All Quartzy Reviews

1-25 of 270 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Desiree

Research, 1,001 - 5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed August 2022

Quartzy works!

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Great tool for small labs

It has helped to streamline our ordering process, which used to just be a communial google doc and which got really slow after a few thousand orders. This has made it eas to search in an orderly faschion by catalog number, so that we can be sure to order the same item for consistency. It also speeds up the ordering process since I can approve orders electronically rather than signing them each time. Everything is organized nicely and can be exported to a list if an audit ever happens. There are even quartzy special prices which sometimes are better than vendor ones.

PROS

You can't beat the free price! We use this to manage lab orders, and it has worked well for the most part. It is easy to search for vendors, and the catalog number usually auto-populates for orders that have been completed before. You can also see what others in the lab have ordered so that you can avoid duplicates. You can even set up a lab inventory to track what you have or don't have. It makes it easy for lab managers to approve requests, and then either order it ourselves or send it up to finance to approve and then order.

CONS

We have a period in time where our lab grew very large, and Quartzy became a little less optimal in that situation. I had to keep track of multiple orders and ended up making a spreadsheet to track stuff rather than relying on quartzy, which has a rather cumbersome interface if you have to track 30+ orders a day. Also, it sends a lot of emails unless you opt out, but then you miss updates on urgent requests people make. I would love to see more customizable notifications.

Christina

Research, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Quartzy is a great purchasing organizational hub for small and big teams

It's easy to use so our team was able to switch over to Quartzy from using Excel sheets to organizing our purchases within a day. Our team has been better about updating the purchasing list because it's so easy to use, and I love how easy it is to see what people what to buy versus what was purchased already and what was received. Quartzy has saved us a lot of time!

PROS

A lot of items we order already have their information populated into Quartzy so we don't have enter in all the details of vendor, catalog #, URL, etc. as we had to do when we were using Excel to keep track of our purchases.

CONS

Not all actions can be done in bulk. For example, if you want to say you received 10 items on the order list, you can just select all 10 items and change the status to "Received". You need to update the status for each item individually.

Reasons for switching to Quartzy

We wanted something that would save us time with organization.

Ashley

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Good for basic lab management

Quartzy is overall "okay." There isn't much to complain about, but there isn't much to rave about either. The platform does its job. However, since our lab does most of the purchasing there seems to be a disconnect between our lab and Accounting, even though we all have access to the site. I wish there were more admin/organization features that allows better tracking of received items so there is better communication between us (the purchaser) and our accounts payable (the payer), thus allowing for more timely payments to both Quartzy and outside vendors.

PROS

The site is pretty self explanatory and not hard to use, making it easy for those who are not technologically aware.

CONS

I dislike how Quartzy will "recommend" similar products and make the dashboard look and feel cluttered. The search bar is also pretty useless, since it'll either be too specific and not find what you are looking for or be too general and give you things you originally weren't searching for. I also really dislike how Quartzy makes it a lot harder to revert a requested item back to its original vendor. It's as if it wants to make it difficult/not possible so that you're forced to purchase through Quartzy.

Reason for choosing Quartzy

Not available. Quartzy was the platform in use prior to my arrival at this company.

Susan

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Our lab's use of Quartzy

Quartzy has enabled me, a non-science person, to handle all purchasing tasks in one place. I took over this task from a real science person so my being able to do this frees them up from administrative work. I think if I didn't have this, and there was no alternative, my job would be a lot harder and take much more time.

PROS

Very easy to use. I especially like that it keeps an inventory of what we have purchased. It's really easy to search for order history, price comparison. The Quartzy offers are a great feature, and it enables our lab staff to have another option in comparing prices. I always recommend Quartzy to the other labs in our building and have taught others to use it. Plus, the customer service staff are outstanding! They are in contact with me immediately when there is something I need to know, like a backorder. They are extremely courteous and respond very quickly.

CONS

I've been using this for about 8 years. In the beginning, the system would notify me if an order was cancelled by the requestor. I'd like this back as it is a day or two after download that I can place the orders. Without this notification, I have an extra step to re-check the order list before I actually place orders, as the lab staff don't always remember to let me know. the other thing I dislike but is not a big deal is that frequently Quartzy offers are for higher prices than we have listed in our order requests, so those usually get ignored. The other obstacle is that many times the offer is for "equivalent" and our staff don't like "equivalent" especially when it comes to glassware (they've told me the equivalents aren't always equivalent enough).

Reason for choosing Quartzy

This was recommended to me by a grants administrator who had used it at her previous job. We went with it and never looked back.

Breeanne

Research, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

I love you, Quartzy

Overall I give it 4.8/5 Just want some more items to be in the store, and be able to change the shipping speed!! Other than that, it's perfect!! Oh and - it would be great to have an app!!!

PROS

Quartzy makes it incredibly easy to manage the inventory and purchases for the lab. No more combing through ridiculously confusing spreadsheets, trying to figuring out who ordered what and when. Everything is in one place, and I can easily find items when I need to re-order them. Also, ordering through quartzy makes my life a whole lot easier. Our procurement system is so slow that it takes a minimum of 10-15 minutes to create the requisition. With Quartzy, I'm done in under 3. Although rush shipping is not available for every item, the shipping time is usually fast. I have repeatedly told my colleagues in other labs to start using this because I know it will make their lives easier too. This is really the best system out there. Thank you Quartzy for saving me so much time and money!

CONS

Sometimes I have issues with ordering & canceling items through quartzy. For example, on one or two occasions, I have had to cancel an order immediately after placing it (usually someone bust in the room and tells me they don't need it or found it from another lab). And even though I hit "cancel" literally within 5 minutes of placing it, it doesn't get canceled. I get an email maybe 12-24 hours later saying "sorry it was too late to cancel, the manufacturer already shipped your item." I understand that the orders probably get sent over quickly so that they can be delivered faster, but this is still a little frustrating. It would also be nice to be able to track how the expenses have changed over time One more thing. MAKE THE LOG IN BUTTON EASIER TO FIND ON MOBILE DEVICES!!!! For most people, if you are going to "quartzy.com" it's probably because you want to log in, not sign up :P

Robert

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

The best Ordering software for high-throughput Research Lab

This software is very user friendly and can be used by anyone and everyone. Very straightforward. Would love if above suggestions are implemented.

PROS

The features for adding products in inventory and easily moving them around to ordered, receive categories. Easy search feature and automatic links that are provided for the product when catalogue number is added.

CONS

1) It would be good to have a "delivered" feature/tab where we can mark goods as delivered. This will help teams that function with separate receiving departments and stocking department to have better communication. 2) It will be good if the admin names are not replaced. A lab can have multiple administrators over the years and it is not helpful if the current administrator's name is replaced with all the previous user's. This makes tracking of the person in charge confusing. For example: if A, B, C are three administrators (ie., The ones who places orders from the requests). A worked as an admin from 2014-2016, B worked from 2017-2019 and C from 2020-22, what actually happens once C takes charge of the account is - all the old orders are also replaced with C as the administrator. This is not helpful because if there was an error by A or B it is difficult to locate the error as C's name is actually indicated as the admin even that order period (they weren't even part of the system at that year)

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Positively changed the way we manage our lab

Really enjoy the software for the types of work that we do, and it has made a major impact on the organization and ordering of our chemical inventory. I would highly recommend to any lab that purchases chemicals and biological components on a regular basis, or who is looking for a fairly flexible inventory system.

PROS

Quartzy serves as our lab inventory and chemical management software as well as the primary site we use to place orders and price-match. It allows us to segment the lab to better organize the storage of components, making the tracking of inventory much more simple and streamlined. Ordering and reordering is a breeze - things that we have previously purchased can be ordered again in seconds, and new products are price-matched and shopped around to various vendors. A final (huge) perk is the discounts and free shipping provided from various vendors, often making it cheaper to order through Quartzy rather than deal with obtaining quotes directly.

CONS

The biggest problem we face is a lack of transparency regarding backorders and shipping delays. I understand that much of this the fault of the specific vendor and not something easily solved, but there seem to be a variety of chemical suppliers that show up in a search with great prices, but who never see to actually stock any inventory. It would be nice to have a way to remove those suppliers from a custom search.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

What would labs do without Quartzy?

Love Quartzy, would recommend it to any lab, but I feel like most labs probably already have it.

PROS

I don't understand how I am the first person to review this, this software is lifechanging. The fact that it is free is almost unbelievable, as it saves so much time in lab that you could almost cut down from 2 to 1 lab technicians once you switch to using a program like this. Basically, no more e-mailing our lab manager for random items, which saves him and everyone else in the lab a bunch of hassle. Also, their product archive saves a bunch of hassle as well, since you can just let Quartzy know what you are looking for and it will tell you if it's in stock.

CONS

The inventory management system is limited to reagents and is very vulnerable to humans forgetting to say we ran out of something or have too much of something. I am not sure how you could get around the human fallibility problem though.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Quartzy makes lab-inventory and ordering easy !

Quartzy has been critical for organising the ordering and maintaining inventory of mission-critical research reagents. This allowed team members to collaborate more efficiently and access reagents for our research.

PROS

Quartzy integrates seamlessly with our institution ordering system. We routinely use Quartzy to place new order, track and document the delivery. Moreover, it automatically adds the order to the lab inventory. This is a one-stop shop for research lab to organise their reagents.

CONS

The website could be a bit slow to load and refresh. The search has improved a lot in recent times, but adding more advanced search options could add value. The interface hasn't changed much in years.

Reason for choosing Quartzy

Quartzy is free and easily implementable.

Chad

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Great tool

Quartzy has made traceability much easier for our organization. Having purchasing and inventory together is really great. Plus the Quartzy shop often has lots of good deals or better availability than the manufacturer.

PROS

We are using the free version, which is great. The software is pretty intuitive and has a lot of different functions.

CONS

The biggest problems were related to the implementation.

Cassidy

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2020

Great for Small Organizations

PROS

I really like the ordering authorization process, as well as the automatic Quartzy quoting system. The ordering process overall is very thorough and streamlined - there are information fields for practically everything you would want to include when requesting an item for order. I also like that for inventory entries, you can add custom fields to tailor it to fit your needs. Additionally, it is worth mentioning that Quartzy customer support is extremely helpful, thorough, and kind. They follow up on existing issues regularly to ensure that our needs are being met. Their shop feature is a convenient and easy way to find items you need from a variety of manufacturers.

CONS

For inventory tracking purposes, its not ideal. It has limited functionality in regards to knowing when to re-order, signing out inventory, barcode usage, and speedily tracking updates. A phone app might be able to solve some of these issues, with increased barcode integration.

Karl

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Quartzy, a great product for a small companies

PROS

We were looking for a more elegant solution to handle the ordering in our lab that would streamline the request and approval process within our organization. Quartzy makes requests very straightforward and the appropriate people are notified for a approval. The person making the request can easily track the status of their order through the website. Quartzy also recommends better pricing through their vendor partnerships when it detects that you may be paying more than what they can offer. This allows you to save money on many orders without having to create separate accounts with every vendor. The inventory tool is also quite useful to keep track of what you currently have in stock. Great free website, especially for smaller organizations.

CONS

The website would be better if there was a way that it could auto-populate order information (confirmation numbers, tracking, etc.) This is the case for orders placed directly through Quartzy, but not when ordering through another vendor's website.

Rick

Chemicals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Excellent software and even better customer service!

Excellent!

PROS

With the current pandemic, we needed to shut down for the last two weeks of March. With a simple email, I was able to get all of our orders put on hold (not canceled). When we re-opened slowly (we are deemed essential in MA), Quartzy delivered everything that had been held.

CONS

I'd like them to add a feature to provide a consolidated invoice (even if it is merely a listing of everything purchase over a given period of time, the vendor, the names of products, etc.). This would help significantly as all of our employees can order required chemicals and supplies and while we get billed by the individual vendors, it isn't always clear from our credit card statement what was purchase and by whom. It would save our bookkeeping team a lot of time. Not a flaw in the product as much as an enhancement.

Jessica

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Ever growing and ever awesome

PROS

Still can't believe it's free. We use this for order requests, inventory, price matching, and shipment tracking. I also appreciate that Quartzy is constantly trying to help their customers more, and reach out for feedback. Not only is customer service with them a breeze, but they want you to enjoy using their product. I love it!

CONS

I have seen a demo of a mobile app and I'm so excited to see if and when that rolls out

Reason for choosing Quartzy

It's free, it does what we need, and I can download and upload inventory in bulk.

Reasons for switching to Quartzy

so much easier with Quartzy. the different roles are very customizable and you can allow access without fear of disrupting the whole system. Plus it was just easier to train on, it's pretty user friendly.

Mitchell

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Great, easy to use product.

Overall, we love Quartzy. Coming from using Excel for procurement, this is a huge step up. We tried a few paid softwares before landing on Quartzy. Customer support is always quick and easy to work with.

PROS

All of the core functionality of Quartzy is free to use. You can set up different groups for ordering so things do not get too cluttered. We use Quartzy for all of our procurement, not just for items ordered directly through Quartzy. It is an easy way to keep track of what was ordered and when. The UI is friendly and intuitive.

CONS

The inventory management function is not the best. It can become weighed down as more and more orders accumulate. Wish there was a way to group items instead of just setting up different labs. Other than that, it has been great.

Reasons for switching to Quartzy

Spreadsheets can become overloaded as more and more people are using them. Things get misplaced, deleted, etc.

Catherine

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Quartzy Review

I am quite satisfied with the overall experience with Quartzy.

PROS

-It makes tracking of orders so convenient. -We have also gotten good discounts on the products that we normally order. - If you place the order through Quartzy, it automatically marks the order as "Ordered" and sends an email to requester. They also receive an email if it's back ordered. - We also get free shipping for most orders.

CONS

-The system can be quite slow at times. -One thing that I would like to see though on the Purchase History is the PO#. This is very important for me to verify which PO item belongs to. - If it can be integrated to QB, it would be really great so I don't have to create the order twice.

Domhnall

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Quartzy

Quartzy makes it much easier to compare prices between various vendors. This has led to finding better deals with companies that we would never have thought about before. Orders are sometimes processed directly from Quartzy and this has lead to getting orders much faster than previously. Quartzy has lead to not insignificant savings for our department.

PROS

Quartzy has made both departmental ordering easier and more centralized as well as helping to maintain a departmental inventory. Quartzy makes it easy to find chemicals and supplies from multiple venders easier, and has resulted to a reasonable amount of savings for our department. User support has always been very prompt, and I have never had a problem with an outcome. When orders are no longer are available I have always been notified very quickly with alternatives.

CONS

They only problem I have ever encountered is sometimes it is not always clear how to search your current inventory versus the store. I believe over time this has improved and expect that it will continue to do so.

Bijal

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY