Osprey Approach

Osprey Approach Reviews

RATING:

3.93

(30)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.93

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"I love how easy to use it is. I came into my current role knowing absolutely nothing about how to use any system like Osprey and taught myself how to use it with ease."
  • icon"I understand it is very good for our accounting team."
  • icon"Easy to use functionality anyone can easily pick up the basics without any training. Great customer service team who are always there to help and are really friendly."
  • icon"The addins do not work properly with our standard letters and there is little prospect of this being resolved which is a shame and will cause us problems in the future."
  • icon"Sometimes it would crash and you would lose work on matters."
  • icon"Bit clunky and wide-screen. Though have seen others much more expensive much worse."

All Osprey Approach Reviews

1-25 of 30 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Alex

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Osprey Approach: Comprehensive, Intergrated & Excellent!

Overall experience is excellent. The software is fast, easy to use and the support team is excellent. The training is very comprehensive and when utilised properly and fully, a firm can benefit greatly from it.

Pros

Osprey is entirely web-based which makes access very easy, across all devices. The reporting and accounts function is very comprehensive and helps with accounts rule compliance. The integration between the accounts and the case management is seamless so nothing goes missing.

Cons

There is a requirement for a good internet connection as the software is web-based. However this is not a criticism per-se.

Gary

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Overall a decent case management product

I was introduced to Osprey at a previous job. When I set up my own firm I stuck with Osprey because it does everything I need (and probably a fair bit more). I have been courted by alternatives but the additional benefits of those systems do not justify their higher costs.

Pros

Does most of what I need well, including document production and accounts. Has a lot more features I do not use or have the time to set up. Recent upgrade to Osprey Approach is a huge improvement over the previous version. Competitively priced (despite a recent hike).

Cons

Too many features/functions are difficult to find and Osprey need to do something to stop the system reverting to a previous client's details when changing pages just because the matter number has not been entered on the matter history page. The minimum subscription is 3 licences when I only need 2. It's still cheaper than alternatives though.

Reasons for choosing Osprey Approach

Familiarity, price and Osprey offering the functions I needed.

Lesley

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2020

Fallen Behind

We moved onto this as our first case management system and were initially pleased with it. However since its "upgrade" we have become progressively disillusioned. If you want to use the desktop version its internet explorer or nothing if you want to print documents and that is very slow. The app is faster for printing documents but it does not allow bills to be printed and is difficult to use and badly laid out if you use it on the desktop. Chrome is much faster as a browser and saves time but it does not let you print anything at all. The helpdesk seems not to know what they are doing - for years we have had problems with the software just logging us out - after some three years they have finally suggested this might be because of our security on the computer (we use webroute). We also have some accounts shared by part timers - the new security makes that very difficult and Osprey are claiming that that is not allowed despite us making it very clear that we did that when we first looked

Pros

The accounts are clear and it's easy to set up new matters and search the database.

Cons

It does not provide one really good platform/browser to use it on. It is slow and unresponsive and support while superficially helpful seem unable to actually help on many occasions

Response from Pracctice

We are disappointed that you feel Osprey is not currently meeting your expectations and our Support & Implementation Manager has been liaising directly with you to address these concerns. Sharing user accounts is a security issue and is discouraged by the SRA. To ensure all of our customers remain safe and compliant with SRA advice, we have enabled enhanced security via two-factor authentication, which is not compatible with sharing user accounts. In addition, our software license has never permitted this. We want to work with you to enhance your use of Osprey, therefore, further training is being provided to you and your team to ensure that the requirements of QualitySolicitors Palmers are met. We are confident that after these training sessions have been completed, your issues will be fully resolved.

Replied August 2020

Lorraine

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

a good case management system

Pros

what i like most about this software is that it is user friendly and easy to train staff on the relevant features of the case management system and also if there are any issues the support staff are quick and helpful

Cons

There are a few issues with losing documents if the intranet goes down and perhaps a few more features could be added to the system in relation to emails as in documents attached to them - at the moment you can just import emails in but when sending emails all the documents attach. Also as a law firm the bundle package needs to be updated

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Osprey Review

My overall experience with Osprey Approach is a positive one. The check out system is very reliable and allows for constant review of documentation. The software is aesthetically pleasing and user friendly and I would recommend this software to all colleagues.

Pros

The software is responsive to demands, which means that navigating through matters and ledgers is next to seamless, allowing for quick reviews of files and documentation. The software looks great and is incredibly user friendly.

Cons

The software can often take some time to generate a document, but that may be down to my computer speed as oppose to the software itself.

Steven

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

It is brilliant

Pros

Very intuitive to use and the customer service is fantastic. I can work from home or just about anywhere with Osprey Approach. I cannot recommend it enough.

Cons

I cannot think of a thing. I am not sure about the online documents creator and editor but that is the way things are since every browser apart from Internet Explorer gave up support for ActiveX plugins.

Response from Pracctice

Hi Steven, Thank you for your fantastic review! Thanks, The Osprey Team

Replied March 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

September 2021

better out there

Very poor trying to deal with director. attitude problems

Pros

Seemed ok but we moved to another product

Cons

decided to move to a competitor product and then experience poor service from Osprey. Toys out of the pram stuff

Response from Pracctice

Thank you for leaving a review. We're disappointed to hear you had poor service from Osprey. We're usually rated extremely highly on the customer support we provide so we'd be keen to understand more about your experience. We're also sorry to hear you've moved to another product, but we hope that suits you better and if there's anything we can do to assist you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact. Thanks, The Osprey Team

Replied September 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2019

Does the job but a little clunky!

Pros

I understand it is very good for our accounting team

Cons

The older version was more old fashioned looking and improvements have been made but the system remains clunky and does not have some of the more advanced features of other more modern case management systems.

Response from Pracctice

Hello, Osprey Approach contains a lot of advanced functionality that often requires a little additional training to make the most of. We offer unlimited all inclusive training as part of your licence. If there is any functionality you are looking for, please contact support! support@pracctice.net 0330 060 4940

Replied May 2019

Jayne

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Long term customer

We have now been able to use electronic forms for our police station attendances thus making progress towards a paper-lite office.

Pros

Ease of use, the software is easy to navigate and customise to suit our requirements.

Cons

The addins do not work properly with our standard letters and there is little prospect of this being resolved which is a shame and will cause us problems in the future.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

Osprey

Pros

It is very easy to navigate and it is very quick to get your head around. Easy to load clients when needed.

Cons

I think the integration with Silverlight needs tweaking.

Response from Pracctice

Hello, Thank you for your review. Our Silverlight integration has recently been updated. If you would like to learn more about the different document generation options, contact support. Thanks, The Osprey Team

Replied May 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

A love hate relationship

The overall experience has been okay.

Pros

It is relatively easy to add in new templates, providing you know the codes to put in titles and names and things. It makes it somewhat easy to find all the information on that client.

Cons

The new update. I found the older version to be much easier to use.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Opsrey Approach

Quick and easy archiving system, new matters and client numbers are made within minutes it's amazing piece of software.

Pros

I have been using Osprey system since 2017 when it was in it's old format and look however with the update using their logo colour was smart and it makes the system look more sleek and modern, and when needed help or support they are always quick and efficent.

Cons

printing certain pages can be difficult at times however once you get passed it you are able to do so.

jamil

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Long overdue upgrade

We wanted a case management system to help with our Conveyancing department mainly.

Pros

a fresh new look which makes it seems like you have upgraded from Windows 98 to Windows 10

Cons

Uploading your own templates should have been made much more easier this time around.

Alexis Imogen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

A great tool

Pros

I love how easy to use it is. I came into my current role knowing absolutely nothing about how to use any system like Osprey and taught myself how to use it with ease.

Cons

I'm not 100% sure if this is an Osprey Problem or our internet or a combination of the both but every so often I just can't use my normal web link to access osprey, and I actually had to contact the help centre to organise an alternative link that I could use during these periods. Until this was arranged it was annoying being unable to use it for a day or 2.

Nicola

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Osprey Accounts Review

Only been using Osprey since being with Hennings Solicitors for 9 months and found it very easy to pick up and use. If and when I have had a question its been answered and resolved quickly. We don't use Oprey to its fullest potential but what we do use is excellent!

Pros

Very user friendly and easy to amend corrections unlike others! (sage)

Cons

It can be slow loading or freeze as its internet based

Response from Pracctice

Hi Nicola, Thank you so much for your review and feedback. The Osprey Team

Replied April 2019

Amrita

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2