User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(23)

23

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Wrapbook Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -24 of 26 results

November 2020

Tim from Tapestry Films Creative

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Fast, easy, and less expensive than others

Pros

The best part about Wrapbook is the price. While other payroll companies charge 3-5%, Wrapbook charge between .75% and 1.5%. With AB5 and Dynamex making payroll necessary for even the smallest shoots, it's fantastic to have an option that helps minimize my P&W from upwards of 25% to closer to 20. Plus, it's fast and easy. I hate paper timecards - especially needing someone to hand them out and collect them in the era of COVID. Doing it online means I'm not chasing down paper copies all day (/week, /month) and can wrap jobs faster.

Cons

There are a few aspects that don't feel entirely intuitive, although they are doable. However, crewmembers have expressed confusion over how to add kit fees or gear rentals. It's not hard once you learn how to do it, you just have to learn how to do it. Having said that, the customer support is so good that it's never been a real issue.

March 2021

PETER from Super Fantastico, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Full-Featured, Scalable, Affordable Solution to Payroll

Great company. Genuinely interested in providing a turnkey solution to production payroll. With new laws and regulations, I decided to take on a greater role in handling payroll and payments in general. Wrapbook, I feel, is the best company to use, due to the ease and speed at which the process can be completed -- and the very reasonable costs.

Pros

Ease of onboarding, simple user interface, quick and efficient customer service. You get all of the power and service of a huge payroll company at an unbelievably low cost -- and very personalized attention. I had a small concern with a task that needed to be done when setting up each production (since I am a commercial photographer, I have LOTS of short productions and it was a hassle to have my regular crew verify/input the same tax info repeatedly) and when I emailed my concern, Wrapbook literally changed the system to facilitate this concern. That has NEVER happened with any other company which I've used.

Cons

The only cons I experienced (having some initial difficulties navigating the process since I had never before done payroll) were a result of me being too busy to accept to introduction & personalized walkthrough that was offered to me. So, let them walk you through the process once or twice and you will avoid the small bumps that I endured as a result of not taking the time.

Reasons for Choosing Wrapbook

I read some reviews that compared the various products/services available to production payroll. They consistently praised Wrapbook for the same reasons I stated earlier. Although I did not try any other services, I feel 100% satisfied in my choice to select Wrapbook to support my day-to-day needs of expediting payroll, quickly issuing workers comp coverage, calculating taxes, etc., that need to be paid, etc. Very, very pleased with Wrapbook and I wouldn't change to another service even if it was offered to me for free.

December 2021

Max from Esposito Originals

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Great Customer Service

As a small business owner of a video production company, I was looking for insurance solutions. While all the nuance of insuring productions can seem daunting to someone mainly versed in the creative side of productions, our insurance broker, Darrell Rivers, was a dream to work with. He took the time to answer or find out the answers to our questions. And he did so in a patient and informative way that alleviated our stress in partnering with an insurance company. We initially started with a project-based, short-term policy, but after our experience with Mr. Rivers, my company moved to an annual policy when it came time to insure an additional project. And throughout that process, he continued to patiently work with me and my team to answer any questions we had and he was incredibly responsive in doing so. Working with Mr. Rivers has been one of the best customer experiences I've had in an era when so many of these interactions are impersonal and/or incredibly frustrating. He is an exemplar of customer service and I hope Wrapbook recognizes him as such.

Pros

I use Wrapbook for insurance purposes, so I typically only interact with the software to issue insurance certificates every few weeks - however, that experience has been seamless so far. The true highlight of my experience with Wrapbook was the customer experience, please see my review below.

Cons

No complaints, however I am not an active user of the software.

March 2021

Lisa from Frankies Talent

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2021

Difficult and Time Consuming for those who have talent who need to get paid

I just did, above.

Pros

YOU do not see all sides when you created this product.

Cons

This software, compared with Extreme Reach, Team etc.. is too demanding and it continually overrides the agent's ability to control the payment destination. Time after time I have had payments go to my talent instead of my agency. In the end I stopped using a vendor because they used this software. I mainly dislike it because they require the actual talent to sign off on where the check goes, with the agency having no override on this decision. When an agent doesn't get paid directly, there's always a chance a talent may not ever send the commission. No commission means no payment. The talent should not be involved in this payment process, it is between the booked parties, that's it.

January 2022

Aubree from Paige Dorian Productions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Wrapbook

Best experience from the software itself to the customer service.

Pros

Wrapbook is user friendly. It is so easy for crew to log on and upload all of their payroll forms and time cards. On the administrative end, it is very easy to track the status of crew who have uploaded or need to upload. It has cut our time spent doing payroll in half. Once someone is uploaded, they don't need to upload again as you do with other programs. Such a great product overall, and the customer service is quick and friendly.

Cons

No cons about this software. No complaints!

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

Needed a paperless payroll system that was easy to navigate.

September 2020

Stanley from Fathom

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

I'd be lost without wrapbook

I love it, and I'm not even considering looking elsewhere. I run a business, and I don't have time to get in the weeds with stuff like production payroll since I'm staffing up short-term employees for shoots. I'm grateful that this solution is out there to save me so much time.

Pros

Wrapbook removes the most tedious tasks from production payroll that I used to do in-person such as I-9 and other start paperwork. Then they bring it through to the end by funding payroll, which has become quite confusing since AB5. I love how quickly everyone gets paid, because I can run an actual budget immediately after production. Also, I should mention that they send out a great newsletter with articles that keep me up-to-date on the laws.

Cons

The branding on the homepage made me slightly question the legitimacy of the company, but once you get in you realize it's solid and well thought through.

Reasons for Choosing Wrapbook

Gusto is not tailored to production.

January 2021

Sage from Vacation Theory LLC | SAMPLE CERTIFICATE

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Finally!

Before Wrapbook, it was an absolute headache to onboard employees and get them paid in a timely manner. This software has completely changed the game for us. We're a mom-and-pop production company with only two full-time employees, and so having a payroll partner with an easy-to-use interface for both administration AND our day-playing employees is a tremendous tool. Wrapbook gives us the ability to focus on our roles as producers instead of having juggle also being accountants. Since using Wrapbook, I haven't had a single on-boarded employee express confusion about the process, which was always the case with our previous payroll partner.

Pros

Very intuitive UI, seamless automatic withdrawal and deposit for payments, easy access to all financial records, reliable customer service, quick and easy on-boarding, comprehensive WC.

Cons

Would like to be able to use on jobs involving local labor-unions, especially SAG.

Reasons for Choosing Wrapbook

As far as I'm concerned, Wrapbook is the only option in the game for our type of business.

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

CAPS is craps. Their system is antiquated, and despite many criticisms they refuse to fix the shortcomings of their workflow. I was constantly on the phone with their customer service not only on my own behalf, but on behalf of our employees who could not figure out how to properly onboard. Due to their batch-processing system, it was either an accounting headache for us, or it would take our employees too long to get paid. Their UI made no logical sense at all, nothing was clearly indicated, and irreparable mistakes were easy to make by merely clicking misleadingly labeled buttons. You couldn't pay me to use their software again. Not only that, but their rate was higher than Wrapbook's! So we were paying more for less, and wasting a substantial amount of our time on every job with wrapping our accounting.

September 2020

Taylor from Freelance

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Wrapbook Review

Pros

Wrapbook has streamlined our payroll process, easing up many of the labor intensive parts of pre-production and wrap. Instead of wrangling huge amounts of paperwork from cast and crew, Wrapbook simplifies everything and allows most of it to be done from your phone. Especially in the age of Covid-19, this is a huge benefit. Additionally, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the Wrapbook team are top notch on the customer service front which makes every job with them go incredibly smoothly. The platform is intuitive, the crews all seem to like it and the production companies enjoy the typically lower fees and excellent customer service.

Cons

Fully digital payroll process may take some getting used to for some crew members

October 2020

Sam from Psycho Films

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Highly Recommend!

I have really enjoyed our experience with Wrapbook thus far!

Pros

The Wrapbook makes it very easy to process payroll at a competitive price. It also allows a safe and clean way to distribute timecards and paperwork without the need for printed paper / distribution of pens.

Cons

I wish there was a way to upload documents (NDAs, Releases, etc.) for every individual on a project to fill out.

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

Needed a cheaper alternative option that allowed for digital payroll.

Response from Wrapbook

Replied October 2020

Sam, thanks so much for the review. I have great news. We actually JUST launched a totally digital start-work digital signature solution to Wrapbook and you can literally use it - starting now. I will have a team member reach out to you to turn it on for you.

September 2020

Jordy from Contrast Films

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Excellent Service, Personal Support

Pros

What's great about Wrapbook is the intuitive design, backed by personal support from a great team. They are also great at staying up to date with the ever-changing landscape of production payroll and adapt quickly as needed.

Cons

I'm looking forward to a seamless mobile experience.

February 2021

Kutlwano from D Tech Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Wrapbook, the perfect tool that helps save time and money.

For me as an IT Technician since I have been using wrapbook, I have not yet had any delays or confusion in my payments. Everything is fine at the moment.

Pros

The software is easy to use, it is also not difficult to learn and familiarize yourself with it. No delays or confusion in the withdrawal and deposit of payments.

Cons

The ease of time conversion on the software.

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

Paycom is expensive and not easy to use.

September 2020

John from Backstory

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Backstory Review of Wrapbook

Amazing. Responsive, cost effective and time saver! Crew love it too.

Pros

I love the integration of I9's and W4's so that we have no physical paperwork to worry about on set. We can keep everything in the cloud, on board with ease and save production time every shoot. we make commercials and with 1-3 day shoots - the volume of paperwork we used to do was way too high.

Cons

I wish the software had more ability to customize the guaranteed hours in a day and set the OT rates custom. For example, an 8 hour day or 14 hour day base rate and then changing at what point the OT turns to 1.5, 2, 3x or more. I have had jobs where we budget for a different amount of hours than standard off the bat and need the flexibility. I also am still awaiting the feature of adding a coordinator to being someone who can sign and authorize I9s.

October 2020

Leif Erik from Long Division LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Perfect Tool for the Year of AB-5 & COVID-19

It's been so easy and seamless, both from the employer side and from the employee side. Crew members are constantly telling us they wished more companies used Wrapbook.

Pros

The software is incredibly easy to use, which was perfect for our small production company as we had to transition into paying crew members as employees under AB-5.

Cons

The user interface can be a little unintuitive at spots, but that's been improving over time.

Reasons for Choosing Wrapbook

Topsheet is more expensive and they seemed a little janky. Wrapbook also took the time to call me and walk me through the product before purchasing.

October 2020

Christopher from Takapa Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Ease of Use

I love this product. This has helped so much, especially because I don't come from a payroll back round. Payroll somehow got dumped on me, and I'm glad I found Wrapbook.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use, it wont let you go on until you complete things properly.

Cons

I wish it would have an easier way to convert time.

September 2020

Scott from Canted Films

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Can't Work Without It

Fantastic. Literally a lifesaver and can't do work in this age of TV/Film/Commercials/Music Videos without it.

Pros

Wrapbook makes all of my payroll and insurance needs super easy to manage. I work freelance and have tons of different contractors come through on projects. Wrapbook allows me to take care of them all with no problems.

Cons

Would like a slightly easier way to add existing employees to project. Drag and drop maybe?

October 2020

Martin from Sister Studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

A much easier way to do payroll

It's been a blessing to change over to Wrapbook for our payroll services, and we can't wait to roll it out over the next year on larger productions

Pros

The ease of running payroll, and managing any ongoing projects. We are used to setting people up with paper payroll (or PDFs of the documents), which becomes wonky and requires lots of time for both the employer and employee. With Wrapbook we've been able to send out invites to the crew members easily, and they have it all filled out within minutes.

Cons

I wish there were ways to implement NDAs and other documents into the docs-sign feature, rather than having to send that separately. Would also be great to have some color coding within the platform to speed up some processes for new users

March 2021

Gabrielle from WESTY PRODUCTIONS

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Wrapbook is wraptastic!!

Loved it - did payroll for 30 very quickly.

Pros

What I liked most about the software is ~ it was very easy to use and it did the math for you. Plus, we were able to set up a Covid Stipend in accounts payable and I just found it easy to work with. This is my first time using the software - but the company I am freelancing with have used it for a while.

Cons

I WISH THE ACCOUNTS PAYABLE AND TIME CARDS ALWAYS DEFAULTED TO ALPHABETICAL ORDER. That would make it easier to keep track of any additional expenses.

September 2020

Molly from Jellysmack

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Makes Payroll as Painless as Possible!

Pros

The user interface on the freelancer side AND my side is super simple, clear and straightforward

Cons

I don't have any problems with Wrapbook so far

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

CAPS was convoluted in its interface and the payroll coordinators would often let timecards and payrolls fall through the cracks. This doesn't happen with Wrapbook!

November 2020

SCOTT from SPUR PRODUCTIONS

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Simplifies payroll

We have had an excellent experience with Wrapbook. This platform totally changes the payroll game, from a cumbersome analog process to an extremely user friendly all online system.

Pros

Ease of use. Allows me to pay my crews quicker.

Cons

Can't think of anything. The software has made processing payroll much much easier for our organization.

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

Ease of use.

December 2020

Giovanni from Geo Pictures

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

First-Time Filmmaking Accounting Made Easy!

I think the most beneficial product feature is the customer service. Accounting for filmmakers can be tricky because often you're dealing with unions. It was helpful that the support team at Wrapbook was so familiar with union rules, and that that support was made available to us when we needed it.

Pros

As a first-time filmmaker, I found the platform incredibly intuitive, from the initial setup to managing our small cast and crew. With restrictions on in person interactions, due to Covid-19, it was crucial that our accounting software prove easy to navigate.

Cons

Honestly, Wrapbook has met all the accounting needs of our production, surpassing expectations.

Reasons for Choosing Wrapbook

We specifically were looking for software with a track record in film accounting.

January 2021

David from Wild Rabbit Productions Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Great Solution

Wrapbook has been a great solution to our payroll needs.

Pros

This software is easy to set up and use. The customer service is excellent.

Cons

I'd like to prefill timecards before their due date.

Reasons for Choosing Wrapbook

Much easier to use as Wrapbook is web based with a superior user interface.

September 2020

Andrew from Broca Film

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Wrapbook is amazing!

Easy to use, clear, concise and flexible to fit my need!

Pros

- Centralized program that is easy to navigate and keep record of - Paperless so there is no waste/scanning etc. - It moves at your own pace! No hoops to jump through or tedious edits to close payroll

Cons

Sometimes hard to add users, but I was able to figure it out.

Reasons for Choosing Wrapbook

N/A

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

I wanted a paperless option that could move at my own pace.

October 2020

Will from Will Campbell Films

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Perfetly Solves My Problem

As a small production company in a rural I need to hire talent and crew that don't always have representation or a formal business. Legally I need to hire them as employees and I had no idea how to hire someone as an employee on such a short term basis until I found out about Wrapbook.

Pros

I like the my employees and contractors can fill out thier own info and I dont need to babysit.

Cons

The typefaces for the UI are too thin, not very legible. Sometimes I create a project that never happens, it'd be nice to be able to delete or archive my projects.

Response from Wrapbook

Replied October 2020

Great news! Wrapbook has updated its typefacse and weighted fonts for a more eligible reading experience. Additionally, Wrapbook has also updated the location of project archives and renamed the concept "wrapping"; this can be found in the project setting. Thanks for the feedback!

October 2020

Adriana from Blackmilk Studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Great interface good service - it’s my go yo payroll sw

Pros

Ease of use, and to set up. That wrapbook sends the tax paperwork directly to the employees and we don’t need to deal with that. That there are multiple checkpoints to pass before approval to send money to employees. That we can connect to our bank account directly.

Cons

We can’t pay LLC’s anymore. I can’t see the employees experience. Makes it hard to explain when they’re confused. They get confused about which project to select sometimes so must be their interface that could be more clear?

Reasons for Switching to Wrapbook

Looking for a more streamlined easier to use and less clunky solution.

March 2021

Aidan from Wakebone LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Transparent and Comprehensive

Fantastic, one happy insured customer. Production is hectic, Glad to have peace of mind.

Pros

The Customer Service is excellent. Answered all my questions. Both their insurance and payroll is perfect solution for my production company.

Cons

No issues at all. The service has been great!

November 2020

Wei Li from Hudson Hill Creative Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Wrapbook Review

Pros

It's easy to use. It's an user friendly all digital system.

Cons

I'm still working through the software and figuring out the cons.