All JDisc Discovery Reviews

1-24 of 24 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Tautvydas

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Very good product for afordable price.

We use a JDisc discovery for (now mostly infrastructure) asset tracking at our clients premises. And we have over 30 installations and counting.

PROS

We chose JDisc as an discovery tool, because it is agentless, it has "native integration" with our CMDB system and really extensive device and software recognition database and discovery protocols available. All that for a really good price. We use their "Networking add-on" to have a "big-picture" on our network topologies. Notable features like PAM/password manager integrations adds up to the security and usability of the product. It has custom reporting and even Custom discovery scripts if You need it. The support is supper responsive and with deep knowledge in the field, new "unknown" devices could be added just "on request". All that is needed for this task is already in the app. "Builds" are coming on a weekly intervals adding support for new features and new devices .

CONS

The biggest drawback is kind of clumsy install and update process of software. As it uses .NET libraries to be able to provide Windows device discovery it is Windows "Server and Client" architecture software. So for those already used to "git pull" it will be nightmare. Install/config through installer takes up to 30 min depending on "hardware" and even minor build update is actually full reinstall of application. Don't expect to be on a "latest" build if You have more than 1 installation.

Reason for choosing JDisc Discovery

Rich features at affordable price. Specific function.

Reasons for switching to JDisc Discovery

Price mainly.

Bernhard

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

JDisc Review

Extremly helpful for analysing your infrastructure

PROS

Easy to install and administrate. You have a quick return on invest.The collected data is very helpful for other tools and you can quickly analyse for example JAVA-Installations or worst of all Log4J-Issues.

CONS

There are no Cons for us.We are waiting of finishing the new Webinterface.

Thomas

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Straightforward the best tool to get an inventory quickly

Sophisticated tool that gives you a very detailed output about your environment including all your open ports on the network, a list of pending updates, all your Exchange Mailboxes with features enabled and size all in one click

PROS

Best customer support ever. Had unidentified devices on the network, simply did send a SNMP Walk to the support and the devices were detected correctly in the next release A WEEK LATER !! Yes they do releases every week ! They are always open for suggestions

CONS

Really nothing to complain about as the product is evolving fast and all needed functions are included

Reason for choosing JDisc Discovery

We did integrate JDISC with I-doit to geed info into CMDB

Ralf

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Discover the Undiscovered

At the end of the day JDISC is a real time-saver and watchguard over your networks changes in structure and configuration. I stopped looking at workplace systems. JDISC is just a few mouseclicks away.

PROS

Stumbling into a unknown and not well documented Network, Jdisc provided me with a fast and nearly complete overall view in hours. But that's only the first step. We use JDISC now to keep track of asset and network changes directly into i-doit CMDB. Beside frequently updates bringing not only bug-fixes but also a lot of support for many common and exotic hard- and software, the outstanding Support has to be mentioned.

CONS

Frequently Updates soon become a challenge, since updates have to be applicationlied manualy; sorry nno in-application-updates. Also I would like to see a linux-based edition.

Christoph

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Best network discovery tool

PROS

Excellent detection of all hardware and software in our network. It finds nearly everything. And those really unusual pieces of hardware are quickly added by the software developers. It's a quality that you rarely see these days in commercial products.

CONS

It only runs on Windows which is rather unusual in our environment. We favor Linux/Ubuntu/Mint.

Stefan

Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Best discovery tool have have used so far

We use JDisc for internal IT as well as on-premise customer systems. Our customers are always delighted when they receive such detailed and up-to-date information about their systems from us!

PROS

For us, JDisc is the best tool for capturing HW and SW data across a sheer endless number of IT devices. It works extremely fast and reliable. In particular, the customer support is outstanding, you get help at any time, new devices are taken over in no time by the JDisc team into the tool.

CONS

The user interface could be a bit fancier ...

Christoph

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Excellent integration, full functionality, requires customization

We use JDisc to collect data on all the devices attached to our customers network. This information is stored in the JDisc database and easily made available to other applications, such as i-doit (part of our ITSM-Stack). Which we use to manage our clients IT infratsructure. JDisc collects information on nearly everthing, including software, installed components and their connections, provided you set it up right. One feature i´d like to mention is "Agentenlos". Which let you do everything from JDisc without installing anything on the systems themselves. The only drawback is the time you need to configure it and the mistakes you can make. The support is great though and will help you get it right. Enhancements and bugfixes are coming very quickly.

PROS

I like JDisc Discovery because it gets very detailed information from tons of devices in a very short timeframe.

CONS

You need to configure it right.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Environment discovery in perfect price/value relationship

PROS

The user interface is well designed, intuitive and very responsive. Data that has been gathered is in good shape and correct. Custom reports allow to export any information based on a rich criteria builder. Advanced users can query the underlying database directly as the database schema is available if wanted. A GraphQL API offers a possibility to query data like other REST APIs. The software is continuously updated and brings beside of new features, minor fixes also more patterns for device identification. Users can request new features and questions are answered quickly.

CONS

The web-interface is under development. However, the implementation started not long time ago and is proceeding weekly :-)

Reason for choosing JDisc Discovery

JDisc has a perfect price/value relationship!

Bastian

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Basis for a consistent cmdb

PROS

JDisc works agentless and scans entire network areas including snmp devices. Thus almost all devices can be found. Filters are a good way to inventory only those devices that are needed. Support adds unknown SNMP devices within weeks when providing snmp-walks. With the available API and reports, JDisc fills a Configuration Management Database very well.

CONS

One downside is the (legitimate) need to save passwords in order to use JDisc to its full extent and therefore the need to harden the operating system. Agentless can be a disadvantage if there are many "unwanted" devices in the network.

Reinhold

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2016

Our choice for a network inventory tool

We evaluate JDisc as a network inventory tool for one of our customers. Our experience shows that JDisc provides a lot of information for a wide range of professional devices and operating systems. It is easy to install and use. Fast scanns and a very high rate of discovered devices speed up the process of data collection. JDisc provides the data collection for other tools for us and is stable and reliable. We use it now in our own environment without any problems and it is our first choice for customer request. I would call the support for this tool as "best practice".

Horst

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2016

JDisc was the right decision

Using JDisc as the central network inventory tool was the best decision we made. Why? JDisc is very scaleable, fast and stable. Use it for small or very big sites between 50 or 1000 and more devices. JDisc is organized in modules. We are able to get excatly what we want. There is no need to customize JDisc for retrieving information, we do not need at a certail stage. But we have the posibility to. The features provided by JDisc allows us to fullfill a lot of requests, which are beyond the functionality of a network inventory tool. JDisc results can easily be be used by all providors of our customers. So it is an independent data collection. JDisc provides an interface to integrate function and resultis in other software products. At least .. fair pricing and a flexible, well skilled and fast support team made it easy to run JDisc.

Philippe

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Fast Reporting and Inventory Tool

PROS

-The support reacts extremly fast -Probelms are solved in the next coming releases -Ideas are also implementet in near future releases

CONS

Sometimes we faced problems with the update to a new Version

Pratik

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great discovery tool

PROS

Discovery of all devices on network. Picked up unknown devices on network very well.

CONS

No web UI. The discovery tool helps with customer whom have no tools in place in their environment.

Dominik

Management Consulting, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Top product for filling CMDB

We has to fill a cmdb with our IT infratructure items. And we want to get automatically new devices into it. This tool saves nearly 1,5 personal ressource for mantaining the cmdb.

PROS

The software fill automated the cmdb. That saves a lot of time and ressources in the IT department to document the Infrastructure.

CONS

Never seen a so good and fast support! Bug or nessesarry changes will be applied into application within 2 Weeks.

Reason for choosing JDisc Discovery

Price Performance Ratio & recommendation of our consuting partner. Read about it in some IT Magazines.

Neil

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Great Product

PROS

JDisc gets really good, accurate and reliable data; generally beyond what I have seen in other tools.

CONS

I'd like to see a metering/usage functionality in the longer term

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Great tools to improve your infrastructure or purchasing needs!

It's a great tool with a lot of features. You can use ist with a lot of other tools.

PROS

The network dependency addon which maps automatically the network with his structure. It increases our amount of documentary work over 60 %. Same on asset side.

CONS

The Software ist very smart, with a Little Training easy to use. Has a lot of possible usecases combined with a cmdb tool. Our main tool to get a nearly automated overview over our infrastructure.

Jochen

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Now it is already 11 years that we work together

we have been working together for 11 years now. It is very constructive, innovative and always at eye level.

PROS

Reliability, easy to install, high depth of information. Very good and competent exchange with colleagues from JDISC. Adheres to agreements. Simply a good partnership

CONS

I can't think of anything, except that the web frontend is not ready yet ;)

Pierre

Entertainment, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE