has made a good experience.

Pros

The personalized approach SmartSearch brings, makes them a market leader. Value in user fees comparable to the competition set SmartSearch apart.

Cons

I would like to see a bit more self service customization of data labels. But completely understand the liability in compromising the data's integrity.

Jacob

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2017

Use it everyday for our company. I like that tracking portion of the system the best.

Pros

The Dashboard. It makes follow up and organization easy and those are very valuable to my work and industry.

Cons

Updates to the system and how long it takes to do a software update, when a change request has been issued.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Thanks for your review! Any / all updates to the software are driven by customer demand. We take a holistic view of all requests and prioritize them by the level of urgency from our clients, as a whole, which keeps costs down for our clients.

Replied April 2018

Eric

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

SmartSearch is super!

We have used this service for nearly 10 years and never had an issue. If we had problems they were quickly resolved.

Pros

Easy to setup and use, reliable, great support, good training, always innovating. Good value for the price.

Cons

Sometimes identifies false duplicates, however, would rather have it flag them than miss one. Location search sometimes misses candidates but is dependent on what data candidate enters.

Devin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Great customer service!

Really appreciate the tech-support team over there, especially Maria. They've always taking such good care of me and my team.

Pros

I have use this product for over 10 years now and it's critical to my contact management and active sales efforts

Cons

There is an much that I don't like about Smart Search. The product is robust and is always growing and functionality.

Leah

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

Good software with strong support!

Pros

We appreciate the accessible and prompt support, when needs arise; they also do a great job of keeping in touch and checking in. The software is also fairly easy to use.

Cons

Not a lot of customization, some limitations. Training videos are available but most of the training has to be self-taught.

Bo

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Powerful, flexible system gives us quality and structure

Outstanding support and trainings!

Pros

All the system configuration options helps us to get the exact functionalities we want. The Search -engine is very good and fast.

Cons

It's a complex system and it takes some time to understand all possibilities. There are some functions missing for us as a European user.

Anne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Very good ATS for our company.

Pros

Excellent customer service and very comprehensive tools to assist with recruiting and employee management.

Cons

I don't have many complaints but I did find it more complicated to learn than other ATS's I have used. That is because it has more customizable features than they did.

Caroline

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Easy to use and robust

Pros

This system keeps track of everything I need and is easy to use. It is easy for new employees to learn.

Cons

We experience quite a bit of small technical issues, but they either resolve themselves or technical support/customer services works to remedy the issues.

Showing 1 - 25 of 46 reviews
SmartSearch

SmartSearch

4.63/5 out of 46 reviews
icon3 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.
PriceDemo