All Kennel Link Reviews

1-25 of 74 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Excellent product with out of the box ease of use!

We run our daily operation through KennelLink and have been for 10+ past years.

PROS

KennelLink is so user-friendly. It's intuitive with no learning curve.

CONS

It's not pretty and can appear outdated. However, this is not the case - as the product is maintained frequently and new features are often added. The simplistic look contributes to it's ease of use.

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

KennelLink was by far the most intuitive and easiest to use. Someone with little to no computer experience could pick it up and use it in no time.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your review! We pride ourselves on the ease of use of our software. We are glad the current interface is working well, but we are also in the process of developing a more streamlined user interface that will have a more modern appearance. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2019

Stace

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

We Love Kennel Link

We use the software for daycare, boarding and boutique items which may be purchased at the time the dog is boarding. It is so easy to use and easy to train new employees on.

PROS

We used a few other reservation systems before finding kennel link. The software is so easy to learn, the Kennel link team is fast in adding any additional feature we need. Compared to other software packages it is very reasonably priced

CONS

There isn't anything i dislike about Kennel Link

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

An employee who came to work for my facility had used kennel link before and told us of all the benefits.

Reasons for switching to Kennel Link

Gingr couldn't figure out our pricing structure. Customers were being overcharged for additional dogs. It was a customer service nightmare.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the kind words! We appreciate hearing that our hard work on the software has paid off. We designed the software so that it would be easy for everyone to learn. We are glad it's working for you! Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2019

Shelley

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Functional, but lacking

Kennel Link is basic dog daycare software. So if you are running a basic daycare, then this is the software for you

PROS

Overall, it is easy to use. And if you do make a mistake, these are usually easily fixed

CONS

I feel we dont have any customer support. There are weird things happening in our system that we cannot account for.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We were unaware that you were having problems and regret that your experience with our customer support has been negative. We make every effort to offer the best customer service available. We would like to further discuss how we might better your experience. We will reach out to you via email to clear up these concerns. We are available 7 days a week, 365 days a year and would be happy to work with you on any issues you may have. Since you are an international customer, perhaps Skype is an option. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied June 2021

Julia

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Great Service

It's been amazing and I can't see myself going anywhere else.

PROS

Kennel Link is easy to use and the layout makes sense. Its great value, they keep adding features and improving the product, and the customer service is amazing.

CONS

When you hit the back button when making a reservation, you have to start all over.

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

The customer service, ease of use, and better price

Chelsea

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Kennel Link is great!

Kennel Link is a daily and essential part of our business operations. I have personally used Kennel Link for 15 years and I do not have complaints. They are kind and helpful when issues arise. They take time to break things down and explain if I have questions. My overall experience has been excellent and I expect that to remain the same for many years to come.

PROS

Kennel Link is a great program that allows us to maintain and run our business. We have many clients, KL allows us to keep up with each client's information on an individual basis, allows us to maintain the most up to date information, and allows us to care for our clients needs. It is easy to learn and use. The programmers are always super helpful and quick to respond. Updates and improvements happen regularly and the site is well maintained.

CONS

This program is used for a variety of businesses similar to ours. The only aspects of this site that I would change would be very specific to our business and how we operate, but it is probably not applicable to all of the businesses that use the site. So no real complaints here :)

Vendor Response

Thank you for your glowing review. It’s fantastic that Kennel Link is working so well for your business! It’s always great to hear that we are succeeding in making kennel management easier. Just to let you know, we only have software for kennels, doggie daycares and grooming shops. That’s it! We have not branched out to other industries. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2023

Andrea

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Decent software for a decent price

We purchased KennelLink as the first software of our new business 10 years ago, back when five dogs a day was the norm. We started with basically no money and KennelLink was amongst the least expensive softwares available at the time. We now average 52 dogs per day, and it has grown (mostly) well with us. There are some things that make it a little more difficult with more dogs and at one point we considered moving to Gingr, but the integration process would have taken up way more time than we had so we ended up staying with KL. We aren't super unhappy with it, just felt that perhaps we had outgrown its functionality. We ended up reining in our growth due to staffing issues (thanks, Covid) and since we were familiar with KL and have a true aversion to change that is not absolutely vital, we did not follow through with the other software. We highly recommend it for new or very small kennels. If you are looking for a new software for your existing larger kennel business, it may not be the best fit. We have never used the grooming section, just day care and overnight boarding.

PROS

Screen isn't clutteredIndividual dog information straight forwardCustomer information straightforwardSimple to train employeesCan keep credit cards on file and process without using an outside processorMass day care check in

CONS

Can't edit an overnight reservation (as far as which dogs are scheduled) so you have to cancel/rebookRed flags on owner's account don't show up when making reservation No way to automatically keep a customer's fixed rate (i.e. military discount)No day care billing option other than the "card" system which doesn't work efficiently in a tourist area.The day care billing is not very user friendly.When a customer has a day care card, it is very difficult to find a record of when their dog has attended. There is no report to pull up of when that dog was in attendance. If a customer books varied day care dates, there is no way to print out or email them the list of dates reserved.Booking multiple, non recurring day care dates is absolutely inefficient and time consuming. Can't charge along with mass daycare check in - seperate step, so why bother? You still have to go to the individual account.No mass daycare check outNo way to integrate with an online booking service so double booking occursThe credit card processing fees are too high compared to other processors (Square, PayPal, etc)

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

Initial price for a new business

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. It’s true if you want to add or remove a pet from a reservation, you need to recreate it. You can, however, edit every other aspect of a reservation. Regarding the customer flag, there is a pop up when making a reservation or checking the pet out. Maybe you have pop-ups blocked? It’s not possible to retain a fixed price with a specific customer but you can add a note in the Name Extras field such as Military, Senior, etc. That note shows on every report and when making a reservation. When utilizing the Who’s in Daycare report, you can check dogs in, charge for their visit and check them out. You can see all future daycare reservations for a customer by clicking on Edit/Delete Reservation. This will show you a complete list. To see attendance, you can click on Card History. We offer online reservations for boarding and daycare where your customer can make reservations quickly and easily. I hope this helps. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2023

Jennifer

Recreational Facilities and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Kennel Link

This program has grown with my business and I consider my self lucky to have found them

PROS

I have used this program since I started my business 17 years ago. I have never felt the need for any other program. Kennel Link has the most helpful people and one email or phone call they are there to help your every need. Hey customized the program to fit my usage and are always making great updates to the program. I couldn’t have run as efficiently without them

CONS

I would like to be able to use other companies for credit card integration

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

Love the auto backup and the hands on help I receive anytime I have needed it.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. We are truly happy that Kennel Link is working for your company! We strive to provide great customer service and are glad that we are meeting your needs. Although we only integrate with one card processing company, you are free to use any processor you’d like. It’s true, however, that you do lose some great benefits by not using our processor (ease of use, saving cards on file, automatically recording payments when cards are processed, etc). Please let us know if you have any questions or if we can help in any way. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2023

Megan

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

User-friendly, great customer service

PROS

Kennel Link is simple to use and easy for new employees to learn. The modules are well-thought out. The reports are easy to navigate and understand. Payments and pre-payments are straightforward.

CONS

We wish there was a training module to go alongside boarding and daycare. The most difficult aspect was figuring out the check out system for daycare when clients did not purchase daycare cards.

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

Demo option

Judi

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

100% Satisfied With Kennel Link

We haven’t had a bad experience with kennel link at all. They’re always on top of everything, and will instantly work at solving any problems that may arise.

PROS

Customer service is amazing. In the event that I have any questions or concerns I get immediate service. This is very important as in today’s society. Customer service has gone down hill.

CONS

There’s really not anything that I don’t like about Kennel Link . If I had to say anything that I wish so that they would improve on, it would be the ability to list more than one veterinarian because sometimes we will have two dogs and each one will have a different vet but that’s not a deal breaker.

Reasons for switching to Kennel Link

The other software was disaster. Nothing went right in the customer service was terrible.

Gaby

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

KennelLink works great for us

I use Kennel in all aspects of the business... from making reservations to analyzing growth patterns over the years. I think it's a very easy to use, helpful and resourceful site that could use a facelift.

PROS

I've been using KennelLink since I opened our facility. Unfortunately I have nothing to compare it. Through the years, I have learned to use Kennel Link and have really enjoyed discovered some of the features that are not used everyday like Stats, Room usage, etc. It's wonderful for our daily use and fills all of our needs

CONS

Being a visual person, my biggest desire for Kennel Link is for it to be more visually appealing. I know it's basically a database and it definitely looks like it, I just wish that it looked a bit more modern.

Andrey

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Pet Boarding Made Easy

I am very happy with Kennel Link. I have used their program for the past 9 years and I couldn't imagine using anyone else. My employees and I use it on a daily basis and my entire business depends on it. Occasionally there were outages and Kennel Link was able to switch us to a back-up server without a glitch.

PROS

Prior to selecting Kennel Link I researched four other companies but found Kennel Link best suited for my company needs. The features that I was sold on: 1. Easy to use and to train my employees. It usually take me about 1 hour to train my new employees on how to use Kennel Link. 2. Web based. I and my wife are able to check the current or past status of what is going on at the kennel from anywhere in the world. 3. Single bill processing. Kennel Link is linked with the credit card processing, therefore I only need to process bill once. This feature avoids double-entry process, where I would have to record a bill and process credit card transaction separately. 4. Superb Customer Service. I called [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] or [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] on weekends, on holidays if necessary and they always were very pleasant and accommodating in resolving any issues that I may have. 5. Functionality. I run a fairly small (up to 50 dogs/cats) boarding/day care business in a single location. The Kennel Link features completely fit all the needs that my business requires.

CONS

It's not a con, but more of a recommendation. It would be nice to have ability to sort/filter or arrange in ascending/descending order some of the reports. Currently I have to copy and paste those reports into Excel to analyze my client spending/location/services/etc.

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

The feature that sold me over was ease of use. Training can take time that I don't have enough of. Kennel Link is intuitive, simple to use and I would recommend them to anyone.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your detailed review of Kennel Link. We are happy that the software is working so well for you! You can sort most reports by clicking on almost any column header ascending or descending. Hopefully this will help you organize reports in a more efficient manner. As you stated, we have a backup server that enables you to continue using Kennel Link in the event that issues arise with our primary server. This allows us to provide uninterrupted access to the software. We appreciate our long-standing relationship and look forward to working with you in years to come. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2019

Tom

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

PupTown, LLC likes it...

It has run flawless since inception.

PROS

It was an easy conversion from a past program we had used. It is straight forward and presents things cleanly and professionally. I think I've called to get a few changes made and they were taken on in a positive manner. And, if I needed support I have always had a quick and understandable response. Previously we had a server based system. The cloud is failure free, fast and makes Kennel Link available on my phone too. Being able to go back and edit the account/billing screens is very helpful when a mistake in billing occurs.

CONS

The main page user interface is a little clunky when you first start using the program. It would be nice to be allowed to hide certain selections to further streamline the home page. We do not use special services at all but it always shows up upon check-in. We'd like to make check-in and check-out as fast as possible. We have upwards of 60 dogs coming and going during peak morning and evening times ( 3 hr span each) which makes 1 transaction every 4 minutes.

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

Easy to use, no fluff just straight forward operations, pricing was decent and it isn't really modular so you get what you need plus other options you choose not the supplier.

Reasons for switching to Kennel Link

The server crashed and then I found that the company went out of business. I evaluated multiple programs and Kennel Link came out ahead in many categories.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to review Kennel Link. I'm glad the system is working well for you and that our customer support team is meeting your expectations! We are currently working on a new customer interface that will hopefully make your experience with our software a better one. It should streamline functionality and give Kennel Link a more modern look. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2019

Katybeth

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Kennel Link(s) us to out customers

Simple, dependable, strong communication and outstanding customer service. They offer what we need.

PROS

Camp Run A Pup has been using Kennel Link for over 10 years. We have space for about 50 dogs, both boarding and day camp. Kennel link fits are needs because it is simple to use. The customer service is extraordinary. And they keep updating and improving the software.

CONS

I'll admit it isn't the prettiest software out there, and it doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but those things aren't important to us. Customer service, improving and growing, and dependability are essential to us.

Reason for choosing Kennel Link

Ease of use and customer service.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. It's a pleasure to hear things are working well for you! We are working on a new customer interface that will hopefully give Kennel Link a more streamlined and "pretty" appearance. We look forward to serving you for years to come. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2019

Katie

Hospitality, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

Kennel Link Review

It is a great value for what you get. :)

PROS

What I enjoy most about Kennel Link is the ease of use. Everything is very self explanatory on the website. When I have new employees start working they are up to speed on and have a basic knowledge of what to do within an hour. I love that I can view everything at any time.

CONS

I wish there was a way to block out specific times. Example: I am completely full with a dog LEAVING at 5pm but I have one ARRIVING at 8a. Kennel link will show that there is an available kennel when in fact it is not available til 5p and will let me book the kennel. Then we are overbooked. If there was a way to pop up that we are full until said time or some way to black out times so you know when you have a free kennel that would be amazing. Also, if there would be a mobile friendly site or app, that would be amazing. I use my Samsung for everything and it is very difficult to access Kennellink on that screen for a website.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to review Kennel Link. We are happy to hear that it is easy to use and meets your needs. Being web-based is one of our key selling points and we are glad that you enjoy this feature. We understand your concerns about overlapping reservations during check-in/check-out times. We will explore updating this process in future versions of Kennel Link. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2019

Jay Ann

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Excellent

Excellent - love that everything is backed up securely by Kennellink on their secure servers. Accounting information totals literally take seconds to access for any time period from daily to yearly including past years.

PROS

I really love how responsive the people at Kennel Link are. They answer the phone and/or emails promptly and take care of any requests I have immediately. Very friendly and knowledgeable. The software is very comprehensive and easy to use. The new texting feature is awesome. The kiosk for credit card processing has more than tripled the amount of tips since it is quick and easy for customers to choose a percentage.

CONS

Can't think of any negatives at the moment

Reasons for switching to Kennel Link

Constantly had problems with the Kennel Connection and they kept changing the software which required you to purchase the new updated version. If I remember correctly at that time it was not backed up online so you had to manually back up all of your data

Vendor Response

We appreciate your review of Kennel Link. We are happy that your experience has been positive! It is a pleasure working with you. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied December 2019

Dana

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Meets all our needs!

I like the ease of using KL. I have tried out several other products and never found anything that met our needs better. They are constantly updating and upgrading the product also, and I've enjoyed watching the product evolve over the past twelve years.

PROS

I like the simplicity of this software. We do not utilize the more complicated functions because we are only a daycare and do not do boarding. This allows us to schedule 90 dogs per day for daycare, look at past history, and reserve dogs for upcoming days. We've been using this software for about twelve years. Every now and then I look into other products and have never found anything that suited our needs better.

CONS

The dogs each day are categorized by if they are morning, full day or afternoon and I wish they were just alphabetized.

Vendor Response

Thank you for reviewing Kennel Link. We are glad that it is working so well for you! Regarding the daycare reports, you can alphabetize them by pet name or customer name just by clicking on the column header. Hopefully this will make the report more usable for you. Also, as you grow, we can add more daycare capacity at any time. Wishing you the best, The Kennel Link Team

Replied January 2020

Jasmin

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

Great for booking

Kennel link was great for booking when booking Grooming appointments was all we needed. Once we expanded we needed more features to accommodate our Daycare, Training Classes, and ability to text Customers via the booking system

PROS

This booking system has all the things needed to create detailed customer profiles, as well as pet profiles, very easy to use, easy to book reservations. Nice Booking system with out all the bells and whistles, it's straight to the point.

CONS

No live chat support No automated confirmations for Customers No customizable features

Vendor Response