User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(29)

29

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "We appreciate the accessible and prompt support, when needs arise; they also do a great job of keeping in touch and checking in. The software is also fairly easy to use."

  • "This system keeps track of everything I need and is easy to use. It is easy for new employees to learn."

  • "The Dashboard. It makes follow up and organization easy and those are very valuable to my work and industry. "

  • Cons

  • "Not entirely user friendly---takes some training to get up to speed on all features but well worth the effort Wish there was a user manual and not just a 'help' menu"

  • "Interface is not based in next generation design. Function wise this is great, needs more improvement in the interface - look and feel should be smoother. "

  • "Not a lot of customization, some limitations. Training videos are available but most of the training has to be self-taught."

Browse SmartSearch Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -7 of 43 results

December 2018

Amy from GeoLogics Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Hands down best ATS available

SmartSearch has helped our company retain it's edge competitively and to increase our profits exponentially

Pros

The ability of SmartSearch interface with multiple job boards allows you to search across ALL paid (and some free) sites without having to re-enter search criteria. Excellent tool for repeat postings to Facebook and Linked in, great candidate tracking and notes functions.

Cons

Not very intuitive and takes some hands on use and training to get comfortable with it

July 2017

Garrett from Staff Matters, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

10+ years I have used SmartSearch

If you need a great applicant tracking system that was built for applicant tracking and candidate rating/search, plus some limited accounting capabilities and online timecards that upload to accounting software, this is a great system. If you need a full GL accounting system and not so much an applicant tracking system, this isn't for you.

Pros

Highly customize-able, versatile, EEOC compliance built in, job portal, some limited accounting capabilities too. Personable staff, most with long-tenure. Responsive to needs and even suggestions to incorporate into their core product at no cost. One of the largest 2 staffing firms in the world wanted to buy them multiple times. You can easily set up automated tasks at any step of the hiring process, which is awesome to help control how your staff uses the system and to ensure that they don't forget important things for their customers. I've used their system for over 10 years and I've never even thought of leaving due to need for something they don't have. And I'm a bit of a perfectionist.

Cons

Some reporting needs are difficult to achieve on your own with their built in reports. It's almost like both too many options and some important options aren't there. But they are generally willing to help pull the information for you from the back-end.

June 2017

Dannielle from Denali Advanced Integration

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

SmartSearch Review June 2017

SmartSearch is a decent product but is expensive.

Pros

1) Good customer service 2) Decent reporting tools 3) Auto posts to free and paid Job Boards - which is a great time saver. We post to Indeed, Glassdoor, Monster and Dice with just a one click for each job board. 4) BPM (Business Process Management) = automated req approval emails to the the approval chain. We have the approval chain set-up as Recruiting Department - Compensation Analysis - CEO. Once the hiring manager opens the Req - SmartSearch emails Recruiting for approval with a link to the job. Recruiting reviews the job and hits the "Approved" button. The process is then repeated unto CEO approves. Once the CEO approves, then the job auto-posts itself to free and paid sites. 5) Easy to use and customize reports and Req Fields. 6) Can build data pipes and integrate with ADP so candidate information flows in to ADP Workforce 7) SmartSearch can integrate with a company's web-site and be the back-end of the "Career" page. 8) Nice WIP (Work in Progress) side ribbon where at a glance shows #open reqs, pending approval, submittals & interviews that are taking place.

Cons

1) SmartSearch is expensive. 2) If using SmartSearch as the company's Career Page be advised it is very ugly. The font of the req job fields are in Times Roman, size 14. 3) No auto capture of emails to candidates. Everything requires a manual copy and paste.

December 2018

DAVID from L. J. Gonzer Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Solid ATS Package

We have used SmartSearch since 1996, and have used some form of the product ever since. Technical support has always been outstanding. Training has been great. We really could not have asked for a better business partner. We have been approached by numerous vendors for years with different ATS packages and none made us consider moving away from SmartSearch.

Pros

Solid reliable product. Company is always working to add features and update the product to keep up with the changing requirements of the staffing world. Like the overall interface. The dashboard is customizable and really let's you look at the key indicators you want to see. The search capabilities are second to none. The basic system is fairly intuitive so bringing on new recruiters and getting them up to speed is not a big issue.

Cons

Some of the features and reporting are not what we need and the report designer is not user friendly.

July 2017

Scott from Amtec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Outstanding

There are many players in the ATS space these days. Few if any have the experience that SmartSearch does. We've found that many make claims that are unsubstantiated by their product. At the end of the day, we believe SmartSearch is the best product on the market.

Pros

SmartSearch is a full featured, end to end recruiting software package that will efficiently manage an operation regardless of size. As. Tool, SmartSearch creates workflow and order in an operation and that translates into more orders, more submits, more interviews, more placements, and more gross profit.

Cons

The only con is the other side of a strength. SmartSearch has been built with many options. You can configure SmartSearch in several ways. You will have to invest the time to configure each element of SmartSearch the way you'd like it to function in your operation. This will require advance planning on the part of the end user.

July 2017

Jack from ITech Recruiting, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Owner ITech Recruiting LLC

I've used several other talent/recruiting systems, both vendor supplied and custom built and this is the best one I've seen.

Pros

Very easy to learn; functions are intuitive; excellent support; easy to get tech support people on the phone, including the CTO; very responsive to suggestions for enhancements and tweaks; good problem tracking capability; always enhancing and improving.

Cons

Could do a better job of communicating functional changes. Also, I use a very small percentage of the functionality so a mini version with less on the screens would probably work for me. And since it has a lot of formatting and customizing features, perhaps that is even currently possible but I haven't brought up the issue, but now that I thought of it i will do so.

July 2017

Jesse from Belcan

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Best Customer Service in the Industry

SmartSearch is designed with the recruiter in mind. While reporting and process compliance are important (and the tool does this very well) in my mind the most important function is to help you find more candidates faster and manage your relationships, which SmartSearch does wonderfully. And the customer service is hands-down the best I have experienced across all the ATS/CRM platforms I have worked with.

Pros

Very flexible and customizable Excellent customer service Designed around how a recruiter thinks and needs to use the tool

Cons

Really the only negative for me is that the tool is so flexible it can become overwhelming on what you can do with it. This is ultimately a good thing, but you need to invest your time to understand the capabilities and how you can use them all.

January 2020

Thomas from TalentLogistiX

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

The Daily User

Applicant tracking, job order entry and tracking, client management, CRM functionality, database management of the business.

Pros

SmartSearch enables us to track all applicants and clients for daily use. We use the fax and document signing functions as well. Has CRM functionality and VMS/RPO functionality as well.

Cons

User interface is old and when presenting on a screen the user interface is so small it is difficult to see without navigating to a particular place in the user interface and manually enlarge the screen.

Reasons for Choosing SmartSearch

Better value for the investment at that time.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Replied February 2020

Thanks for the review Tom! We upgraded the UI in August of 2020 to make the system faster and easier to use than ever.

November 2008

Leigh from Belcan

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2008

SmartSearch receives my highest recommendation. It is, quite simply, the best tool on the market.

SmartSearch receives my highest recommendation. It is, quite simply, the best tool on the market. It assists us in every area of our business, from applicant and job order tracking to customer relationship management to online time and subvendor management. The APS team and their SmartSearch product have earned our loyalty.

Pros

SmartSearch has a great "out of the box" product and provides enough customization capabilities to keep our users and customers happy. It's easy to use and our team members love it. The search speed is unsurpassed. We use it for both technical resume word searches and clerical and light industrial application searches, and it provides us with information very quickly. The only limitation to its speed is the traffic on the Internet. SmartSearch is reliable. The system is always "up," and our data is secure. We have brough multiple divisions on the system, and the data migrations have gone off without a proverbial hitch. When I email or call the support team, they find answers. In addition, they listen when we request improvements and incorporate our needs into future releases. In addition, we appreciate that SmartSearch has maintained their focus on the staffing industry. Many competitive products have come and gone, but SmartSearch is still here doing a great job.

Cons

In recent releases, SmartSearch has addresses their known weaknesses. They have provided an ad-hoc reporting function which has assisted us in generating customized customer-specific reports in a timely manner. They also now provided training content which was not available in previous releases.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2017

Easy to use!

Pros

The text messaging feature is great! It makes it easier to get a hold of candidates, seeing how most people prefer to text these days.

Cons

It needs an easier way to find "duplicate" records in the system. When searching for a common name in the system, it could come up with hundreds of records. If I only have a name and no other information, this system makes it hard to identify the right one.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Replied April 2018

Thanks for your review. Enhancements have been made to the system to improve the intuitive functionality of the software making it easier to eliminate duplicate records.

June 2012

Mary Ellen from Liberty Solutions, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

June 2012

Smartsearch, the logical choice--again and again.

I've been in the position several times at different companies where I've had to select applicant tracking software, based on fit. Each time, I review the marketplace to see what is available, investigate the top contenders, match features to cost and every single time, Smartsearch has been the choice. I've been the implementation project sponsor and managed the adoption process. Note: It is ALWAYS easier to manage change among professionals if there is a quality solution that positively impacts efficiency attached. Smartsearch is that solution. I'm excited to recommend the software and the team behind/beside it. Feel free to reach out to me personally at Mary Ellen Mesi on linkedin with any specific questions you may have or detail you'd like. I am a raving fan, for sure.

Pros

Reasons I keep coming back to Smartsearch include excellent support from the top down, quick response when there is a question, capabilities that far exceed any other tool in its class, cost that is reasonable and the ability to customize easily--increasing the user's reach and effectiveness while maintaining a personal touch. The staff is quick to respond to helpdesk tickets, the programmers are open to suggestions and the upgrade schedule is quite aggressive--they are always adding new features, the latest including social network tie-ins.

Cons

The new apps for iPhone and Droid are lacking slightly in the Smartsearch 'sizzle' that comes with the standard on-line version, but I'm certain that improvements will be on the way. Also, the Outlook toolbar, which is a solid add-in was designed specifically for PC's, so Mac users are out of luck with that one feature.

June 2017

Tom from TAD PGS, Inc. (An Adecco company.)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

I have used SnartSearch for more thsnn10 years

As CEO of a division of a large staffing company I have seen everything available at one time or another. SmartSearch out performs them all at a very reasonable price without months, or years, of extensive installation processes, training issues, inflexible demands and delays.

Pros

I have used SmartSearch in over 100 locations with minimal training requirements and ease of use. The staff and principals are accessabke and willing to deliver solutions. The updates are always timely and keeps the program state of the art. I have investigated more costly competitors and found all unsatisfactory and less capable.

July 2017

Lisa from BHI Energy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

SmartSearch is definitey user friendly!

Pros

Ease of use and functionality. SmartSearch can be tailored to the user needs and allows for the creation of unique fields required by a client.

Cons

The most challenging things about SmartSearch is the creation of ad hoc reports that are not found in the reporting area of the platform. The frequency for the need for such unique reports is minimal and contacting SmartSearch tech support for assistance has produced excellent results!

June 2017

amy from Geologics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Best ATS on the market

Customer support and training ALWAYS available ---and they're willing to do group or one on one training on request.

Pros

Ability to search across multiple databases simultaneously AND to schedule posts onto social media Easy to track and manage candidate content and contact.

Cons

Not entirely user friendly---takes some training to get up to speed on all features but well worth the effort Wish there was a user manual and not just a 'help' menu

May 2017

Jacob from Kineticom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Use it everyday for our company. I like that tracking portion of the system the best.

Pros

The Dashboard. It makes follow up and organization easy and those are very valuable to my work and industry.

Cons

Updates to the system and how long it takes to do a software update, when a change request has been issued.

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Replied April 2018

Thanks for your review! Any / all updates to the software are driven by customer demand. We take a holistic view of all requests and prioritize them by the level of urgency from our clients, as a whole, which keeps costs down for our clients.

July 2017

Nicholas from The Stepping Stones Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Completely satisfied with all phases from integration to customization

Truly appreciate the SmartSEarch team, from CIO to help desk to report building specialists. Everyone has made a good experience.

Pros

The personalized approach SmartSearch brings, makes them a market leader. Value in user fees comparable to the competition set SmartSearch apart.

Cons

I would like to see a bit more self service customization of data labels. But completely understand the liability in compromising the data's integrity.

July 2017

Eric from Victory Services Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

SmartSearch is super!

We have used this service for nearly 10 years and never had an issue. If we had problems they were quickly resolved.

Pros

Easy to setup and use, reliable, great support, good training, always innovating. Good value for the price.

Cons

Sometimes identifies false duplicates, however, would rather have it flag them than miss one. Location search sometimes misses candidates but is dependent on what data candidate enters.

July 2017

Devin from Kore1

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Great customer service!

Really appreciate the tech-support team over there, especially Maria. They've always taking such good care of me and my team.

Pros

I have use this product for over 10 years now and it's critical to my contact management and active sales efforts

Cons

There is an much that I don't like about Smart Search. The product is robust and is always growing and functionality.

June 2017

Leah from Sincerus Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Good software with strong support!

Pros

We appreciate the accessible and prompt support, when needs arise; they also do a great job of keeping in touch and checking in. The software is also fairly easy to use.

Cons

Not a lot of customization, some limitations. Training videos are available but most of the training has to be self-taught.

July 2017

Bo from Svensk Chefsrekrytering AB

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Powerful, flexible system gives us quality and structure

Outstanding support and trainings!

Pros

All the system configuration options helps us to get the exact functionalities we want. The Search -engine is very good and fast.

Cons

It's a complex system and it takes some time to understand all possibilities. There are some functions missing for us as a European user.

July 2017

Renee from Rail Personnel

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Rail Personnel Review (Renee Wade, Talent Acquisition Manager)

Pros

Smartsearch is always ahead of the pack when it comes to keeping up to date with the latest tools and trends in the recruitment industry.

Cons

No cons. We have been very happy with the service provided by Smartsearch, particularly with regards to the support we receive from Sylvia and LJ.

July 2017

Anne from THI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Very good ATS for our company.

Pros

Excellent customer service and very comprehensive tools to assist with recruiting and employee management.

Cons

I don't have many complaints but I did find it more complicated to learn than other ATS's I have used. That is because it has more customizable features than they did.

July 2017

Caroline from P.K.W. Associates, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Easy to use and robust

Pros

This system keeps track of everything I need and is easy to use. It is easy for new employees to learn.

Cons

We experience quite a bit of small technical issues, but they either resolve themselves or technical support/customer services works to remedy the issues.

June 2017

Ron Richard from Seven Seven

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Highly Flexible for Your Needs

Pros

If you are looking for a software that you can customize to fit your needs, SmartSearch is an affordable solution. It's also perfect for those who haven't used an applicant tracking system before since they offer generic templates.

Cons

Interface is not based in next generation design. Function wise this is great, needs more improvement in the interface - look and feel should be smoother.

July 2017

Sandy from Visium Resources, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Used a number of ATS throughout my career and believe SmartSearch has been the easiest and quickest to learn

Pros

customer support received if issues arise and speed of resolution; ease of learning and continued use; ability to run ad-hoc reports; training videos and constant updates to product

June 2017

Jim from Opportunity International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Best Product for The Money

Many of the companies where I was the VP or CHR or Consultant are still using SmartSearch. One in particular was a early adaptor in 2004 and is still happy with the product.

Pros

Easy to use. The pricing structure allows managers free access. Interfaces very well with HRIS systems. Great technical and customer support. Excellent "up-time". Flexible and friendly report writer. Integrity of this company is beyond question

Cons

The user interface needs a fresh new look. I believe that they are working on that. The API could use some updating as well.

June 2017

Linda from SuperbTech Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Always my first choice for an ATS/CRM, hands down!

I have used SmartSearch for the majority of my staffing career. I prefer it over any other ATS systems I have been exposed to in the past.

Pros

Great tool, it's user-friendly, intuitive and has great functionality as an ATS and CRM. The customer/user support team is knowledgeable, quick to respond and very friendly!

Cons

Unfortunately, I can't think of any feature that I am disappointed with or would like to change. I'm happy with it as it is!

July 2012

Paul from Unique Systems Design, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2012

SmartSearch is effeciency

An outstanding product with outstanding support.

Pros

Prior to SmartSearch we did our candidate retention and correspondence in Access database. It was cumbersome, did not perform searches and our fields did not interrelate. When we introduced SmartSearch into our recruiting process we improved our effeciency tremendously. We can search, store, coordinate, and look up information on clients or candidates. When we talk to candidates or clients, we know what has been said or written and we look very professional because we have correct information. In addition, the support offered by SmartSearch is quick and accurate. There are webinars, skilled technicians that know the product and have the answers immediately. We are happy we made the investment.

Cons

Really, nothing. If there are concerns, SmartSearch support fixes the problem or incorporates our request in the next version.

July 2017

Dawn from BHI Energy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

CRO

Pros

Integrates with a number of other applications and social media Ease of use! Customizable. Customer Service is excellent!

Cons

Can be slow at times but all web based applications have the same challenge! Would like a workforce management application as part of the ATS.

June 2017

Barrett from Amtec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Legacy software with incremental updates

Pros

Relatively inexpensive compared to the competition. The Work in Progress sidebar is very helpful. Being able to query multiple resume databases with one search is something that others don't have.

Cons

The UI/UX is terrible, but daily users figure out how to use it. Overall it is not intuitive. It is challenging to drill down to get further detail in the reporting. It is very hard to navigate back and forth throughout the application and it is impossible to open anything in a new tab for side by side windows.

December 2018

Alan from AMPAM Parks Mechanical

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Best ATS I've ever used

My go to whenever I need an ATS at a company I'm working with.

Pros

User friendly, has options for every function which can be configured to the meet user demands

Cons

Has many functions that require fore thought.

June 2017

Norman from The Nugget Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Kudos from customer number 56

buy buy buy

Pros

Easy to learn, super inclusive functionality, fast pager turns, easy to configure - very strong website integration / highly functional Career Center

Cons

None other than I still have to make the actual candidate calls I think its the best product on the market

September 2008

Michael from Systems Integration Solutions, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2008

We recently successfully completed the conversion and upgrade to the current Web Enabled version.

We recently successfully completed the conversion and upgrade to the current Web Enabled version. We are extremely pleased with this version of SmartSearch and very impressed APS team efforts prior to, during and after the conversion: The Training Team provides a level of training and orientation that allows our users to be functional on the test database after only 2 3 hours of training. The Technical Team did a super job of converting our production data and creating a test database to allow us to learn the system functionalities and validate the integrity of our production data. We sent a snapshot of our latest production database on a Friday evening and the new production database was ready for our IT team and users to validate on Saturday afternoon. Our production data was intact and a majority of the over 300 queries and reports executed successfully and very a few required limited modification.

Pros

- Data Conversion - Training - Customer Support - System Functionality

Cons

- We haven't found anything worth mentioning.

June 2017

Bob from Method3

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2017

SmartSearch Review

Pros

Customized Workflow for Onboarding, Sales, and Candidate Management Document Management Timekeeping and Accounting Cloud Based

Cons

Lacks Mobile Optimized Functionality for Candidate/Customer Interface Lacks Instructional Guides for New Users Antiquated UX/UI

June 2018

Paul from Impact

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Maybe too customizable

Pros

The software can do most anything a recruiter might want to do. There is so much that much of the functionality will never be used.

Cons

Because it is so flexible and does so much, there is a big learning curve so it could hinder a recruiter getting it up and running in a timely manner.

September 2008

Margie from Casino Arizona

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2008

I highly recommend this product, especially if you are a company under 3000 employees.

I highly recommend this product, especially if you are a company under 3000 employees where cost is an issue and HR has limited staff.

Pros

The customer service, from sales to tech support has been terrific; especially when it came to dealing with customization issues. The cost comparison between this service and what others have proposed, for the same product, is phenomenal. We have never experienced a crash or loss of data of any type. It allows me to work from home when necesssary!

Cons

Most training is done on a "remote" basis; never on-site.

September 2008

Dan from eStaff LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2008

I recommend SmartSearch to anyone involved in the recruiting process.

I recommend SmartSearch to anyone involved in the recruiting process. The product supports client, contact, and candidate tracking. It also features an easy to implement job board that integrates with your web site. The licensing is very flexible and cost effective and minimal training is required. Data conversion is straightforward when handled by the SmartSearch support team.

Pros

SmartSearch is the easiest to use, full featured, and cost effective candidate and client contact tracking system that I have ever used.

Cons

The product is very good.

April 2015

Michelle from PeopleAxiom

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2015

Great product and WONDERFUL service!

The product is great - flexible, customizable, easy to use for sure. What makes it even better is that the people behind it are there for their customers. I've had nothing but great experiences from the initial sale contact to finalizing our implementation to follow up and questions. Just a first class organization with people who really care about their customers and want to deliver a top-notch product!

Response from Advanced Personnel Systems

Replied April 2018

We apologize for the slow response. Thank you for your review!

September 2008

Anita from PSE Co.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2008

I fully recommend SmartSearch.

I fully recommend SmartSearch.

Pros

SmartSearch has been the most valuable addition to our business. It is well designed, the support is excellent and they have the ability to predict needs we didn't realize we needed with each software upgrade. This is a product rich in valuable features.

Cons

I have no complaints about this software. As soon as I list a complaint, their developers create a solution for me.

November 2010

Bill from Kineticom

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2010

It's a great offering - incredible team behind it!

Very Good Experience in or first 6+ months, looking forward to tapping in to all that it offers our team and business.

Pros

Excellent team behind SmartSearch - Recruiters love the new tools and features! Happy with our decision to roll to APS as key partner.

Cons

Implemenetation - fairly smooth but still required lots of data clean up

September 2008

Linda from Tekwork, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2008

Good product with more potential than we have even been able to use as yet.

Good product with more potential than we have even been able to use as yet.

Pros

Constantly improving! Integration w/Monster and CareerBuilder

Cons

Duplication of candidates when pulling in from Monster and/or CareerBuilder. Extra step of having to combine and delete one record. Merging to most recent info is still not smooth.

April 2009

David from Principal Technical Services, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2009

The most versatile, customizable, and integrated ATS product on the market.

The most versatile, customizable, and integrated ATS product on the market.

Pros

As close to a custom ATS without the cost of customization. Support is by far the best I have had from software companies.

Cons

They have exceeded all my expectations.

November 2008

Robin from Omnikron Systems Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2008

Good software, great team from Sales, to Training, to Tech Support, to Development for new features

Good software, great team from Sales, to Training, to Tech Support, to Development for new features

Pros

Easy to use and they are regularly adding nice new features

Cons

Still waiting for a good interface between SS and Quickbooks