All eLabJournal Reviews

1-25 of 66 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Maura

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Functionality and Superb Customer Support

Our overall experience with eLab Journal has been exceptional. We are glad we chose to partner with them because they were definitely the right choice! They have helped us immensely and we would not have achieved a successful project outcome without them.

PROS

Working with the team at eLab Journal to implement our LIMS and make enhancements as our laboratory has grown has been a wonderful experience. Everyone we have worked with is responsive and collaborative. The software itself has amazing functionality and provides the features we need to act as an efficient, high throughput testing laboratory.

CONS

When we implemented the software in 2020, some of the menu items and navigation seemed disjointed and not exceptionally intuitive. eLab Journal has evolved since then and we have seen improvements. The team is also open to our feedback as system users.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review of eLabJournal, Maura happy to hear that you've noticed our improvements, and we always appreciate the great feedback! Since October 2021, we have implemented several new UI updates, reorganized the navigation tools, and taken a more multi-disciplinary approach to the menu items so that chemists, biologists, research techs, and lab directors can easily access their unique day-to-day workflows within the system. Stay tuned for additional major updates by 2023!

Replied July 2022

Elizabeth

Research, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

eLab has helped manage a veritable flood of samples

Overall, I'm very pleased with eLab. It has greatly streamlined the tracking of sample receipt and downstream processing for thousands of samples, allowing me to set up standard procedures that even novice undergraduate students can follow without difficulty. Likewise, the pricing was very competitive and the team at eLab has been very responsive and pleasant to work with.

PROS

This product has greatly facilitated the standardization of sample intake and inventory. Likewise, I really appreciate the ability to set up lab protocols (with version tracking) and standardized experiment templates. These features, in particular, make it easy to bring on new lab helpers in an undergraduate setting. There is no need to manage and track shared files or folders, and when a student leaves, their records and activities are preserved. The interface has generally been quite intuitive and easy to maneuver, and customer support is responsive and helpful if a user runs into problems.

CONS

There are still a few glitchy (largely aesthetic) areas. For example, the "Lineage" button appears to multiply as one clicks on or manipulates successive sample records. This can be resolved by refreshing the page, but it is not guaranteed that you will remain on the same sample record when you refresh. This doesn't seem to impact the integrity of sample records, but can be annoying when working with a lot of sample records. There is not yet a function to create copies of plates of samples (e.g., whole-plate aliquots, series, or downstream product). One can work around this with batch importation, but I do look forward to this feature eventually being incorporated.

Reason for choosing eLabJournal

eLab offered a combined electronic lab journal and inventory tracking/management platform that was both intuitive and economical.

Vendor Response

Thank you for reviewing eLabJournal, Elizabeth! Our team worked hard to design an easy-to-use UI and we're glad to hear that those efforts have paid off for you. The latest version of our Lineage add-on resolved the glitch you mention and is available in the Marketplace please make sure to check and update the Add-On. We're also working on a bulk cloning feature for plates and hope to release it soon. Thanks again for sharing this valuable feedback so that we can improve the eLab experience for our entire user community, and stay tuned for some exciting updates!

Replied July 2022

Xabier

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Digitalization of Manufacturing Processes at Viralgen using eLabJournal

PROS

When using eLabJournal we take advantage of: - We no longer use paper-based experiments. - Instead of having different repositories for experiment and sample results, everything is stored in a single digital repository, avoiding the exchange of mails with these results. - The Audit Trail of the samples is really good. - You can trace the Samples that are used in an experiment really easily. - Sample reception process using QR has simplified this process within Viralgen. - The ingestion of data from third party software using API is straightforward. - The implementation of eLAbJournal has allowed more communication between laboratories and departments. - The integration with other third-party applications is possible using the API. In our case with SAP.

CONS

- When being used to paper-based experiments, the investment of time you need to digitalize your experiments in eLabJournal is really high. - We miss some Project/Study/Experiment filtering tools.

Reason for choosing eLabJournal

Apart from the technical features, the good job perfomed by the technical support people during our Free trial was really important when we chose eLabJournal. They were really fasta and eager to help us during this time.

Andy

Fishery, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2024

False starts

Undecided if its an improvement or not. The jury is still out.

PROS

Not sure really havnt started using it properly yet, taken a lot of time to sort out the infrastructure, would be easier if the Elab team has better insight into the peripherals and things needed to start using the software effectively

CONS

Very slow to get up and running-this is mainly due to limited home resource and nothing to do with the product. However Eppendorff could start to sell printers and labels etc so they cover everything you need to start embedding the software effectively

Vendor Response

Hi Andy, We noticed that we reached out to you on three separate occasions to assist with getting up and running, but unfortunately, we did not receive a response. Our team is dedicated to ensuring our customers have a smooth experience, and we could have helped you get started quickly if we had connected. If you still need assistance, please reach out to us, and we will be more than happy to help. Kind regards, Olivia

Replied May 2024

David

Automotive, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

eLab - easy to use and effective

PROS

quick integration and setting up the zebra printer only took seconds

CONS

I would use same name for experiement, project, and sometimes study.

suresh

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Easy to use, handy

the software has easy and self-explaining user interface. its a good medium to catalogue my inventories as well as define different protocols for better coordination among lab members

PROS

Good to use, easy to handle, easy for cataloging

CONS

Kindly compile all the tutorial videos together for better understanding.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Suresh! We're happy to hear you've enjoyed using eLabJournal. We are working to provide more tutorial videos to our users. We hope to be able to share them with you soon. Greetings, Olivia

Replied May 2024

Stephen

Higher Education, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Elab experience in a developing country

Elab has the most complete functionality of a LMS, since it covers inventory and protocol management that can be arranged per project per team.

PROS

I like the inventory of equipment and samples functionality of elab. The integration of microsoft office is a big help.

CONS

Navigation can be complicated in the beginning.

Reason for choosing eLabJournal

I choose elab because it was a mature product with various functionality. In addition, [sensitive content hidden] my first elab tech support provided a fantastic customer support in the beginning.

Vendor Response

We're happy to hear about your experience working with our platform and team. Don't hesitate to reach out to our team for tips on accelerating your experience.

Replied May 2024

Ruth

Biotechnology, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Very handy electronic lab journal software that will save you lots of time

PROS

Ease of use Protocol management Template possibility to save time Interactive interface Fast customer service

CONS

Some features could be improved (e.g. more options for the text sections)

Reasons for switching to eLabJournal

To save time and to increase transparency.

Neil

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Sample management

overall experience is good and the pro's far outweigh the cons

PROS

elabjournal allows me to track sample usage and movements across the lab

CONS

Printing could be better, we use a Brady BBP12 and it isn't directly supported, ideally I would like the function to be able to design the label in a wysiwyg function built in to the package

Reason for choosing eLabJournal

liked the way it worked and the scalability of the package

Julien

Chemicals, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Best Lab Journal

PROS

Comprehensive software with experiment, sample and equipment management. Very practical for small or large companies

CONS

Sometimes a little slow to set up at first.

Xochitl

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

Easy to use, just it needs some patience.

In general I would recoment it. It's functional, user-friendly, and one single platform to keep easy access to labnotes/Inventories records.

PROS

It is kind of intuitive. It doesn't need much training to start. It's useful when sharing on real time the information between different sites, and that is deeply relevant when teams are located in different cities and need to have access to the information. Very friendly when adding collaborators and working together writing a protocol/experiment. Excelent for record keeping and great that deleted info/vials can be found if is requiered.

CONS

It requieres patience with the constant improvements and glitches. Now I am doing the refreshing as a part of the steps while using ELN. It is not too flexible and strongly recommend first to generate the protocol/experiment in other format and then just import it to this platform. That will save you time and headaches. Always have to save before you move between steps/sections, even in the same experiment. There are limitations in term of how to organize an experiment.

Vendor Response

Xochitl, we appreciate your review. We're glad you've found the eLabNext interface intuitive and user-friendly, especially when collaborating with colleagues across different sites. Have you tried our free AI Protocol Generator add-on in the eLab Marketplace?? It's great for drafting new protocols and could help speed up your import process. We'd love to hear your suggestions for bringing more flexibility to your experiment layout. Please reach out to our Support Desk, and we'll pass the feedback on to our developers for consideration in a future update of our platform.

Replied January 2024

Austin

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

eLab Protocols offers a great all-in-one solution to protocol development and refinement

So far my experience with eLab Protocols has been great and has offered an easy and streamlined means for communicating methologies that have worked well and for iterating on as these methods improve. I am excited to utilize the AI-based protocol generator function in this step of the process as well since it showed some promising outputs on some preliminary demos I performed. It still generates/hallucinates citations and can provide .

PROS

The template generation and easy iteration of commonly used protocols in the lab has and will continue to be invaluable for our operations across our two sites.

CONS

The slow adoption of the protocols function within the eLab protocol may be attributed to some of the clunky nature of generating a protocol from scratch in eLab, which can be challenging from a format perspective. However, generating the outline in a 3rd party platform such as Microsoft Word and then utilizing the import function has been great for generating rapid protocol skeletons that can then be populated/fine-tuned based on the user. Also the lack of a spell-check function makes 3rd party platforms more effecitive for generating error-free templates.

Reason for choosing eLabJournal

N/A - this was not a decision I was directly involved with

Vendor Response

Austin, thank you for your positive and detailed review! It is incredible to hear that you find our platform an all-in-one solution with easy-to-generate templates and excellent sharing/collaboration capabilities across your two sites. We designed the platform with productivity optimization and seamless collaboration in mind. We greatly appreciate your feedback! We’re working on enhancing the text editor to provide better formatting capabilities. We highly recommend reaching out to our Support Desk (support@elabnext.com) to be added to the feature request ticket and stay updated on its implementation progress.

Replied December 2023

Joseph

Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

An Easy-to-Use Inventory Management System

eLabInventory has been an overall very positive investment and experience for our organization. We have been able to consolidate and organize our stored inventory in multiple spaces, which was originally solely tracked by Excel files or staff memory. We have streamlined our processes for accessing existing samples and storing new ones, as well as our shipping procedure. We are able to quickly locate, identify, and manipulate sample entries using eLabInventory, obtaining the additional details of each sample by easily exporting the data from the software. We remain GLP compliant through the audit-trail features of the system and can quickly search archived entries for auditing or study coordination. The Customer Serivce provided by the US Eastern team has been phenomenal and they are extremely knowledgeable; they are very quick to respond and very helpful when issues arise. All customers also can submit requests for new features, some of which eventually make it into the software configuration in future updates.

PROS

eLabInventory allows users to enter, search, locate, relocate, and export data in a simple UI. The interface is clean and relatively easy to navigate, with only needed features visible. It is completely customizable as far as sample type, field options, label templating, and storage/equipment configuration. The add-ons for barcode automation and bulk sample manipulation are extremely useful and make the software more robust on a daily-use basis.

CONS

There were unique implementation challenges when first setting up the software, like not being able to transfer samples between groups with having Shared storage locations or specific automation steps not executing to manipulate samples in the most efficient ways. Once the capabilities and limitations of the software were learned, then these were relatively straight-forward items to work with, but not having a clear understanding of how the software operates leading up to implementation, along with an overwhelming Help document library, made fast implementation unsuccessful. Better/more training from the vendor, tutorial videos rather than text or screenshots, and a pre-made framework version to fit our organization's needs would have been very helpful.

Vendor Response

Joseph, thank you for your detailed review of eLabInventory! We're thrilled to hear that our platform has been a valuable investment for your organization and has successfully streamlined your processes. It is great to know that you find our UI clean and easy to navigate. We're glad to hear that our add-ons have helped you and your team optimize your day-to-day tasks! Our goal is to provide robust features that enhance efficiency and productivity. We're also delighted to hear that our customer success team has provided you with exceptional support. Regarding the implementation process, we appreciate your feedback about adding other types of resources, such as tutorial videos. We will pass this suggestion along to our team for consideration in future updates to improve the implementation process. Thank you again for your positive feedback and for choosing eLabNext!

Replied October 2023

Angela

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

A useful everyday tool.

Would never go back to a paper based system now.

PROS

Easy to use, traceable and auditable. Helps planning, organisation and tracking of work.

CONS

Labelling of images, gel images for example, is tricky and much easier to do in other packages and bring in the images already labelled.

Reason for choosing eLabJournal

Several others were considered, but eLAbJournal was voted as the easiest to use by the users and met our requirements.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Angela! We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that our platform's easy user usability aligns with your needs. We understand the importance of audit trials and logs for GxP compliance in a lab. By providing this capability, we aim to help our users stay organized and maintain a clear track of their work. It is fantastic that you've found value in this aspect of our platform. We value your feedback and suggestions for improving the labeling of images. We encourage you to share your requests with our dedicated Support Desk at support@elabnext.com. We're grateful for your support and look forward to continuing to serve you and your lab in the best possible way.

Replied September 2023

Erim

Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

eLab is bringing our labs to the next level!

Very satisfactory. Our end-users are very happy with the solution and we are receiving positive feedback. The team around Zareh is very knowledgeable about their product but also about the current market and trends. The collaboration is outstanding as any interaction is honest, transparent and direct. I would highly recommend to work with Zareh and his team.

PROS

eLab is a very user-friendly and intuitive platform. We name it a platform because various modules are offered such as sample, equipment, storage unit management, ELN, Protocols, etc. The platform and the modules are highly integrated and data integration is very satisfactory. Getting data in and out from eLab can be perfectly managed via the API. The open architecture and marketplace allows us to develop add-ons and use them directly in eLab! Due to the very low costs and plenty of useful functionalities compared to others on the market, eLab was a no-brainer for us to implement on a larger scale.

CONS

The only missing item I would add, which is rather a "nice-tohave" than a "myst-have" for us is Dashboarding/Visualization within eLab.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Erim, for this great feedback! We recently won the "Ease of Use" and "Best Value" badges with Capterra, precisely for what you wrote here! With regards to support, all of our Lab Digitization Consultants or Key Account Managers come from scientific backgrounds and know what it's like to work in the lab, so they go in with the mindset of helping these labs to set a strong digital foundation in order to be able to grow into the system in a sustainable way. Developing a strong Digital Lab Strategy is imperative for successful business operations! We absolutely agree with you about Dashboarding and Visualization within eLab! Currently, our Timeline does this to some extent, but there is room for improvement! For now, most of our customers use our extensive API/SDK and Developer Hub to pull data out into their favourite visualization systems (i.e. Power BI), but it wouldn't hurt for us to have it within the system, and we are happy to notify you that it is in our roadmap, and will be available very soon!

Replied August 2023

Franziska

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

The development is stuck

I'm thinking about moving my group back to good old paper reporting. I have already started doing this for short-time students that come to the group as trainees.

PROS

When we bought into it, it seemed to be the most advanced and user friendly product on the marked

CONS

Since we bought into it, the Journal is stuck in development or asks for additional money for features that should be integrated for molecular biology purposes.- still no possibility to use a stylus to annotate gel pictures or write entries. This would be to migrate from "paper book" to "electronic labbook" without loosing the ease of the "paper report".- gene bank files should be visible within the elab.

Reason for choosing eLabJournal

At the time the elabjournal was more integrated, it was better capable to manage teams (PI could access all data). The customer service was better before we bought into our in-house server solution.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Franziska, for your review! We appreciate your honest assessment of the platform, and we heard you loud and clear. We are actively working to develop additional features and improvements for the Journal and Protocol modules. We are happy to tell you many of the issues raised here are already core features within the platform. You may be interested in checking out our CloneAssist add-on, which allows users to integrate a molecular biology workbench into their ELN entries to visualize and construct DNA and plasmid molecules, with integrations with SnapGene, Genius, and GeneBank/FASTA files. We recommend scheduling a call with your Digital Lab Consultant/Account Manager to learn more about the add-on and see if it would fit your group well. As providing exceptional customer service and support is one of our core tenants here at eLabNext, we're surprised to hear that your service experience has declined since transitioning to a dedicated installation. That doesn't sound like us. Would you be open to scheduling a call through the Support Desk with our Customer Success team to share more about your experience? We will thoroughly investigate any feedback and make the necessary improvements to restore your confidence in our support services. The Head of our company would like to meet with you personally to investigate!

Replied August 2023

Linda

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2023

eLabjournal: a clean and simple eLN.

If you are looking for a clean and simple eLN: e