All Rocket.Chat Reviews

1-25 of 150 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jesse

Verified reviewer

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

As close as you can get to Slack without being Slack

Overall I have been using Rocket Chat for over a year now and it's been a great tool for collaboration and communication internally.

PROS

Rocket Chat is, in my opinion, the best alternative to Slack that is available today. The best part about Rocket Chat is that you can install it on your own local servers so you're no reliant on someone else storing your data on their servers on the Internet. This can be particularly valuable for those who may distrust the Internet a good deal. Rocket Chat offers a wide variety of features that make it, again in my opinion, the best contender to face off against the Slack platform.

CONS

Rocket Chat can sometimes be tricky or actually impossible to update and the features and settings can sometimes be a little difficult to understand what exactly they do.

Vendor Response

Hello Jesse, we're happy to read that you've been having such a positive experience with Rocket.Chat. Whatever problems you face, you can always take it to our community on Github or to our support team on support@rocket.chat :) Thank you and keep rock(et)ing! Rocket.Chat Team

Replied August 2020

Faraan

Insurance, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Love for in company communication

To summarize, makes communicating within company very easy. Love ability to create groups, send a variety of message formats, and chat history logging.

PROS

Number one thing -> love the fact that it keeps all logs of chats saved. Very easy to message code snippets or images or any sort of file to coworkers.

CONS

Haven't found anything I disliked about rocketchat yet. It is quite a big upgrade over our last messaging tool (skype).

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

I am not sure why the company decided to make the switch but the biggest upgrades over skype was the way Rocketchat saves chat histories is a lot better than Skype and I always had issues sending larger files or code snippets over skype.

Vendor Response

Dear Faraan, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied January 2020

User Profile

Felix

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2021

Rocket Chat - Good But not Great

Rocket Chat is a cost-effective communication solution for small businesses. However, when compared to its competitors (particularly Slack), it's not a product I'd suggest to someone trying to get the most out of it. The development team must work harder to stabilize the program and make it more user-friendly.

PROS

1. I like the notification system. It's highly unlikely that you will miss a crucial notification. When the status is set to busy, the notifications will stay in the background 2. It is definitely cheaper compared to its competitors 3. It's good for team collaboration and communication with the ability to create changes 4. The emojis spice up the communication 5. It also offers SSO functionality where users can log in with their GSUITE credentials

CONS

1. The major con has to be the User Interface. It could definitely use a lot of improvements to make it smooth 2. When starting it for the first time, the servers actually take forever to load 3. It hangs quite a lot even with a very strong internet connection and high spec laptop 4. The file sharing option could be made smoother. 5. The video call option is still missing 6. It's very easy to miss notifications while using the mobile app

Reason for choosing Rocket.Chat

1. Cost 2. Features offered

Gavin

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

A great, free Slack replacement

Cross-country communications have been simplified and we've been able to move from Slack to Rocket.chat with very little learning curve for our users. While gaining an unlimited amount of messages being saved, nearly unlimited storage space, and still keeping a familiar appearance, we've been able to implement SSO and created a number of custom data integrations with our ticketing system.

PROS

OpenSource, free, and self hosted, gives us the freedom to manage and maintain a nationwide communications platform while keeping the costs very low.

CONS

The biggest issue we have with Rocket.chat is somewhat inconsistent notifications being received to some mobile phones.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Slack was costing too much for the many users we had, and we had little control over the infrastructure outages and associated costs.

Vendor Response

Hi Gavin, Your helpful comments are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Replied August 2020

User Profile

Adam

Verified reviewer

Internet

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Rocket.Chat is an open-source discord or slack. A chat program you can host on your own server.

I used this product as a secure chat interface to get away from facebook.

PROS

Well, amazingly it's free for personal and commercial use. On top of that it works very well, and you can even deploy in a docker, which means you can get it up fast. It has tons of functions that you can integrate to compete with the discord and slack. Tons. Also, you can integrate bots, which seems like the latest thing.

CONS

I can't really think of any Cons, except maybe not great for the technologically challenged. This software is robust, so you can get lost in settings pages if you don't know where to go. Still, I think anyone who can follow directions can get this working.

Vendor Response

Dear Adam, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Rocket - useful tool

PROS

It can work on Your internal server, You can manage it by yourself, and thanks to that with the proper approach it can make your communication more secure.

CONS

Sometimes popups with new messages are disappearing or software behaves strangely.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

To secure our communication

User Profile

Joram

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Rocket.Chat the easy way of communicating

a company may use rocket chart as its own patform or channel of communication and collaboration and it will be useful since its fast and friendly to use and work with

PROS

rocket chat allows multiple users to join and collaborate in channels that allows for free flow of communication on a regular basis, it is a very interactive tool for project managers to communicate to large number of people and to allow them to share information freely. one can also use rocket chat to send direct messages to users who have access to the rocket chat platformone can download rocket chat on the mobile platform both Android and iOS and on desktop both for Windows, macOS and Linux

CONS

sometimes if the app fails you have to use the browser to log in

Vendor Response

Dear Joram, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Sandeep

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

Best chat tool for organisations

I can discuss with my group about the ongoing projects without visiting each and every employee working on same project. Apart from project we can also discuss the problems faced during any phase of the development.

PROS

We can use Rocket.Chat to communicate directly, that is one to one, or we can use it for group chats. The user interface is very user friendly. The best thing about this software is that it is an open source product. I can chat with my colleagues even if I am not in the office. It also has a web version which makes it easy when the desktop application is not working

CONS

We can not drag and drop files in the group chats, we have to open the file attachment window to open an file. Sometimes while chatting, in the middle of the chat the desktop application hangs a lot.

Vendor Response

Dear Sandeep, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Will

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2018

A good open source alternative to Slack

PROS

Can be deployed easily on your own infrastructure. Easy to integrate with other applications, using web hooks. The fact that it's open source makes it accessible to so many companies!

CONS

Some functionality doesn't seem to be thought through, for example the colour of the room title changes based on the room title and can't be customised. It would be great if you could just pick a colour. The current threaded conversations don't stop multiple conversations in a room turning into a complicated conversation. The slackbot equivalent 'Hubot' isn't heavily worked on, so lags behind Slack in this department.

Vendor Response

Dear Will, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

User Profile

Bruno

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Rocket.Chat is good, but needs some work

PROS

Rocket.Chat is an awesome solution for enterprise chat. As a remote employee, its my main tool to connect with my peers. It enables me in a easy way to contact and share information and files. Also, since the company hosts it, I find it secure to share sensitive data

CONS

The big problem with Rocket.Chat is usability. The mac application has a poor implementation , that resembles old chat applications like MSN Messenger. Its an outdated design that needs innovation ASAP

Vendor Response

Dear Bruno, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Excellent alternative to Slack - has everything you need without the paywall

Rocket.Chat is perfect for setting up a communications channel with a lot of people where investing money for using the software is not an option (e.g. leisure clubs etc.)

PROS

Rocket Chat was a welcome alternative to Slack when we were facing hefty monthly fees to continue using it. Rocket Chat pretty much can do exactly what Slack also can, but it costs absolutely nothing which is great.

CONS

You need to have basic skills in terms of Linux, webhosting etc. to be able to set up Rocket.Chat. Otherwise you're going to be in for a headache.

Reason for choosing Rocket.Chat

Because it's 100% free all the time.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Slack was getting too expensive.

Renae

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Rocket Chat is very User Friendly

I havent seen too many issues with Rocket Chat. All systems have the occassional stall or update that needs to be done and when it does go down it isnt for too long. The other features it has outweigh the cons.

PROS

I like using rocket chat cause its an easy tool for communication. You can type in it with ease, the room you have set up is easy to find. I also like that you can search chats from prior days using the search/filter option. I also like that you can send private messages via the chat itself outside of the rooms. I also like how you can edit a posted chat if needing to update it or delete it entirely.

CONS

I dont like that when someone sends you a private message theres no way to delete the message. You can hide it but i feel there should be a delete option also. I also dont like the reply thread cause the writing is soo tiny and everyone in the room can see what you are replying. I think that feature should be done away with.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Not sure as that was up to the company i contract through

Rihards

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Keep up the good work

The main bussines problem is described in section about alternative products. Overall the experience of using Rocket Chat is good. The administration panel is way to complex (however the features are great). What bothers me currently is: * macOS automatic app updates regularly don't work and I've to install the app manualy when new version is released. * when issue arrises I, as a paying customer, find it challenging to contact customer support. I got to your main page, fill out many fields and get responsive in few days.

PROS

- Wide functionallity, configuration, integration options. - Mobile apps are with good quality when I'm on the go.

CONS

- Automatic upgrades regularly don't work (described bellow in overall experience). - Admin panel is a bit complex to configure.

Vendor Response

Hi Rihards, Thanks for your feedback! We have good news for you, as we speak our developer team is working on a new interface for the admin panel. As for the support issue, we are constantly working on improving our customer support, and your feedback is very important in this process. We will notify our developers on the MacOS app update issue as well.

Replied June 2019

Ailed

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Stay in touch.

Is excellent! You can stay in touch and continue the work without being present.

PROS

Is great that you can have all your users and create different groups to mantain control of the correct communications.

CONS

The notifications do not always are synchronized in the mobile app.

Sheila

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Great Slack Alternative

Great for business-related chats to keep your teams and groups organized and separated.

PROS

I learned about this software when my previous employer asked us to transition to this software from Slack. And I liked it so much better! The user interface feels like Slack's and is intuitive as well. And best of all? All previous chat history is there for you to see...not blocked at all! It is also great for keeping your personal and business-related chats separate. No more emailing back and forth!

CONS

No other cons to mention here. If I had to pick Slack or this software, I would go with Rocket.chat.

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

My previous employer made the switch.

Vendor Response

Hi Sheila, Your helpful comment are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Replied January 2020

Jose

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

One of the best free chats

It works nicely (desktop and mobile), very intuitive.

PROS

We use rocket chat in our company. It was the most convenient switch after (sad) years using Skype. Rocket is a rich tool for collaboration: group chats, file sharing, privileges, chat customization, etc. All at a cost of zero! It's open source meaning there is a lot of eyes at this product code and quality. Updates are available often too.

CONS

It is not possible to quote a message originated in a different chat room, so if you have an important message to share for others, most likely you end up copying it and then pasting.

Vendor Response

Dear Jose, Your helpful comment are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much! About quoting from different channels, if you use the "Permalink" option on the message pop up menu, a link will be copied to your clipboard, if you paste that link in another channel, a message preview will appear (similar to the reply one). This enables you to quote other messages in different channels

Replied June 2019

User Profile

César

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2022

Very Bad Experience -

Very bad. Very sorry to leave this company, but we will like to really be able to use.

PROS

The idea to have WhatsApp and other platforms in the communication channel.

CONS

Not working. Plan and simple not working at all.

Reason for choosing Rocket.Chat

Onminachannel

Reasons for switching to Rocket.Chat

Yes

User Profile

Carlos

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Rocket.Chat is simple and easy to use instant messaging.

The solution positively surprised us and we found it simple to install and configure on our network for use in internal communication using chat and alerts. It is an effective solution and fulfills its objective very well.

PROS

Rocket.Chat software was implemented early in the COVID-19 pandemic to keep people in our department active and collaborative while working remotely. We customized the layout and created workgroups to integrate the team and it worked very well. No delays and no communication failures.

CONS

Support is a bit of a downside, but it's rarely used. The tool works well and we have not had any reports of serious problems.

Berin

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Great app for companies.

PROS

Rocket chat has been made in a perfect way. You have many options to work with. It is perfect for companies, but also it is perfect for personal uses.

CONS

The only thing I don't like is that they don't have good mobile app. There is a mobile app already but it doesn't work as it should.

Vendor Response

Dear Berin, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Replied June 2019

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY