All Trakstar Perform Reviews

1-25 of 283 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Easy-to-use Performance Tracking Software

Trakstar has been a very easy to use and interactive performance software. As a regular user (non-manager), I find it comprehensive enough to track all my goals and tasks but simple enough to update on an ongoing basis. My favorite aspect is the notes feature, which lets me add notes to my goals at any time, so that when I do my review at the end of the year I already have notes to reference. I can also share my notes with my manager, so she can see my progress.

PROS

very user friendly, lots of features, interactive feedback - can take notes on tasks at any time that can be shared with managers, can keep track of progress on goals in real time

CONS

sometimes while updating notes/goals the appraisal doesn't update immediately, but after logging out and back in again everything was correct

Jill

Research, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2017

THRILLED ABOUT TRAKSTAR!

Our rep just provided us the second part of our training via webinar; we asked for "Goals & Notes" to be given last June and finally the "Scoring" given today as we wrap up the performance period. I am VERY pleased with our rep's professionalism, and knowledge about the Trakstar program. The way he guided us through the webinar was wonderful. Many employees and managers have expressed trepidation about the upcoming sequence of events, but our rep broke it down very easily and methodically. Our rep has a very good quality about his delivery of information, his voice, and ease of going through the screens as he proceeds, making the learner feel more confident. I already received the videos he created -- within minutes after completion of the training -- so I'm able to share with the employees and managers who could not attend today's webinar. Thank you! I wish Trakstar would create a "Quick Start Guide for Administrators" as they have for both managers and employees, and then load it on the Support Articles page, but for the meantime I am very pleased to have access to the Support pages, tutorials, videos, etc. and can email Support whenever I have need. I'm grateful about that, too. If you allow me one more "wish list" item would be the ability to change an employee's job title easily throughout the year -- as long as it does not represent a promotion that would affect change of goals, etc. When we've had a change of management, the new manager will come in and request change of titles (not duties, etc.) of his/her direct reports. This need is likely common among certain industries and such a change would be a huge improvement. Thank you for asking for our feedback. Thank you to our rep, for making Trakstar look easy to use to our employees!

CONS

There ought to be a Quick Guide for Administrators; too often I've searched the support pages and did not find precisely what I've wanted, so had to email and did not have direct phone access because we don't pay for that added service. We're three hours apart from each other so there've been a few times that I was not able to get answers as immediately as I would have liked (in an ideal world). LOL.

Vendor Response

Hi Jill, Thank you so much for the kind words. We really appreciate it. Also, we are taking your suggestion and will be building a "Quickstart Guide" for admins. Great idea! Thanks again, Julie

Replied May 2017

Jeremy

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2016

We hoped for better!

We originally selected Trakstar because it was affordable and the demo given to us was good overall. Though this product does the basics, it is still extremely outdated and lacks a lot of intuition. The reports are all saved as PDF's or you can export excel documents. The excel docs are a major mess for the most part and will leave you with hours more work editing them. Once you get everyone's assessment, you have to load the PDF into the employee's folder so that they can see their grade. Though the rating dashboard is decent, viewing your individualized grading metrics afterwards is nowhere near as user-friendly. The product lacks many simple features that we're just forgotten during its build. You cannot update your grading scale without going into EVERY SINGLE COMPETENCY manually and changing your grading scale (ie. going from a 5-point grading scale to a 4-point grading scale, etc.). Basically, there is no way to mass-edit a lot of things in the system. I hope you have someone on your team that has days worth of time to manage this system. The 360-review capabilities are even more difficult. As an admin of your organization system, you can't send out 360 reviews unless you log in as that specific manager's manager. Yes, you will have to continuously click links to log in as another user in order to edit (or even view) that person's appraisal. We've also had a lot of issues with grading schemes not working properly and various bugs popping up frequently, impacting our entire review cycle. The support team is VERY small and leads to long response times which gets crazy in the middle of your review cycle. The new UI is pretty, but the UX still lacks a lot of intuition. Unfortunately, Trakstar is a lot of form over function at this point. They need to hire a good UI/UX guy and a senior engineer to fix some things and then I would maybe suggest using it.

PROS

Affordable, decent design (UI, not UX)

CONS

Difficult UX, can't pull many of the reports you would need, doesn't give you many meaningful insights at all, lots of bugs, slow response by support (they have a very small team), almost every process is manual and takes a LONG time to make changes in the system due to this issue

Vendor Response

Hi Jeremy, I am very sorry to hear your experience. You have quite a bit of important feedback. I think it might be best if you and I were to speak over the phone. I'd love to better understand your needs and be able for us to connect personally. I'll reach out to you now to learn more. Thanks for your honesty, perhaps we can better understand your needs soon. Kind regards, Julie Rieken

Replied November 2016

Mariam

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Awesome Software - We absolutely love Trakstar

Personally, I love Trakstar considering my several involvement as the lead HR Manager responsible for PMS. It was an easy sell to the Senior Management Team because it ticked all need boxes we had identified. The customization and integration process was a breeze, the account officer took a lot of the burden off us. Then transitioning the employees went smoothly, including the training. Our account officer worked so well with us and was willing to conduct trainings as early as 5am Eastern, considering the time difference between the US and our country offices in West Africa and Europe. She really appreciated her flexibility. As an administrator, I can tell you how effortless it is to assist employees, resolves issues, monitor the process, review reports and all required responsibilities. As a employee and a user, my appraisal was effortless. The reviews we have received from employees have been great, my manager is soo pleased with the system and feedback from the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] "I have never enjoyed appraisals as much as I am right now with Trakstar".

PROS

The flexibility of Trakstar to mirror the organization's current performance appraisal process was what sold us. We were able to adapt the software to fit our needs and the ease of use is absolutely great.

CONS

I honestly find it difficult to identity what I like least about this software. Compared to the previous software we used for Performance Appraisal, Trakstar is absolutely wonderful. It met all our software needs; the pricing was very reasonable, and the transition was effortless. From the sales agent to the account officer, we have had an awesome experience.

Aimee

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2017

A bare-bones performance mgmt tool for organizations ready to upgrade but can't afford the big guns.

See my review - it focused on competencies, so as an organization looking to be more progressive, we were ready to use it.

PROS

Focus on competencies - which many other cheap - to - affordable products don't offer.

CONS

You can't customize the appraisal process. It's either the formal appraisal (with ratings) or a 'goal setting' function. So, it won't work for orgs like mine who tend to do a mid-year 'check-in' as opposed to the full appraisal process. Customer service is slow, email only really, and not always helpful in giving you a complete solution. They also do not do 360s which is something we've begun to do at my org. Also, if you are not focusing on competencies, as an org--which I'm certain MANY are not, I'm not at all sure how you would use this tool.

Vendor Response

Hi Aimee, Thank you so much for leaving this review! Our customer's feedback is so important. I do want to mention that, as an administrator, 360 reviews can be enabled in your Trakstar site and we'd be happy to walk you through what that set up looks like. In addition, we might be able to offer some insight and take your feedback on how to have a more flexible review process by utilizing Trakstar's open ended questions and flexible rating scales features. Thank you again for taking the time to leave this review and we hope we can help make your review process match what you're looking for!

Replied September 2017

Allyson

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2016

Increased efficiency - definite ROI

Have had a wonderful experience with Trakstar; it gives the employees the access they need through out the year to work towards their goals and development. Managers are able to work more efficiently and put accountability in the hands of the employee.

PROS

The efficiency of the workflow and the way we can customize it to our needs.

CONS

I would like to see a better org chart!

Vendor Response

Hi Allyson, Thanks so much for your great review. I'm amused that you liked the "Julie from Trakstar" sessions...that's me! Cool. I love your suggestion on the org chart. I promise to add it to our feature discussion board. As a company, we review every single idea to find patterns and ways we can improve. Keep in touch and let us know how we can help as your needs evolve, and thanks again. Take care, Julie Rieken

Replied August 2016

Beth

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

PMPs Made Easy

The employees complain about performance management; but not about trakstar. I always separate the two. They like trakstar. I do a training called "Tips for Better Appraisals" and integrate the use of trakstar into it and how easy it is to ensure that you will get an excellent review if you utilize the great features availble in trakstar such as the notes and goal tracking.

PROS

Ease of use; customer service. The set-up is extremely easy; changing forms is easy.

CONS

Extra cost for the added features - succession planning

Reason for choosing Trakstar Perform

Ease of use; set-up; customer service.

Kelly

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Endlessly Customizable

PROS

So far, this software has been endlessly customizable for how we want to use it to give our employees their semi-annual reviews. Trakstar's support team provided me, as an administrator, with a very good basis for how to use the system and they've been very responsive with all the questions I've had as we've utilized the software more and more. As we've been using it, we've changed how we originally thought we would use it for employees, and so far every single thing we've wanted to use it for it has been able to do either with changes I can make on the back end, or with changes the support team has been happy to help me do. Our employees appreciate a consistent review form to work from and they really like the goals section as a reminder of what their own personal goals and objectives are for what will take them to the next level as a member of our team.

Vendor Response

Hi Kelly, Thank you so much for your review! I love the title of your review, "Endlessly Customizable." Flexibility is one of the highlights of Trakstar - we want the system to match the needs of our customers! As time goes by and your needs evolve, we'll be pleased to help make any adjustments you made need. Kind regards, Julie Rieken P.S. Hello from all of us here at Trakstar.

Replied March 2016

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Trakstar

It makes it easy to document our performance and for the managers to update information. It flows easily between multiple offices.

PROS

It is simple and easy to use. Just by following the boxes or typing in information it will easily flow to the next area.

CONS

The software itself is fine, it is probably just the questions we have programmed to use. Some of the questions I feel could easily be made into just a check box instead of needing an explanation.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

An Above Average Program

Overall, it did a good job at what it was supposed to do.

PROS

I loved that it can be customizable for feedback and performance review. It was straightforward on rating and writing comments on performance.

CONS

There was some slight hiccups with compatibility with my browser.

Nancy

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

An Excellent Idea with some rough edges

Trakstar is an excellent idea. It allows employees and managers equal time in the appraisal process, which has been lacking in employee appraisal since the beginning of time. As a manager it is quite helpful for an employee to weigh in on their performance. Too often we have no idea how the employee sees their performance until we are having 'the talk'. Trakstar could be a little more user friendly, it is not always intuitive in the way it works and can be cumbersome for the administrator when trying to fix mistakes that managers make. It would be an excellent addition if the manager were not allowed to Archive for agencies that still rely on paper for the employees personnel files. we use the 'archive' button to indicate that the signed appraisal has been received in HR to signal that the process is complete. It would also be helpful if we could set up an agency wide appraisal two level system where the employee first gets a 6 month New Employee appraisal, and when archived Trakstar would auto generate the next appraisal in the Annual mode, instead of the 'new employee' mode again. The last thing I can think of now, is the period of time our annual appraisals encompass. Right now the auto generated Annual appraisals have a date parameter based on the employees date of hire, and that is good for some. However, we use a fixed date system based on our fiscal year, and each time a new appraisal is generated i have to go into Trakstar and 'fix' the dates to our parameters. Thanks for this excellent product; with just a couple of tweaks, it could be FANTASTIC! (for us)

Vendor Response

Hi Nancy, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We love that Trakstar allows both managers and employees the opportunity to contribute around performance. We'll also take your suggestion on archiving to heart. Fwiw, we designed the Archiving process to allow managers the discretion about when to share the content with the employee. Some like to do it in advance of the meeting, some afterwards - and we felt they should be the ones to decide. That said, we have heard your request. I can promise that we'll bring that forward at our next company-wide feature meeting. Last, some of the things you mention *I think* might be possible/solvable by design in Trakstar (fixed dates, 6 month to Annual.) I hope you won't mind if I have someone reach out to you? Thank you again, and feel free to connect with me directly if you'd like! Take care, Julie

Replied March 2016

Mike

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Trakstar is rich in substance for managing performance appraisals

I manage a team with some shared goals as well as individual goals. Trakstar allows me to work with my employee to track their progress throughout the year. This allows for more shared accountability among the employees and me as their manager. It has helped me to keep not only my staff on track with their goals, but it keeps me on track with my own performance goals. Trakstar is unique and a valuable tool to any company wanting to provide meaningful performance goals while seeing positive results.

PROS

I really like how you can both individualize performance goals AND cascade collective goals per employee. This makes for a very convenient system when you have group goals and individual goals for your staff. Trakstar also gives a sense of accountability to employees to update notes on their progress towards performance goals. The monthly reminders to enter notes are wonderful!

CONS

The support videos for using Trakstar are good, but I wish their were slides and non-video aids to help through tutorials as you learn to use Trakstar.

Maree

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed August 2010

TrakStar's Performance Rates Highly

Apart from the 'cons' noted above, the product is extremely well thought out, well researched, well supported and user friendly and I would definitely recommend it.

PROS

TrakStar mirrored our existing paper-based Performance Review process so was easy to 'sell' to our staff when it was first installed. The improvements over the years have made it even more user-friendly. Support is fantastic, and even though we are half-way around the world Glenn makes sure he answers my queries as promptly as he can - sometimes within an hour! Administratively, I really like the fact the system is so adaptable and easy to modify to meet the changing needs of our reviews. The reporting facility is also a bonus - I can report 'delinquents' to senior management and provide real-time information very quickly. The Promantek team listen to critiques and act on popular suggestions to make the system a better product.

CONS

There aren't many cons, I have enquired about having a page to list non-rateable items such as future aspirations, training needs, and barriers to improvement, and have been told these are on the development plan for future upgrades. Also our staff have said that the 1-5 rating system feels too restrictive, and that a 1-8 or 1-10 system may be more flexible. Personally I think 1-10 is too much, and a 1-7 rating system feels about right. I haven't enquired about this with Promantek so don't know if it can (or will) be changed or not.

dominique

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2016

Trakstar brings the stars to light!

We were using the canned performance review process that our payroll company provided and were extremely unhappy with it's lack of flexibility. Trakstar gave us options that did not exist with our payroll vendor. We decided to go with Trakstar even though we were paying for the service with our payroll provider.

PROS

Ease of use as an administrator. The ability to be the "user" and see what they see.

CONS

Have not yet stumbled upon anything that we do not like.

Vendor Response

Hi Dominique, I love the title of your review, makes me smile! You've said so many kind things, I just want to thank you for all of them. Please continue to keep in touch and send us your ideas for improvement. Really. I like to hear. Take care, Julie Rieken

Replied August 2016

Ron

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed October 2009

Efficient and Effective Performance Appraisal Solution

Excellent! The ability to customize goals, factors and ratings is designed well.

PROS

-The software program is very "user friendly." Our employees were able to "go live" with minimal training. -I decided to go with this performance management tool because of the unique ability to tailor it to our position-specific needs. It provides a common structure yet allows the competency design-differentiation necessary in each of our four distinctly different business units. -We have adopted this system at both exempt and non-exempt levels. -The program is not intimidating to those employees with little computer experience. Going live with TrackStar has actually helped some of our mature managers gain computer skills. -TrackStar technical support has never failed to respond when we needed them. -I researched and priced several other popular computer-based performance appraisal products, and undoubtedly, TrackStar is the most economical. We saved thousands of dollars going with TrackStar and are very happy with the system.

CONS

On occasion, the system has been slow due to heavy traffic. Lately we haven't had this problem. I think upgrades for capacity are managed pretty well now.

Amy

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

I am just setting up Trakstar in my organisation now but my first few experiences have been great!

We are just implementing Trakstar now so I have limited hands on experience with the product aside from uploading our users and having an initial 'play' in the system while we develop job descriptions and template plans etc. So far I am really enjoying the library of competencies which will help us develop our plans. I also am finding the set up of the email alerts etc. Being able to set up a template for a particular position is invaluable in our business but obviously the need to tailor is important and driven off coaching conversations. Trakstar is allowing us both the structure and the freedom to tailor which is great. If there could be the ability to tailor for each employee reminders for the managers that would be great. For example if we have an employee who requires fortnightly catch ups then being able to set up a reminder for that compared to his/her peer in the same 'position' but who needs only quarterly catch ups.

Vendor Response

Hi Amy, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you have had a good experience with Trakstar so far. We'd love to understand more about individual reminders. Trakstar has that ability - but before I say they can work for you, let's make sure we understand your requirements. I hope it will be okay if someone reaches out to you to learn more. Thanks again for your review! Kind regards, Julie Rieken

Replied March 2016

Jim

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Customer Service Experience

Trakstar continues to be an impressive system. Not only is it very simple and logical (and I could write a review just on that), but Customer Service is quick with resolutions. I wanted to get more information when I downloaded reports from the Appraisal Screen and Lauren in Customer Service helped me understand the process right away, and then even offered to just quickly put something together on her end which met my needs. In the span of 30 seconds, she had updated a report with additional fields showing scoring which helped greatly. This is the kind of Customer Service that we all want with so many things... 1) phone is answered quickly, 2) Reps show genuine interest in understanding your situation, 3) They look to explain how you can fix this yourself so you better understand the system, and then offer to take care of it for you to make it easier for you at that moment. As a company we are still learning many things about Trakstar, but so far we are impressed with the product, implementation, and ease of use.

Vendor Response

Hi Jim, Just a note to thank you for your review of Trakstar! You've said many kind things, and we appreciate both your words and Basco as a customer. Feel free to reach out to me if there is anything you'd like for me to know or for us to improve upon. Kind regards, Julie Rieken

Replied April 2016

Mike

Utilities, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2016

Looking for an easy way to "Trak" goals and performance - Trakstar is your tool!

With the company size @ about 250 employees, Trakstar is a great tool to help in the performance management process. The versatility allows for the set up of multiple processes and variations in the various job roles in our organization.

PROS

It's quick clicks and video help library

CONS

Would like to have more interface with HRIS system

Vendor Response

H Mike, Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad Trakstar has helped with your Performance management process, and that the video help library has been useful to you. If you find we can help in any way with additional support or training, please let us know. It's all included. Take care, Julie Rieken

Replied August 2016

Ariel

Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2016

Keeps me organized

Trakstar helps me stay organized with all of my 200+ reviews that are due throughout the year. It is very user-friendly for all skill levels.

Vendor Response

Hi Ariel, Yes, with 200+ reviews, I'm so glad you have a tool like Trakstar. Thanks for your great review and for being our customer. As your needs evolve, keep in touch so we can be helpful! Take care, Julie Rieken

Replied August 2016

Sharon

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed September 2015

From training to the day-to-day usage it has been a supremely an AWESOME tool!!

Wow! Not sure where to begin.....From training all the way to day-to-day usage, our experience has been smooth & seamless. Our trainer, Kalley Anderson was awesome! She was very knowledgeable of the product, she delivered the information in a simplistic manner, and equipped my manager and I with all we needed to use this product with finesse on a daily basis. In the few instances where I've needed to contact your support team, their response time was an issue and even then a quick email to Kalley gave me the urgent answer I needed quicker than your support team could provide it. Overall, I love this product and your staff has been amazing!!! Note.....customer service rating above should have been 4 stars due to delayed wait times from your support team/help desk but I scored you 5-stars because Kalley stood in the gap for your support team and made it happen!!!

Vendor Response

Sharon, Thanks so much for the review. I'm very glad Kalley was able to help you, and that your experience overall has been a good one. We'll keep an eye on wait times which are typically low, but some days can be busy! Again, thanks for the feedback and if there is anything we can do to help again, let us know. Kind regards, Julie Rieken, CEO, Trakstar

Replied September 2015

Jennifer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY