All Papertrail Reviews

1-25 of 40 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Natasha

Renewables & Environment, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Papertrail review

I have found paper trail to be really useful for gathering data and it allowing staff and their manager access to see this information where ever they are. And also that certs can be stored so they can also gain access to these at all times. It has helped me with reporting and keeping onto of what I have / haven't done and also gives space to ad comments where needed.

PROS

Quick and easy to use Gives a quick overview at a glance Able to add features that are personalised to what we need it for Ability to manage tasks via the portal Staff very helpful along with the guidance sheets that can be found

CONS

At first I felt it didn't show a true picture as the options were either valid or invalid. After speaking with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] I found out we were able to add other options such as 'awaiting certificate' 'NA at present' 'New training request' which now give a full honest view of training records. Reporting feature had a few technical issues at first - again these have been resolved

Reason for choosing Papertrail

Paper trail was already established and when we were given a demo it looked like the best fit for what we wanted it to do.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

Excel wasn't practical for running off reports and it was down to the eye and a highlighter to mark any up and coming training where as with this feature I can now track and see straight away what is coming up with no risk of missing anything. I also automatically updates staff and managers if their certs are due to expire .

Vendor Response

Hi Natasha, thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied April 2020

Dave

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

The H&S Must-have software

Papertrail has been excellent, easy to use and a constant source of information about PPE.

PROS

Easy to use, the staff will help you transition your old record system into it.

CONS

I would like to be able to completely delete old users rather than just 'archive' them.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

Already set up and specialised in the area. Advice and help available from staff.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

Recommended by a trainer, and it is a vast improvement on the previous system. It's accessible from anywhere with an internet connection, and allows access from mobile devices as well.

Vendor Response

Hi Dave Thank you so much for your feedback and great review! Pleased to hear that you are loving our App. Just to let you know, the reason we don't have an option to delete old users from the system is to maintain the integrity of your records, as deleting the users would remove their inspections from your account. Best wishes Vicki

Replied October 2020

Columbus

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Papertrail Rope Access

Great app for get in/get out tracking PPE.

PROS

Populates most existing PPE used for rope access.

CONS

Would like to be able to customize specific equipment with our own checklist for records.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback! Not only do we have a range of manufacturer checklists, we can build custom checklists to suit your needs.

Replied November 2019

Jeremy

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Online review

We are happy with the product and not looking to move to anyone else

PROS

We have used Papertrail for sometime and it has really helped us transfer from paper to online recording. Much easier for our staff to all log into one place

CONS

Restricted users came in recently with a change and that has been more difficult as we try and navigate around who has access etc

Vendor Response

Hi Jeremy Thank you for the great review, please don't hesitate to contact the support team if you need any help managing your active users. We are always reviewing our pricing model so will definitely take your feedback onboard. Best wishes Papertrail Support Team

Replied December 2023

Tom

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

My Papertrail Experience

Very good, the support team are great and very responsive

PROS

Ability to maintain a digital inspection record, ability to remotely monitor Inspections

CONS

Cost, for a small organisation it is too expensive to have multiple users which stops me rolling it out across our whole organisation.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

I'm not sure if that's the correct asset track. I don't recall the exact name. I moved organisation and wanted some of the benefits of a digital record but in a more user friendly product

Vendor Response

Hi Tom many thanks for your review, we're pleased to hear that you are happy with our product and the support team. We are always reviewing our pricing models and welcome all feedback. Please feel free to reach out to the support team to discuss your additional user needs. Kind regards, Papertrail Support Team

Replied December 2023

Paul

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Why didn't i discover this sooner

After using an Excel spreadsheet to manage 2500 items of plant, Papertrail will streamline all our processes managing the use, movement and inspection of all equipment.

PROS

Very capable system that becomes fully intuitive with guidance and use. It can save days of labour over a year and allow for a comprehensive record of all plant and PPE

CONS

Nothing really. Confusing at first until Papertrail helped understand the system better.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

recommendations and industry specific set up. Also great value compared to other systems.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

Lack of reliability and our plant register outgrew the system.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied November 2019

Finbar

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Clear system for PPE management

In the past our PPE records were maintained in an Excel spreadsheet and there were datapoints missing and no notification of inspections due, it also made inspections monolithic. i.e. on this date all X type equipment needs inspecting, because that's how the spreadsheets sorted, rather than Papertrail's system which means that if you've got a quiet day you can clear of due items slightly earlier and have the next due date automatically move, or if items become overdue and you inspect them a week late as you didn't need to use them that week and had more urgent tasks the due date automatically moves ensuring inspections are more spread out and therefore more achievable. Papertrail also makes it easier to predict when you will need to order replacement gear.

PROS

It encourages good record keeping, it is very easy to make sure you record all the relevant details of an item of equipment. It has lots of ways of keeping you clearly up to date on what needs checked when. It gives clear pictures of trends so you have a macro picture of all your equipment, whilst also making it easy to have a trail of inspections, comments and photographs for each individual piece of equipment.

CONS

Probably it's relative expense in comparison to using non-dedicated (e.g. excel or google sheets) or free options, but it is vastly superior to anything I could find for less.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

I can't remember all of the products I looked at. I did try Edelrid's Gear Pilot which was the most promising of the free options and something I may use in the future for tracking my personal equipment. It could potentially be an exciting option in the future, particularly as it incorporates inspection and repair guides but currently it felt clunkier than papertrail, not as smooth in use and not as full featured and I felt that though it could be good it didn't give me the confidence that Papertrail.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

The above comments, Excel can be made to functionally work for basic PPE tracking, but it is very basic and creates a lot of extra to keep on top of it and get the information you need from it,

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great feedback Finbar, pleased to hear that you are reaping the benefits of using Papertrail!

Replied February 2023

Brian

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

overveiw of papertrail

Every problem none to man. its equipment tracing and iv used it as a health and safety manament system for risk assessments so i dnt have to remember review dates i did a national diploma in health and safety and the equipment tracking system helped also when we have audits the auditors love it i can do random checks on kit when ever needed its a simple management system and the support is great i do only speak to [SENSITIVE CONTENT] as im not fan of dealing with different people for same thing i do this with most companies.im sure they are all the same standard but [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is the favorite . if we was to change to another company it would have to start all over again and dont think i would get the same level of service. on another note i should put kids birthdays in the system and anniversary so i cant forget ha ha ha

PROS

Its straight forward and i always get help from [SENSITIVE CONTENT] when im stuck becasue im not great with computers

CONS

cant zoom in on pictures that you upload

Reason for choosing Papertrail

comapany already had it. I charge of it 4 years ago because the person incharge before wasnt any use

Vendor Response

Hi Brian thank you so much for your review, I'm pleased to hear how beneficial Papertrail is to you and your company. I'm happy to report that if you look at any images on the mobile app you can zoom in, and if you click on the link to open it on the web app it should go into full screen for you. Many thanks, Papertrail

Replied August 2022

Bradley

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Great equipment management

Papertrail have always been prompt and professional in all aspects from troubleshooting to development to communication. Well done Papertrail.

PROS

It is easy to navigate both the web and App versions of Papertrail. Managing our equipment has never been easier thanks to Papertrail.

CONS

Some of the icons on the mobile app are too small, its easy to press the wrong icons.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

Uk based operation.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your great feedback Brad and you'll be pleased to hear our 'small icons' on the mobile app are now being reviewed by the design team as a result of your response!

Replied June 2023

james

Oil & Energy, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Rope access equipment management

I have had a good experience with Papertrail to date and would like to continually develop more departments with the software.

PROS

The software is quick to use and the support for learning new developments is fantastic.

CONS

The inability to complete the same amount of features on mobile devices s a laptop or pc.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

Ease of use.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

The original software couldn't handle the frequency of the inspections.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback! Our mobile app has been updated massively and most features on the desktop app are now available on the mobile app. Hope this helps!

Replied October 2020

kathleen

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

very good overall equipment system

very good overall system once you understand how it all works

PROS

the facility to move multiple equipment items to diffrent operating accounts

CONS

problems with moving equipment from one account to another on occasions,

Vendor Response

Thanks for your great review Kathleen!

Replied January 2024

Aran

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

The Arboricultural Industry needs to adopt this software!

Great! Well supported platform with eager team members who are willing to help.

PROS

All of your PUWER, LOLER, FA and stock in one place, easily adaptable and the support staff are always on hand to help.

CONS

Not all products used in our industry are searchable, this is not Papertrail in general, its the manufacturers issue. Given that we have so many users, sometimes there can be some issues with inspections not being included when a full account sync is initiated, again, not solely Papertrail, user error can be blamed.

Vendor Response

Hi Aran thanks so much for the awesome feedback! Great to hear that you find Papertrail easy to use and adaptable. We now have over 70 manufacturers in our Product Directory but we are always keen to keep adding to the system so please let the support team know if there are manufacturers/equipment you use regularly that aren't available - and we will try our best to get them added! Many thanks

Replied September 2022

Bob

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Safe Equipment Management

The support from Papertrail has been excellent. Not that we have needed much as most problems have been easily solved.

PROS

Ease of use. The ability to tailor it to meet our needs. The ability to add features and details as you go.

CONS

There is Very little to dislike about Papertrail.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

Bespoke nature of Papertrail

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied November 2019

Graham

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

An excellent hassle free app that just works

This app allows me to keep on top of PPE and other H+S inspections which is important as this is only a small part of my job (in terms of time allocation) but has a massive impact on the quality of my students' learning experiences as they alway shave the right kit which is checked and compliant.

PROS

It has mobile and desktop apps so it doesn't matter what device I'm using in all situations, and allows flexibility to add/modify team permissions on the go.

CONS

Nothing to dislike really. This box won't let the form submit without more characters in.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

It's a local company offering great customer support

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

The app was far better suited to meet my needs and had additional features that I didn't have previously

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied November 2019

Paul

Recreational Facilities and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Papertrail is awsome!

I has already paid for itself this year! I had some equipment that was not lasting as long as it should have and after much back and forth with the manufacturer I was able to get it all replaced after showing the maintenance and inspection history for those items.

PROS

Having all my necessary information in a single place! At first I thought it was a bit expensive and unnecessary to pay that much for the software - I was wrong. I was wrong! The task manager is a fantastic addition!

CONS

The reporting at times doesn't give me what I need but seems to be improving.

Reason for choosing Papertrail

Papertrail is much more functional, affordable, and the customer support team is fantastic! Also came highly recommended from one of my vendors.

Reasons for switching to Papertrail

The other software was way too complicated, difficult to archive records, and the reporting was terrible.

Vendor Response

Hi Paul, thank you so much for your feedback! I'm glad that you are loving Task Manager and that it has paid for itself. We are currently working on a reporting tool which will allow you to pull more information. Charlotte

Replied October 2020

Sean

Facilities Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Kit Inspections and Logging

Very good, friendly and supportive staff. A great product and user friendly. I have multi nationalities working for my company and they all find it easy to use despite some language difficulties

PROS

The system is very easy to use once you get the hang of it. Good at reminding when inspections are due. I have not used any of the LOLER forms yet as not required for my purposes but seem a very good tools as well. Easy to add to if you need more kit

CONS

The RFID set up took some working on to get it correct and sometimes if not used for few months then a software update prevents it from working. Would be good if Software updates could be emailed or message and put on the system so vendors are aware RFID readers need updating. Would be a great system for companies with huge amounts of kit

Reason for choosing Papertrail

Ease of use and my requirements for Kit logging and inspections

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for your feedback! We will definitely take on board notifying customers of updates that could interfere with RFID

Replied November 2019

Stephen

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Excellent product with fantastic customer support

PROS

Ease of use and the ability to integrate with our staff offshore and the ability to work offline during inspection of equipment. The support from Papertrail has been excellent. This is what separates them from from their competitors.

CONS

As with all new software people are often resistant to change and learning new things. The support /assistance from Papertail has helped to alleviate this issue.

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for your response. It's great to hear that you have had a positive experience with Papertrail. Your feedback is much appreciated!

Replied October 2021

Clare

Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: