All SciNote Reviews

1-25 of 62 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2024

SciNote Review: No Such Learning Curve With SciNote.

User Profile

Justin

Verified reviewer

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

SciNote - Great Intro to ELN & Inventory Mangement

PROS

I like the ability to organize all my lab's projects in one place, as well as the inventory management system that gives me ordering notifications based on reagent use.

CONS

The project organization hierarchy requires a bit of a learning curve.

Casandra

Research, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

First choice electronic lab notebook!

It's been wonderful to have all of our team's data in one place - easily coded/laid out for quick access and sharing. It was tough initially to get all lab members to buy in and make the transition, but I think even they see the value in this new electronic lab notebook now!

PROS

Easy sharing of data, SOPs and protocols, results, and program management/tracking tools!

CONS

A little expensive, doesn't interface well with some of our coded software and data analysis tools.

Reason for choosing SciNote

The sales rep really sold it to us! He demonstrated a lot of the functionality in person for us and the lab members really enjoyed the user experience and assistance we received from the sales team.

Reasons for switching to SciNote

We wanted to streamline our data storage and managment in the lab - there was data stored all over and we wanted to commit to a single location.

Nicole

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2021

The best so far

PROS

The feature of having a place where you can have your protocols & just upload them to the experiments is nice. I like how I can share it with my colleagues too

CONS

The formatting isn't the easiest to figure out. I wish there was a way to draw/write into the notebook.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback - we agree, writing and drawing is truly useful. Thank you for sharing the idea! At the moment, mobile devices offer some additional modes of data input. Virtual keyboard on your tablet or smartphone allows you to enter handwritten notes, which are directly converted into a digital format in any text field in SciNote. More info is here: https://www.scinote.net/scinotesolutions-efficiency-productivity-in-scientific-laboratories/#6

Replied April 2021

Elaine

Medical Devices, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Utility of SciNote for a Medical Device Company

It takes a while to transition over from paper/electronic templates since there are so many ways to use SciNote. However, it is a very useful platform that makes all our work accessible to our team, which has been critical over the pandemic.

PROS

The best part of SciNote is how easily it facilitates collaboration. Being able to assign users to different roles and Tasks let's everyone who needs to be involved see the whole picture of what's happening in a Project. Additionally, the audit trail that shows every action is very helpful, especially if you need to see if something "worked" the way you hoped it would.

CONS

Other users have probably found very efficient ways to do repetitive work (calibration, inventory management, template usage, etc), but it takes us a while to figure these things out so that it works for us. Being able to see how other users handled this kind of work would help us see how best to implement SciNote across projects and departments.

Reason for choosing SciNote

Some ELNs are overkill for what we need, and the cost structure was better for our company. After trying the free version of SciNote, it seemed like an intuitive platform. While it has taken some time for the admins to figure out how transition everything into an ELN, new users are able to start using SciNote easily and without too much training.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review and great feedback! We really appreciate it. If you will have any questions on how to organize your repetitive work feel free to contact our team anytime. Thank you!

Replied June 2021

Leah

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Scinote keeps things organized and is easy to use

I overall have a positive experience using Scinote, and have recommended the product to a few grad student friends.

PROS

I love how easy it is to use Scinote to organize and keep track of my experiments I need to perform while in the lab. It's also very easy to search past experiments to keep track of details through time.

CONS

I wish Scinote had an autosave function! There have been a few times where I have forgotten to press "Save" on notes that I was actively taking notes in lab.

Reasons for switching to SciNote

Not sure, the switch was made before I joined the team.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback! It is taken into account. At the moment, autosave works with all Microsoft Office files and on on task notes, protocols, step descriptions, and in result text field. More information is here: https://knowledgebase.scinote.net/en/knowledge/how-do-i-use-the-autosave-function Great feedback! Thank you!

Replied April 2021

Arpita

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Very organized

PROS

Topics are searchable by key words. Which makes it very much user friendly.

CONS

The i-pad version is not fully functional yet.

Reason for choosing SciNote

It was less costly because we were a smaller company at that time. SciNote also offers 2 other types of subscriptions with more capability. So, we had the option to start at a cheaper subscription and then upgrade to other ones if needed.

Vendor Response

Hello Arpita. Thanks for sharing your experience of using SciNote! I am glad that our flexible plans can grow with your company. The mobile app is currently in beta, but there are plans to significantly improve it this year - so stay tuned!

Replied January 2024

Peter from

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Collecting documents

PROS

I like that you can upload spreadsheets and documents and scinote makes it easy to prevent multiple copies floating around

CONS

Would be nice if you could write the protocol in browser instead of needing to use ms software

Reasons for switching to SciNote

I got a new job last April and the new employer uses SciNote

Vendor Response

Hello Peter! For each SciNote task, you can enter protocol steps directly into SciNote. We also recently launched a protocol parser that can help users convert a .docx protocol into these protocol steps in SciNote. Do feel free to reach out to your Customer Success Manager to see if we can help you improve your experience!

Replied January 2024

Joan

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2023

Opinion Nano1Health

Overall our experience is good, we will continue to use it in the foreseeable future and probably recommend it to other teams of our section and around it.

PROS

At Nano1Health we like to be a 0 paper company. Reality sometimes makes that difficult but at least with Scinote we can manage to reduce it a lot. We can access anywhere the data that we need in a matter of seconds, and anyone in the team is able to access samples and codes when required.

CONS

Sometimes, due to its structure its difficult for some members of the team to find what they are looking for and therefore don't use it that much (just ask the other members by mail). Sometimes it is not very flexible for customizing columns of templates or other hard-set services. Finally, price. Its per-user licensing makes it expensive, especially for small enterprises, in which everybody needs to have access but the revenue is not very big

Vendor Response

Hello Joan. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about SciNote! SciNote has a projects/experiments/tasks hierarchy that's different from paper notebooks (or from other online notebooks). There are a few places where filters/searches are available to help team members locate what they need. Do feel free to connect with your CSM Eva to explore these options - we are here to help! Some aspects of SciNote are not as flexible because we designed the product to meet regulatory requirements. While SciNote is priced competitively, we understand that any cost could be challenging for small enterprises - we would love to see how we can help your team get the most out of SciNote. Do let us know how if there is anything we can do to support this. Thank you again for choosing SciNote!

Replied January 2024

Nathalia

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

A much easier lab notebook experience!

My overall experience with SciNote has been excellent! I really enjoy using the software for my electronic laboratory notebook!

PROS

I like how easy SciNote is to use- the features are simple yet super effective. I use the protocol/template features daily when preparing my notebook pages, and I have different protocols to make preparing my notebook that much quicker! I love how I can add pictures, tables, and checklists so that I can really organize my thoughts and results before, during, and after going into the lab!

CONS

I really enjoy using SciNote and have little complaints. The only feature I would like to see is being able to move multiple experiments over to a different folder. For example, I have active and completed projects folders, and it would make organizing my notebook that much easier if I could move a few experiments/"pages" over to the completed projects folder at once.

Elvira

Food Production, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Easy to use.

PROS

It is very easy to train chemists to use the system. Once they use it, it's easy to review what was done in the electronic lab notebook.

CONS

The inventory tables are not as easy to navigate. I'm used to using SmartSheets and Excel, and some of that functionality isn't in the inventory tables, yet.

David

Higher Education, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Solid ELN, best for larger organizations/labs

PROS

As the PUI faculty, my lab is comprised of all undergraduate students. This software is very user-friendly and intuitive for my students. It makes data entry and tracking easy. The ability for my student to share protocols across project is a huge benefit.

CONS

There is no ability to customize the functionality of the software. There are several feature that would be fantastic if the lab were much larger. However, given out size and scope those features (manuscript writer, inventory tracking, etc...) don't make a lot of sense for us. This ELN is on the expensive side so it would be nice to be able to tailor the software a little more to the needs of the end-user with the price reflecting the final functionality.

Vendor Response

We are glad to hear SciNote is user-friendly and intuitive for the students. Thank you for the feedback! We'd be glad to answer any questions related to the SciNote functionalities and customizations, feel free to contact our team anytime.

Replied June 2021

Jarrett

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Great, needs changes.

The benefits of SciNote are vast and I know it has assuredly made work in our laboratory more efficient. All in all, I have enjoyed using the SciNote platform for our ELN and would recommend it to colleagues.

PROS

I like that overall, it is easy to access experiments and link protocols. I also like the Reports feature, especially that you are able to save them for access at a later time. The progress features are also helpful, in that it allows efficient communication about the status of a particular task or tasks.

CONS

I find that Tables tend to be difficult to work with and also the lack of user-friendly calendar integration frustrating. For example, being able to easily add tasks to Google Calendar based on their due dates and end dates.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the feedback, we are glad to hear you like the reports features in SciNote. Also, thank you for great ideas for further improvements. Appreciated!

Replied June 2021

Walter

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Review of SciNote ELN

Reproducibility and good lab documentation is becoming ever more important and SciNote is a great step in this direction allowing the lab to put some constraints on how experiments are planned, conducted and recorded so as to ensure better reproducibility.

PROS

The ability to breakdown the lab process into discrete steps in advance, and then tick off each step as it is carried out, with room for comments for changes/deviation. This is very important for preventing inter experiment variability, as also for documenting exactly what was done, so that future troubleshooting or historical review can be easily achieved. I also liked the way that the different tasks could be set up on a blank canvas and dragged around and linked together to form a flow.

CONS

It is sometimes difficult to get the steps ordered in the correct order for reports etc, especially if they were initially entered in the wrong order, or subsequently changed. I would also welcome the possibility to add comments and annotations when using the iOS/android app to carry out experiments. The ability to quickly print labels for tubes etc would be good, as would a visual representation of the storage boxes used for keeping reagents in the fridge etc.

Reason for choosing SciNote

Mainly due to the structured approach to preparing protocol that can then be followed through and ticked off. The free-form ELNs do not really fulfil our requirements.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great feedback and insight! We truly appreciate the comments and will take them into account. Highly appreciated!

Replied May 2021

Osvaldo

Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great electronic lab notebook for any use!

I am very happy with the electronic notebook. Once you come up with a way to implement it in your lab, thing run smoothly and easy to adapt to any changes.

PROS

This software is great to keep track of everyone's use in the lab and makes it easy to collaborate. It features a customizable design to adapt to your needs. They have recently come up with a web app to use on mobile devices, that makes it even easier to use in your work bench or such.

CONS

There's really not much that I don't like about the software. The only thing I've found that is somewhat limiting is the web app, that is still very dependent on the web interface in a computer. But it's a new interface that has been moving in the right direction already.

Reasons for switching to SciNote

Cloud based and problems syncing with multiple users.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review - we really appreciate the insight and the feedback about the SciNote App. Thank you!

Replied April 2021

Jessica

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Great option for low fee

I found SciNote to be easy to learn and role out to the team. It was a great budget friendly option for a 5 person startup.

PROS

I liked that there was a free trial my team could use before we decided to purchase a plan.

CONS

I think the UI could be much more user friendly. I would also like to see additional inventory and procurement connection points.

Reason for choosing SciNote

small scale plans and data storage space included

Vendor Response

Thank you for the compliments. We are glad to hear the free account was useful to explore the software (besides the free plan, SciNote does offer the trial of the premium version for free as well). We truly value your feedback and are glad to hear it!

Replied May 2021

Chris

Chemicals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

SciNote Review

PROS

The ability to create a hyperlink to other tasks/experiments makes it incredibly easy to reference past work.

CONS

The updates are very frequent and often times don't seem to make any substantial improvements making it frustrating to navigate.

Vendor Response

Hello Chris. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. If you were referring to our smart annotation system - glad that you found cross-referencing within SciNote is easy! We are working on revamping our update schedule, so you should see some improvements there. I will also pass this on to our product team so they are aware of this. Thank you again for choosing SciNote!

Replied January 2024

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Great ELN

PROS

SciNote has been a great ELN for our team. We have been able to customize various functions to fit our needs and the SciNote team has been very receptive to feedback.

CONS

There have been some necessary features that were incomplete or difficult to use. However, after giving feedback to the SciNote team, they worked quickly to improve functionality.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback about the improvements of SciNote functionalities. For us, your feedback is of primary importance, to further improve and adapt the software to best fit labs' needs. If you will have more ideas, feel free to contact us anytime. Thank you!

Replied April 2021

Dawn

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Electronic lab notebook

I just started using this 1.5 years ago. I have been using paper notebooks for at least 25 years. It was not that difficult to learn how to use it and it has some useful features like the report or publish and the tags.

PROS

This electronic notebook makes it very easy to find protocols and experiments, which was a labourious task with paper notebooks unless they were very well organised, which seldom happens with students.

CONS

It still takes more time as you need to upload and re-write everything from your paper notebook that you use in the lab to avoid contaminating a laptop.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the great feedback! We are glad to hear you like SciNote and it was not too difficult to switch from paper to digital. We highly appreciate your review!

Replied April 2021

Digisha

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: