All Kandji Reviews

1-25 of 75 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dylan

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Apple device management game changer

Benefits of our Kandji migration: Saving time managing our macOS fleet through Kandji's built-in library of apps, automation, workflows, and configurations. Moving closer to a true zero-touch deployment of our new Apple device endpoints. Decreased device on-boarding time. Providing a better experience for keeping devices and apps updated for our employees.

PROS

Working with the Kandji team, you can tell they are among the best at Apple device management. The level of effort and care the Kandji team puts into deployment and support is setting a new standard. Security is a front and center focus of the Kandji product. Effortlessly secure your devices and spend less time worrying about your device security. Great end-user experience to manage or enforce updates. Kandji has a library of apps, automations and workflows that can save any IT team time by not needing to consistently manage, update apps and scripts. This was a big differentiator for me, working on a small team that spends time on more than just device management.

CONS

Recent macOS updates have changed and continue to change the way businesses can manage their macOS devices (looking at you kernel and system extensions). Kandji has the product and team that gives me hope that they can handle any future device management changes Apple may make.

Robby

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

My favorite MDM

Overall I have been extremely happy with Kandji and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a premium really solid management solution for Macs and iOS.

PROS

Kandji has taken the time to truly rewrite the underlying engine that is running their MDM and management tools, and it's easy to tell when you're using the tool. Utilizing modern development practices and cloud resources, Kandji is extremely fast at pushing out commands that you send from the dashboard, and the Mac client is fast, reliable, and helps enforce policies even when a computer is offline. Other management systems that I have used extensively have extremely flaky clients on the computer and require that you do all of the work to make scripts to "self-heal" the client. I have never had to do that with Kandji. The dashboard is really easy to use and allows you to do some incredibly powerful things with minimal training on Kandji itself.

CONS

There are a few minor features that are available in most other MDM's that aren't available in Kandji yet, but for our use cases, they haven't been a very big deal. It is something to be conscious of when looking at the solution, however. Additionally, in general, I like the "Blueprint" concept of managing devices, but there are some downsides. If we have a computer that needs one application that others don't, for instance, we have to clone the blueprint and move that one computer to a new blueprint. There's no way to apply a setting to only one computer. Then with the additional blueprints, when you want to make a change, you have one more place to remember to do it. I would love if there was a method of applying certain things based on a computer "tag" or something similar to help with one-off situations while still taking advantage of the good parts of blueprint based templates.

Reasons for switching to Kandji

Jamf Pro is extremely capable, however, it is also extremely expensive for what you're getting. It's a big toolbox that allows you to do almost anything you want, however, they aren't going to help you do those things very well. The amount of product-specific knowledge that you need is pretty high, and many simple tasks is extremely high, and I constantly felt like I was fighting with Jamf to get anything done.

User Profile

Reza

Verified reviewer

Retail, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Well made product

Overall it's an immaculate and well-made product which I believe is a good deal for its money.

PROS

The best thing about this product is the UI which is really user-friendly and makes it easy to manage almost every part.

CONS

I was comparing this product with ours which is Jamf, compared to it, Kandji doesn't have some functionalities but hopefully, they're adding them gradually.

Carl

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

7 minutes from first setup to actual production use

We are using Kandji to create a perfect zero touch experience, to simplify support and to make instant changes to configurations. We also plan to use it with iOS devices in future, because it supports iPad for business is such a smooth way, we can’t really wait to try it out. The support and help with the team at Kandji has been an absolute joy. They know and love their product for good (and obvious) reasons. As a life long Apple user, admin and admirer I can say that if Apple did their own MDM, it would look like this.

PROS

The setup of Kandji with G Suite defies belief when it comes to ease of use. Importing users took literally seconds with about 220 users. Setting up the Apple MDM certificates with Business Manager is about a few minutes (only limited by internet speed) but the true magic comes in when creating ones first Blueprint. And this is where one grasps the potential of the product as nothing can beat the UI, the speed and the simplicity. I had it up and running so quickly I thought I had forgotten something. This can be handled by first level employees with almost zero experience in the MDM arena. If they can use iTunes, they can use Kandji.

CONS

There honestly is nothing I like least. I am looking forward for them to have an admin client for iOS but again, the website works so well in Safari, it’s not really required.

Reason for choosing Kandji

It’s simpler, faster and less complex. It gets the job done but with a certain surprise and delight factor. It is also much easier for lesser experienced folks in support and doesn’t break the bank. We know that users don’t use self service, because if there is actual service any user will appreciate that over having to do the job of a supporter in addition to their own job. With Kandji we won’t need self service, because it helps us to get everything done without the hassle of setting up complex services that run in the background, which we know nobody will use.

Reasons for switching to Kandji

We wanted an interface that is more Apple like. We also wanted things to be fast and instant. Kandji delivers here and that’s why it’s a no-brainier. We also wanted something that suits our needs but is more economically sound. Again, they deliver.

Henry

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Kandji - a sensible MDM for a fleet of Mac laptops

Kandji has helped simplify our Mac management experience significantly. Previously, we managed Mac set-up by hand, with checklists and regular checkins. It was time-consuming to set up new laptops, and challenging to reliably roll-out changes to settings across the laptop fleet. With Kandji, we no longer have to spend 1-2 hours configuring new laptops to meet our set up specs, and we can be confident that all security policies are set up correctly and enforced in an ongoing way.

PROS

1) It was very easy to learn how to use Kandji, as an admin. Our team was familiar with Macs as admins, but we had never used an MDM before - and every MDM we read about seemed complex and focused on companies with a big full-time IT staff. When we started with Kandji, we was able to get our first profile running and deployed in less than an hour. It's been very easy to make custom profiles, get connected to Apple business, and roll out across our fleet of Mac laptops. 2) The support has been outstanding. Both by chat and videoconference, all of our questions from the mundane to the obscure have been answered quickly and clearly. Very friendly people, and very committed to getting to the bottom of any issue. For clarity, we have not used Kandji yet for mobile devices or user-owned devices.

CONS

When we launched, there was not a way to enforce installation of certain non-App-store apps (e.g., Chrome, Google File Stream). Kandji has now released a way to ensure those apps are installed, which is helpful. At times, configuration of the blueprints can be confusing. Certain topics are grouped together because that's the way Apple groups them, and it's non-intuitive to more everyday users. Kandji help has always clarified these issues promptly.

Reason for choosing Kandji

Kandji appeared to be very easy to use, and did not require full time IT staff. Their blog was straightforward and informative, which led us to believe that we would have a good experience with the team and learn more about best practices for laptop deployment. The price is very reasonable, especially given the high quality product and great support.

John

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Easiest MDM to use

Great experience from on-boarding to tech support to customer success managers.

PROS

The onboarding team made things super easy when moving from JAMF Pro. User interface is extremely clean and easy to use unlike other MDM's that require much more knowledge and skill. The support team is un matched across the board. Never have I had such quick responses to questions or issues (which 99% of the time was user error) Typical response times are under 5 minutes for sure.

CONS

Not much to dislike about the software outside of wishing I had more time during on boarding to get the most out of the software but we had multiple projects going on at the same time so that was more on me then Kandji

Reasons for switching to Kandji

Jamf was like trying to open a walnut with a sledge hammer for what our needs were.

Paul

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

For Macs, I've not seen anything better

MacOS MDM & Admin that works. We had so many issues with our previous suppliers that we repeatedly saw evidence it was actually physically not doing the job. Kandji is definitely running fully and correctly, along with providing expertise and access which makes my life easier.

PROS

The support is exemplary. I run a small business, and I'm competent but not an expert on Mac admin - having someone who answers emails/intercom without prejudice is amazing.

CONS

I wish they could fix everything! Unfortunately, whilst they try hard, they can't resolve fundamental flaws in the OS's! Whilst the UI of the platform isn't quite perfect (the odd bit is a little unintuitive), it's light years better than most of their competitors.

Reasons for switching to Kandji

Because MobileIron wasn't very easy to use, and we saw plenty of evidence it wasn't functioning properly. Support was slow and cumbersome.

Satham

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

A worthy Jamf Alternative

PROS

Liftoff is a top feature --> Ship the MacBook directly from Apple to employees in any country, Kandji takes care of the rest. One-Click Templates --> Push CIS level security settings on the tens of MacBooks in minutes Their support team --> They are instant and reactive Kandji passport integration with IAM solutions

CONS

Reporting features could be better At this stage, the available features are delivered greatly and they have a frequent update cycle. So having high hopes that it will be implemented soon

Reason for choosing Kandji

Remote Mac management CIS Standard Compliance Endpoint Readiness for Certifications like ISO Saved a lot of time and local presence for setting up MacBooks. New employees are up and running in literally minutes.

Travis

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Mac management made easy!

The process of implementing the software was straight forward. Managing our Mac devices is so much simpler now. Support is responsive and knowledgeable. The cost is reasonable for the benefit provided, especially if you have a larger Mac fleet.

PROS

As someone who was no an expert on Macs, but needed a way to manage the handful we had in our inventory, this program has been a life saver. It saved us tons of time on setting up next devices, we are able to deploy consistent images to all users and keep workstations up to date on a regular basis.

CONS

Some of the features can be complex due to Apple's security and privacy standards. I've found customer support to be very helpful when I got stuck on a feature.

Reason for choosing Kandji

Feedback from other Kandji users indicated they were happier with the product than Jampf users in general. The available options and functionality won us over as well.

James

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Up and running quickly, simply, and without issues.

IT administation isn't my primary role, nor do I have the time for it to be. I needed a product that I could setup quickly, onboard users with minimal fuss, and have confidence that it was going to look after the device fleet proactively. I also needed a tool that would suppory my company in passing ISO 27001 auditing. I was supported getting Kandji up and running quickly, simply, and without issues. The UI is clear and easy to manage. I was able to get all my users onboarded without issues. Kandji is looking after devices and I've got confidence that the devices are secure.

PROS

The support team has been proactive, not just throughout the onboarding process, but throughout the process. We're a small client comparatively speaking and I feel like I get the support of a much higher level client!

CONS

I really have nothing negative to say about this product. It's served the purposes we bought it for perfectly.

Reason for choosing Kandji

Cheaper, easier setup, better sales pitch, better support

John

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

An Awesome Challenger to the Jamf Pro Mac MDM

I'm managing all of my company's computers, can push all the apps I want and not even think about any update being performed as Kandji is great at pushing them.

PROS

It just works and doesn't requires you to code anything. The support is great and they actually listen to feedback and implement it.

CONS

There could be some extra QoL improvements but they seems to be coming little by little.

Reason for choosing Kandji

Just get it. It will spare you a world of headache compared to Jamf or Addigy.

Toufik

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

I'm not regretting to purchase Kandji

Very happy about the overall experience and easiness to use Kandji.

PROS

Awesome user interface and user experience. It helps me save my mental load by offering an intuitive and comprehensive interface to use.

CONS

The pricing model was, at first, confusing and not to our advantage when we start with a small number of devices.

Reason for choosing Kandji

Better interface, and cheapest after a numbers of enrolled devices.

Byron

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Best MDM Tool I have used

Our macOS hands-on management time is near zero now on a daily basis. Kandji takes care of things like maintenance (auto restarts every 7 days and forcing OS updates) and the alerts to Slack help us keep up to date on devices.

PROS

Very easy to set up and configure blueprints. Kandji provides a lot more built-in security features than JAMF or others offer which has reduced the time spent by my team and me. Kandji Support is also top-notch and that alone is reason enough to pick Kandji.

CONS

There are definitely some features missing that I used in JAMF, but nothing that Kandji doesn't have a solution for one way or another. They are always willing to do their best when you need to accomplish a task they do not offer by default.

Reasons for switching to Kandji

Pricing, features and customer service

Devin

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Kandji is awesome

It has been great to manage our Mac fleet. Flawless execution

PROS

UI, usability, how easy it is to integrate with ABM, Azure AD, and Google

CONS

There are some features that other solutions like JAMF have, and the EDR could use a bit of work.

Reason for choosing Kandji

Cost, and ease of use for our size

Rick

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Kandji has excellent product at a very fair price

quicker builds. application updates, remote wipes, unlocking users. kandji support is both friendly and capable too.

PROS

My build time for my white glove computer builds is down 75% due to using Kandji. Huge ROI and support win!

CONS

saving views you want to reuse. also including the minor version number for macs. keep those auto-apps coming.

Reason for choosing Kandji

price, simplicity and ease of use.

Herb

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Our Kandji MDM Experience

It's made MacOs and iOS device management a breeze.

PROS

The ease of use. It makes device deployment and administration for MacOs a breeze.

CONS

Wish it was easier to customize the Dock for each Blueprint.

Reason for choosing Kandji

Ease of use.

Dan

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

<