What are BigBlueButton users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using BigBlueButton software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.06

48 Reviews

5
17
4
20
3
6
2
3
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Bigbluebutton is powerful and robust server application which have all sort of features required for online teaching, meeting and collaboration."
  • icon"The step by step guide is yet easy to deploy this application. The presenter, viewer part, integration of audio bridge, screen sharing, file presentation, polls etc are nice features."
  • icon"I think one of the best features of BigBlueButton was the screen share feature. Teachers could bring documents up seamlessly while talking about a subject."
  • icon"The recordings changed the orientation of my slide images making all the notes I took on them useless and confusing."
  • icon"The design is a bit outdated, and looks a slightly boring."
  • icon"It is horrible and barely lets me enter the meeting and so does it with my other classmates."

Jump to:

Browse all BigBlueButton Reviews

  • Have you used BigBlueButton and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 47 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 47 reviews

User Profile

Yavuz Furkan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Best Online Education Platform

It's a simple and effective educational application that I like.

Pros

Easy to use and nice interface. It is designed with eye-catching colors and the widgets are nicely positioned. An app with all the necessary features.

Cons

Unknown software. There may be problems with notifications.

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Libraries

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Very solid choice

We are a nonprofit, and these folks make life easier. They are great to work with and very responsive. Not a common experience with previous vendors we've used.

Pros

We've been very happy with this product. The Moodle integration is critical for us, and it is solid. It will soon be packaged with Moodle itself, which should only serve to make it even better in the future. The interface is simple enough for anyone to familiarize with it and it checks off the majority of our boxes.

Cons

I think slide navigation could be better. And currently, hyperlinks don't work on slides. These are things that used to be features on their old client versions before rewriting to remove Flash. So I'm hopeful they'll return at some point.

Reasons for choosing BigBlueButton

Friendly licensing, better pricing, great service, LMS integration, friendly interface.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Adobe and their licensing scheme make it really hard to do your job, unless you're willing to throw insane amounts of money at them.

User Profile

Islam

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

good software ... but!

overall bbb is good software to manage video conference if develop process continue as it is maybe in 3 years we will have golden product

Pros

bbb is very easy to set , implement and lunch and has very simple view help anyone to manage it , beside it is large community and devloping proccess

Cons

i think the position of developing cycle is wrong i mean bbb need more develop for customer and end user who is not technical i mean for all our teacher how hard it was to manage and customize and that is first; second bbb has weak error view system for example sometimes internet connection is too bad for sharing and bbb loading for ever it will be greate to show error msg "hi your connection is bad" that so simple but i think end user ( no technical user ) is not calculated here.

Reasons for choosing BigBlueButton

bbb is so simple to record and store videos which is not same in other products

User Profile

Jhon Jaiver

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

The best software for remote study

it gave me a very good experience in implementing platforms on my own servers and organizing meetings in a few steps, the role system is very well thought out it is a great platform

Pros

A complete integration to be able to carry out online classes with an excellent quality of video and sound, a software in constant development that allows integrations with other online education platforms

Cons

The installation must be done by a person who knows what he is doing, or you can also purchase this service from third parties and thus save all these installation steps.

Reasons for choosing BigBlueButton

Because it has all the features I need to be able to offer online classes

Ana Isabel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Carencias del software para la enseñanza de idiomas online

Al trabajar en un Centro de Idiomas universitario, debido al confinamiento,los profesores tuvimos que buscar a toda prisa diferentes plataformas para seguir con la docencia online. Big BlueButton no fue una opción al principio, tal vez pq no fuera la más publicitada ni la de más fácil acceso y rendimiento en la enseñanza de idiomas online. Al implantar una nueva versión de moodle en el Centro de Idiomas donde trabajo, se eligió BBB por su fiabilidad y la seguridad que ofrecía, y por ser una plataforma gratuita.

Pros

Según parece, es un método fiable para implementarlo dentro de la plataforma moodle con la que trabajamos, sin comprometer la información contenida dentro de la empresa para la que trabajo. Es gratuita y permite implementarlo dentro de la plataforma moodle con la que estamos trabajando.

Cons

A pesar de tener las mismas características q otras plataformas de videoconferencia para clases online (audio y vídeo, chat grupal, compartición de pantalla...) hay varios aspectos mejorables para facilitar la enseñanza de idiomas por videoconferencia: - Reducido espacio de pantalla disponible para ver a los alumnos , ya q las notas compartidas y el listado de los alumnos presentes (a la derecha del espacio de presentación e imágenes de los alumnos) es demasiado pequeño. Eso hace q el espacio de presentación tb sea pequeño y tenga q agrandar secciones del texto/imagen etc para poder mostrar la imagen en su totalidad. TODOS LOS PARTICIPANTES, tanto los q se conectan con imagen y sonido, como los q se conectan solo con sonido deberían figurar como participantes en la pantalla principal, liberando ese espacio ocupado al que hacía mención antes. -Tanto las opciones de notas compartidas como las de chat deberían ser botones/espacios opcionales, ocupando poco espacio de pantalla, y usarlos sólo si fueran necesarios. - Al compartir el doc/presentación en pantalla completa, no se ve a los participantes, por lo q hay que volver a pantalla reducida para llamarlos a participar. - Los recursos/materiales a compartir son limitados.Ni audios ni videos q no estén en las plataformas permitidas (youtube, etc); gran handicap en una clase de idiomas. - La asignación de participantes en 'aulas' es engorroso y poco intuitivo. Tampoco efectivo.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Desde el Centro de Idiomas en el que trabajo se decidió que todo el profesorado debía utilizar la misma plataforma para las clases online, ya que era la plataforma que implementaron en moodle.

User Profile

Faiyaz

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

A free Conferencing system with a lot of features!

It was very easy to install. I had a great conference everytime I used Bigbluebutton. Just when I had clients using mac. I needed to consider another software having multiple os supporting feature.

Pros

I love how stable the video and audio quality is! And a lot of features and functionality it provides like hand raising, file sharing, whiteboard, polls, presentation tools, presentation streaming, screensharing, recording and more. And all of these are so stable and smooth working. I am really very satisfied with Bigbluebutton.

Cons

There are some cons but they're so less comparing to the pros. It's only available in Linux and Windows. Mobile and mac users can't use it. Community support lacks a bit.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

BrainCert have some software issues. The whiteboard loads very slowly. And it's very hard to host. The user experience isn't smooth at all.

Eduardo

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

My review of Big Blue Button

It has been quite positive. I have used it regularly during lockdown when it was impossible to teach face to face at school.

Pros

The ease with which I can handle a Synchronous Virtual Classroom meeting: Uploading Files, Sharing my screen and all the other functionalities enable me to carry out this aspect of Distance Teaching without problems.

Cons

Unless I am mistaken, I cannot upload more than one file. If I upload toe, the first one gets erased.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Information Security and Privacy issued were prominent for this switch: BBBis the platform that Mashic, the company that provides administrative service to the school where I teach has chosen to allow us to use. Ths choice and the settings agreed upon, make BBB safe to use by teachers and pupils. Student Privacy is secured, too.

Carolyn

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Big Blue Button

My overall experience has been very positive. The integration into Canvas was smooth and the tools are familiar, thus not requiring extensive training or extra cost.

Pros

This software is easier to integrate into our LMS for online learners. The analytics and feedback tools are easy to use and provide valuable information for course improvement. The technology also feels familiar. The open-source feature makes it available to anyone.

Cons

There are no drawbacks to that I can report. Big Blue Button is cost-effective and easy to use---even for individuals new to online learning.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Big Blue Button offers more features for engagement and analytics.

User Profile

Evans

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Decent virtual classroom

Not my go-to option

Pros

Built well for an LMS. A great tool in the pandemic.

Cons

Turning on mics and videos can be a hassle, you often have to leave the call if you didn't turn them on the first time. Accessing recordings can be a pain. Breakout rooms can sometimes be tricky to set up

Daniel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

An alternative to zoom or teams

it's operative and works fine.... but not perfect

Pros

it's easy to use, but it still need to improve, speccialy recording and how to find older records.

Cons

you can access with laptop, phone, or whatever but keep in mind that you could need to re enter to the chat room sometimes because of luck of sound.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Simple Webconferencing software, but lacking in big name features

Overall works well, but would prefer other competitors such as Zoom or Google Meets.

Pros

This software is integrated with Canvas LMS by Instructure, making it easy for schools already using the Canvas LMS to adopt. It has a robust security system to prevent "zoombombing" as only registered people in each course can access the conference they have been invited to with a unique user token. Certain features such as breakout rooms, shared whiteboard and embedded video player would rival other video conferencing software such as Google Meets, and it most definitely has most if not all classroom needs for most schools around the world. The Learning curve is low, and it runs smoothly most of the time. Private chat works very well, and is intuitive to use.

Cons

The design is a bit outdated, and looks a slightly boring. "Hot" features right now such as virtual backgrounds and full screen tile view is not up to par with competitors, and there are small annoyances such as keyboard shortcuts not working on MACs and the need to do an "echo test" every time I enter a new conference which takes several seconds off my precious time. Additionally, the ability to record a conference after having entered and forgotten to click the "make conference recordable" button while creating the conference results in having to have everyone leave the conference and have a new one created. Lastly, although I like the breakout rooms feature, if you so happen to put a timer for the breakout rooms to be less than needed, there is no option to extend the time without having all the breakout rooms close and reopen - something that happens way too often.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Free Virtual classroom and Video conferencing

We have integrated BBB with state school LMS of our region. When only the presenter sharing his video this is running very smoothly. Need more resources to open everyone's video. However this product has amazing features specially for virtual classrooms. For me this is very much better than Flagship products.

Pros

+Installation is easy +Clarity of video and audio is very high +Presentations can be uploaded and can present online instead of sharing presenter's screen. +Customizable +Can be integrated with major LMS like Moodle, Jenzabar etc

Cons

+ Resource hungry when multiple users using camera/video + Not all OS/platforms are supported. + Lack of community support.

Maja

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Very satisfied with BigBlueButton

I'm going to recommend everyone I know BigBlueButton because it was really easy to use and I had only a good experience with it.

Pros

I really liked the simple way of registration, options in the virtual classroom, breakout rooms that is not that common to have in other software (they were really useful). Whiteboard is the option that is often used in other software but this one didn't have any interruptions and everything during the class was in real-time.

Cons

Customer support was really hard to get, but I think this is due to the situation in the world that everyone is going on online courses.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

Because I didn't have enough satisfying experience with Cisco WebEx, so I tried BigBlueButton after the recommendation.

Sri

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

A user Friendly Platform for Live Classes

Pros

BigBlueButton is easy to use platform. From setting up the schedules, screen sharing, and creating break-out sessions, we can do these in a simple and straightforward way. As an instructor, we are also given many authorities in managing students accesses during live classes. BBB also provides many facilities to maintain or strengthen student's engagement such as polling, multi-user whiteboarding, live chatting, and emojis.

Cons

BigBlueButton is integrated with my university's LMS. Actually, I like BBB as it is simple to use and it offers us many useful features for live classes. However, as more and more lecturers in my university are using this platform, the system is often down impacting the BBB's performance. Also sometimes my camera was locked incidentally: I could see my videos alive from my side, but my students couldn't. In such cases, we have to find other alternatives for live teachings.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Great for Online Tutoring

Pros

I started using this product when my volunteer tutoring went from in-person to online. It's very interactive so that both the student and tutor can be typing information. You can also upload worksheets to fill in or write on. It also includes other common features like video, shared screen and a whiteboard.

Cons

Some of the features are a bit clunky. You can type on the screen but you need to create a text box first. Depending on how much text you have and the size of the box, you may not be able to see all of the text. It also makes it hard to continue to add text after you close the box. There's also been technical difficulties where one user can't see what they are typing. There's no flashy things like emoji reactions or noise canceling features.

Amit

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Reliable meeting and online teaching tool

My overall experience was with bigbluebutton is good only faced issue in greenlight. I would like to have its Android version also. Currently we can use in browser(mozilla or chrome)

Pros

Bigbluebutton is powerful and robust server application which have all sort of features required for online teaching, meeting and collaboration. The step by step guide is yet easy to deploy this application. The presenter, viewer part, integration of audio bridge, screen sharing, file presentation, polls etc are nice features.

Cons

Overall customization of different parts is not so easy and there is very limited resources available for helping in this. Something like greenlight installation is not easy and support on web is almost nowhere about this. The application required higher bandwidth for video audio/ video and screen sharing streams which makes it hefty on resources side. Audio does sometime hiccups usually when multiple people taking at once.

Sergio

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: International Trade and Development

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

All schools and universities should be using it!

Pros

This is the prove that open source software can be better than paid software. It's the one tool for education. You have shared board, real-time survey and more.

Cons

The servers are a bit expensive if you want to run it 24/7. The shared board could have option to just let one student write on it. Also, the teacher should have the option to mute the alumni.

Reasons for choosing BigBlueButton

BigBlueButton is especially thought for education, with features you can use in a classroom.

Reasons for switching to BigBlueButton

BBB is cleaner, and it's thought for education. I needed it for a small school. Other options don't have features that BBB has.

Lady Margrett

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Bigbluebutton knows what an educator needs.

I have tried using all the different types of platforms (e.g. Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams), nothing compares to the ease of use with BigBlueButton. It's just sad that most people don't know about it or are afraid to use it.

Pros

You can see comments, presentation, and the people at the same time. Further, there are polls and break-out rooms. It could even be accessed in both iOS and Android mobile phones and devices.

Cons

Break-out room is limited to 10 groups only.

Ethan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

It Worked

It worked well. Teachers were able to get everybody in a session, they could share documents or videos or songs, and they could record sessions. It worked well for us.

Pros

We used this software to have class meetings. I think one of the best features of BigBlueButton was the screen share feature. Teachers could bring documents up seamlessly while talking about a subject. Distance didn't really get in the way, and some cohorts were students from different countries.

Cons

I don't think there was a lot that people didn't like. A pro/con of the software was that it was only accessible through Canvas which were we using. So you could only use it if you were in our Canvas program. But that was good for students and teachers because their video conferencing software was right at their fingertips.

Michael

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Videoconferencing made easy

When I am presenting something to a group of newcomers and I want to stress or emphasize a particular item, BigBlueButton makes it easy.

Pros

My favorite feature of BigBlueButton is the whiteboard feature because I can highlight things I want to emphasize.

Cons

BigBlueButton has a horrible tendency to freeze up and distort video, and sometimes audio, at the most inopportune times. This has cause me to move BBB from my main to my back up conferencing software, only being used when I need one of the features that only it provides.

Chasity`

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Ease of Use. Perfect for Virtual Learning

Pros

I love the functionality of the program and being able to have multiple instructors at once. I appreciate the share screen option and also being able to use webcams and microphones interchangeably.

Cons

I really have no complaints with the program.

Heather

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Big blue button is not the best

I would say My overall experience with big blue button this poor. like I mentioned, we have to use it daily because there is no other option with my son's distance learning but I would choose another product in a heartbeat if it were an option..

Pros

I don't really have any pros to say about bigbluebutton. We use it because we don't have another option with my son's distance learning. I would definitely prefer zoom or another video conferencing app.

Cons

We use bigbluebutton because we don't have another option with my son's distance learning. I would definitely prefer zoom or another video conferencing app. Bigbluebutton proves to be inconsistent with whether it's going to work. It is very glitchy with both the audio and video. Makes distance learning extremely hard.

Laron

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Makes videoconferencing easy

Facilitates online video meetings.

Pros

I find BigBlueButton very useful for videoconferencing and and webinars. It is easy to setup and launch and the interface is quite friendly. It has all the features I need for a online video meeting.

Cons

No con really, as it does its job well. The only I drawback I can mention is that it operates in a space where there are a lot of tools of the same nature.

User Profile

Juan Carlos

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

The slft provided video conference

It was all nice until we deployed a solution for million of people. The recording started to fail and some times the conferences got wrong. We needed to imprive the insfrastructur and even that we still having some issues randomly.

Pros

Its open source, and you modify whatever you want on it There is tutorials about how to setup it Can record video conferences Can host several conferences Several tools on the interface Can hanfle groups

Cons

Hard to deploy even that there is a lot of tutorial it can be messy to setup. Needs a high capacity server to handle several conferences. Not much customizable with out having issues with the setup. Recording of comnferences sometimes fails randomly. Cant handle high traffic very well

JUAN

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Buena plataforma de video conferencia

Buena experiencia desde Moodle

Pros

Poder utilizar con un número amplio de estudiantes

Cons

El interfaz es aburrido debería ser más bonito

Reasons for choosing BigBlueButton

Era el único compatible con moodle

Showing 1 - 25 of 47 reviews
BigBlueButton

BigBlueButton

4.06/5 out of 48 reviews
PriceWatch Demo