Home Inspector Pro Software

FrontRunners 

About Home Inspector Pro

Home Inspector Pro is a solution that helps businesses manage processes for residential inspections and communicate with employees in the field. Key features include data synchronization, customer database, onsite printing, speech recognition and report summaries. Designed for home, commercial, mold and radon investigators, Home Inspector Pro lets users generate reports and share them with clients adding multiple elements such as videos and photos. It comes with templates, which allows inspectors to manage custom documents using white-label solutions to establish brand visibility. Additionally, the tool enables enterprises to receive notifications whenever clients, real estate agents and home buyers/sellers view or download reports from portals. Home Inspector...

Home Inspector Pro Pricing

A 30-day free trial is available for download, after which pricing is as follows: Home Inspector Pro for Windows / Mac: $649 (one time payment) Home Inspector Pro for Windows / Mac + HIP Mobile: $799 (one time payment) Cloud Service: $20/month or $240/year Home Inspector Pro (+ HIP Mobile) - Lease: $125 Home Inspector Pro - Lease: $99 Home Inspector Pro Mobile: $199 (users must have the cloud service and the desktop version of HIP for HIP Mobile to work) Home Inspector Pro 5 Upgrade: $249 Website Hosting: $24.99/month or $300/year

Starting price: 

$20.00 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Close

Image 1 of 4

Home Inspector Pro cover page designer

Home Inspector Pro User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5

Functionality

4.5

Showing 1 - 5 of 75 reviews

Dan

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2022

HIP user

User Profile

Douglas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Best Inspection Software on the Market

My experience has been great, I feel like the staff and I are family, they have always been there when I needed anything. No other company that I know of operates like that.

Pros

I have been using HIP since 2009, It is very customizable to my needs for all different application. They intrgrate with other service providers I have like ISN and RWS. The company is always looking for way to improve it based on customer request and providing updates. The customer support is second to none. They are always there when you need them and always have resolved any issues I had.

Cons

If I have to put something here, the only thing I can think of is sometimes it highlights a word to inform me spelling is wrong, But when I check, the spelling is correct.

Response from Home Inspector Pro

Thanks Douglas, we consider you family too! It's been great to watch our users companies grow over the years and to be a part of that. Thank you for your continued support. We wish you the best of success in 2019!

Replied January 2019

Mark

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Ease of Use and Organized

The ease in which to add comments and issues , second to none

Pros

Simple and Professional. No monthly user fee, buy it outright, save money in the long run.

Cons

Absolutely nothing is a con in regards to this software,

Reasons for choosing Home Inspector Pro

Ease of use and Overall cost

Reasons for switching to Home Inspector Pro

Cost, Customer Service, ability to use without having to have a degree in programming, Editble and Cretion of specific template.

Eric

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Complicated Software

It's been good and bad at the same time. Customer support always is there, but there are situations they have never encountered before, etc.

Pros

I love the customer support which is top notch.

Cons

The cover page design portion is terrible, software keeps crashing/freezing up on the computer which makes me have to start from where I last saved, design is very ancient on the software portion. I am a mac user, and HIP is one of the few that support mac.

Response from Home Inspector Pro

I'm sorry to hear you're having issues. Crashing is definitely not something that's normal. On a Mac this cound be because your computer moved the app to the iCloud. If you're not using HIP 6.3 which is the latest please make sure to update. Give our support line a call and we can help track why you are having issues.

Replied May 2022

Noel

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

Home Inspector Pro is a budget software you get what you pay for......

HIP is a "mid-level" reporting software that is a flexible no frills platform once you figure out "The lay of the land". What users of other premium software will miss is the ability to invoice the client from the software (uniformity), the ability to track reports by client, realtor, address or month, day and year and dollars. The user interface is difficult if you are migrating from another software package (lack of buttons or list). Home inspector pro utilizes a semi drop down menu which is functional and somewhat easy once the user gets used to the format. As for Mac users the support is lacking somewhat and has not kept pace with the OS upgrades and changes. HIP runs natively on the Mac, macbook equipment which is great but I don't believe the developer or support techs run natively on MACs. I have asked about adding features and tweaking functionality and have met with and made to feel that my circumstances were unique and no one else is experiencing my issues. For example if you select a narrative but do not move it into the report and you click on another component, you will get a pop up stating that you have a narrative highlighted that was not moved, when you click "ok" the screen changes to the selected component. The user then has to return to the previously selected component to address the narrative issue. My suggestion was to allow the current screen to remain active to address the narrative at which point the user can then migrate to the next component. Thereby saving several mouse clicks. That is just one of a few. The end result is a fantastic looking report with a somewhat ugly user interface that doesn't really save time or money over any other inspection software. Marketing that partially influenced my decision to purchase Home Inspector Pro. Yes, it is less expensive than other software but the user gets less features. OH, wait.. HIP allows the inspector to add video to the report which would be great but I have not been able to use that function and all video tutorials are specific to windows users. If you like the idea of using your smart phone or tablet you will need to shell out a monthly fee to allow transfer of the report back and forth between computer and tablet or phone. I never know what my month is going to look like so I don't want to commit to another monthly billing. It is an ok product. I think if there was another software that ran natively on the Mac that was not a lease type I might have a look.

Response from Home Inspector Pro

Hi Noel, I'm sorry to hear you're disappointed but we are far from a mid level reporting software. In fact more people using Home Inspector Pro than any other software program. Our tech support hours are doubled everyone else in the industry, 7 days a week. You're right, we chose to create the best home inspection software on the market, not a combination of mediocre office management and inspection software like our competitors. The majority of our users use Inspection Support Network (ISN) for all their office needs which we fully integrate with so we can focus on the being the only software with video in PDF & HTML, popup glossaries, stationery and more. More of our developers actually use Mac machines versus Windows. The software is 100% the same between Mac and Windows so the video tutorials apply to both programs. Video works great and has for years. Try giving our support team a call at 888-750-4777 and they can help you out with all of your comments/questions.

Replied July 2017

Popular Home Inspector Pro Comparisons