About Home Inspector Pro

Home Inspector Pro is a solution that helps businesses manage processes for residential inspections and communicate with employees in the field. Key features include data synchronization, customer database, onsite printing, speech recognition and report summaries.

Designed for home, commercial, mold and radon investigators, Home Inspector Pro lets users generate reports and share them with clients adding multiple elements such as videos and photos. It comes with templates, which allows inspectors to manage custom documents using white-label solutions to establish brand visibility. Additionally, the tool enables enterprises to receive notifications whenever clients, real estate agents and home buyers/sellers view or download reports from portals...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

67 Reviews of Home Inspector Pro

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.76 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(57)

57

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 67 results

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Douglas from Accurate Home Inspections

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Best Inspection Software on the Market

My experience has been great, I feel like the staff and I are family, they have always been there when I needed anything. No other company that I know of operates like that.

Pros

I have been using HIP since 2009, It is very customizable to my needs for all different application. They intrgrate with other service providers I have like ISN and RWS. The company is always looking for way to improve it based on customer request and providing updates. The customer support is second to none. They are always there when you need them and always have resolved any issues I had.

Cons

If I have to put something here, the only thing I can think of is sometimes it highlights a word to inform me spelling is wrong, But when I check, the spelling is correct.

Response from Home Inspector Pro

Replied January 2019

Thanks Douglas, we consider you family too! It's been great to watch our users companies grow over the years and to be a part of that. Thank you for your continued support. We wish you the best of success in 2019!

February 2020

Scott from Good Life Home inspection

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

A plucky inspection helper

As a one man inspection show, home inspector pro helped me streamline my report writing process. The customization was decent and the price was reasonable.

Pros

The customization for the software was relatively easy for a single user to implement. Customer service was also very responsive and helpful when it was needed.

Cons

As someone who was used to a different report writing software, the learning curve was a little steep.

Reasons for Switching to Home Inspector Pro

I went out on my own and the price was a definite factor. It was a good software for the volume I was doing at the time.

October 2016

Noel from Finish Line Home Inspections L.L.C.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

October 2016

Home Inspector Pro is a budget software you get what you pay for......

HIP is a "mid-level" reporting software that is a flexible no frills platform once you figure out "The lay of the land". What users of other premium software will miss is the ability to invoice the client from the software (uniformity), the ability to track reports by client, realtor, address or month, day and year and dollars. The user interface is difficult if you are migrating from another software package (lack of buttons or list). Home inspector pro utilizes a semi drop down menu which is functional and somewhat easy once the user gets used to the format. As for Mac users the support is lacking somewhat and has not kept pace with the OS upgrades and changes. HIP runs natively on the Mac, macbook equipment which is great but I don't believe the developer or support techs run natively on MACs. I have asked about adding features and tweaking functionality and have met with and made to feel that my circumstances were unique and no one else is experiencing my issues. For example if you select a narrative but do not move it into the report and you click on another component, you will get a pop up stating that you have a narrative highlighted that was not moved, when you click "ok" the screen changes to the selected component. The user then has to return to the previously selected component to address the narrative issue. My suggestion was to allow the current screen to remain active to address the narrative at which point the user can then migrate to the next component. Thereby saving several mouse clicks. That is just one of a few. The end result is a fantastic looking report with a somewhat ugly user interface that doesn't really save time or money over any other inspection software. Marketing that partially influenced my decision to purchase Home Inspector Pro. Yes, it is less expensive than other software but the user gets less features. OH, wait.. HIP allows the inspector to add video to the report which would be great but I have not been able to use that function and all video tutorials are specific to windows users. If you like the idea of using your smart phone or tablet you will need to shell out a monthly fee to allow transfer of the report back and forth between computer and tablet or phone. I never know what my month is going to look like so I don't want to commit to another monthly billing. It is an ok product. I think if there was another software that ran natively on the Mac that was not a lease type I might have a look.

Response from Home Inspector Pro

Replied July 2017

Hi Noel, I'm sorry to hear you're disappointed but we are far from a mid level reporting software. In fact more people using Home Inspector Pro than any other software program. Our tech support hours are doubled everyone else in the industry, 7 days a week. You're right, we chose to create the best home inspection software on the market, not a combination of mediocre office management and inspection software like our competitors. The majority of our users use Inspection Support Network (ISN) for all their office needs which we fully integrate with so we can focus on the being the only software with video in PDF & HTML, popup glossaries, stationery and more. More of our developers actually use Mac machines versus Windows. The software is 100% the same between Mac and Windows so the video tutorials apply to both programs. Video works great and has for years. Try giving our support team a call at 888-750-4777 and they can help you out with all of your comments/questions.

January 2021

Andy from Home Run Inspections, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

CONSISTENCY AND SUPPORT BEYOND COMPARE!

The HIP team is always responsive to questions, problems, and whatever else you may need, and timely in their responses. After using multiple other inspection software products, we've settled here, and the amazing customer service is the main reason why! Their team is unbeatable!

Pros

The software is very easy to use, and with the cloud, offers ultimate flexibility in preparing reports. The HIP mobile app learns your tendencies, and integrates them into the app when you're doing an inspection to speed up the process.

Cons

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the team are always developing new ideas, and in the field at trade shows, asking us what works and what doesn't.

Reasons for Switching to Home Inspector Pro

The customer service!

October 2020

Michael from The Elite Group Inspection Professionals

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Great product, customizable options, very easy to learn and use!

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and his entire team are top notch! We are the largest Home Inspection company in the Nation and the HIP team is a valuable and Strategic Partner in our eyes!

Pros

We love the customizable features, the easy navigation and the mobile app has been a game changer for our inspectors! Customer service and tech support is always great! Thank you HIP for all your hard work and patience when dealing with us crazy home inspectors!

Cons

Honestly when you look at all software and apps for our industry, HIP has done an amazing job of listening to its users and responding with quality and very useful changes and upgrades! Would love a printable feature to use for onboarding and training new inspectors!

Reasons for Choosing Home Inspector Pro

Ease of use and easy to customize for our business. The mobile app and new features are just a bonus!

Reasons for Switching to Home Inspector Pro

Our older system was outdated and difficult to change.

Response from Home Inspector Pro

Replied October 2020

Thanks Mike. It's been a privilege to help serve the largest inspection company in the nation! It's always great to see a single company process thousands of inspections a month through our system and use it to grow even more! Thanks for all the great feature suggestions and ideas!