What are WooCommerce users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using WooCommerce software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.53

463 Reviews

5
273
4
147
3
24
2
2
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"You can create discounts and coupons for your customers, which is great."
  • icon"I have been working on WooCommerce for years and found it very easy and useful to build eCommerce stores with big community support."
  • icon"The fact that you can quickly install and create a complete e-commerce website without knowing any bit of coding is just so amazing. And best of all, it's free."
  • icon"However, I can see if folks are not inclined to be DIY about this they might be annoyed with the lack of documentation WITHIN Wordpress."
  • icon"Upgrades often happen and when a non developer encounters conflict from upgrades they need a developer to fix it, it would be better if clients or non-developer can fix any upgrade conflicts."
  • icon"The order management is very complicated. Can be difficult for the ones who have less or no experience in the web development field."

Jump to:

Browse all WooCommerce Reviews

  • Have you used WooCommerce and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 447 reviews

Cameron

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2021

Low cost solution for e-commerce on Wordpress

User Profile

jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

WooCommerce Reviews 2022

In all cases, WooCommerce has always been a great relief for most of the individual eCommerce contracts I have received from my clients. It's been very effective all these years and I find satisfaction working with it. My #1 recommendation.

Pros

WooCommerce provides great management solutions and success facilities for eCommerce. It's very easy to set up & customizes and is 100% built to work in WordPress. It supports a lot of third-party integrations which in a combined force, facilitate store management and boost sales. Inventory management is pretty effective with other built-in functionalities. It's also cheap and offers a great customer support service which is one of the most important factors in business.

Cons

It's an awesome tool and has no outs as far as I'm concerned. It's just great

Marcos

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Packaging and Containers

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

WooCommerce Great from Start to Finish for Beginners or Enterprise

My overall experience with WooCommerce is as positive as can be, there are no issues wanting us to change from it.

Pros

Woocommerce helps to take your very first steps in eCommerce with ease and helps you grow. We started as a small business and have upgraded to an enterprise-level business still utilizing woocommerce.

Cons

WooCommerce has some learning curves but it's not an all-in-one solution to help from steps A-Z in the order fulfillment process. The cons are you do have to look into 3rd party integration for help, but all integrations connect seamlessly.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Low cost (Basically Free) You just have to do a bit of the heavy lifting connecting plugins and payment processors on your end. But you build your own personal store.

Jeanne

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Too difficult for novices; not enough in-box customizations for the savvy

Pros

I like that it is widely integrated into Wordpress themes. I like that it's connected to Stripe and PayPal. It's automated emails are nice, as well. Plug-ins are nice (but they are expensive and often are required for things you would expect out of the box). It can be customized to some degree, which was helpful for us...in some other ways, it is a bit rigid and not quite what you would want if you are trying to replicate a retail experience.

Cons

I would never recommend this to anyone who wasn't very, very, very tech savvy. It is absolutely not an option for people who don't have a lot of web development experience. It tries to be a system on its own, but we have found you really have to simply take the purchase data out of Woocommerce and put it into your own CRM system. We have decided to stop using it for our purposes of registering students for classes. We may still use it for the sale of items, but probably not.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

I think I chose it simply because it was integrated into the Wordpress theme I purchased. Also, PayPal was super wonky.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

PayPal is kind of horrible. It's very unfriendly. People hate it. Our customers hated it. It was very confusing. Reconciling accounts is awful.

Daniel

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

C&U review of Woocommerce

Positive. Would recommend to anyone.

Pros

Easy integration with plugins and other platforms. Inventory tracking. Order management. Refunds. Shipment tracking numbers.

Cons

Shipping profiles and actual cost of shipping rates. I find that the actual shipping rates will differ from what the customer pays to what we end up paying for a label. And in particular, international shipping costs are only available as a flat rate, and do not calculate an accurate cost. Making the difference between shipping from US to Canada the same as shipping from US to Europe.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Customization

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Needed to grow and customize our site. The inventory management on Squarespace was limited. And customizing on Squarespace did not allow for how my business was growing.

Elle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

The only ecommerce software I use

Woocommerce is the only ecommerce software I use. I've built dozens of websites using it and am yet to hit any barriers.

Pros

When a client wants to sell their products I always recommend Woocommerce because it ALWAYS does everything the client needs... and a whole lot more!

Cons

I wish it was easier for a low-skilled user to set up. But that's not a huge deal as I can do it for them... leaving them to purely monitor it after that.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Woocommerce is simply better in all capacities!

Pieter

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

The most flexible e-commerce platform for entrepreneurs and small-businesses

Woocommerce is a stable software solution that is dependable, customizable and feature rich. While Woocommerce is free, it can get expensive after purchasing licenses for everything it needs to be tailored to your business.

Pros

Thousands of plugins make Woocommerce a powerful tool in the hands of someone familiar with Wordpress.

Cons

New employees find it difficult to learn. Some aspects of the software UX is clunky and slow, despite good hosting providers. But this is an unfortunate side effect of what makes Woocommerce so great: Deep flexibility and support for third party plugins.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Woocommerce was more customizable than Shopify for our own special business needs.

Adam

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

The formula of success and ease of use.

Back in the day, I was always attracted by that GURUS online promoting other platforms (Never knew that they were affiliates). I used other platforms for 1 month and it was really expansive, all the plugins are extremely expansive or they charge a commission/ Sale. Then I discover WOOCOMMERCE easier, more control over the hosting and servers unlike Shopify (They can shut you down anytime they want without giving an ounce of explanations), and more artistic designing the websites From my point of view, WooCommerce can be described as Legit, Genuine, Beautiful, Educational never had any trouble ever since I started building websites it was always a +++ Income IT'S 5 STARS

Pros

WooCommerce it's beyond simple, I've personally been using this software for years (I even lost count) it has unlimited features: -Connected to WordPress -No more struggling for creating an eCommerce website, Online Courses, B2B platform, or more. -It's simple just a drag & drop system no need for expertise or development skills. -Best Worldwide Ecom platform and money saver, unlike others. -Have more control over the servers and hosting -The WooCommerce Community is everywhere around social media platforms and never struggle to complete a task. - It's FREE TO USE and NO COMMISSION -Multiple Plugins FREE

Cons

With Lack Of CMS, it might be a little hard to use, but after designing a couple of websites, then everything comes to a conclusion.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Beyond Expansive. They can shut you down anytime without explanations. They charge per every single sale you make. No control over your website. Plugins are high priced.

Tina

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

WooCommerce Excels in Ecommerce

I have been using WooCommerce for over ten years. I love the Ecommerce platform. I have tried their competition but always return to WooCommerce. They are always improving and adding plug-ins. My hosting is on Bluehost with WordPress installed as the CMS and WooCommerce as my Ecommerce platform. It's great. The only time I experience any issues is when a server glitches or goes down. I highly recommend WooCommerce as your Ecommerce platform!

Pros

WooCommerce is a highly customizable platform with over 55,000 available plug-ins. The platform is open source as are thousands of the plug-ins. There are also premium plug-ins available. WooCommerce Payments is easy to install and deploy which allows you to receive payment for your products which may be physical or digital. WooCommerce is more customizable then their competition. Once you use this platform you will not want to switch. If you are paying for hosting separately, it only makes sense to use WooCommerce so you are not paying twice.

Cons

The learning curve for WooCommerce requires more effort than their competition, which is why it is more customizable. It is advisable to read the literature available on the WooCommerce website and access their help section for guidance. If you have any coding skills, you will be fine. Your SSL Certificate will not be automatically hooked up. On your hosting account you will need to install that. Also you will need to write your Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Return Policy and link to one of your menus. Make sure to add a cookie plugin so you are covered legally in the United States and Europe.

Cristina

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Recomendable para empezar

Está muy bien para empezar con un ecommerce, pero si tenemos muchos productos al final hay que hacer una migración porque se queda un poco pequeño.

Pros

Es intuitivo y es fácil de encontrar todas las configuraciones.

Cons

Se queda un poco corto en cuanto a funcionalidades cuando el ecommerce se hace grande.

Vivek

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

A Free E-commerce platform

The overall experience was a roller coaster where I ended up pulling my hair out of frustration or it could be a breeze. Overall, it could be the best launching platform for your eCommerce website.

Pros

The fact that it is free is the biggest advantage it has over other applications. It helps small companies look like big Enterprises. With the help of a ton of free plug-ins, it definitely adds value and functionality. Despite being free, you can customize it to a good extent. A lot of resources online to help with queries.

Cons

No product comes without its cons, with woo commerce, it's the learning curve. It has a steep learning curve. It is almost impossible to import and inventory from a spreadsheet or CSV file. It does not offer proper automation unless you pay for it.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

The simple reason for a non-profit to pick Woocommerce is because it is open source and FREE.

User Profile

Romain

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Excellent platform

Pros

In my opinion woocommerce is the best platform to create an effective free ecommerce site.

Cons

Well I find that the navigation is quite complicated for novices and inexperienced

Antonio

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

The best Wordpress e-commerce plugin

All in all, it is the single best shopping solution for Wordpress. I used it on a few websites that I made and I loved it mainly because it was very easy and quick to set up. It saved me time and energy.

Pros

All of it. The beautiful out of the box shop front end, the ease of use, the great backend organization, the myriad of options, and the ease of setup. It is painless to set up to the point you only click a few buttons and you have a working shop.

Cons

There are many plugins for this plugin that don't come cheap. I'd love if they were a part of the software rather than buying them separately.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

It was cheaper and had more options. Also it had more readily available extensions.

User Profile

Saad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

WooCommerce

It was great

Pros

It provides optimal security and large community. It has great flexibility

Cons

You need to pay fees even monthly to use some extensions of woocommerce.

Eero

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Great e-commerce tool --- unfortunately it is on Wordpress

I have several Woocommerce stores and deal with many others that are owned and run by other people. I have good experiences with it, it is a high-quality product and even if it is not perfect, it is light-years ahead of many competitors.

Pros

It is free but still offers all necessary functionalities to start and run an online store. It is easy to use and there are a lot of extra functionalities available, some paid, some free.

Cons

The biggest dislike I have is that it runs on WordPress. It is very unfortunate, but we must live with it. Another dislike is that some of the 3rd party functionalities are very expensive compared to what they offer. The pricing is the same for a tiny new store and a well-established big online giant. I would rather see some other kind of pricing models for some of the plugins, but...

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Shopify has a lot of hype around it, but when you start using it you will find out its shortcomings - which there are many. For example, try creating discount campaigns while offering individual coupons and see how well that goes. They have promised to fix the basics for years, but I lost hope waiting. Wix and Squarespace might be easy options for non-techies, but have serious limitations if you want to do more customized stores. Plus, with all of these three software, you are married to their service and servers, and there is no way out. Woocommerce store is built and you can move it somewhere else if you want, you can close it for a year and open it again if you want. It is yours. Wix, Squarespace and Shopify stores are not.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

i still have J2Store-based stores too, but that software is not developing fast enough, unfortunately. Maybe new version comes soon. Magento is a relic, and I will try to stay away from it after few mistakes in the past.

Diego Luis

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Complemento esencial para cualquier emprendimiento de Ecommerce.

Mi experiencia con este complemento ha sido excelente. Me pemitió automatizar mnis procesos de promoción y venta, aumentando el número de clientes y conversiones. Lo que más se aprecia es que posibilita la automatización, que termina en una significativa mejora y profesionalidad frente al cliente, además del ahorro de tiempo en cuanto a la gestión.

Pros

-facilidad de implementación, incluso el propio complemento te ayuda. -confiabilidad al 100% -complemento compatible con muchas integraciones. -se ajusta a las necesidades de la página web. -gestiona pagos de forma muy completa. -se integra bien al sitio web. -permite muchos niveles de pesonalización. -curva de aprendizaje muy pequeña. -provee datos relevantes, y analíticas indispenables para mejorar el negocio y la atención al cliente. -envía mensajes y notificaciones, automatiza muchos procesos y nos quita un gran peso de los hombros, a la hora de dar una imagen más profesional y eficiente.

Cons

-a veces puede tener problemas si hay complementos obsoletos, pero igualmente se puede solucionar aunque requiere un nivel de conocimiento un poco mayor. -a veces puede fallar la descarga de algunos datos en CSV, si hay otros complementos obsoletos. -No es una contra, pero para algunos usuarios puede serlo, y es el hecho de que tiene tantas herramientas e integraciones que requiere pensar un poco qué idea de negocio queremos implementar para elegir la fonfiguración más apropiada.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Por la facilidad de implementación, y por la capacidad de integración con wordpress que es realmente maravillosa.

Rosie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

An excellent choice for newbies

Overall I have and continue to use this software on some of my websites as well some for my clients. It has been a great addition since having an eCommerce platform on a website without having to purchase additional software is fantastic. Since the free version of WooCommerce is pretty much all you need to get started. It is usually the additional functionality for extra features is what requires the add ins and or additional plugins.

Pros

This software for WordPress sites to create an eCommerce store is great for newbies and the free version comes with enough features to create a pretty robust store. There are however other integrations required to take the store to another level. This may be things like being able to create a wish-list, add dropshiping products or simply have a popup cart. The point is all of this can be done with additional plugins that are free to use with WooCommerce free version, you can have a great looking eCommerce site that looks and runs very efficiently without spending a ton of money to get started. Being able to integrate drop shipping allows you to have a full store without spending any money on your inventory and without having to incur monthly costs for having the site.

Cons

Some of their best features require add ins that can get to be very expensive when you start looking at all the great features they can add to your store. There are other free and paid options but as with most software, it is better to use the ones built by the software makers rather than ones created by others. Simply put, sometimes basic updates can create conflicts between the software on your site and leave you puzzled with why your site is not working the way it was. This can get to be an issue if you are new to the game and don't know how to troubleshoot your website issues.

Will

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

WooCommerce for Downloadable Products and Subscriptions

WooCommerce is an excellent solution for E-Commerce and can do anything you want it to. That can get overwhelming at times, as there as sooo many options to dig through. But, on the plus side, you can find an add-on or find a plug-in that will solve any issue you have.

Pros

I moved to WooCommerce (from a combination of other plug-ins) because I wanted one platform that I could sell downloads ala carte, and sell subscriptions. I previously used multiple different platforms and solutions to make managing downloads and subscriptions happen, and Woo allows me to manage all products and offerings I have in one place.

Cons

Moving subscriptions from an existing plug-in with active subscriptions through Stripe to WooCommerce was a big process. I did a lot of research and reached out to various developers and was looking at a $4,000 plus custom development support solution to make the transition happen. I did enough research and testing that I was able to make the transition happen over a weekend, without any additional support. In addition to the struggle of transitioning subscriptions, I learned that WooCommerce doesn't use Stripe's "subscription" feature but instead creates a new charge each month, until the customer cancels. So metrics are very difficult.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

I needed something that would allow me to manage courses and downloads, as well as offering subscriptions. I also needed something that could accept subscriptions via Stripe so that I could transfer existing Stripe subscriptions to the new platform. WooCommerce allowed for that.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

I still LOVE both RCP and EDD and they are very easy, powerful solutions. But, I kept finding myself trying to string together solutions to manage both a ala carte download store and subscription management.

Steph

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Decent Depending on What You Need it For

It's great for small shops. It works best for simple things, especially affiliate products. Can be cumbersome for growing shops. You need at least some Wordpress experience. Requires a decent amount of maintenance. Overall, I'd give it a 3 out 5 stars.

Pros

Woocommerce is a really inexpensive way to get started with ecommerce. It's great if you're just starting out and on a tight budget since it is a free plugin. It also depends what you're using Woocommerce for. It works the best for affiliate products.

Cons

Although Woocommerce is free, it does help to have some knowledge of Wordpress and basic development skills to effectively use it. Otherwise, using a paid ecommerce software is much easier. I've used Woocommerce for years and it can become very heavy and cumbersome with the more products you add. It's gotten a lot better over the years, but the functionality can still be tricky and you need to install a lot of plugins to customize it to your various needs. Code, plugins, Wordpress, etc., can also easily break your site from updates and conflicts. There's a lot of maintenance that goes into a Wordpress site and that's maximized with Woocommerce. I find other ecommerce software to be much easier to use and be less of a headache, especially for a beginner.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Just needed an extremely simple affiliate product ecommerce software. If I was selling a good amount of products or needed something that's extremely easy to use and doesn't require much maintenance, then I'd go with a paid software.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Virtually anything is possible with WooCommerce

Having built many WooCommerce stores for our web clients, it's by far more extensible and flexible than Shopify, et al. You're not locked into one mode of operating, which is important for many businesses with unique needs. With WooCommerce your online store can change as your business needs change. Virtually anything is possible, given you have the technical skill or can afford a developer to implement it.

Pros

WooCommerce is the most powerful e-commerce platform for any small to medium-sized business who can't afford to custom code their own store from scratch. If you need features not found in Shopify, Squarespace or Wix, WooCommerce is the answer. With its galaxy of third-party plugins and extensive online support, there's virtually no limit to what you can build.

Cons

Building and managing a WooCommerce store can be difficult, depending on your technical skills and the complexity of your store. Also, while there are many free WooCommerce plugins, there are many more that require paid subscriptions. These subscriptions can add up. Frankly, if your needs are basic, review Shopify and other SaaS e-commerce platforms first before considering self-hosting with WooCommerce.

User Profile

Abby

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Best e-commerce option by mixed feelings

I use WooCommerce daily for multiple clients' websites. My clients are happy with their e-commerce functionality and I rarely encounter issues from the webmaster side of things. You have the option to customize it to the extreme, or if your selling needs are basic, you can setup an e-commerce site quickly and very easily.

Pros

First, it's free. That's not entirely true though because anything additional you want to add will likely cost money; most add-ons are $79. Still even if you get two add-ons, $160 a year is a drop in the bucket compared to most other e-commerce. The MAIN reason I use and recommend Woo is it's compatibility. Because it's so widely used, it can integrate with anything and everything. Every bank has a payment gateway that connects to WooCommerce (via plugin - sometimes free, sometimes $79). It's relatively user-friendly. When you get into the settings though, there are tabs across the top, but then there are little tiny links within the tabs sometimes that aren't easily spotted.

Cons

Sometimes it feels like a monopoly - like you use WooCommerce or Shopify and the later of the two is dreadful. The WordPress community is incredibly helpful, but you have to know where to go to ask for help.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

The ability to customize WooCommerce is so much greater than any of the DIY site builders. You can control variations like size, color, case size. You can manage inventory. You can accept payment through any bank's gateway or any of the main credit card processors. You can control and customize the emails that clients get.

User Profile

Greice

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Light, stable and affordable

My experience with wordpress could not be better, it is light and can be easily run on cheaper hosting.

Pros

The best quality of wordpress in front of its opponents is really the huge community that makes us find plugins for practically everything we want to do, and even when we don't find it we can find someone who is willing to do it for an affordable price.

Cons

Plugins are constantly developing and can sometimes create some incompatibilities, which is normal, but the speed with which these problems are corrected is another strength of wordpress since all systems are subject to problems but quick solutions I find with wordpress.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

The number of plugins is much greater and so is the user community.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Magento was very heavy and required too much hosting.

John

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

WooCommerce - Great system! Not perfect! But is anything really perfect?

I personally believe the 'pros' outweigh the 'cons' when considering WooCommerce as an E-commerce platform. I've built multiple sites using WooCommerce that would have $cost tens of thousands of dollars had a Developer been required to code all of these functions. My advice would always be - find a high quality / low-cost Developer (using one of the online labour aggregator sites e.g. Upwork) who has a wealth of recent WooCommerce experience (particularly with the functionality you are looking to achieve) and accept that not everything will work perfectly (or even be compatible) straight 'out of the box'. At the end of the day, if you priced all of the code that has been contributed to make WooCommerce what it is today - it would probably cost $billions to rebuild. So the next time you're criticising 'free' - remember that nothing is ever free.

Pros

There are too many pro's to mention with WooCommerce, but i love the fact that it is Open Source which ensures thousands of plugins are available to extend the functionality of WooCommerce. And this is Woocommerce's biggest strength - It can quite feasibly allow a micro-size company to operate like an Enterprise (e-biz), including building end-to-end workflow automation across an entire business operation. Remarkably, this business panacea (end-2-end) can conceivably be achieved free of charge, or for only a few hundred dollars (plus A LOT of Developer and Administrator time).

Cons

WooCommerce doesn't come without Con's, and it's vitally important to recognise them. The main 'con' for me is the fact that because you have an 'infrastructure' that allows you to 'act' like an Enterprise - the temptation is to do so. This is where cost, resources, licences, etc can start to rack up. WooCommerce DOES NOT provide everything out of the box, but rather through a series of Modules (1st & 3rd party) that come at a cost. If you purchase from WooCommerce (Automattic) you pay a premium for each module (but you get support). If you purchase from 3rd party devs you typically pay a lower cost for the module (but the support is often questionable, as are the 'upgrades', 'compatibility roadmap', etc). So, although WooCommerce is an incredible toolset for building an Enterprise-style e-commerce platform, it is not always plain sailing.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

Cost and functionality benefits are always the reasons why I always choose WooCommerce over its competitors.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Love Shopify as well (as WooCommerce), but feel that WooCommerce gives the owner more control, more functionality, and more opportunities to create an end-2-end digital workflow. But, there's also a lot to be said for having a simpler system that doesn't allow you to get carried away.

Sarah

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

A great e-commerce solution, but still awhile to go...

WooCommerce is great in its e-commerce features but lacks where its obvious competitors are excelling in, turning it into a second-grade choice when compared to the likes of BigCommerce, Krepling, and Shopify.

Pros

WooCommerce is great in its core product offering. It offerings everything one could ask for when looking to deploy an online store. It is simple and easy to use and also has a decent array of features. For WordPress users, it is a must-have if you are looking to deploy online selling functions.

Cons

Where WooCommerce falls short is its simplicity. Whilst platforms like Shopify, Krepling, and BigCommerce have mastered the ability to simplify and centralize the online selling environment and business management, WooCommerce has yet to innovate any of its central dashboards and interfaces. I have used WooCommerce for 3.5 years, and despite it being a very powerful selling tool, I have never been able to look past it being just a WordPress plugin. Entrepreneurs are still required to have their own separate hosting options and domain configurations, which require users to constantly jump between different support options just to troubleshoot errors. Not to mention how much WooCommerce relies on WordPress. Although I have no complaints about WordPress, its ease of building websites has not adopted a 'no-code' ideology, thus requiring users to purchase additional plugins like themes and modules.

Reasons for switching to WooCommerce

Magneto required extensive knowledge of coding and programming. Something not clearly marketed by the platform.

Sara

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

When you have more time than money - worth learning!

It's absolutely a game-changer for me and my very small business. I sell items online and moved away from big commerce marketplaces because the fees were eating me alive in an already super competitive market. I can now run my own store on my own website and list as many items as I was for free. I also have the ability to modify Woocommerce however I see fit to my needs. It's a little tricky at first but worth the time investment considering it's a free opensource app.

Pros

It's free and it's open source! If you have the time and a little bit of patience this is well worth the investment of knowledge it takes to get it up and running. The modifications you can implement and the documentation on how to do so I plentiful online. Having the ability to manipulate such a versatile plugin for your website is monumental when running a small business and literally doing everything for yourself. You can also integrate print-on-demand stores like Printful into your Woocommerce store which is one of the best features!

Cons

It can be overwhelming. If you are not familiar with the backends of websites and a little coding this might not be for you. If you are unfamiliar with e-commerce this can also be overwhelming too. The language and deep level of modifications and settings can make your head spin.

Reasons for choosing WooCommerce

It's free!

Showing 1 - 25 of 447 reviews
WooCommerce

WooCommerce

4.53/5 out of 463 reviews