All Twilio Reviews

1-25 of 436 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Allen

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2024

Twilio Review: A great SMS campaign manager

User Profile

Sebastian

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Very useful but getting more and more expensive

You have to build your own interface to use the Twilio API. Or pay for a software that can use the API, which is easier and cheaper. The Twilio interface only allows you to monitor usage, create reports, billing management, and program IVR. It doesn't provide an interface for your sales team to use.

PROS

I like how complete it is and all the API possibilities. You can achieve so much if you know what you're doing. You can create a call center and monitor everything, including recordings. SMS marketing, ringless voicemail, etc..

CONS

As you scale, it gets very expensive (no discounts at all for loyalty). Zapier is losing its market share to Make, Pipedream, and Pabbly. Soon the same will happen to Twilio.

Reason for choosing Twilio

Vonage was much more expensive, and integration with the CRM would have to be built manually. The CRM we chose was already built to integrate with Twilio.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

I found a better CRM that uses the Twilio API to enable VOIP features for the sales team that uses the CRM sales funnel.

Robert

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Great APIs, terrible customer support and sales

PROS

Twilio is generally easy to set up and manage, their APIs are generally well-documented. The developer parts of the company that don't involve human interaction seem to be good. It is the backbone of a lot of our core company infrastructure.

CONS

The (now terminated) salesperson we originally worked with was very helpful at the beginning and even roped in engineers to have discussions with us. They poorly explained the contract and even made promises that were not true. After we inked a volume deal with them, the support from sales became practically non-existent. The salesperson locked us into a contract.We were able to get a refund and have the contract terminated, although the refund process took months and lots of book and forth.

Reason for choosing Twilio

They're the market leader and have a developer-focused offering.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

The OG of SMS Messaging for Business

PROS

It's easy to set up with an API and you load money in the account and off you go! And it makes sure you are being compliant with regulations

CONS

It can be complicated to get setup and their website at the time wasn't intuitive to use.

Mark

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2023

Customer support is dificult to reach and unresponsive

We have been a SendGrid customer for about 7 months. We use the service to handle the transactional emails from our website. We have been satisfied with that service and decided to also use them for our marketing campaigns On September 30th we exported our MailChimp contacts and cleaned up the data. On October we upgraded our SendGrid plan to Basic 50k, contacted SendGrid support, informed them what we were doing and asked about the use of Tags. We then imported 47k contacts, prepared a time sensitive single send marketing piece which we released on October 2nd to our complete contact list. SendGrid shut down the campaign, disabled the links in the 13k emails that had been sent, making them useless, and suspended our account. We have been unable to reach SendGrid to resolve this. This action, and lack of it by Twillo/SendGrid has significantly impacted our business as the campaign was in support of a live continuing education course scheduled for Tuesday 10/3. At this point we are trying to salvage what we can by moving to another marketing service.

PROS

We were migrating our email marketing from MailChimp to Twillo's SendGrid. Relative to MailChimp we found SendGrid's email design tool to be more flexible and easier to use

CONS

Customer support: Two issues1 -Customer support is difficult to access. The support phone number listed on Google is disconnected, there is no chat, "Contact support" on the website requires the user to fill in a text box labeled "Tell us your issue." We've tried this multiple times only to get an error message: "There was an error retrieving results for your query. Please try again." We've managed to get multiple messages to SendGrid Support by responding to previous support ticket emails. I see some one at SendGrid has deleted all but one of these. Obviously someone knows we have an urgent issue but no response and it has been over 18 hours since our first request for support. 2. When we informed Customer support that we were migrating our marketing champagne from Mail Chimp to SendGrid they failed to inform us about the possibility of the automated account suspension we have encountered, and how to avoid it .

Reason for choosing Twilio

We were already using it for our transactional emails, fee structure and reputation for deliver-ability

Reasons for switching to Twilio

Fee structure and reputation for deliver-ability

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Reliable and scalable.

PROS

There are so many things to love about Twilio from my experience and perspective. I like the quality of its documentations and how intuitive they are. I find their customer service team very responsive to queries and inquiries and I love how Twilio has SDK's in my favorite programming language.

CONS

Twilio boasts 99.9% uptime and it supports all major programming languages. Personally for me , Twilio is head and hand above every other sms/voice cloud communication platform.

User Profile

Julien

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Amazing powers - not for anyone

We did our transfer from Dialpad to Twilio after seeing the price difference + all the missing options (automation and integration) Dialup was missing. We faced a huge issue when we realized we had to code our own phone system to be able to receive or send sms and calls. Happened at a moment where the firm didn't have the time to read the 3000 pages tutorial offered on Twilio. Our transfer made our whole phone system out of service for 3 weeks. We finally found other companies offering what Twilio should offer : a basic interface to the basic needs of a phone number (call + sms). This workaround finally made the deal much less advantageous than expected. We now pay almost the same price as we were paying with Dialpad, for a less powerful interface.. until we have the time to focus on building our own app to use it.

PROS

Twilio can do absolutely everything you need to do with a phone number. Automate, Record, SMS, Call, Chatbot, Integrations, Number verification.

CONS

Very complex to setup. You absolutely NEED to know how to code. No easy user software available to simply use your number from day 1.

Reason for choosing Twilio

For all the added functionalities offered on Twilio (automation + integrations) and the much lower cost.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

For all the added functionalities offered on Twilio (automation + integrations) and the much lower cost.

Rubani

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Twilio's Capabilities are Excellent: It Is Brilliant

PROS

Twilio has been a brilliant an easy to use SMS marketing system. I like the efficient features of Twilio.

CONS

Twilio is easy to use and flawless. It works so well for us.

Chrisarn

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Twilio Has Been a Reliable Cloud Communications and SMS Marketing Software

PROS

This marketing and communications software has been easy to use and reliable. Twilio is so accurate.

CONS

Twilio is flawless. It makes SMS marketing efficient.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2022

Twilio Highlights

I feel it has scope of improvement. It is easy to you but then it does not easily allow conference calling and messaging while on call. It could also include adding notes.

PROS

It is easy to install. Convenient to use the software with other tools as well. Placing a call is very easy

CONS

It's interface. The leaving a voice note feature must include a beep or time set. Conference calling feature is not very convenient

Reasons for switching to Twilio

Because of the quick and easy installation of this software and using it simultaneously integrate with other software

Claudia

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Twilio Has Been So Reliable for SMS Marketing

PROS

For proper SMS marketing, Twilio has been so reliable. Twilio has been so accurate to use.

CONS

I have zero cons for Twilio. Twilio is reliable.

Mike

Facilities Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Twilio has worked for me

PROS

I is pretty easy to use and set up. Not a lot of time.

CONS

Some of the items were a little difficult to navigate to.

Brian

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Twilio SMS and Studio are fantastic

PROS

The API was easy to use, well documented, and accurate (to the documentation provided). I was up and running with a programmatic call to Twilio to send text messages from my application within 15 minutes. Twilio Studio and flows provide a great user experience that puts a lot of power into a non-developers hands for managing communication and escalation. Example flows give you just about everything you would need to get started building your own flow.

CONS

Certain aspects, like accounts, sub-accounts, and management can only be done using the API. These are minor and usually one and done (so they could be done with tool like Postman or SOAPUI).

Reason for choosing Twilio

Studio and Flows of Twilio, prior experience using Twilio for phone number verification.

User Profile

Efezino

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Dependable

Overall, however, Twilio is a solid choice for businesses and organizations looking for a comprehensive communications platform. From a developer's perspective, it is one of the simplest solutions to integrate with.

PROS

Twilio is a powerful and effective communications platform that allows businesses and organizations to easily integrate voice, video, messaging, and other forms of communication into their systems and applications. Some of the key benefits of using Twilio include:Flexibility: Twilio provides a range of different APIs and tools that can be easily integrated into a variety of different platforms and applications. This allows organizations to use Twilio in a way that best fits their needs and requirements.Scalability: Twilio is designed to handle high volumes of traffic, making it a good choice for organizations that need to send or receive large numbers of communications on a regular basis. The service can easily be scaled up or down to meet changing needs.Features: Twilio offers a range of advanced features, including tracking and analytics, voice recognition, and integration with other tools and services. These features can help organizations optimize their communications and improve their overall effectiveness.

CONS

Despite its many benefits, there are some potential drawbacks to consider when using Twilio. For example, the cost of the service can be a barrier for some organizations, and the advanced features may not be necessary for all users. Additionally, the service may require some technical expertise to set up and use effectively.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

I was being charged for messages that were not delivered while using other platforms. The deliverability rate of messages sent using other platforms was low. Ever since we made the switch to Twilio, we have a 100% deliverability rate.

Joel

Online Media, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Outstanding Platform for Businesses Using WhatsApp

Overall it has been positive so far. We are launching our software globally now and so far they have been a solid partner in the countries we have been going to.

PROS

We used Twilio to be the backbone of custom cross-platform messaging software we built that connects people in different countries around the globe. We used it to send automated messages alerting the users that someone in their area wants to talk to them and then to continue to facilitate the conversations through our software and the WhatsApp API protecting the user's identities. The API was very easy to use. The hardest and most challenging part was getting set up and approved by Facebook to get our WhatsApp numbers. The system tracks if messages were delivered which is great and we can see responses come back in as well, not the message content itself mind you, but that a response was sent. We also leverage their email platform which added another communication platform to our system. All in all, we are excited about our partnership with Twilio and look forward to continuing to work with them.

CONS

The only challenging issues we had really involved WhatsApp and getting them to verify our Facebook Business listing, then approve us for a WhatsApp number and finally approve our message templates so we could use Twilio to send messages through their platform. I wouldn't say any of that was Twilio's fault and their staff was excellent at doing everything they could to help us. The only thing I would like to see is a better more laid out navigation on their admin dashboards. You have to click into menus to get to a sub menu to then scroll around and try to find what you are looking for. It would be nice if they had a master link tree like Amazon does on their AWS dashboard.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Twilio also has a couple of secret super powers!

An amazingly well built product -- we rarely if ever had reliability issues -- the Twilio Functions were an especially useful post-purchase feature discovery -- so much so that we still use that even though we don't do any texting. We also sometimes use FracTEL, since they beat Twilio on pricing 3:1 for 1-800 texts *and* had MMS 1-800 support long before Twilio.

PROS

* super easy to configure multiple accounts for billing purposes * * Twimlets are a great way to experiment with product &/or prototype quickly - https://www.twilio.com/labs/twimlets * Twilio functions is amazingly easy way to either extend power of tools such as Zapier &/or avoid having to use AWS Lambda, etc. -- it's a super cool hidden feature - https://www.twilio.com/docs/runtime/functions * They have an auto-stop feature if you accidentally send too fast -- e.g., we accidentally created an infinite loop of texts between two phone numbers -- which they auto-stopped at about $20 (in three minutes). There are likely other Twilio features hiding in plain sight -- poke around -- one of those rare cases where reading all the documentation is likely worth it

CONS

* the login process can be annoying * help sometime takes longer than 24 hours * configuring multiple sub-accounts is confusing at first * not all functions can be done via UX -- some require API calls -- curl scripts were our goto

Reason for choosing Twilio

feature completeness & product reliability

User Profile

Sam

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Twilio is great, but the learning curve is greater

Because I don't make any changes to Twilio on my own, the barrier to entry requires me to rely on third-party developers to fulfill all my requests due to my technological limitations. While this could be considered a good thing, as most business owners should not be screwing around with their phone system, it does mean that I need to be reliant on a third party to help make the Twilio implementation I dream up. When everything is set up correctly, I never have issues with Twilio. That level of reliability means a lot when it comes to a business phone system. Because of this, I wholeheartedly recommend Twilio to any business. Just be prepared to take a deep dive into the learning curve or hire a third party.

PROS

Twilio has set the bar pretty high with the customizability of telephony. You can do incredible things with Twilio. From a simple phone tree to complex actions that integrate other applications with the likes of Zapier and other no-code services, the sky is the limit for most small business owners to create great solutions.

CONS

The downside is the learning curve. In comparison, I consider myself tutorial literate when coding and setting systems up. I can't seem the find the ability to build proficiency in Twilio. And while this is my own doing, it is my only con. Twilio is incredible. For whatever reason, I have difficulty handling the tweaking on my own.

Leifur

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2023

Could be really great, and it sounds great, but its really not

Twilio is a disaster of a product, and I would never ever use it again, it randomly stopped working and I got a Forbidden error that really had no documentation to explain why it was happening. When I contacted customer support they told me that it was because Twilio no longer offered email verification for free users. Well, they could have at least sent an email out telling everyone that. I would be forced to buy their tiered plan, switch services, or set up my own verification which sucks but at least tell your users that you're making these changes right?

PROS

It had a high number of emails you could send for free every day

CONS

They had a sprawling system that required like four api keys just to set up and integration between multiple products with little to no to innacurate documentation. First you have to have a SendGrid account and set up an API Key (first key in .env) , then you have to make an email template which is very hard to do because they have a lot of bugs with that whole system and its rather confusing as well, especially in regards to trying to actually write your own code for how it looks . Then you go to Twilio and get your Auth Token (second .env) and create a Service that has its own token (third .env) , then you integrate that with your sendGrid Template and I forgot where exatly but there some fourth token you need. It's ridiculously complicated and poorly set up, and the documentation doesn't really tell you how to code it, the page that tells you how to send emails has code examples for sending text messages so that's unhelpful. It took me several hours to figure out how it all works and get it set up for automatic emailing. When I switched to Courier it took my literally 15 minutes to do the exact same thing. They had great documentation, a wonderful easy to use website, and just one API key. Don't use Twilio, it's trash, try Courier.

Reason for choosing Twilio

I know Twilio uses SendGrid for their email automation but I really like their email verification service so I used Twilio rather than straight up SendGrid. SendGrid I have no problem with, they are decent enough

Regina

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Powerful Call Management

I have had a great overall experience with Twilio. Call quality is great, the users have the option to switch between bridge dial (using a physical phone linked to Twilio) or voice over IP calling. Implementation is relatively easy and call management is done in the cloud so it can be done from anywhere.

PROS

We use Twilio in conjunction with Groove (Twilio is Groove's voice provider). It is an awesomely powerful software for call center-like call management. The voice provider lives in the cloud so Twilio is very easy to implement and get up and running very quickly with minimal development. It is pretty intuitive but has a learning curve for less tech-savvy users. The help articles are well-documented.

CONS

Twilio is very powerful, but could use more features, like the ability to have conference calls and drop off the conference call without transferring the call somewhere else. The ability to call someone, then conference in another line on the current call is not available on the platform which could be a deal-breaker for call center use.

Reasons for switching to Twilio

Twilio offered a more comprehensive call center package that fit our needs better than the dialer provided by InsideSales.com.

User Profile