All Shift Reviews

1-25 of 306 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Julliana

Law Practice, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed March 2021

A dashboard to increase efficienct

User Profile

Jordan

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Excellent professional or even personal work oriented application

By utilizing Shift I am maximizing efficiency, eliminating redundancy, and turning my workstation use into a power user platform with its ease of functionality and organization. i never miss a beat.

PROS

Shift is what I call sort of an Iphone or Android app for PC. It collects all of your most used applications, websites and programs for easy access in one clean and efficient user interface. it makes your pc or mac as easy to use as an Iphone. My efficiency has gone through the roof since utilizin this application.

CONS

There is little negative about this software. I suppose more integrations would always be nice but that is hardly a downside. It's more of, "it would be nice for this app to do this or that, but you can only get so much utility for the money!

Reason for choosing Shift

There literally is nothing that Shift is really competing with. It is in a ballpark of its own.

Paul

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Sign-In Issues

PROS

I have four business accounts I can see at once, switch between calendars and files, and get notifications all in one place. I hated having multiple windows open in my browser and having to switch between tabs.

CONS

I am having to sign-in to my accounts and authorize shift to access my info too frequently. I don't have to do it this often online. Once approved, shouldn't Shift be recognized by Google?

Reason for choosing Shift

Kiwi was not as functional. Shift allows me to have the same interface within each application and feature as the web - which is really nice.

Samantha

Photography, 1 employee

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2024

I'll take a pass on this

I'd rather gnaw my arm off than use this application again.

PROS

I liked the idea of linking my accounts to make life easier. HA!

CONS

From trying to adjust settings to linking accounts, every step was infuriating and time consuming as I constantly went in circles. The chat bot was totally unhelpful and gave me news links instead of help. I was required to use Google to get to the Shift instructions I needed and none of it was correct for what was on my screen.

User Profile

Hana

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

The Concept is Great, Quite a Few Bugs

Overall, the value of Shift is outweight the cons. I hope they remedy the MacBook usage dilemma because it often slows my computer down.

PROS

I manage a dozen or so email addresses and Shift does a great job with letting me access all of the accounts in one space. A couple of years ago, we sent a request for Shift to integrate with Lastpass and they integrated with it pretty quickly, which is helpful with password management of all of the accounts I juggle. I also love that Google Drive and Calendar work well right there in the platform very well.

CONS

Shift is quite buggy. It freezes often and takes up a lot of CPU memory on my MacBook. It often makes my fan start spinning quickly to cool my MacBook down. Microsoft Outlook doesn't work as well as Gmail accounts, so I still use a browser for Outlook. I like that it integrates with Dropbox so you can save email attachments in a Dropbox folder right in the app. However, in my experience, several documents that I would save would end up not saving even when indicating it was saved. I would not find out until weeks later when looking for that document. The thing I dislike most is the option to have external links open inside of Shift or your preferred browser. I would prefer all of my external links to open in Chrome, but this preference will also apply to Google Suite products. So if I open a Google Doc or Spreadsheet, it will open in a browser instead of in Shift. That gets annoying.

Rebecca

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2023

The only app I have open on my desktop!

Super useful, speedy, fewer bugs now than before, some features I still don't understand.

PROS

I love Shift for how it allows me to zoom about my different workspaces. Slack to Asana to email to calendar – all so easy. I also like being able to colour code apps and control notifications.

CONS

Honestly, I still don't fully understand the 'workspaces' function of Shift, or the bookmarks bar! I just add all my emails and apps on the sidebar.

User Profile

Scott

Verified reviewer

Design, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Shift has shifted a complicated group of windows into one

Shift has allowed me to streamline my workflows and keep everything neat on my desktop

PROS

Shift has continued to evolve during the time that I've used it and continues to become a more efficient way to manage the multiple apps and windows that I have to use daily. The app integrations are a god send given I no longer have to keep multiple apps/windows open.

CONS

The one draw back that I have found is that Shift does not import bookmarks from Chrome or other browsers. Once they get these in, I doubt I'll need to use an actual internet browser for anything.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review. We're very excited to hear that your workflow has been streamlined with Shift and that your desktop is neater. We're working hard on functionality to allow for importing bookmarks from the web so that you don't need to use a browser ever again. Stay tuned for updates!

Replied January 2020

User Profile

Sailaja N.

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

Using shift has been amazing. It is seamless in its design and allows me to manage multiple inboxes

It saves so much time and is really incredibly easy to use

PROS

That it integrates with a wide variety of software, messaging apps and more. I love that i can easily toggle between multiple email identities as well as messaging apps. I haven't tried some of the more recent additions, but am excited to.

CONS

It's still a little bit of a clunky UI and I wish there were more app integrations (like airtable). I also wish I could visually customize the appearance a bit more.

User Profile

Rachel

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Best tool I didn't know I needed

You will save time you didn't know you can get back. It's a game-changer, particularly for contract and freelance workers who have so many accounts.

PROS

Having everything in one app has been a game-changer. I use multiple GSuite accounts, 5+ Slack Workspaces, Evernote, ClickUp for project management, Toggl to track time - all of these apps running on my computer made it really slow and I didn't realize how much time I spent navigating around everything. Shift conveniently puts everything in 1 place and has saved me so much time I didn't know I could get back.

CONS

I do run a lot in it, but 1-2 times a day I have to reload the entire app because it's glitching and won't save properly (I've never lost anything because I realize it super fast, but still annoying)

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Executive Office, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Shift is a time saver and a life saver

I have used the paid version for years. It is fantastic. Everything I use all day in one central location. No more open tabs and jumping between tabs or apps. Simple and elegant!

PROS

Shift allows me to get more done in my day and has helped me to increase my productivity. It is well thought out and so easy to use and deploy.

CONS

To be honest, I don't have a feature I don't like.

User Profile

Steven

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Saves me 1 'unit' of energy each day in "switching costs"

Delightful. Honestly from going to their website, downloading the free version of the software, buying the upgraded version, using it....it's all been easy and enjoyable

PROS

It saves me time and energy each day as it allows me to SHIFT between the major tools and platforms I work from. Fast, easy, light. I love it.

CONS

I learned right after paying for it that there is another software called Station that is similar and free. There are some tools + platforms I use that do not (yet) integrate with Shift.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear that you're saving time and energy because of Shift. We are always adding tools and platforms to Shift. If you have some specific apps you'd like to see, feel free to reach out and we can get them in our roadmap.

Replied January 2020

Kyle

Online Media, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

IMAP E-Mail System Would Be The Cherry On Top

Overall the experience has been very beneficial to the productivity of our operation and simplification of the many different accounts and applications that we have to use with our variety of clientele.

PROS

The ability to switch between so many Google accounts and additional applications has saved me countless hours, at this point probably days worth of time, allowing me to become far more efficient and effective with my consulting firm.

CONS

As a consulting firm we will be assigned e-mail accounts within a clients domain for short periods of time during our contracts that are not always a gmail based e-mail account, but just IMAP accounts. We currently use Spark as our e-mail client and it's frustrating that the only option within Shift to manage multiple non-gmail accounts is to pay for another subscription model, instead of being able to use Spark, RoundCube, or another free e-mail client. The program has had issues from time to time with how it handles toggling between different accounts. When switching between Asana companies it will open a new window instead of working within shift. At times Google Sheets will try to open in the web browser instead of a Shift window, even with the settings set for Shift window. While these issues do get addressed at updates, the seem to continue to randomly happen as the app is used.

Reason for choosing Shift

Shift was more built out at the time to handle our needs. Might be making a switch to Station though as they have an integration with Outlook that can provide us the workaround we need for our IMAP e-mail accounts.

Damon

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Shift Review- Nice but room for improvement

Overall it has been used daily so it has to be pretty good. I experienced some bugs in browsing on the reddit extension and customer service was helpful and prompt but it still doesnt handle tons of loaded content as well as a browser.

PROS

Nice to have a place separate than browser to keep primary correspondence/instant messaging apps... both because it means that my browser does not need to be logged in and because I don't have to log into individual accounts. I like that you have the ability to open links externally and that apps maintain full functionality within the tool.

CONS

Some of these are particular to me, but I will start with the general stuff: - Design related... Would be nice to have a bit more customization around themes/colors/size of tabs/placement of tabs. Also the "+" button under the email accounts is a bit distracting and not necessary since I don't often add new email accounts, and often click on it accidentally. Also would be nice to be able to order your email accounts and other accounts without having to keep the primary accounts at the top and the others at the bottom... this also makes it very space inefficient since there is a big blank space between them. -Features... Not sure if this is possible given the amount of apps you plug into, but a mobile version would make this much more worth the money- frankly a game changer. Additional microsoft services would be nice... excel online (I know I can do this in the browser from the email but separate would be cool)

Sara

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Work Every Penny!

Shift helps me just jump into whatever I need, FAST. At any given moment as a small business owner who has at least 20 different things going at once Shift helps me get it done. I could go on and on about the individual uses I get out of Shift. When you run everything on your own you need all the help you can get.

PROS

It's all right there. No opening and accidentally closing browser tabs, no hunting down bookmarks or even wasting a few second typing the beginning of a website to get where you need to be. I manage multiple email accounts and use several different applications to communicate with clients and manage my business. Time is something I can never get more of so when it comes to tools and saving time even as a small business owner Shift is extremely valuable to me. Between the extensive collection of apps and browser extensions, everything is right at my fingertips. Just a few seconds can really add up over a day/month/year... It's worth EVERY single penny to me!

CONS

I don't have many complaints about Shift except the short lag getting notifications through my Gmail accounts. I will get a ding on my phone before I get a ding in Shift. It's minor but that is the only thing I can think of that really would be anything annoying.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Useful App

PROS

Shift allows me to manage my email inboxes all in one place without having to login to each one every single time I want to check its new content. The application itself is very easy to install and implement on your system. Really should not take more than 10 minutes all things considered. What I like the most about Shift is the easiness in which I can add an additional email or remove one that I no longer require at the moment. With the various upgraded tiers that Shift offers it also enables the app to support a multitude of additional application (other email providers and different apps that you can all integrate within your Shift platform).

CONS

Shift often gets laggy when you open it first thing in the morning. The red notification with the number of new emails that it shows is also often not accurate. Sometimes when I have read all new emails, it would still display "8" or "14" or whatever number of new emails I had previously. I also think it is costly for what it provides.

BONNIE

Professional Training & Coaching, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

SHIFT - merging all of your email inboxes, messaging apps, and other apps into one place.

When I am using my laptop, I don't have much space to shift from different browsers. It's a high space saving tool.

PROS

I appreciate that I can have the feature called, "workspaces." This is a section on the side panel where you can open up or bookmark any relevant tabs according to a particular project, or "workspace." I have one workspace for all of my assistants to research. This workspace can also be shared which is awesome.

CONS

Some apps are not available. For instance, they don't have Kakaotalk which is a pretty popular Korean messaging app (that has a desktop function as well). Others are a latency issue when loading. The browser is running off of Chrome. And when you switch between browsers or messaging apps, there is a 1-2 second latency. I original thought it was my internet, but I contacted Shift and they said that's a common occurrence with the nature of the software.

Reasons for switching to Shift

I switched from Vivladi Technologies browser. It was a great product, but I needed more functionality.

Vendor Response

Hi Bonnie, Thank you so much for your review of Shift. We love to hear that you're using Workspaces to collaborate with your team. Thanks for the app suggestion, we are adding new apps all the time. We have added Kakaotalk to the list and you should see it live within the next few weeks!

Replied February 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

A mail client which brings all of my google services into one place, across accounts. Excellent.

All of my email in one place, including my calendar. It's a familiar interface since it just uses the gmail native interface. The aggregation of accounts / services to a desktop client makes it a win.

PROS

Having a single mail client which brings all my accounts together. I like that they are all separated, but I can quickly change between them and see unread count in the sidebar. Shortcuts to jump to my calendar and back to my inbox make it quick and easy. Having it in a desktop client allows me to not need to worry about the browser and which account I'm signed into right now when pulling up my mail. Ease of use, convenient and familiar (gmail interface), quickly fetched mail, and other features make this a goto client for me right now. The extensibility now with extensions is a great feature.

CONS

Sometimes it seems like the memory usage by Shift can get a little out of hand. I tend to force quit the application and relaunch it. Sometimes an extension doesn't work correctly and it's not clear how to fix it (like the Zoom extension saying I need to log in again to authenticate, but then not having a method of doing so - at least not easily found).

Caron

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Changed My Life

I manage multiple gmail accounts, both internal accounts and client accounts, and Shift changed my life. I was consistently having issues of being signed into too many gmail accounts and having to log out and log back in and on and on. Shift seriously added time back into my day. I also now use it to manage Slack accounts, Trello, Toggl and more. Absolutely love this software.

PROS

The ability to manage multiple email and web applications in one place. The ability to move between the accounts with one click. The ability to see all badge notifications so I can tend to the accounts that need attention and ignore the ones that don't without having to login to every single one.

CONS

From time to time, it seems like the program gets overwhelmed and crashes. When that happens, I typically restart it twice before it resumes normally.

Reason for choosing Shift

There are no alternatives that I have found. Shift is one of a kind. I don't work for them or know anyone who does... I honestly love this program.

Bracken

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE