What are CATIA users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using CATIA software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.61

153 Reviews

5
99
4
50
3
4
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Catia has a user friendly interface which helps you while you working on it."
  • icon"It is also best to see machining simulation, provide all the details about it like manufacturing time and all process details."
  • icon"You can also work with parametric for any dimentions that can be connected with a formula and variables. It is well integrated with PLMs."
  • icon"With this mouse functioning also little bit awkward."
  • icon"This takes a while to get used to. Although, if you get used to the pictures or short cut keys, this won't be too much of a problem."
  • icon"The software is hard to master. It has too many options which means you need to learn a lot of options."

Jump to:

Browse all CATIA Reviews

  • Have you used CATIA and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 153 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 153 reviews

User Profile

Mert

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Best friend of a design engineer

In summary, Catia is the best software in CAD world for me. It allows user to design a part from basic level to upper advanced. That's why it's preferred in industry.

Pros

There a lot of things to emphasize. However to be more precise, I'm using for metal and plastic part design and it serves great. Generative sheet metal tool is very helpful and tools under this tab half the time while designing a metal part. In addition user stamping is a great way to design brackets amd evaluate producing process.

Cons

There are lots of tools I didn't feel so comfortable in the beginning about ease of use. But got used to it.

Reasons for switching to CATIA

I was using solidworks but my current company uses Catia.

Omkar

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Perfect for Designing

It is a great software and very easy to use and teach interns on

Pros

The User interface is very easy and has many customization options. Can be used easily by new people.

Cons

It is a little expensive and given too many toolbars even if you dont need it

Reasons for choosing CATIA

It is easier to use and has good connectivity between plants

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Catia Enovia V6 review

I create large motor boats with large assemblies and i use Catia and NX on a daily basis. I have no problem managing the boat and the parts but when it comes to modelling in Catia i find incredibly tedious and very time consuming. Some days are very frustrating using this software as it is still very buggy. And when i contact helpdesk, they just reply 'oh yes, we know about that. This will be fixed in the next version!*

Pros

Managing large assemblies is particularly good with Enovia V6. I frequently open large assys containing up to 3-4000 parts (some of these individual parts are even 500MB each) and i have no problem with rotating the model with too much lag. The perspective view and general rendering of the parts is very good and quite impressive compared to other top CAD engineering packages.

Cons

Catia is not an easy package to learn. The UX is very over complicated and you really have to be shown by another user how to grasp the endless mouse clicking menus as they are not straight forward. After using Siemens NX for 10 years and then having to learn Catia was a nightmare. Catia takes far longer to model compared to other CAD packages. After 1 year with NX i didnt have a problem with creating anything, it was very reliable and I knew i could have a solution within a certain period of time. With Catia i never know how long something will take. It is far more unstable and it crashes very frequently.

Manuel

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

CAD software for a certain industry

In my overall experience CATIA is great CAD software because from the way you draw to the way you make assemblies or renderings, it is a software that does not have a great learning difficulty. You may take longer in design for the above, but it's a great advantage that you can use to your advantage.

Pros

CATIA is a very complete software but with its areas of improvement. Unlike other softwares it is very complete, its functions are very extensive and offers us what are step-by-step design process and in this if we come to have a mistake we can see in which step exactly we make mistakes this I see it as a great advantage. The renders even though it takes time but quality like any good product that takes your time. The interface is very simple to use and does not take much complexity of learning.

Cons

As I mentioned in the advantages is a software that is handled step by step compared to other CAD software there are functions that takes you 1 step what CATIA does in 5 steps that I see as a great disadvantage in that you take more time with the jobs. When it comes to rendering jobs or making assemblies if it takes time and resources from your computer so if you don't have a good computer with resources this is going to cost you a little bit.

Rodrigo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

CATIA BEST FOR THE INDUSTRY

My experience with CATIA was a whole journey, the beginning was hard and confusing, but after passing the learning curve it becomes way clearer.

Pros

The software is just the standard for the industry, big car companies use it and that is the reason I learnt to use it in college. The software is the most complete there is out there, once you pass the learning curve then it becomes less intimidating to use and master.

Cons

The learning curve is way too steep for beginners, you need a full capacitation or classes on the software to learn since there is close to none information or a community out there willing to help, since it is mostly used by big companies and not regular users. The pricing is high for a single user to pay, but since its not meant for casual users its understanable and can't really consider it a con.

Reasons for switching to CATIA

I needed more professional software

User Profile

Caner

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Very good designing program for mechanical products.

By working with CATIA V5, i can design and analysis my mechanical parts at the same time.

Pros

Being able to work on product tree is crucial. Parametric design tools and analysis tools are working together and it is awesome.

Cons

It is not super user-friendly program as Solidworks but it works anyway. Sometimes, when i'm working on the big products, update can take lots of time.

User Profile

Alfred

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Review from IT

Pros

very solid software and stable. nice to manage license access from server per user. excellent support send you CDs

Cons

hard for user to lease license from server when traveling. other CAD software would allow you to take license with you out of office for laptop keeping the main license on server for desktop very expensive and high yearly maintenance fees

User Profile

Travis

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

The best CAD known to man

Overall I would recommend CATIA to any CAD designer

Pros

This is a wonderful CAD designing program and pretty much the standard for most manufacturers in the automotive industry.

Cons

The Graphics utilization and RAM allocation of this applications is probably the heaviest i have seen on any program.

User Profile

Issac

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

An easy to use 3D modelling software

A beautiful software that can fulfill all your modelling requirement in one package

Pros

High speed 3 d modelling application with rendering support. Supports wide variety of file types Easy to convert 2d to 3 d easily Supports access through the internet

Cons

Should introduce a higher cloud storage option Should implement radx support in 3 d rendi as it shows improved details while creating an animation

Daniel

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Accurate 3D design

CATIA has been very useful to me when designing parts and structures, the way of designing the drawings is very complete.

Pros

CATIA is a very good software that facilitates the design of parts and structures in 3D, allows the design, assembly and drawings in a very simple way. The software is very complete and has different types of tools that serve for different functions. The different updates have been getting progressively better, they change the interface a little bit but the way of use is the same.

Cons

The software is a bit complex, and when it comes to making a mistake, the interface is not so precise to find a solution to the problem.

User Profile

Özgür

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Probably the best software for product design and surface modelling

If you're in automotive industry and not have your own design tool; then Catia is your must to use design software. It is the most complex and capable design tool and perfect for surface modelling. Yes it is not much user friendly and hard to become an expert user; but these doesn't enough to drop Catia V5 from number one seat...

Pros

I'm working with Catia V5 for a long time. I've used other programs such as Solidworks as well; but Catia is the best by far due to it's features. Catia is the most complex tool for part design and assembly management. For instance creating complex large surfaces with Catia (which is a must for automotive industry) is really easy thing to do. Variety of manipulating tools (turn, pan, rotate, etc.) makes you to easily view or manage the designed part. There are several modules which you can add many features to your part when managing the design. There are several material libraries to use for your product. Product tree is detailed and let you to manage the design steps e.g. to make parametric design. Catia is very powerful and fast; but sure you do need a good hardware as well. Creating 2D drawing is a bit complicated; but can be managed easier when you got used to it.

Cons

Probably biggest drawback for Catia is that you really need to spend years to become an expert user (not designer). It's a bit complicated compared to some other design tools. Mouse function is a bit hard to control - for example you need multiple buttons to rotate. Also interface is a bit old fashioned. V5 had many upgrades so far; but I assume it's time for V6 now for a better outlook. 2D generation module is really poor; therefore we mostly use other tools to create 2D's. License fee can be an issue for personal or small company usages.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

CATIA a most for automotive design.

For a new user, this software can be frustrating at the beginning however once you understand the basics it is pretty easy. I've been using this software every day and I keep learning new options.

Pros

This software has everything an engineer could dream of. Analysis and Design tool.

Cons

The software is hard to master. It has too many options which means you need to learn a lot of options.

Reasons for choosing CATIA

Flexibility and Options

User Profile

EMEL

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Comprehensive software for CAD modelling

If you want to deal with complex designs, extended surfaces; e.g automobile body structures, this is the software to use. However for less complex part or tool/mold designs you may prefer Solidworks due to its cost advantages.

Pros

The best thing for Catia V5 is for sure the high capability for surface modelling. Complex surfaces can be designed easily with the extensive library and the functions Catia provide. That's why this is the #1 software used in Automotive for creating the designs. There are lots of features to shape your design product. Creating assemblies and defining movement for the assembly structures also possible and can be managed easily after some experience. If you know parametric design principles, Catia can work wery well with this principle. There is also a broad material library available for your selection, you can even add new material or properties.

Cons

Probably the first and the only thing to mention about Catia V5 is the interface. Although I like to use Catia due to its extensive features; I do not like the somehow retro interface, ribbon and menu designs. Therefore main screen makes you feel little bit uncomfortable. More than this, I think Catia has does not have cons to mention.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Catia, you feel free to make design everything.

I am Design Engineer at Ford Motor Company. I am using Catia everyday. If I making design, if I need to update my 3D model I need this software for using. Because, our Automotive Industry using it commonly. I can manage my product tree without any forces in catia. I can create updateable design and share my collleagues.

Pros

If you create a new product in Aviation or Automobile Industry you should start with Catia. Because that, it is most common software in these industries and it makes you using same language while designing something together your partner. Catia has more capabilities to update your models if required. It is stronger software to use product assemblies into assembly.

Cons

First time if you learn Catia, you can be forced into doing something, than you to continue doing something. thus, you will understand strategy of Catia.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

NOT EASY TO USE BUT EFFICIENT

Designing power transmission system.

Pros

1. Common usage 2. Easy to find engineer / technical specialist who has experience on it 3. Price 4. Effcient 2D feature

Cons

1. Always Crash like as 'click ok to terminate' 2. Not easy to use' UI is not friendly. 3. Disconnected links 4. Lack of "3D tolerance stack up" feature

User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

CATIA software has provided me best ways for development and it is easy to model complex designs.

Pros

CATIA is an excellent software that has make our job work too easier. CATIA software offers large number of functionalities that is linked with other CAD softwares.With best manufacturing tool opportunity,it enables us to design complex parts. CATIA provides the fantastic space for user.It has unique fuctions for designing products. Moreover one can simulate the production.

Cons

Learning curve of CATIA software is quite higher and it is indeed most intuitive software.In the beginning it's layout seems to be quite difficult but when we have good command on basic functions then CATIA becomes easier for us within a few days and it can be done quite efficiently. Sometimes CATIA software takes a lot of time in downloading files but it is a minor issue.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

CATIA

Pros

pros: Professionals "It makes new clients pulled in to it and there are a lot of instructional exercises accessible to learn. Its ability over a wide range of portfolios makes it an extraordinary item." "The parametrization ability is one of the significant experts. Since you can undoubtedly control it to make plans by streamlining programming projects like ModeFrontier." "I have been utilizing this product for right around 2 years and I preferred it. In any case, they should improved and rework the toolbars to locate the required instrument for the circumstance." "In spite of the fact that it actually has a few cons, Catia is best particularly in Aviation and Automotive businesses due to having complex parts and congregations. It is consistently a bit of leeway to realize how to function with Catia."

Cons

Cons : "Particular franticness, they charge you for everything." "CATIA has helped my organization push ahead. We were stuck in the stone age with AutoCAD however now we produce 3D models and related drawings better/quicker/less expensive than previously." "In this way primary screen causes you to feel smidgen awkward. More than this, I think Catia has doesn't have cons to specify." "2D age module is truly poor; hence we generally utilize different apparatuses to make 2D's. Permit charge can be an issue for individual or little organization uses."

User Profile

Stéfano

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Awesome solution fitted for your part and assembly design needs

CATIA works well for modeling complex designs and dealing with assemblies, and also helping with analysis for production line assembly and manufacturing through stamping, molding, injection, and others. CATIA also integrates very well with Teamcenter, the PLM software which we use in our company, making it easy to upload files and dealing with approval processes for new designs - although the time it takes for loading parts and saving could be reduced to improve productivity.

Pros

Easy modeling with production steps in mind; Surface modeling is pretty intuitive and makes possible to design complex geometries faster; Model edit is practical, making possible to edit a geometry parameter and rerun the program to have the new parameters ready; CATIA works very well for assemblies too, it makes possible to easily attach parts and bind specific parameters, also to hide parts that are not desirable for the analysis.

Cons

The software is pretty heavy, even with computers designed for heavy-duty loads, resulting in long wait times to load files and make changes, reducing productivity; User Interface is not that friendly, too many features which can get confusing.

Thomas

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Best designing softwear in my opinion

I had the chance to learn how to use Catia during my training in Mechanical and Production Engineering in Nantes, France. First on the v5 version then on the v6 (3D experience). I had the opportunity to test different modules for CAD, CAM, etc... I had the opportunity to work in depth on a digital twins project that I think could be a very important technique in the future and it works well with Catia v6.

Pros

One of the points that I find most interesting about Catia is the variety of these modules (Part design, Assembly design, etc.). Indeed, Catia’s strong point, in my opinion, is the link that can be made between modules; we will be able to create parts, assemblies, test them in a virtual model, do computer-assisted manufacturing, etc. Moreover, he was able to test the new 3D Experience software which works thanks to a database and thus allows collaborative work. The future of CAD software in my opinion, all simply.

Cons

The handling is a bit complex at the beginning, especially compared to what is done in the competition, however this can be relativized by the fact that the modules offered are very consistent between them.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Best software for CAD/CAM/CAE.

I used this software for two to three years and it best for advanced machining, easily provide modeling simulation and develops it's NC codes in just some seconds.

Pros

Catia is an excellent and very powerful software for designing a model and for displaying it's 2D drawing and isometric views easily. It is also best to see machining simulation, provide all the details about it like manufacturing time and all process details. Product tree is also very useful as it gives different options in a simple way.

Cons

Catia is best software for CAD,CAM and CAE but it takes alot of time to become a pro in this. It is not user friendly like solidworks. If you are new user of it you will face some troubles in finding out different options.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

The best ever Designing Software used by most of the Mechanical engineers

Being a Mechanical engineer and a Design engineer at a Company we use Catia daily to provide solutions to the client by providing Designs and also drawings. I have been using catia from more than 2 years and now I can work in all the catia workbenches. Mostly Harness has become a boom now a days

Pros

Catia provides different work benches where we can work on different activities like 2D modelling, 3D creation, Drafting, Sheet Metal, Surface Modeling, Assembling and lot more.

Cons

For new user the Catia is not user friendly and they require some trainings to understand the tool quickly and also to get some hands on experience.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

I love CATIA

I love CATIA. I have worked with it for several years.

Pros

Sketching and drawings are amazing I have used CATIA for almost ten years. Its functionality is really great. You can model any 2D or 3D part using CATIA. Drawings are among the most important features of a company. Using CATIA, high-quality drawings can be modeled.

Cons

At the beginning of working with CATIA, it seems that it is really hard to work with. Information about some of the features is lacking in the CATIA website. So whenever we want to know how to model a specific 3D part, we should search a lot and talk to many people to understand.

Brett

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Catia - The powerhouse of Cad Softwares

Pros

In our case, we really have no other option. All of the top manufacturers we do business with use Catia, in return we must. There is no question it's extremely powerful. I love that once a design is constrained to features of a part, changes can be made very simple with all the history that follows.

Cons

I've contacted support and got little to no help. I think they are reserved for bigger companies like Boeing, Lockheed, etc. I find that sometimes when you have a software that is so powerful it can become overwhelming as well.

Reasons for choosing CATIA

Customer driven

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Common Software for Automotive Industry

Pros

I generally use Catia for Step & STL data exporting for creating CAE models and 3D data viewing. Catia has a user friendly GUI. Measurement tools are quiet easy to use. Product tree management is so effective. I like so much the visuality of the welcome screen. It has many special modules for automotive and aerospace industry. 3D Surface modelling and skecthing capabilities are awesome and industry leader.

Cons

Sometimes it could work slower. Your computer need much more RAM. CAE software implementation is open to development.

DEVARAPALLI

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Easy to learn

Excellent application developed by Dassault Systemes. It is very easy to learn. The main advantage in this software is we can switch between modules to have better design features.

Pros

We can design any type of product using this software with high rendering effects and colors. We can easily edit the designed part in this software.

Cons

The least i like in this software is that while designing any BAJA Vehicles, it will be very difficult to design them due to the weldment design between the pipe joints. It takes more time to design when compared to solidworks software.

Showing 1 - 25 of 153 reviews
CATIA

CATIA

4.61/5 out of 153 reviews
PriceWatch Demo