SurveyMonkey

SurveyMonkey Reviews

RATING:

4.58

(9516)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.58

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"It has more features and is more sophisticated than Google's tool for surveys. It's integration with MailChimp is a top feature."
  • icon"Ease of use, it was an easy set up and login and the interface was easy to navigate but also had fun colors that caught the eye."
  • icon"Excellent product, great features and functionality for paid subscribers, integrates well with other platforms."
  • icon"It's structure is boring and most bothersome part is that it allows only few file formats."
  • icon"I am unable to specifically Identify any features of this product that I am unhappy with or that do not add value."
  • icon"Inability to change your survey after it has been submitted can be frustrating for some users who made a mistake in their feedback."

All SurveyMonkey Reviews

1-25 of 9,450 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Rissa

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

November 2020

Pretty good, but not my favorite

User Profile

Neil

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

The most reliable survey platform

Pros

SurveyMonkey is a reliable platform to conduct online surveys. It is an innovator that offers a range of features, such as survey types, custom questions, and integrations with third-party services. We used it to conduct research for our latest report on the L&D industry. Also, its reporting and mobile app - both are fantastic!

Cons

I faced a bit of an issue with SurveyMonkey support, they were not very efficient but this might an one of case.

Geniene

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Survey Monkey is great but price keeps us away

We stopped using it in 2016 but it was a great piece of software. I have tried to use it recently but the 10 questions and limits to the number of entries, stopped us using it and we developed a Php system that does something very similar if not as wonderful as Survey Monkey. Hopefully they will have a product range for entrepreneurs that doesn't block us from every useful item on the system at a reasonable price. Until then I will continue to visit their site once a year to see if there is a reseller program or something that will allow us to return.

Pros

I loved Survey Monkey and we used it for a number of years when it was affordable. It was the most affordable software on the market and a yearly fee meant we could use it for all our client software without it making us bankrupt. It had all the features such as being able to use one survey from multiple terminals, we could loop it and customize the link, so it worked well on all our websites. Each customer had their own templates (even though it was the same template it had their own branding), the input was simple and the output, well that outranked anything else on the market. Analysing the data was simple and the output wow''d our customers base.

Cons

There was nothing we didn't like about this software. But the price became prohibitive for a company our size. We didn't need the new bells and whistles that the new and improved software brought to the table. We were happy to have simple items but we then started to find other software that perhaps wasn't the same in calibre but we could make it work for our price point.

Gabriela

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

October 2022

Encuestas Imposibles

Mi experiencia general es mala, tiene mucha publicidad en las redes, la recomiendan, pero no es muy fiable, no es practico, redirige permanentemente a otros enlaces y finalmente, cuando clasificas para una encuesta y la estar terminado, se cae la pagina, después de 20 minutos de trabajo y el mensaje es, no ha calificado para esta encuesta, es un fraude.

Pros

No me ha gustado ninguna característica de este software.

Cons

Lo que menos me ha gustado son los defectos técnicos que presenta en general, no es confiable

Brittany

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

Intuitive Use + Templates To Boot

Pros

I have been using Survey Monkey, chosen to do so and also thrusted upon me in prior work environments, and enjoy its array of added features as of late including templates for so many niches, types of studies, specific demographics etc. I have mainly used it internally or for HQ to district and regional subsidies for polling of employees at all levels; however, I can also see how it's handy for public-facing polling and have recently begun doing that with success so far! Happy I made that choice!

Cons

I would prefer a few more integrations for my Shopify and social media presence(s) online for my various social enterprise accounts. But, other than that, it's a great tool especially for the price.

Reasons for switching to SurveyMonkey

Cost, amount of integrations in relation to those currently used within the company, ease of implementation for personnel in multiple departments at multiple levels of digital application knowledge and expediency of use from newbie to more experienced professional!

User Profile

Amit

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

SurveyMonkey - A Great Insights Gathering Tool

In short this tool is really as per our modern day information gathering requirements , ability to get feedbacks that too in large volumes and rendering into final processed format is really very helpful.

Pros

The ability to take user's inputs and feedbacks and ability to send them to required areas to finally generate needed metrics influencing a lot of business decisions is a very important process. This tool does the same very efficiently.

Cons

There's nothing much to dislike as the tool gives us the needed results and we hope to keep utilizing same in future as well.

User Profile

Raj

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Useful data analysis software

Pros

Creating surveys is quick and easy by using SurveyMonkey. It provides a variety of options for customizing the type of response which is expected from the users for example checkboxes for multiple options or a radio button for a single option to be selected, etc. It helps in generating insightful reports from the survey data.

Cons

It enables us to send reports to a number of people in a group but there is no feature currently for sending customized reports to a single user in particular.

User Profile

Belinda

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Survey monkey as the best software for building survey and data analysis

This software is good for creating surveys, collecting data and doing analysis

Pros

It allows one to create surveys, process data (including voluminous/large data) by adopting several reporting tools, that help to provide analysis. It is also cheaper and very easy to use.

Cons

One thing that's not so cool about this software is the fact that the free version (basic) allows for only 10 questions with 100 respondents. Also, the design themes are limited, as there's not enough to choose from. They're about 12

User Profile

Brittany

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Love it!!

Pros

I make extra money everyday doing easy surveys on survey monkey!

Cons

Sometime the surveys don't accept me but I just try again!

User Profile

Kaycee

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Survey monkey

Pros

Easy to earn money and rewards by taking sorry surveys

Cons

More and easier qualifying surveys and fast and lower payouts

User Profile

Luis Humberto

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Animation

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Survey Monkey is one of the best Form's Website if you have a Business

I use Survey Monkey to make polls about my work and sometimes I help my university.

Pros

Easy to use, the UI looks clean and even if you're new you can understand what you're doing and explains the things you can do, works excellent if you have a Business and you need a good looking Poll, works perfect, you can use some templates even if you are a new user. I like a lot survey monkey because works so smoothly

Cons

I find the price a little bit excessive if you're trying to do only one poll or something small, but thats all.

User Profile

Ömer Faruk

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

If you report to multiple people Dashboard feature is a must have solution.

We have been using software for the last 7 months. Due to the nature of our field of expertise, stakeholder involvement has a major role in policy-making processes in higher education management. To be able to organise all surveys and polls in a single platform and to be able to report from multiple surveys in simple but effective dashboards is the selling point of Surveymonkey. As we design and implement surveys for our activities like online trainings or meetings, Surveymonkey helps us create different dashboards for the moderators to see their specific feedback without any hassle. We started implementing some quizzes to the system recently, and feedback from the test takers is very good.

Pros

Surveymonkey all in one survey tool for small enterprises and institutions. Reporting tools is unique among their alternatives. The ability to create custom dashboards for different users or managers is one of the key selling points of the software. You can create quick dashboards in minutes with the specific filtered points of the survey showing only desired parts of your survey. The best part of the dashboard is they are live and updated as survey takers take the survey. As some high-level staff may require instant reports, PDF and PPT reporting is a very effective and quick way to feed that kind of need.

Cons

Branding tools need to be improved. The ability to install your own fonts would be a great add-on. Accounts are accessible through two concurrent PCs. It is sometimes a nuisance to access the system from a new PC. Exam features are quite limited. Exam reporting and dashboard features must be added.

Reasons for choosing SurveyMonkey

Extensive reporting possiblities and custom dashboard features.

Reasons for switching to SurveyMonkey

Limited responsive screen support. Reporting is only possible through 3rd party plugins or SPSS analysis

Alex

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2021

Advance Survey creation and collection software at a reasonable price

SurveyMonkey met our required needs, which was running a semi-anonymous internal survey for approximately 100 employees. The survey in question was large enough that it could potentially take up to an hour to complete and we were able to make full use of the built in skip logic to allow the submitters to avoid entire sections that did not apply to them. The cost was also extremely reasonable for what was being offfered.

Pros

SurveyMonkey offered all of the features our company required in order to run a employee supervisor satisfaction and evaluation survey at a reasonable price. Our primary requirement was the ability to run the survey semi-anonymously so that we could track who responded to the survey without linking response data to a particular submitter and SurveyMonkey handled this perfectly. Additionally the ability to use survey logic allowed us to design the survey in such a way as to save the submitters time by not exposing them to portions of the survey that were irrelevant to their position/location/circumstances. The pricing model was extremely flexible which was a huge benefit as we only needed to run a few small surveys over the period of a single month, so not being required to sign up for a year saved us a significant amount of money.

Cons

While most of the features are easy enough to use that a none technically included user could handle most of the creation, issuing, and analyzing process there were some areas that required our IT personal to provide advice and assistance. Mostly this was due to the language used to describe certain features not being intuitive enough. While most things were very straight forward the skip logic and collector logic required some experimentation in order to fully determine how they would behave since we found the descriptions to be to ambiguous.

Reasons for choosing SurveyMonkey

SurveryMonkey offered the best compromise between price and features for us. The survey that was being run was a employee evaluation of their supervisors and thus our human resources needed to make sure that every employee only submitted the survey once, but also that the information submitted could not be linked back to a particular employee so that they would not have to worry about facing retaliation from a supervisor over their feedback. Traditionally we have used paper survey to accomplish this but decided to attempt to use a more high tech approach to reduce data entry times on both the submitters part and on human resources who would need to manually enter the results into a excel sheet. Free solutions such as Microsoft and Google forms could have met our needs in terms of survey creation but did not offer a robust enough collection solution to ensure both anonymity and user verification. Since our company has extremely limited needs for running survey's more expensive solutions such as SoGoSurvey and Microsoft Dynamics were also quickly removed from consideration. SurveyMonkey provided us with the ideal middle point of price and feature to meet our needs.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Easy and Cost Effective

Overall, I highly recommend Survey Monkey for quick and easy survey creation. Even at the free version level, there are a variety of quality features that will make this program very useful for both collecting and analyzing data. The interface is incredibly user friendly, and when used in tandem with the mobile app, this product is very convenient and effective for basic survey needs.

Pros

The Survey Monkey platform gives you a variety of ways to customize your surveys, including multiple choice, short answer, and true/false. It also allows you to easily duplicate previous surveys so that you are not re-creating templates you wish to use regularly. The platform also provides excellent analytics for reviewing responses and trends so that you can better understand and track the results of your surveys. The option to make surveys anonymous is also extremely beneficial for more sensitive topics. The best part is, all of this functionality is available through the free version of the platform. The mobile app is also incredible accessible and easy to use.

Cons

The ability to truly customize your survey (logs, fonts, footers, etc.) is strictly reserved to paid subscriptions. The free version of the application gives you up to a maximum of 10 questions, so unless you want to pay the monthly fee, your surveys need to be very concise. For business use, a monthly subscription requires a minimum of three users at $25 per user. This cost adds up quickly, so unless you are implementing surveys very regularly, you may not see the full value.

Reasons for choosing SurveyMonkey

The free version had a majority of the features we need to periodic use.

Roxanne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2020

Survey Monkey allows honest feedback

The software may not be user friendly for those who are creating the survey but it is quite straightforward for those who are giving their feedbacks. When survey monkey was used by the organization to strengthen our organization. We were free to answer honestly and anonymously.

Pros

Survey monkey allows you to be anonymous which allows the feedback to be honest. We use survey monkey in our organization to resolve conflicts and for the use of organisational growth. Since it can be anonymous no one have to fear to type what they actually think and HR will know how to move forward since the feedbacks would be considered honest and not forced.

Cons

Even though survey monkey is beneficial to our organization it as a few cons. We needed a method to use in our department to resolve an issue and would like to do so without anyone fearing to speak because they would be judged or the issue would have just gotten worst. So we decided to use survey monkey. I most say it got the job done but we had a few hiccups along the way. Firstly, the software isn't user friendly for beginners. It doesn't offer many selections when it comes on to customization. We had to choose from only 12. The package that you get at the standard rate limits you alot and if you want more you have to upgrade.

Reasons for choosing SurveyMonkey

1)Survey Monkey offers more question types than Google forms 2)If we had an issue we could connect with survey monkey customer service. However, we google forms there wasn't a specific area for google forms customer service.

Ben

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Aesthetically pleasing, effective, and highly customizable

Overall, I'm highly satisfied with SurveyMonkey for our organization's needs. Working for a social organization, our marketing efforts deviate from the standard corporate or business needs. One of our biggest efforts is receiving feedback from programming or educational content and SurveyMonkey has been instrumental in allowing us to do that.

Pros

Having used other products similar to SurveyMonkey, I can safely say that SurveyMonkey is one of the most aesthetically pleasing. Its customization allows for branding and personalizing forms to keep marketing efforts in-line with brand standards.

Cons

To have access to more robust analytics, it requires a higher paid plan, which is unfortunate. Paying for a mid-tier option, it feels like those analytics should be included.

Reasons for choosing SurveyMonkey

I think SurveyMonkey's ease of access, user-friendly interface, and affordability were all considered in making this the final selection for our organization.

Reasons for switching to SurveyMonkey

Our desire to make the switch to SurveyMonkey is contained within the name; surveys. Wufoo was a little more form-dense, while SurveyMonkey was better for surveying and engaging our members and soliciting their feedback. It was simply a better fit for our needs.

User Profile

FAIBREY

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

Data Collection and Analysis Master

It has simplified to a great extent on how we gather information from our customers and employees. It has improved on time taken to complete a research topic, materials needed for the task, saving costs and accuracy of collected data.

Pros

The first beautiful thing I like is that their website and the mobile application are very responsive and have a great user interface that enables us to complete tasks in a short period of time. On features, I am impressed that it gives me well made templates on how i want my questionnaire to look like. I do not need special designing skills as everything is already set and I just need to input my questions and type of responses to be expected. Previously, we did not have many formatting options on questions and answers but now the vendor is working hard in making sure that they simplify everything for us. After deploying our questionnaires, we do not need much time to group and analyse data as everything comes already grouped and analysed. We just need to interpret the results to ensure both employee and customer satisfaction.

Cons

The only time I had troubles was when i was using the mobile application to create a questionnaire and I closed the app before completion. All my work was lost as it did not save it automatically and I had to start again. Another problem is that it does not allow work to be done offline.

Reasons for choosing SurveyMonkey

SurveyMonkey is simple to use and it had great interface. It also runs frequent promotions that enable us to save.

Cole

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY