All BarTender Reviews

1-25 of 58 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Brandon

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

We use bartender for all of our label printing needs. We use drop files to trigger.

They play really well with the zebra printers, which a lot of other software doesn't (like SSRS reports). Also the integration builder is a really powerful way to automate a lot of things. It's a life saver. And the ease of creating labels is really nice. Don't forget you can print to a regular printer too. You can make some very good paper reports that are much easier to maintain than SSRS reports.

PROS

The user interface is really well defined for people that don't code. Designing label templates is as easy as power point. Setting up the fields that need to read the data is easy to set up to. There is a very short learning curve with the product.

CONS

We have it set up to run waiting for drop files (with the integration builder). Because we aren't using the front end for normal use, end users can't get error messages. If would be nice if it had a better monitoring system to know when something goes wrong. It's not that often that it does, but when it does it can cause some problems for our business.

Kimberly

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Labels for Med Device Manufacturer

As a med device manufacturer, we were looking for a solution to a label control issue we were having in 2016. The labeling software we were using back then didn't link fields for variable data, resulting in our label operators entering lot and date information in multiple locations in different formats for a single label. It made label generation and review difficult. One of the most cited non-conformances for med device manufacturers are related to labeling, and we have had significantly less problems since transferring our device labeling to BarTender. It is easy to use the set-up wizard to get started, and has high quality training videos for all levels of use. We use it to meet a wide range of needs - from basic labels with no variable info - all the way to automatic serialization, and printing IDs from linked databases. It has been a software that has grown with us over the last 4 years, and it looks like it will continue to do so.

PROS

It seems like every labeling obstacle I've come up against in the med device realm has been handled easily by BarTender. If it is a new use for the software to generate a specific label format, barcode, etc - the Seagull Scientific website has a wealth of training files that cover how to design and manage the file.

CONS

BarTender was a signficant upgrade from Zebra Designer, and I have no complaints about its capability or functionality in everyday use.

Reasons for switching to BarTender

Improved label control features to address compliance issues

Jonathan

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

Bad

I get a paycheck for working with it twice a month

PROS

I didn't pay for the software or the license. The software download is free, and has a 30 day free trial.

CONS

Very disappointed in the new 2016 version. The new 2016 version crashes anytime I attempt to update a database connection from one of our old XML source that worked seamlessly in 10.4. (They will still work so long as you don't touch them). Bartender then restarts and attempts to recover the bad information (which will in turn crash bartender.) Was this product actually run by QA before release? I suspect there was nothing but plug and play sceanrios tested. Very little insight into customer service. Have a lot of difficulty getting answers from the tech team. This is what happens when a company cuts back on 'costs' by elimiating quality assurance and customer support. SOme of the new 'features' have absolutely destroyed Database/setup connections. After upgrading from 10.4, all tables from our XML payloads now crash bartender when you try to do ANYTHING with them (Great coding guys). As a result, the text file source has become quite useless unless you are using a csv. Field Alias for Named database connections don't store with the named connection which makes it pointless as you will need to re-alias these things every time you change datasource. This defeats the purpose of naming/reusing a datasource if you have to re-alias all fields everytime you use it. Again, I am not convinced that this was even tested before release. Perhaps I missed something about Alpha in the whitepapers...

Vendor Response

Hi Jonathan, I apologize for the issues you're experiencing. They are as unacceptable to all of us as here they are to you. We've brought this to the attention of BarTender's VP of Technical Services, and he's reviewing your support tickets to see how we can help. I'd also like to offer reassurance that we haven't had any reductions to our QA or technical support teams. We recognize how important these functions are, and are, in fact, investing in their growth. I understand Capterra is providing my contact information to you. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me. I'd like to know how this turns out.

Replied March 2018

Engin

Textiles, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2024

Could be cheaper

Generally, I think the price of the software is huge. It doesn't seem reachable. When I compare any other programs I use, I cannot say it deserves it. I'm afraid it's because of the necessity. I mean if you have a barcode printer, you have to have a software too otherwise, it's too hard to use the machine.

PROS

This is a program that I can use easily. There are too many tools that I can add to my stickers.

CONS

I didn't like the table issue. Sometimes I need to add tables and using them as a cell is very hard. Besides blank cells are also a bit trouble. Because when you delete a cell it says "BLANK" and that changes the table length if it hits the wall.

Joshua

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Great product to give you control of your systems

I love working with BarTender. I use this daily and constantly recommend this service. This is a problem solver for me, and if there is no other way to accomplish what I need, I turn to BarTender

PROS

I love the ability to create and automate labels. This has been key for my company when we have some customers who have several different labels and types., We built and integration that allows this to be an automated process.

CONS

The only issue I have is their support, because they are impossible to deal with. Other than that they are great.

Travis

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Product Labels

PROS

Ease of use and setup is user friendly. Quick and simple to deploy. No major issues experienced during implementation.

CONS

Nothing comes to mind on this aspect. Overall good product.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Easy-to-learn and offers diverse options for barcoding including serialization.

PROS

It’s so easy to get around the user interface, even for people who have no experience working with code. There’s not much of a learning curve to this application. Anyone can create labels with great ease and diversity. The integration builder provides an avenue for automation and makes it easy to select an action we want duplicated. The program also works very well with zebra printers. It also has a the serialization feature which is pretty cool. Their website’s got a ton information that help you maximize the program like webinars,training videos, and other guides

CONS

The only downside I can think of is that they don’t have a live chat feature on their website, which would really help if you’re already on there and looking for specific information.

User Profile

Maricela

Verified reviewer

Warehousing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Great Barcode Designer

PROS

Great and easy way to design an print barcodes, whether that be on a label or a hangtag, BarTender does the job! Easy step by step process, literally walks you through printing the type of Barcode you need.

CONS

It's a pricey software! It would have been nice if they offered support, like a chat, after purchase.

User Profile

Karl

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

A good well rounded software for our label printing needs here

much better system for designing and printing labels than we previously had! Faster and easier to train persons in....

PROS

Very easy to use, simple drag and drop and very easy to modify text boxes, etc. Love how they offer the free trial to test before buying. Also, it is compatible with just about every printer on the planet!

CONS

Kinda hard to come up with Cons for this software apart from the fact that they don't offer live chat, as well as pricing, hard to determine what the cost is - the website doesn't have prices on it, and when it comes down to it this is a fairly pricey software, then again - you get what you pay for, go figure :)

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Printing, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Best barcode creation software I've found.

I absolutly love this program. If anybody ever asked me for a few suggestions about how to make barcodes, I would only point them in the direction of this program. Its all you need.

PROS

This program is a one stop shop for creating whatever barcode you need. I haven't been able to push it anywhere close to its limits because its always been simple to create the correct style barcode I needed for my various customers projects. I would research what kind of barcode I needed to make and when I go into the program all the settings or barcode types have always been there.

CONS

Its not really a con but a warning. Make sure you know the specifications of the barcode type you need to create and plug the correct information into the proper space because the program really is as good as the knowledge of the user.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Uno strumento potente e versatile

Nelle sue diverse versioni, da automation ad Enterprise, ci ha permesso di realizzare dei sistemi di stampa automatizzata davvero avanzati. Lo utilizziamo e lo consigliamo ai nostri clienti per ottimizzare il flusso di lavoro e rendere l'etichettatura una fase leggera.

PROS

Trovo che sia un software adatto a diverse tipologie di settori, è sufficientemente potente da poter essere utilizzato per diverse tipologie di etichettatura, dalle più complesse alle più semplici.

CONS

La cosa che mi fa storcere il naso è sicuramente la politica dei prezzi sul numero di stampanti e il costo esorbitante della maintenance.

Reasons for switching to BarTender

Per compatibilità con i file delle etichette e perché ha maggiori servizi.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

It's Just OK

PROS

Can create a full product label complete with UPC code Has the option of only being able to change the lot code and best before date (for product labels)

CONS

Hard to edit texts as it often takes you to a separate window Text formatting is strange, size of text increases as you change the text box so it's difficult to control the text size Not easy to make a label from scratch Hard to make a table format ex. for nutritional facts table - must insert all the lines by yourself

Vendor Response

Good news! We have simple solutions to your issues. BarTender's auto size feature has been turned on in your system. To return to the default setting of static text size: - Right click on the text object - Choose "Properties" - In the new window, choose "Text format" - Uncheck the Auto Size box Text will now remain a consistent size. BarTender offers pre-formatted new FDA nutrition labels for both the one- and two-column format, and the present FDA nutrition label is included in the BarTender documents folder of your software. These templates include business rules to meet FDA's font size and spacing requirements, and you'll be able to use the labels' variable data fields to autopopulate the nutrition info directly from your database. I'd like to send the new label file to you. Contact me via the email address Capterra provides. You should never have to insert all those lines by yourself!! More help here: https://support.seagullscientific.com/hc/en-us

Replied February 2019

Nathan

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Useful and Functional

We print Serialization labels, warning labels, barcodes, warranty information and much more with this program. We have owned this software for the better part of 6 years and currently have no plans on changing. Overall I would recommend this product for a manufacturing environment with label printing needs.

PROS

We have an older version but this product has a ton of features and integrates well with our network and printers. We use this program to print thousands of labels for all of our product and the customization that is available is very useful.

CONS

Licensing is an issue. Every time our server is unavailable for an extended period of time it will give al the users an error and make the product lock up. In a world of SAS I feel that they could improve on this kind of architecture. That said, we do use an older version of the software but I would make sure that new versions can handle this issue better.

Cody

Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Used for printing serialization labels by integration functionality with SQL Database

Fast and easy creation of labels. Ability to track rev changes on labels.

PROS

The diverse functionality of creating and printing labels. Creating labels is fast and easy. Integrations is a great tool and are very powerful when wanting an action repeated easily. Librarian is a great feature to ensure label revs are tracked and managed properly.

CONS

The cost is based per printer. We have multiple printers for the sake of not having to travel to retrieve your label, however, for the price tag it's not worth activating a printer that only gets used once a week. The integrations is very finicky and occasionally needs to be restarted for no reason at all. The printer default settings do not save and revert back to original so I manually have to change the print speed and darkness on each label.

Taylor

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2016

BarTender 2016 is Great for Any Business Big or Small

BarTender 2016 by Seagull Scientific is really a great label or barcode software for any business no matter the size! It is sophisticated and professional yet very easy to use, especially for someone like me who was trying to get their small business off the ground. The software itself is a little pricey for small businesses, but you are definitely paying for the quality of the product. The process of creating labels and barcodes is very smooth and easy to customize. You can add symbols, images, text, and even your logo which was fantastic. Seagull doesn't have a chat program, but their website has many great resources including training videos, webinars, and other guides to ensure that you use their product to its full potential. Here is a link to those resources: http://www.seagullscientific.com/support/bartender-training-videos/ They also make it really easy to download and update your printer drivers which tends to be a pain with other products. I highly recommend Seagull Scientific's BarTender 2016. You can try a 30 day free trial here: http://www.seagullscientific.com/label-software/barcode-label-design-and-printing/

PROS

Sophisticated, professional, yet easy to use Great resources for software training as well as information for updating your drivers Good for any size business

CONS

A little bit on the pricey side No access to live chat support

Nazlin

Information Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

BarTender Regular user

BarTender is my best label printing solutions partner for the companies I worked using Microsoft Dynamics Navisiona, LS Retail and locally developed software solutions. I have been using BarTender for many years and I could not found any alternate product.

PROS

I am very happy with BarTender software. It gives us the ability to design the Barcode label on our own customization format even without a programing/coding knowledge to print a single label or thousands at a single click.

CONS

I would like to see in new update a better online help center specially online chat system or at least online submitting. It will be more convenience if the label printing comes in the order on which we send.

Jennifer

Warehousing, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2019

Clunky UI and Confusing Form Setup

PROS

A customer of ours requires that we generate bar codes for each of their shipments. They directed us to BarTender. I consider myself fairly fluent in computers, but BarTender's clunky UI and complicated form creation causes me headaches. The software is not user friendly nor is it intuitive. At the end of the day, I am able to create the required bar codes and Packing Lists our customer requires. But the hoops I have to jump to get there discourage me from recommending this software.

CONS

Once a form is created, you cannot input the data directly onto the form. You have to use a data input screen that you reach through Print Preview. It always takes me two passes to get this to work. I input the data once knowing the form will not print it for some unknown reason. I then have to re-input the data a second time and will finally be able to print. All of this could be avoided if I could input data directly onto the form.

Valerio

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Bartender visto da chi lo usa per lavoro.

PROS

Il prodotto ha un'immenso quantitativo di funzionalità e di potenzialità. Può letteralmente permettere di fare tutto, e di gestire in modo organizzato qualsiasi cosa sia in relazione al magazzino, spedizione, ed etichette di prodotto. E' un software completo ed esaustivo per l'ambiente di produzione e organizzazione di un'azienda.

CONS

Il software risulta essere a volte complesso, e in molti casi serve un'esperto al fianco di chi lo utilizza per sciogliere dubbi e risolvere problemi.Inoltre ha un costo non irrilevante, e a volte esistono soluzioni intermedie molto più efficienti, a meno o gratuite.Delle volte l'assistenza non è proprio delle migliori.

Gary

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY